Labor Commissioner's Office

The mission of the California Labor Commissioner's Office is to ensure a just day's pay in every workplace in the State and to promote economic justice through robust enforcement of labor laws. By combating wage theft, protecting workers from retaliation, and educating the public, we put earned wages into workers' pockets and help level the playing field for law-abiding employers. This office is also known as the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE).

New law for determining if a worker is an employee or independent contractor

On September 18, Governor Newsom signed Assembly Bill 5 into law. The law expands the use of the “ABC test” to determine if workers in California are employees or independent contractors. Most workers in California who perform labor or services for pay are employees unless the hiring entity can prove otherwise.  Additional resources coming soon.

Help make pay equity the norm in California. Tools and resources for employers, employees and unions to comply with the Equal Pay Act are now available.

California Minimum Wage Effective January 1, 2019

Overtime Law for Agricultural Workers

Effective January 1, 2019, agricultural workers employed by employers with 26 or more employees must receive overtime (1.5 times the employee’s regular rate of pay) for all hours worked over 9.5 hours in any workday or over 55 hours in any workweek.  AB 1066

Entertainment Industry Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirements

Beginning January 1, 2019, all talent agencies operating in California must provide their artists with educational materials on sexual harassment prevention, retaliation, reporting resources, nutrition and eating disorders.

Applicants for entertainment work permits for minors between the ages of 14 and 17 must also complete sexual harassment prevention training before obtaining a minor’s entertainment work permit.

The Labor Commissioner is Hiring!   DIR Jobs

Workers

Employers

Piece Rate Workers

If you are an employee who was paid on a piece rate basis during the period of July 1, 2012 through December 31, 2015, the Labor Commissioner’s office may have collected wages for you from your employer for rest and recovery periods and other nonproductive time. If you believe your employer has paid those wages to the Labor Commissioner on your behalf, please complete this form and mail to the address below or take it to any local office of the Labor Commissioner. Please complete and submit a separate form for every employer who you think may have paid your wages to the Labor Commissioner.

Department of Industrial Relations
AB 1513 Application
1515 Clay St., 17th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612

Cómo Hacer un Reclamo al Fondo de Salario Impago

Si usted es un trabajador cuya paga entre el 1 de julio de 2012 y el 31 de diciembre de 2015 fue sobre la base de pago por pieza, el Comisionado Laboral puede haber recaudado sueldos de su empleador en concepto de períodos de descanso y otro tiempo improductivo. Si usted piensa que su paga ha sido enviada al Fondo de Sueldo Impago, por favor complete este formulario y envíelo a la dirección que figura a continuación o entréguelo personalmente en cualquier oficina del Comisionado Laboral. Por favor complete y envíe un formulario por cada empleador que, a su juicio, pueda haber enviado su paga al Comisionado Laboral.

Department of Industrial Relations
AB 1513 Application
1515 Clay St., 17th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612

Other Resources

What's
New



November 2019

November 5, 2019 California Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Inventory Company, Grocers More Than $1.6 Million for Wage Theft Violations
Man Pleads to Immigration Fraud Targeting Chinese Nationals

July 2019

July 3, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Daly City Residential Care Facility for Wage Theft – 48 Workers Owed more than $631,000

June 2019

June 20, 2019 Public Works Contractors: Renew Registration by June 30
Contractors can now register for up to three fiscal years
June 11, 2019 Attorney General Becerra Urges Federal Government to Protect Meal and Rest Breaks for Bus Drivers

May 2019

May 29, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Issues Wage Theft Citations for Subcontractor’s Failure to Pay 62 Construction Workers
General contractor also found responsible for unpaid wages under contractor liability law that went into effect in 2018

April 2019

April 30, 2019 DIR Offices in Santa Ana Move to New Location
April 24, 2019 Public Works Contractors: Renew Registration Starting May 1
Contractors can now register for up to three fiscal years
April 17, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Playa Vista Car Wash More Than $2.36 Million for Wage Theft of 64 Workers

March 2019

March 27, 2019 DIR Shares Questionnaire for Pre-Qualification of Contractors Seeking to Bid on Public Works Projects
March 18, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Recovers $1 Million in Unpaid Wages for 239 Restaurant Workers

February 2019

February 25, 2019 Attorney General Becerra, California Labor Commissioner’s Office File Charges Against Operators of Underground Garment Shop Licensing Scheme
February 19, 2019 DIR Issues Notice of Public Hearing on April 2 for Proposed Public Works Contractor Registration Regulations
February 13, 2019 California Labor Commissioner’s Office Reminds Employers that Valid Workers’ Compensation Insurance is Required
February 11, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites RDV Construction $12 Million for Wage Theft Affecting More Than 1,000 Workers

January 2019

January 24, 2019 California Labor Commissioner’s Office Posts Guidance on Agricultural Overtime Pay Schedule in Effect This Year
January 22, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Reaches $4 Million Settlement for 380 Bay Area Restaurant Workers
January 9, 2019 Labor Commissioner’s Office Secures $1.7 Million in Unpaid Wages for 56 Bay Area Restaurant Workers
January 2, 2019 Labor Commissioner Posts List of Port Trucking Companies with Unsatisfied Judgments for Labor Violations
Businesses that Hire Companies on the List to Share Liability for Subsequent Violations