Boards, Commissions & Programs

Commission on Health and Safety and Workers' Compensation (CHSWC)
CHSWC is a joint labor-management body created by the workers’ compensation reform legislation of 1993 and charged with overseeing the health and safety and workers’ compensation systems in California, and recommending administrative and/or legislative modifications to improve their operation.

Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC)
It is the continuing duty of the Industrial Welfare Commission to ascertain the wages paid to all employees in this state, to ascertain the hours and conditions of labor and employment in the various occupations, trades and industries in which employees are employed in this state, and to investigate the health, safety, and welfare of those employees.

Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (OSHAB)
The Appeals Board is a three-member, quasi-judicial body appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate that handles employer appeals from health and safety citations issued by the Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH).

Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board (OSHSB)
The Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board, a seven-member body appointed by the Governor, is the standards-setting agency within the Cal/OSHA program. The Standards Board's objective is to adopt reasonable and enforceable standards at least as effective as federal standards. The Standards Board also has the responsibility to grant or deny applications for variances from adopted standards and respond to petitions for new or revised standards. The part-time, independent board holds monthly meetings throughout California.

Office of Self Insurance Plans (OSIP)
OSIP determines the ability of employers to self-insure their workers' compensation liabilities and pay any employee compensation that may become due. OSIP also tests and certifies individual claims administrators and licenses third-party administrators who handle the claims of self-insured employers.

Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB)
The WCAB, a seven-member, judicial body appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate, reviews petitions for reconsideration of decisions by DWC administrative law judges and regulates the adjudication process by adopting rules of practice and procedure.