Labor Commissioner's Office

The mission of the California Labor Commissioner's Office is to ensure a just day's pay in every workplace in the State and to promote economic justice through robust enforcement of labor laws. By combating wage theft, protecting workers from retaliation, and educating the public, we put earned wages into workers' pockets and help level the playing field for law-abiding employers. This office is also known as the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE).

The Labor Commissioner is Hiring!   DIR Jobs

Workers

Employers

Public Meetings

Current schedule of meetings available for the public Public Meetings.

Help make pay equity the norm in California. Tools and resources for employers, employees and unions to comply with the Equal Pay Act are now available.

California Minimum Wage Effective January 1, 2021

Overtime Law for Agricultural Workers

Effective January 1, 2021, agricultural workers employed by employers with 26 or more employees must receive overtime (1.5 times the employee’s regular rate of pay) for all hours worked over 8.5 hours in any workday or over 45 hours in any workweek.  AB 1066

Entertainment Industry Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirements

Beginning January 1, 2019, all talent agencies operating in California must provide their artists with educational materials on sexual harassment prevention, retaliation, reporting resources, nutrition and eating disorders.

Applicants for entertainment work permits for minors between the ages of 14 and 17 must also complete sexual harassment prevention training before obtaining a minor’s entertainment work permit.

COVID-19 Update: Sexual Violence and Harassment Prevention Training for Janitorial Service Providers

Due to COVID-19, the biennial “in-person” sexual violence and harassment prevention training that janitorial employers must provide cannot be conducted in a manner that protects the health, safety and welfare of all participants. Consequently, the Labor Commissioner’s Office will suspend enforcement of the “in-person” training requirements, including the additional requirements related to such training established by AB 547 (2019), and instead require employers to comply with Government Code section 12950.1, which may be done by providing online trainings to all janitorial workers and supervisors made available through the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) website beginning January 1, 2021. More information on suspended enforcement of the “in-person” training requirements can be found at AB 547 final proposal.

This website will be updated as control of COVID-19 safely allows “in-person” sexual violence and harassment prevention training to resume.

Piece Rate Workers

If you are an employee who was paid on a piece rate basis during the period of July 1, 2012 through December 31, 2015, the Labor Commissioner’s office may have collected wages for you from your employer for rest and recovery periods and other nonproductive time. If you believe your employer has paid those wages to the Labor Commissioner on your behalf, please complete this form and mail to the address below or take it to any local office of the Labor Commissioner. Please complete and submit a separate form for every employer who you think may have paid your wages to the Labor Commissioner.

Department of Industrial Relations
AB 1513 Application
Centralized Cashiering Unit
2031 Howe Avenue, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95825

Cómo Hacer un Reclamo al Fondo de Salario Impago

Si usted es un trabajador cuya paga entre el 1 de julio de 2012 y el 31 de diciembre de 2015 fue sobre la base de pago por pieza, el Comisionado Laboral puede haber recaudado sueldos de su empleador en concepto de períodos de descanso y otro tiempo improductivo. Si usted piensa que su paga ha sido enviada al Fondo de Sueldo Impago, por favor complete este formulario y envíelo a la dirección que figura a continuación o entréguelo personalmente en cualquier oficina del Comisionado Laboral. Por favor complete y envíe un formulario por cada empleador que, a su juicio, pueda haber enviado su paga al Comisionado Laboral.

Department of Industrial Relations
AB 1513 Application
Centralized Cashiering Unit
2031 Howe Avenue, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95825

Other Resources

What's
New



October 2021

October 26, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites El Super Grocery Stores more than $1.1 Million for COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave
October 25, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Drywall Company more than $7.2 Million for Wage Theft Violations
October 20, 2021 California Labor Commissioner’s Citations of $8.5 Million Issued to Owner of Six Residential Care Facilities Upheld
October 18, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Construction Company $1.7 Million for Wage Theft Violations

August 2021

August 17, 2021 Labor Commissioner’s Office Reaches $1.6 Million Settlement Securing Unpaid Wages for 22 Bay Area Restaurant Workers

July 2021

July 27, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Three El Super Grocery Stores $447,836 for Not Providing COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave

June 2021

June 2, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Inland Empire Warehouse and Retailer Nearly $1.4 Million for Wage Theft Violations

April 2021

April 26, 2021 DIR and California Labor Commissioner’s Office Launch Web-based COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave Tool
April 1, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites South Coast Gymnastics in Orange County $1.3 Million for Wage Theft Violations

March 2021

March 24, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Restaurant Companies for Wage Theft Violations Affecting 188 Workers
March 8, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Delivery Companies More Than $6 Million for Wage Theft Violations

February 2021

February 17, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Cites Los Angeles McDonald’s Franchisee More Than $125,000 for Workplace Retaliation
February 16, 2021 California Labor Commissioner’s Citation of Drywall Contractor for Nearly $2 Million in Wage Theft Violations Affirmed
February 10, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Issues Citations and Files Lawsuit after Wholesale Bakery Closes While Owing Nearly $1.3 Million to Workers

January 2021

January 5, 2021 California Labor Commissioner Files Lawsuit against Developers of Beverly Hills Property for $431,000 Owed to Workers