Talent Agency License and Fee-Related Talent Services
Who Needs a License?
Any person or entity involved in arranging employment for an artist in the entertainment field must get a license to operate as a talent agency.
- Search databases for licensed Talent Agencies and Talent Agencies Complaint Decisions
Apply for a License
- Obtain an application using one of the following options:
- Apply and pay online using the Talent Agency Application Online System.
- After you log into your online account, use the Talent Agency License Application Guide or view the videos How to Apply Online and Application Submission for help filling out the form and to confirm that all the documents listed are still current and are attached before you submit the application.
- Download the application (Adobe Reader required):
- Important Information and Instructions for Talent Agency License (Rev. 3/12)
- Application for Talent Agency License (Rev. 5/16)
- Email a request for an application with your complete mailing address to DLSE.email@example.com.
- Call the Licensing & Registration Unit, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., at 510-285-3397 to request that an application be sent to you.
- Request an application by mail or in person:
Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement
Licensing and Registration
1515 Clay Street, Suite 401
Oakland, CA 94612
- Required Supporting documentation: To avoid any delays in obtaining your license, be sure that your application is complete, including supporting documentation as follows:
- Bond (DLSE 306)
- Affidavit of Character (DLSE 301-A, Rev. 9/11)
- Personal Record (DLSE 301-B, Rev. 9/11)
- Premise Certification (Rev. 1/11)
- Sample – Nonexclusive Contract Between Artist and Talent Agency (DLSE 315A, Rev. 09/10)
- Sample - Exclusive Contract Between Artist and Talent Agency (DLSE 315B, Rev. 09/10)
- Sample – Fee Schedule (DLSE 315C)
- Request for Live Scan Service
- Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance
- Copy of Driver's License/Photo ID
- Fictitious Business Name Statement (if applicable)
- Articles of Organization (if limited liability company)
- Articles of Incorporation and Statement of Domestic Stock (if corporation)
- Business Tax Registration Certificate (if business is at residence)
The Labor Commissioner reserves the right to request additional supporting documentation as may be needed to complete the investigation as to the character, competency, and responsibility of the applicant.
- Pay Fees. Fees may be paid by certified check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS ENFORCEMENT. You may also pay fees online.
A filing fee of $25 is due at the time the application for a talent agency license is filed.
In addition, every talent agency must pay the following fees annually, when a license is issued or renewed:
- A license fee of $225.
- AND $50 for each branch office maintained by the talent agency in California.
The requirements, including the application form, documentation, and fees, are the same for renewals as for new applications.
Talent agents are subject to specific requirements.
- Rules about obtaining a license to become a talent agent
- Laws Relating to Talent Agencies
- Labor Code sections 1700 through 1700.47
- California Code of Regulations sections 12000 through 12033
- 2009 Legislation: Fee-Related Talent Services and Advance Fee Talent
- Child Labor Law pamphlet
- Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA) sample contracts
- Summary tables of requirements and restrictions arranged by age and summary of penalties
- Information on Minors and Employment
- Contact us at DLSE.firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any questions.
Labor Commissioner's Office