Child Performer Services Permit
Apply for a Child Performer Services Permit
Anyone who intends to represent or provide child performer services to any artist or performer who is under 18 years old in the state of California for a fee must register.
- For new applicants Only:
- Complete Request for Live Scan Services (fingerprints) and take it with you when you are fingerprinted.
- Get fingerprinted at a Live Scan location.
- Applicant Notification and Record Challenge: Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. You have the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record. The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations, Section 16.34
- New and Renewals: Complete the new application or renew your existing registration online or by mail.
Please allow 45 days to process the application. The Labor Commissioner's Office will notify you of your permit status.
Who Needs a Permit?
Anyone who intends to represent or provide child performer services to any artist or performer who is under 18 years old in the state of California for a fee must have a child performer service permit. For further information, see the California Labor Code; CPS permit holders must renew their permits every two years.
Legislation aimed at protecting current and aspiring child actors and performers from sexual predators was approved September 2012. The law bars sex offenders from providing services to minors working or seeking to work in the entertainment industry. Assembly Bill 1660 does so by requiring a wide range of professionals working with artists or performers who are under 18 years of age to undergo a criminal background check and obtain a Child Performer Services (CPS) permit from the Department of Industrial Relations' Labor Commissioner's Office (also known as the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement).
The application fee is $198 in addition to the cost for fingerprints. The fee to renew is $166. The fees are due when you submit your application. If you are mailing your application, please include a cashier’s check or money order payable to DLSE.
- Search for current CPS permit holders
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Laws and Regulations
- California Labor Code
- Occupational Privileges and Restrictions-Minors
- Working Hours-Minors
- Child Labor Orders – Prohibited Occupations
- Employment of Minors in Entertainment Industry
- Child Labor Law Violations
- Child Labor Law pamphlet
- Summary tables of requirements and restrictions arranged by age and summary of penalties
- Information on Minors and Employment
- California Commission on Teacher Credentialing
- Contact us at CPSLicensing@dir.ca.gov if you have any questions.