- Bureau of Field Enforcement
- Wage Claim Adjudication
- Retaliation (RCI)
- Permits, Licenses, Certifications, and Registrations
- Public Works
- Electrician Certification Unit
- Private Attorney General Act (PAGA)
Labor Commissioner's Office
- Who is protected under the Child Performer Services (CPS) permit requirement?
- How does the CPS permit protect minors?
- When is this new permit requirement effective?
- Who must have a CPS permit?
- What specified services require a CPS permit?
- Who does not need a CPS permit?
- Do I need to submit fingerprints as part of my initial application?
- Am I required to resubmit fingerprints with my permit renewal application?
- How do I find a fingerprint services near me?
- How can I submit a new (or renewal) application?
- What information do I need to provide in the application?
- How long does it take to get a permit?
- When can I begin providing specified services to performers who are minors?
- How long is my permit valid?
- Will I be notified if my application is denied?
- Why was my application denied?
- What happens if I continue to provide covered services without a CPS permit or after my application has been denied?
The permit requirement is aimed at protecting aspiring and current artists and performers who are minors (i.e., under 18 years of age). An artist is defined as one who is or seeks to become:
The Labor Commissioner’s Office** will maintain and regularly update an online searchable database of all permit holders. Interested parents, guardians, and employers should consult this list on a regular basis. Additionally, it is important for parents and/or guardians to ensure that all individuals they entrust to provide specified services to their minor child have posted a valid CPS permit at their place of business.
In addition to the state and federal criminal history information that the Labor Commissioner’s Office receives as a result of the initial fingerprinting to screen out sex offenders, our office will also receive notification from the Department of Justice (DOJ) if any permit holders are arrested for a state offense (in California) after the initial fingerprinting.
Important: The Labor Commissioner’s Office monitors for subsequent arrest and convictions based on information provided by the DOJ, so it is important to understand the limitations of federal subsequent arrest information the DOJ receives from the FBI. Specifically, arrests for sexual offenses committed in other states and arrests made by the FBI after completion of the initial fingerprinting may not appear in records to which the DOJ has ongoing access. For more general information on fingerprinting, please visit the DOJ’s Web page on fingerprinting and read their Frequently Asked Questions on background checks.
* Minors are defined as individuals under 18 years of age.
AB 1660 (Chapter 634, 2012) went into effect January 1, 2013, and currently prohibits persons who are required to register as sex offenders from representing or providing specified services to artists or performers under 18 years of age. Beginning July 1, 2013, any person who performs specified activities for minors must apply for and obtain a permit from the Labor Commissioner’s Office, unless they are specifically exempt from the requirement (see exceptions below or Labor Code section 1706).
Any person who intends to represent or provide specified services for a fee in the state of California to any artist or performer who is under 18 years of age.
Specified services include one or more of the following provided for the purposes of securing employment as an artist or performer, for a fee, to those under 18 years of age (minors):
Permits are not required for the following:
Yes, before you submit your application, you must complete a Live Scan fingerprinting in order to obtain state and federal criminal offender record information provided by the California Department of Justice. Print out the Request for Live Scan Service form* (BCIA 8016), and bring the form with you to a Live Scan location.
No. You are not required to resubmit fingerprints for your renewal application.
The permit application process is primarily an online procedure (once you’ve completed the fingerprinting).
If you do not have access to a computer with Internet service (available at most public libraries), you may complete and mail in a paper application form and send it to the following address with your payment. (Applications received without accompanying payment will not be processed.)
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement
To have paper forms sent to you, please write to this address or email your inquiry to CPSLicensing@dir.ca.gov.
An applicant for a permit must provide the following information. See the application instructions for more detail.
Approximately 45 days. There is a 30-day standard processing time for the Department of Justice to process Live Scan information and provide a report. The Labor Commissionerís Office will review the reported information within 15 days of receiving the report. You will receive notification of your permit status, as well as a copy of the DOJ report via email. In the absence of an email address, you will receive this information via regular mail.
You can begin after you receive your CPS permit from the Labor Commissioner’s Office and have posted a copy of the permit at your place of business.
*Minors are defined as individuals under 18 years of age.
CPS permits are valid for two years from the date of issue by the Labor Commissioner’s Office. The permit holder will receive notice from the agency of the expiration date 45 days prior to expiration of the permit.A renewal application and fee must be submitted 30 days before the permit expires. Renewal application and fees sent in later than 15 days prior to expiration are subject to denial.
Yes. The fee for obtaining a CPS permit is two hundred dollars ($200.00). Applications received without accompanying payment will not be processed.
The fees cover the costs of administering and maintaining the CPS permit program. These costs include a fee, paid by the Labor Commissioner’s Office to the Department of Justice, for obtaining state and federal criminal offender record information. Please note that this fee does not include the fee that applicants must pay to the fingerprinting services provider (that fee varies from business to business).
Yes. If the Labor Commissionerís Office (LCO) determines that an initial or renewal applicant is required to register as a sex offender based on a Department of Justice (DOJ) report, a permit will not be issued and the applicant will be notified in writing of the LCOís determination, which will include a copy of the information received from the DOJ.
Your application may be denied for any of the following reasons:
You will be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to ten thousand dollars, by imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment.
Contact the Labor Commissioner’s Office at CPSLicensing@dir.ca.gov.