No elevator shall be operated without a valid, current permit issued by the Division. The permit, or a copy thereof, to operate a passenger elevator, freight elevator or incline elevator shall be posted conspicuously and securely in the elevator car. For other devices, the permit shall be available on the premises. CCR Title 8 §3001 (c)
ADDRESS FOR PAYMENTS
Effective April 1, 2015, please send payments for inspections of new and altered conveyances to:
Department of Industrial Relations
DOSH - Elevator Permits
P.O. Box 511232
Los Angeles, CA 90051-3030
ONE-TIME SUSPENSION OF FEES
As required by Assembly Bill No. SB 84, codified at Labor Code section 7314, the fees for the annual and biennial inspection of conveyances required by Labor Code section 7304 are suspended for fiscal year 2015-16 on a one-time basis. Therefore, effective July 1, 2015:
- The fee for the annual inspection of conveyances is suspended for any private sector conveyance or public entity conveyance
with a permit that has expired or will expire between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016, regardless of when the annual inspection is performed.
You may use the Request for Inspection form to request an annual inspection. Email or fax your form to the Elevator Unit district office that serves your city. The district offices are listed on the Contact the Cal/OSHA Elevator Unit page. To identify which district office serves your city, click on the link at the bottom of the contact page.
- If your conveyance has a two-year permit (for conveyances subject to a full maintenance service contract, as provided by Labor Code section 7304) please contact the Elevator Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org or (408) 362-2120 to obtain a one-time suspension of the biennial inspection. For information about two-year permits, see the Elevator Permits page.
Copies of Permits
Copies of permits are available from the district office for a replacement fee of $15.
Generally permits are issued for a period of one year. Two-year permits are available only under the following conditions:
- If the Division's investigation and inspection indicate the elevator is in a safe condition and will be covered during the entire term of the permit by a full maintenance contract with an elevator service company possessing a C-11 license issued by the California Contractors' State License Board, the Division may issue a permit for a period not exceeding two years.
- Within 60 days of notification by the Division that an elevator may qualify for a two-year
permit, the elevator service company shall submit to the Division the following information:
- A copy of the elevator service company's C-11 license issued by the California Contractors' State License Board;
- A copy of the full maintenance service contract.
- A full maintenance service contract shall:
- Specify the responsibilities of the elevator service company in regard to all repairs and maintenance that may be necessary to keep the elevator in compliance with the Elevator Safety Orders, Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations; and
- Require the elevator service company to service the elevator as frequently as necessary to effect safe operation but not less often than monthly.
- The elevator service company shall notify the Division within 30 days if a full maintenance service contract is terminated or altered during the period the two-year permit is in effect.
To apply for a two-year permit:
- Download an application form and,
- Send the completed form by mail, fax, or email to the appropriate local Elevator District Office.