Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in California, effective January 1, 2024, is $16.00/hour for all employers. Fast Food Restaurant employers, effective April 1, 2024, and Healthcare Facility employers, effective June 1, 2024, will have a higher minimum wage.

Some cities and counties have higher minimum wages than the state’s rate. Here is a list of City and County minimum wages in California maintained by UC Berkeley.

Most employees in California must be paid at least the minimum wage per hour, with some exceptions explained in the FAQs below.

Fast Food Minimum Wage Effective April 1, 2024

Starting April 1, 2024, all “fast food restaurant employees” who are covered by the new law must be paid at least $20.00 per hour. For more information, visit Fast Food Minimum Wage Frequently Asked Questions. Fast food employers must post this Minimum Wage Order Supplement for Fast Food Restaurant Employees.

March 2024