Report Labor Law Violations and File Claims
2022 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave Effective February 19, 2022 – retroactive to January 1, 2022.
2022 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave provides covered employees up to 80 hours of COVID-19 related paid leave. Up to 40 of those hours can be used for isolation and quarantine, receiving vaccines and caring for a child whose school or place of care is closed. The additional 40 hours are available only when an employee, or family member for whom the employee provides care, tests positive for COVID-19. Read more about this supplemental paid sick leave that is available in 2022 in the Labor Commissioner's frequently asked questions.
The pandemic has changed the workplace but it has not reduced workers’ labor rights or the enforcement of California’s labor laws. If you experience wage theft or retaliation for excising your labor rights, or have seen or experienced wide spread labor law violations, you can report it or file a claim with the Labor Commissioner’s Office.
Employers in California are required to pay at least the minimum wage, provide meal and rest breaks, pay overtime and provide paid sick leave. When an employer fails to do so it may be wage theft and you can file an individual wage claim with the Labor Commissioner’s Office.
If you exercise your labor rights, such as filing a wage claim for nonpayment of sick leave and as a result are fired, suspended, demoted or have your hours reduced, that is considered retaliation. You can file a retaliation claim with the Labor Commissioner’s Office.
If you have seen or experienced wide spread labor law violations you can Report a Labor Law Violations with the Labor Commissioner’s Office.
For any questions on your rights, please call 833-LCO-INFO (833-526-4636).
Supplemental Paid Sick Leave Toll Free Hotline
If you know of an employer that has refused to provide paid sick leave or COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave as required by law, or that prevents workers from accessing paid sick hours, please call the Supplemental Paid Sick Leave Toll Free Hotline: (855) LCO-SPSL (855-526-7775).
If you wish to report a business’ failure to provide required paid sick leave or California Supplemental Paid Sick Leave, please speak slowly and clearly. Please include the following information in your message:
- Business Name
- Business Address/Worksite
- Business Phone Number
- Manager or Supervisor if known
- Explain the violation you are reporting
- Your Name and Contact information (only for the purpose of clarifying the tip)