What If I Might be Sick or Have Been Exposed?
- What if I might be sick or have been exposed?
- What are my paid sick leave options?
- What if I was not paid for taking sick leave?
- What if I need to pay for medical treatment or cannot return to work?
- What if I am concerned about retaliation from my employer?
Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (up to 80 hours)
Covered employees in the public or private sectors who work for employers with more than 25 employees are entitled to up to 80 hours of COVID-19 related sick leave from January 1, 2021 through September 30, 2021, immediately upon an oral or written request to their employer.
If an employee took leave for the reasons below prior to March 29, 2021, the employee should make an oral or written request to the employer for payment.
A covered employee may take leave if the employee is unable to work or telework for any of the following reasons:
- Caring for Yourself: The employee is subject to quarantine or isolation period related to COVID-19 as defined by an order or guidelines of the California Department of Public Health, the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or a local health officer with jurisdiction over the workplace, has been advised by a healthcare provider to quarantine, or is experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and seeking a medical diagnosis.
- Caring for a Family Member: The covered employee is caring for a family member who is subject to a COVID-19 quarantine or isolation period or has been advised by a healthcare provided to quarantine due to COVID-19 , or is caring for a child whose school or place of care is closed or unavailable due to COVID-19 on the premises.
- Vaccine-Related: The covered employee is attending a vaccine appointment or cannot work or telework due to vaccine-related symptoms.
Rate of Pay for COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave:
- Non-exempt employees must be paid the highest of the following for each hour of leave:
- Regular rate of pay for the workweek in which leave is taken
- State minimum wage
- Local minimum wage
- Average hourly pay for preceding 90 days (not including overtime pay)
- Exempt employees must be paid the same rate of pay as wages calculated for other paid leave time
- Not to exceed $511 per day and $5,110 in total for 2021 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick leave
If you met these eligibility requirements and are a full-time employee, you may be entitled to 80 hours of SPSL. If you are a part-time employee, please see our FAQs for information on calculating the correct amount of leave.
If you are eligible for supplemental paid sick leave, let your employer know orally or in writing that you need to use your supplemental paid sick leave benefit. Document your request and how you communicated with your employer (orally or in writing).
Paid Sick Leave (up to 24 hours)
Under California's permanent paid sick leave law: if you work as an employee in California for at least 30 days in a year, you are probably covered, whether you are a full-time, part-time, or temporary worker.
California's permanent paid sick leave law gives workers sick time that can be used to:
- Recover from physical/mental illness or injury
- To seek medical diagnosis, treatment, or preventative care
- To care for a family member who is ill or needs medical diagnosis, treatment, or preventative care
- Self-isolate as a result of potential exposure to COVID-19
You can earn one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. The sick leave that your employer is required to provide is limited to 24 hours or three days per year, whichever is more.
If You or a Co-worker are Denied Paid Sick Leave
If you know of an employer that has refused to provide paid sick leave or COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave as required by law, or who prevents workers from accessing paid sick hours, you can report the employer by leaving a message on the Supplemental Paid Sick Leave Toll Free Hotline: (855) LCO-SPSL (855-526-7775).
Please speak slowly and clearly to report a business' failure to provide required paid sick leave or California Supplemental Paid Sick Leave. Include the following information in your message:
- Business Name
- Business Address/Worksite
- Business Phone Number
- Manager or Supervisor if known
- Explain the violation you are reporting
- Your Name and Contact information (only for the purpose of clarifying the tip, unless you decide to file a wage claim)
- Are you eligible for Paid Sick Leave? Paid Sick Leave Navigator
- Side by side Comparison of Leave Chart
- How to report a labor law violation