What If I Might be Sick or Have Been Exposed?
- What if I might be sick or have been exposed?
- What are my paid sick leave options?
- What if I was not paid for taking sick leave?
- What if I need to pay for medical treatment or cannot return to work?
- What if I am concerned about retaliation from my employer?
2022 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave Effective February 19, 2022 – retroactive to January 1, 2022.
2022 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave provides covered employees up to 80 hours of COVID-19 related paid leave. Up to 40 of those hours can be used for isolation and quarantine, receiving vaccines and caring for a child whose school or place of care is closed. The additional 40 hours are available only when an employee, or family member for whom the employee provides care, tests positive for COVID-19. Read more about this supplemental paid sick leave that is available in 2022 in the Labor Commissioner's frequently asked questions.
Paid Sick Leave (up to 24 hours)
Under California's permanent paid sick leave law: if you work as an employee in California for at least 30 days in a year, you are probably covered, whether you are a full-time, part-time, or temporary worker.
California's permanent paid sick leave law gives workers sick time that can be used to:
- Recover from physical/mental illness or injury
- To seek medical diagnosis, treatment, or preventative care
- To care for a family member who is ill or needs medical diagnosis, treatment, or preventative care
- Self-isolate as a result of potential exposure to COVID-19
You can earn one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. The sick leave that your employer is required to provide may be limited to 24 hours or three days per year, whichever is more.
2021 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave was Available until September 30, 2021
2021 COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave (SPSL) was available to most workers in California from January 1, 2021 to September 30, 2021. Employers with 26 or more employees had to provide up to 80 hours of paid time off for COVID-19 reasons. If you took unpaid time for COVID-19 reasons during this period, you might still be able to request pay after September 30. Ask your employer, or contact the Labor Commissioner's Office.
2021 SPSL could have been used to stay home due to symptoms or exposure, take care of yourself or a family member, for time for an employee to get the vaccine or recover from side effects, and more.
Cal/OSHA’s Emergency Temporary Standards (ETS) on COVID-19 Prevention require employers to exclude employees from the workplace under certain circumstances related to workplace exposure to COVID-19. While the employee is excluded, their employer must maintain their pay and benefits. For more information on the ETS and whether it applies to your workplace, refer to Cal/OSHA's Frequently Asked Questions.
If You or a Co-worker are Denied Paid Sick Leave
If you know of an employer that has refused to provide paid sick as required by law, or who prevents workers from accessing paid sick hours, you can report the employer by leaving a message on the Paid Sick Leave Toll Free Hotline: (855) LCO‑SPSL (855‑526‑7775).
- Business Name
- Business Address/Worksite
- Business Phone Number
- Manager or Supervisor if known
- Explain the violation you are reporting
- Your Name and Contact information (only for the purpose of clarifying the tip, unless you decide to file a wage claim)
- Are you eligible for Paid Sick Leave? Paid Sick Leave Navigator
- Side by side Comparison of Leave Chart
- How to report a labor law violation