- LETF Home
- Report a labor law violation
- Report a workplace hazard to Cal/OSHA
- File a wage claim
- Know my employment rights
- Know my rights as an injured worker
- Get workplace postings
- Find prevailing wage determinations
Also of Interest
GlossaryA B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W
Labor includes work or service whether rendered or performed under contract, subcontract, partnership, station plan or other agreement if the work paid for is performed by the person demanding payment (California Labor Code section 200 (b)).
The executive officer who is chief of the Division of Labor Standards
labor commissioner's office
Also known as the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement.
A flexible length of rope, wire rope, or strap used to secure the body belt or body harness to a deceleration device, lifeline or anchorage.
Employees during their first 160 hours of employment working in occupations in which they have no previous similar or related experience. A learner may be of any age.
legal working age
For most jobs, you must have a permit to work if you are under 18 years of age. If you are younger than 18, but enrolled in an apprenticeship program registered with the California Division of Apprenticeship Standards, you may perform work in industries usually not allowed to employ minors, such as construction.
less serious violation
Less serious violations come in two categories:
- regulatory violation -- the violation pertains to a Title 8 permit, posting, reporting or record keeping requirement and is not classified as general or serious.
- general violation -- the violation has a relationship to occupational safety and health, but is specifically determined not to be of a serious nature.
A right or claim for payment against a workers' compensation case.
Temporary change in job assignment to accommodate work restrictions while you are healing. May or may not pay at the same rate as your normal work assignment. Lost wages may be partially made up by Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) payments.
list(s) of hazardous substances
A list of the hazardous substances known to be present using an identity that is referenced on the appropriate material safety data sheet. The list may be compiled for the workplace as a whole or for individual work areas.
A workers' compensation claim in which an application for adjudication has been filed.
Lockout/block-out means that any energy source -- whether electrical, hydraulic, mechanical, compressed air, or any other source that might cause unexpected movement -- must be disengaged or blocked, and electrical sources must be de-energized and locked or positively sealed in the off position. Even a locked-out machine, however, may not be safe if there are parts of the machine that are not blocked to prevent inadvertent movement. Potential energy that may need to be blocked can come from suspended parts, subject to gravity, or may be energy stored in springs.
log of occupational injuries and illnesses
Used by employers to record and classify work-related injuries and illnesses and note the severity. Employers must record information about every work-related death and about every work-related injury or illness that involves loss of consciousness, restricted work activity or job transfer, days away from work, or medical treatment beyond first aid using the log. They must also record significant work-related injuries and illnesses diagnosed by a licensed health care professional.