Logo for Dept of industrial relations California state seal.
Release Number: 2023-100
Date: December 28, 2023

The California Labor Commissioner’s Office Reminds Employers about Expansion of Paid Sick Leave starting January 1, 2024

Employers must provide workers to at least 40 hours or five days of paid sick leave each year

The California Labor Commissioner’s Office (LCO) is reminding employers that California’s paid sick leave law has been expanded starting on January 1, 2024. Employers must allow workers to use at least 40 hours or five days of paid sick leave per year, an increase from the current 24 hours or three days. Some cities or regions in California may require employers to provide additional sick leave.

The LCO has created an informational Paid Sick Leave factsheet that explains how workers qualify and can use paid sick leave. The fact sheet is also available in Spanish. For more details, review the Paid Sick Leave Frequently Asked Questions.

The Department of Industrial Relations’ Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (California Labor Commissioner’s Office) combats wage theft and unfair competition by investigating allegations of illegal and unfair business practices.

The LCO in 2020 launched an interdisciplinary outreach campaign, “Reaching Every Californian.” The campaign amplifies basic protections and builds pathways to affected populations, so workers and employers understand legal protections and obligations, as well as the Labor Commissioner’s enforcement procedures. Californians can follow the Labor Commissioner on Facebook and Twitter.