- Attend a meeting, workshop or hearing
- Do business with DIR
- Get workplace postings
- Paid Sick Leave
- View Labor Law FAQs
- Register a car wash
- Register for garment manufacturing
- Report a violation of the state Labor Code
- Apply for a permit or registration with Cal/OSHA
- See available occupational health and safety publications
- View Labor Law:
- Develop an injury & illness prevention program
- Get information on workplace safety & health requirements
- Obtain a free consultation from Cal/OSHA Consultation Services
- Report an accident or injury
- See accident statistics
Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) - Small Business
Small businesses are critical to California's economic recovery and strength, to building America's future, and to helping the United States compete in today's global marketplace. Small businesses also represent 99.7 percent of all employer firms and they employ just over half of U.S. workers and pay 44 percent of total U.S. private payroll.
Firms with fewer than 500 employees accounted for 64 percent (or 14.5 million) of the 22.5 million net new jobs (gains minus losses) between 1993 and the third quarter of 2008.
Small firms create more than half of the non-agriculture private gross domestic product (GDP) and hire 40 percent of high tech workers such as scientists, engineers, and computer programmers.
And interestingly, more than half of all small businesses are home-based and 2 percent are franchises.
DIR is committed to fostering small business growth, to preserving free competitive enterprise, to maintaining and promoting fair employment opportunities for diverse communities and strengthening California's economy.
With this commitment, we have compiled material from various agencies to help small businesses.
DIR can provide you with valuable information to ensure that you comply with state laws regarding workplace safety, labor law and workers' compensation information. By complying with state regulations, you are protecting the health and well being of your employees.
As a reminder, as of July 1, 2015, California employers are required to notify most employees about Paid Sick Leave.
How do I start my business?
This Web site will help guide you through the proper steps you will need to get your business started or if you currently own your business, this web site will provide you with updated information. The links below obtained from Business.Gov and other web sites, will provide you the necessary steps to starting your business.
Starting Your Business
- Register a Business Name
- Get a Federal Tax ID Number
- Register for State and Local Taxes
- Obtain Proper Permits to Begin Operation
- Understand Employer Responsibilities
- Get Online
- Other resources to check when starting a business
Hiring & Administering Employees
- Following the Proper Payroll Guidelines
- Withholding Payroll for Federal & State Taxes
- Workplace Posting Obligations
- Obtaining Required Insurance Policies
- Alternative Workweeks
Creating and Maintaining a Safe Work Environment