Dept. of Industrial Relations logo

Elevator Certification

The Elevator Unit's Certification Section is responsible for the following:

  • Certifies the competency of limited and general elevator mechanics, temporary mechanics, emergency mechanics, elevator companies, and elevator inspectors.
  • Reviews applications for each classification and verifies that applicants meet the requirements specified in the California Labor Code.
  • Upon meeting these requirements, applicants are issued a certificate, an identification card, or both, depending on the type of application.
  • Processes all application fees and forwards them to the Accounting Department.

For more information visit our Frequently Asked Questions.

How to Apply for Certification:

Click one of the links below for requirements to become a Certified Competent Conveyance (Elevator) Mechanic (CCCM), Certified Qualified Conveyance Company (CQCC), Certified Competent Conveyance Inspector (CCCI), or a Temporary Certified Competent Conveyance Mechanic (TCCCM).

Conveyance Companies Conveyance (Elevator) Mechanics Temporary Conveyance Mechanics Conveyance Inspectors

Application Forms

For a complete list of elevator forms, visit the Elevator Forms Page.