Car Wash Registration Document Requirements
Documentation Required of ALL NEW AND RENEWALS Applicants:
- Completed Application form DLSE 666 (Rev. 05/17) or an online application.
- Annual registration AND assessment fees. ($300.00 for each branch location)
- A valid workers’ compensation insurance certificate or a copy of the certificate from the Director of the Department of Industrial Relations consenting to your being self-insured against liability to pay compensation under the State’s workers’ compensation laws either as an individual employer or as one employer in a group of employers. A valid workers’ compensation insurance certificate MUST:
- Show the complete and correct name of the legal entity that is the insured employer, i.e. full name of an individual (if a sole proprietorship), all partners, general and limited (if a partnership),name of limited liability company, or corporation, whichever is applicable.
- Show correct fictitious business name (the “doing business as” name), if applicable.
- Contain the complete and correct address of each location where the employer engages in the business of car washing and polishing; and
- Identify the certificate holder as:
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement
Licensing and Registration Unit
1515 Clay Street, STE 401
Oakland, CA 94612
IMPORTANT: The DLSE will not accept copies of an application for insurance, policy declaration, information page, annual rating endorsement, or payroll report. Only the actual certificate or a readable copy will be accepted.
- If you intend to contract with an employee leasing company as the employer, that employee leasing company must be currently registered with the Labor Commissioner as an employer engaged in the business of car washing and polishing, and you must submit the following:
- A copy of the signed contract between you and the employee leasing company; and
- A current workers’ compensation insurance certificate that is provided to you by the employee leasing company.
- Proof of compliance with the local government’s (i.e., city, county, district, etc.) business licensing or regional regulatory requirements. For example, a car wash operating within the jurisdiction of the South County Regional Wastewater Authority is required to have an industrial waste discharge permit certificate, a copy of which would be included in the applicant’s registration packet.
- Surety bond. FOR NEW APPLICANTS: A surety bond in the amount of One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Dollars ($150,000.00) or if you are a car wash employer with a valid collective bargaining agreement no bond is required. The bond must be issued by a surety company licensed to do business in the State of California and must be in favor of, and payable to the people of the State of California. The bond may either be on the surety’s form or on the form provided by the Labor Commissioner, Car Wash Bond, DLSE 668 (01/06).
- FOR RENEWAL APPLICANTS: A surety bond in the amount of $150,000 must be in place and continuous while conducting a car washing and polishing business unless you are covered by a valid collective bargaining agreement.
- A completed Internal Revenue Service (IRS) form 8821 must be submitted directly to the IRS Compliance Verification Group (CVG). The address for the IRS CVG is listed on the front page of the pamphlet entitled Car Wash Registration-Proof of Tax Filing and Payment.
ADDITIONAL Documentation Required for NEW Applicants:
- A copy of the Fictitious Business Name Statement(s) (doing business as (dba)) for any business name(s) you use or intend to use.
- A copy of your State Employer Identification Number (SEIN) or a copy of the application for same.
- A copy of your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or a copy of the application for same.
- A copy of the endorsed Articles of Incorporation, if you are a corporation.
- A copy of the endorsed Articles of Organization, if you are a limited liability company.
- A copy of the endorsed Certificate of Limited Partnership, if you are a Limited Partnership
- A copy of the Secretary of State Statement of Information, if you are a Corporation or a Limited Liability Company.
- A sample form of your contract and the 24-hour cancellation notice that you use/ intend to use, if you are an employee leasing company.
Any changes to the above forms must also be submitted at the time of renewal.
AN INCOMPLETE APPLICATION, INCLUDING INCOMPLETE SUBMISSION OF REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION, WILL DELAY THE ISSUANCE OF YOUR LICENSE. IF YOU ARE SUBMITTING A RENEWAL APPLICATION, TO AVOID A LAPSE IN THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF YOUR LICENSE, PLEASE RETURN YOUR APPLICATION PACKAGE, WITH FEES AND DOCUMENTATION, AT LEAST 90-DAY PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION OF YOUR LICENSE.
Labor Commissioner's Office