- Become an apprentice
- Find an apprenticeship program
- Find a registered apprentice
- Train employees through apprenticeship
- Program sponsors
- Use apprentices on public works projects
- I built it!
- Apprenticeship Council meetings
- DIR Laws and Regulations
Apprentices on public work projects summary of requirements
Summary of requirements
California Labor Code Section 1777.5 requires all public works contractors and subcontractors to:
If you are a contractor already approved to train apprentices (a member of a DAS recognized Apprenticeship Committee
“Contractors who are already approved to train apprentices must provide contract award information to the apprenticeship committee for each applicable apprenticeable craft or trade that has approved the contractor in the area of the site of the of the public works project.” The Contract Award Information must be in writing and submitted to the applicable committee(s) within 10 days of the date of the prime or subcontract but in no event later than the first day the contractor has workers employed on the public works project. You may use form DAS 140 for this purpose. This is simply a notification of award; it is not automatically a request for dispatch of a registered apprentice.
If you are not already approved to train by an Apprenticeship Committee
Contractors not already approved to train apprentices must submit Contract Award Information (DAS 140) to every apprenticeship program in the geographic area of the public works project, for each craft you intend to employ on the project. You can determine which apprenticeship programs are approved in specific geographic locations by clicking on the following link http://www.dir.ca.gov/databases/das/pwaddrstart.asp
The Contract Award Information must be in writing and submitted to the applicable committee(s) within 10 days of the date of the prime or subcontract but in no event later than the first day the contractor has workers employed on the public works project. This is simply a notification of award; it is not automatically a request for dispatch of a registered apprentice.
A contractor on a public works project must employ one (1) hour of apprentice work for every five (5) hours performed by a journeyman. Title 8 California Code of Regulations, Section 230.1.for each separate craft at the end of a project. Please check the DAS Important notices to determine if any exemptions exist for your craft or trade. http://www.dir.ca.gov/DAS/PublicWorksForms.htm
All contractors must request dispatch of an apprentice from an apprenticeship program (for each apprenticeable craft or trade) by giving the program actual notice of at least 72 hours (excluding Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays) before the date on which apprentices are required. A DAS 142 form is provided for this purpose. All requests for dispatch must be in writing and sent by first class mail, fax or email.Contractors who do not receive a sufficient number of apprentices from their initial request, must request dispatch apprentices from all other apprenticeship committees, if more than one exists in the area of the public works project. To determine which apprenticeship programs are approved for your craft or trade in a specific geographic location click the following link http://www.dir.ca.gov/databases/das/pwaddrstart.asp
Contractors who are awarded public works jobs must make training fund contributions in the amount established in the prevailing wage rate publication for journeymen and apprentices. This nominal fee contributes to the assurance that new apprentices coming into the craft will be guaranteed the highest level of training and as skilled craftsmen retire, the trade will survive.
Contractors who contribute to an apprenticeship program are entitled to a full credit in the amount of those contributions. Contractors who do not contribute to an apprenticeship program must submit their contributions to the California Apprenticeship Council, PO Box 420603, San Francisco, CA 94142-0603.
Training fund contributions to the Council are due and payable on the 15th day of the month for work performed during the preceding month. The contribution should be paid by check and be accompanied be a completed training fund contribution form (CAC 2) or a letter containing the following information:
- The name, address and telephone number of the contractor making the contribution.
- The contractors license number.
- The name and address of the public agency that awarded the contract.
- The jobsite location, including the county where the work was performed.
- The contract or project number.
- The time period covered by the enclosed contributions.
- The contribution rate and total hours worked by apprenticeable occupation.
- The name of the program(s) that provide apprentices, if any.
- The number of apprentice hours worked, by apprenticeable occupation and by program.