- Prevailing Wage
- Certified Payroll Reporting
- Awarding Bodies
- Apprenticeship Requirements
- File a Public Works Complaint
- Tutorials and Webinars
About Public Works
Registration with DIR costs $300 and covers the fiscal year (July 1–June 30th). Credit card payments can be processed within 24 hours, while other forms of payment may delay registration for up to eight weeks.
- Verify your contractor registration status for the current fiscal year
- Quick tips for using the active registration search tool most effectively
- Please note: If the current fiscal year search is not pulling up your information and you registered before June 30th, your registration has likely expired. Please begin the renewal process (see the selection just below). A search engine within the renewal application will confirm if your registration has expired and allow you to renew it.
- Activate or renew your contractor registration
- Find your project on our database
- Be in good legal standing with no outstanding judgments or liens owed to workers or to the State of California.
- Not be debarred from doing public works by the United States Department of Labor or any state that has public works debarment laws.
- Have a California Contractors State License if one is required (non-construction contractors must provide their professional license number if one exists for their profession).
Consequences of Noncompliance
Contractors shall pay a penalty of
- $2,000 if the unregistered contractor
- bid on a public works project on or after March 1, 2015,
- was awarded a public works contract on or after April 1, 2015, or
- failed to renew while bidding or working on a public works project
- A lower penalty of $300, will apply only to first time lapses in registration (failure to renew while bidding or working on a public works project) if the registration is renewed by October 1 of the same fiscal year. Renewing with a lapsed registration after that date will result in a $2,000 penalty.
To learn more about Public Works Contractor Registration, please read the Public Works Reforms (SB 854) fact sheet and the frequently asked questions. If you have additional questions about contractor registration, please contact us for assistance.