2017 What's New Archive

Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

December 4, 2017 California’s Minimum Wage to Increase to $11 and $10.50 per Hour
November 20, 2017 Labor Labor Commissioner Stresses the Importance of Valid Workers’ Compensation Insurance
American Labor Alliance and CompOne USA insurance not valid in California
September 14, 2017 California Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Los Angeles Garment Manufacturers More Than $370,000 for Labor Law Violations
August 16, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Chula Vista Restaurant Over $274,000 for Wage Theft
August 14, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Office Files $6.3 Million Misclassification and Wage Theft Lawsuit against Glendale Construction Company
August 9, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Jack in the Box Franchise Owner More Than $900,000 for Misclassification
July 27, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Office Recovers over $360,000 for Live-in Caregivers in Wage Theft Case
July 26, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Two Towing Companies over $4.8 Million for Wage Theft Violations
July 25, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Office Cites Oakland Construction Company Over $3.5 Million for Wage Theft Violations
June 30, 2017 Public Works Small Project Exemption Clarified: Based on the Amount of the Entire Project, Prevailing Wages Must Still be Paid
June 29, 2017 California Labor Commissioner Citation of General Contractor for Subcontractor’s Wage Theft Affirmed
June 28, 2017 Public Works Contractor Registration Fee Increased, Small Project Exemption Established Effective July 1
June 27, 2017 Labor Commissioner’s Decision Results in $48,860 for Convenience Store Clerk Making Less Than Minimum Wage and No Overtime Pay
June 15, 2017 Public Works Contractors: Registration Renewal Must Be Completed by June 30 to Avoid Penalties
May 23, 2017 U.S. District Court Upholds Labor Commissioner Awards of Almost $1 Million for Misclassification of Port and Rail Truck Drivers