This information is provided free of charge by the Department of Industrial Relations from its web site at www.dir.ca.gov. These regulations are for the convenience of the user and no representation or warranty is made that the information is current or accurate. See full disclaimer at http://www.dir.ca.gov/od_pub/disclaimer.html.

Chapter 3.2. California Occupational Safety and Health Regulations (CAL/OSHA)
Subchapter 2. Regulations of the Division of Occupational Safety and Health

Article 12. Tower Cranes--Operating Permit and Certification Requirements

Return to index
New query

§344.73. Tower Crane Operating Permit and Inspection Fee Schedule.

(a) To cover the costs associated with investigating and issuing an operating permit for a fixed or mobile tower crane, the fee of $200.00 shall be paid.

Note: The permit to operate and the associated application fee is separate from, and in addition to, the permit and fee requirements of section 341 of title 8 of the California Code of Regulations for the erection of a fixed tower crane.

(b) In addition to the fees set forth in subsection (a) of this section, the hourly fee of $75.00 or fraction thereof, including travel time as set forth in part (1) of this subsection, based on quarter hour intervals, with a minimum of one-half hour, shall be paid to cover the costs associated with inspecting any fixed or mobile tower crane pursuant to the permit requirements of this article and Labor Code section 7373.

(1) Travel time shall include the time from the District Office of the Division processing the request for a permit to the inspection site, and from the inspection site back to the District Office. In the event the travel encompasses multiple permit inspections of different cranes operated by different employers the Division shall allocate the travel time equitably among the permit applicants.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 60.5, 6308, 7373 and 7375, Labor Code. Reference: Sections 7371 and 7373, Labor Code.

HISTORY

1. New section filed 7-15-91 as an emergency; operative 7-15-91 (Register 91, No. 44). A Certificate of Compliance must be transmitted to OAL 11-12-91 or emergency language will be repealed by operation of law on the following day.

2. Amendment of NOTE filed 3-18-92; operative 3-18-92 pursuant to Government Code section 11346.2(d) (Register 92, No. 13).

Go BackGo Back to Article 12 Table of Contents