CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

Subchapter 7. General Industry Safety Orders

Adopt Section 3205 to read:

§ 3205. COVID-19 Prevention.

- (a) Scope.
 - (1) This section applies to all employees and places of employment, with the following exceptions:
 - (A) Places of employment Work locations with one employee who does not have contact with other persons.
 - (B) Employees working from home.
 - (C) Employees with occupational exposure as defined by section 5199, when covered by that section 5199.
 - (D) Employees teleworking from a location of the employee's choice, which is not under the control of the employer.
 - (2) Nothing in this section is intended to limit more protective or stringent state or local health department mandates or guidance.
- (b) Definitions. The following definitions apply to this section and to sections 3205.1 through 3205.4.
 - (1) "Close contact" means being within six feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or greater in any 24-hour period within or overlapping with the "high-risk exposure period" defined by this section. This definition applies regardless of the use of face coverings.

EXCEPTION: Employees have not had a close contact if they wore a respirator required by the employer and used in compliance with section 5144, whenever they were within six feet of the COVID-19 case during the high-risk exposure period.

- (21) "COVID-19" means coronavirus disease, an infectious disease caused by the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2).
- (32) "COVID-19 case" (A) Mmeans a person who:
 - (A)1. Has a positive "COVID-19 test" as defined in this section; or
 - (B) Has a positive COVID-19 diagnosis from a licensed health care provider; or

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- (C)2. Is subject to a COVID-19-related order to isolate issued by a local or state health official; or
- (D)3. Has died due to COVID-19, in the determination of a local health department or per inclusion in the COVID-19 statistics of a county.
- (B) A person is no longer a "COVID-19 case" in this section when a licensed health care professional determines that the person does not have COVID-19, in accordance with recommendations made by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) or the local health department pursuant to authority granted under the Health and Safety Code or Title 17, California Code of Regulations to CDPH or the local health department.
- (3) "COVID-19 exposure" means being within six feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or greater in any 24-hour period within or overlapping with the "high risk exposure period" defined by this section. This definition applies regardless of the use of face coverings.
- (4) "COVID-19 hazard" means exposure to-potentially infectious material that may contain SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. Potentially infectious materials include airborne droplets, small particle aerosols, and airborne droplet nuclei, which most commonly result from a person or persons exhaling, talking or vocalizing, coughing, or sneezing, or from procedures performed on persons which may aerosolize saliva or respiratory tract fluids, among other things. This also includes objects or surfaces that may be contaminated with SARS-CoV-2.
- (5) "COVID-19 symptoms" means fever of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher, chills, cough, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, fatigue, muscle or body aches, headache, new loss of taste or smell, sore throat, congestion or runny nose, nausea or vomiting, or diarrhea, unless a licensed health care professional determines the person's symptoms were caused by a known condition other than COVID-19.
- (6) "COVID-19 test" means a viral test for SARS-CoV-2 that is:
 - (A) Approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or has an Emergency Use Authorization from the FDA to diagnose current infection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and
 - (B) Administered in accordance with the FDA approval or the FDA Emergency Use Authorization as applicable.
- (7) "Exposed workplace" means any work location, working area, or common area at work used or accessed by a COVID-19 case during the high-risk period, including bathrooms,

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

walkways, hallways, aisles, break or eating areas, and waiting areas. The exposed workplace does not include buildings or facilities not entered by a COVID-19 case.

- (A) Effective January 1, 2021, the "exposed workplace" also includes but is not limited to the "worksite" of the COVID-19 case as defined by Labor Code section 6409.6(d)(5).
- (7) "Exposed group" means all employees at a work location, working area, or a common area at work, where an employee COVID-19 case was present at any time during the high-risk exposure period. A common area at work includes bathrooms, walkways, hallways, aisles, break or eating areas, and waiting areas. The following exceptions apply:
 - (A) For the purpose of determining the exposed group, a place where persons momentarily pass through while everyone is wearing face coverings, without congregating, is not a work location, working area, or a common area at work.
 - (B) If the COVID-19 case was part of a distinct group of employees who are not present at the workplace at the same time as other employees, for instance a work crew or shift that does not overlap with another work crew or shift, only employees within that distinct group are part of the exposed group.
 - (C) If the COVID-19 case visited a work location, working area, or a common area at work for less than 15 minutes during the high-risk exposure period, and the COVID-19 case was wearing a face covering during the entire visit, other people at the work location, working area, or common area are not part of the exposed group.
 - NOTE: An exposed group may include the employees of more than one employer. See <u>Labor Code sections 6303 and 6304.1.</u>
- (8) "Face covering" means a <u>surgical mask, a medical procedure mask, a respirator worn voluntarily, or a tightly woven fabric or non-woven material of at least two layers. A face covering has with no visible holes or openings and must, which covers the nose and mouth. A face covering does not include a scarf, ski mask, balaclava, bandana, turtleneck, collar, or single layer of fabric.</u>
- (9) "Fully vaccinated" means the employer has documented that the person received, at least 14 days prior, either the second dose in a two-dose COVID-19 vaccine series or a single-dose COVID-19 vaccine. Vaccines must be FDA approved; have an emergency use authorization from the FDA; or, for persons fully vaccinated outside the United States, be listed for emergency use by the World Health Organization (WHO).
- (109) "High-risk exposure period" means the following time period:
 - (A) For <u>COVID-19 casespersons</u> who develop COVID-19 symptoms:, from two days before they first develop symptoms until <u>all of the following are true: it has been</u> 10 days

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- <u>since</u> after-symptoms first appeared; and 24 hours have passed with no fever, without the use of fever-reducing medications; and symptoms have improved; or
- (B) For <u>COVID-19 cases</u> cases who test positive who never develop COVID-19 symptoms; from two days before until ten10 days after the specimen for their first positive test for COVID-19 was collected.
- (11) "Respirator" means a respiratory protection device approved by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) to protect the wearer from particulate matter, such as an N95 filtering facepiece respirator.
- (12) "Worksite," for the limited purposes of COVID-19 prevention regulations only, means the building, store, facility, agricultural field, or other location where a COVID-19 case was present during the high-risk exposure period. It does not apply to buildings, floors, or other locations of the employer that a COVID-19 case did not enter.
 - NOTE: The term worksite is used for the purpose of notice requirements in subsections (c)(3)(B)3. and 4. only.
- (c) Written COVID-19 Prevention Program. Employers shall establish, implement, and maintain an effective, written COVID-19 Prevention Program, which may be integrated into the employer's Injury and Illness Prevention Program required by section 3203, or be maintained in a separate document. The written elements of a COVID-19 Prevention Program shall include:
 - (1) System for communicating. The employer shall do all of the following in a form readily understandable by employees:
 - (A) Ask employees to report to the employer, without fear of reprisal, COVID-19 symptoms, possible <u>close contacts</u> <u>COVID-19 exposures</u>, and possible COVID-19 hazards at the workplace.
 - (B) Describe procedures or policies for accommodating how employees with medical or other conditions that put them at increased risk of severe COVID-19 illness <u>can</u> request accommodations.
 - (C) Provide information about access to COVID-19 testing. as described in subsection (c)(5)(I) when If testing is required under this section, section 3205.1, or section 3205.2, the employer shall inform affected employees of the reason for the COVID-19 testing and the possible consequences of a positive test.
 - (D) In accordance with subsection (c)(3)(B)3, communicate information about COVID-19 hazards and the employer's COVID-19 policies and procedures to employees and to

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

other employers, persons, and entities within or in contact with the employer's workplace.

NOTE: See subsections (c)(3)(C) and (c)(3)(D) for confidentiality requirements for COVID-19 cases.

- (2) Identification and evaluation of COVID-19 hazards.
 - (A) The employer shall allow for employee and authorized employee representative participation in the identification and evaluation of COVID-19 hazards.
 - (B) The employer shall develop and implement a process for screening employees for and responding to employees with COVID-19 symptoms. The employer may ask employees to evaluate their own symptoms before reporting to work. If the employer conducts screening <u>indoors</u> at the workplace, the employer shall ensure that face coverings are used during screening by both screeners and employees <u>who are not</u> <u>fully vaccinated</u> and, if temperatures are measured, that non-contact thermometers are used.
 - (C) The employer shall develop COVID-19 policies and procedures to respond effectively and immediately to individuals at the workplace who are a COVID-19 case to prevent or reduce the risk of transmission of COVID-19 in the workplace.
 - (D) The employer shall conduct a workplace-specific identification of all interactions, areas, activities, processes, equipment, and materials that could potentially expose employees to COVID-19 hazards. Employers shall treat all persons, regardless of symptoms or negative COVID-19 test results, as potentially infectious.
 - 1. This shall include identification of places and times when people may congregate or come in contact with one another, regardless of whether employees are performing an assigned work task or not, for instance during meetings or trainings and including in and around entrances, bathrooms, hallways, aisles, walkways, elevators, break or eating areas, cool-down areas, and waiting areas.
 - 2. This shall include an evaluation of employees' potential workplace exposure to all persons at the workplace or who may enter the workplace, including coworkers, employees of other entities, members of the public, customers or clients, and independent contractors. Employers shall consider how employees and other persons enter, leave, and travel through the workplace, in addition to addressing fixed stationary work locations.
 - (E) For indoor locations, the employer shall evaluate how to maximize the quantity ventilation withof outdoor air; and whether it is possible to increase filtration

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

efficiency to the highest level of filtration efficiency compatible with the existing ventilation system; and whether the use of portable or mounted High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filtration units, or other air cleaning systems, would reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission.

- (F) The employer shall review applicable orders and guidance from the State of California and the local health department related to COVID-19 hazards and prevention.

 including These orders and guidance are both information of general application, including Interim guidance for Ventilation, Filtration, and Air Quality in Indoor

 Environments by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), and information specific to the employer's industry, location, and operations.
- (G) The employer shall evaluate existing COVID-19 prevention controls at the workplace and the need for different or additional controls. This includes evaluation of controls in subsections (c)(4), and (c)(6), and through (c)(78).
- (H) The employer shall conduct periodic inspections as needed to identify unhealthy conditions, work practices, and work procedures related to COVID-19 and to ensure compliance with employers' COVID-19 policies and procedures.
- (3) Investigating and responding to COVID-19 cases in the workplace.
 - (A) Employers shall have an effective procedure to investigate COVID-19 cases in the workplace. This includes procedures for verifying COVID-19 case status, receiving seeking information from employees regarding COVID-19 cases and close contacts, COVID-19 test results, and onset of COVID-19 symptoms, and identifying and recording COVID-19 cases.
 - (B) The employer shall take the following actions when there has been a COVID-19 case at the place of employment:
 - Determine the day and time the COVID-19 case was last present and, to the extent possible, the date of the positive COVID-19 test(s) and/or diagnosis, and the date the COVID-19 case first had one or more COVID-19 symptoms, if any were experienced.
 - 2. Determine who may have had a <u>close contactCOVID-19 exposure</u>. This requires an evaluation of the activities of the COVID-19 case and all locations at the workplace

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

which may have been visited by the COVID-19 case during the high-risk exposure period.

NOTE ote: See subsection (c)(910) for exclusion requirements for employees with after a close contact COVID-19 exposure.

- 3. Within one business day of the time the employer knew or should have known of a COVID-19 case, the employer shall give written notice Give notice of the potential COVID-19 exposure, within one business day, in a form readily understandable by employees, that people at the worksite may have been exposed to COVID-19. The notice shall be written in a way that does not reveal any personal identifying information of the COVID-19 case. Written notice may include, but is not limited to, personal service, email, or text message if it can reasonably be anticipated to be received by the employee within one business day of sending. The notice shall include the disinfection plan required by Labor Code section 6409.6(a)(4). The notice must be sent to the following:
 - a. All employees at the worksite during the high-risk exposure period who may have had COVID 19 exposure and their authorized representatives. If the employer should reasonably know that an employee has not received the notice, or has limited literacy in the language used in the notice, the employer shall provide verbal notice, as soon as practicable, in a language understandable by the employee.
 - b. Independent contractors and other employers <u>at the worksite</u>present at the workplace during the high-risk exposure period.
- 4. Within one business day of the time the employer knew or should have known of the COVID-19 case, the employer shall provide the notice required by Labor Code section 6409.6(a)(2) and (c) to the authorized representative of any employee at the worksite during the high-risk exposure period.
- 54. Offer Make COVID-19 testing available at no cost, to employees during paid time, their working hours to all employees of the employer who had a close contact potential COVID-19 exposure in the workplace and provide them with the

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

information on benefits described in subsections (c)(5)(B) and (c)(910)(C)-, with the following exceptions:

- a. Employees who were fully vaccinated before the close contact and do not have COVID-19 symptoms.
- b. COVID-19 cases who returned to work pursuant to subsection 3205(c)(10)(A) or (B) and have remained free of COVID-19 symptoms, for 90 days after the initial onset of COVID-19 symptoms or, for COVID-19 cases who never developed symptoms, for 90 days after the first positive test.
- 65. Investigate whether any-workplace conditions could have contributed to the risk of COVID-19 exposure and what could be done to reduce exposure to COVID-19 hazards.
- (C) Personal identifying information of COVID-19 cases or persons with COVID-19 symptoms, and any employee medical records required by this section or by sections 3205.1 through 3205.4, shall be kept confidential unless disclosure is required or permitted by law. All COVID-19 testing or related medical services provided by the employer under this section and sections 3205.1 through 3205.4 shall be provided in a manner that ensures the confidentiality of employees. EXCEPTION to subsection (c)(3)(C): Unredacted information on COVID-19 cases shall be provided to the local health department, CDPH, the Division, and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Heath (NIOSH) immediately upon request, or as and when otherwise required by law-immediately upon request.
- (D) The employer shall ensure that all employee medical records required by this section and sections 3205.1 through 3205.4 are kept confidential and are not disclosed or reported without the employee's express written consent to any person within or outside the workplace.
 - EXCEPTION 1 to subsection (c)(3)(D): Unredacted medical records shall be provided to the local health department, CDPH, the Division, NIOSH, or as otherwise required by law immediately upon request.
 - EXCEPTION 2 to subsection (c)(3)(D): This provision does not apply to records that do not contain individually identifiable medical information or from which individually identifiable medical information has been removed.
- (4) Correction of COVID-19 hazards. Employers shall implement effective policies and/or procedures for correcting unsafe or unhealthy conditions, work practices, policies and procedures in a timely manner based on the severity of the hazard. This includes, but is not limited to, implementing controls and/or policies and procedures in response to the

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- evaluations conducted under subsections (c)(2) and (c)(3) and implementing the controls required by subsections (c)(6) and through (c)($\frac{78}{2}$).
- (5) Training and instruction. The employer shall provide effective training and instruction to employees that includes the following:
 - (A) The employer's COVID-19 policies and procedures to protect employees from COVID-19 hazards, and how to participate in the identification and evaluation of COVID-19 hazards under subsection (c)(2)(A).
 - (B) Information regarding COVID-19-related benefits to which the employee may be entitled under applicable federal, state, or local laws. This includes any benefits available under <u>legally mandated sick and vaccination leave</u>, if <u>applicable</u>, workers' compensation law, <u>the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act</u>, <u>Labor Code sections 248.1 and 248.5</u>, <u>Labor Code sections 3212.86 through 3212.88</u>, local governmental requirements, the employer's own leave policies, <u>and-leave guaranteed by contract</u>, and this section.
 - (C) The fact that COVID-19 is an infectious disease that can be spread through the air when an infectious person talks or vocalizes, sneezes, coughs, or exhales; that COVID-19 may be transmitted when a person touches a contaminated object and then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth, although that is less common; and that an infectious person may have no symptoms.
 - (D) Methods of physical distancing of at least six feet and the importance of combining physical distancing with the wearing of face coverings. (E) The fact that particles containing the virus can travel more than six feet, especially indoors, so physical distancing, face coverings, increased ventilation indoors, and respiratory protection must be combined with other controls, including face coverings and hand hygiene, to be effective decrease the spread of COVID-19, but are most effective when used in combination.
 - (E) The employer's policies for providing respirators, and the right of employees who are not fully vaccinated to request a respirator for voluntary use as stated in this section, without fear of retaliation and at no cost to employees. Whenever respirators are provided for voluntary use under this section or sections 3205.1 through 3205.4:
 - 1. How to properly wear the respirator provided;
 - 2. How to perform a seal check according to the manufacturer's instructions each time a respirator is worn, and the fact that facial hair interferes with a seal.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

- (F) The importance of frequent hand washing with soap and water for at least 20 seconds and using hand sanitizer when employees do not have immediate access to a sink or hand washing facility, and that hand sanitizer does not work if the hands are soiled.
- (G) Proper use of face coverings and the fact that face coverings are not respiratory protective equipment. COVID-19 is an airborne disease. N95s and more protective respirators protect the users from airborne disease while face coverings primarily protect people around the user.
- (H) COVID-19 symptoms, and the importance of not coming to work and obtaining a COVID-19 test if the employee has COVID-19 symptoms.
- (I) Information on the employer's COVID-19 policies; how to access COVID-19 testing and vaccination; and the fact that vaccination is effective at preventing COVID-19, protecting against both transmission and serious illness or death.
- (J) The conditions under which face coverings must be worn at the workplace and that face coverings are additionally recommended outdoors for people who are not fully vaccinated if six feet of distance between people cannot be maintained. Employees can request face coverings from the employer at no cost to the employee and can wear them at work, regardless of vaccination status, without fear of retaliation.

(6) Physical distancing.

- (A) All employees shall be separated from other persons by at least six feet, except where an employer can demonstrate that six feet of separation is not possible, and except for momentary exposure while persons are in movement. Methods of physical distancing include: telework or other remote work arrangements; reducing the number of persons in an area at one time, including visitors; visual cues such as signs and floor markings to indicate where employees and others should be located or their direction and path of travel; staggered arrival, departure, work, and break times; and adjusted work processes or procedures, such as reducing production speed, to allow greater distance between employees.
- (B) When it is not possible to maintain a distance of at least six feet, individuals shall be as far apart as possible.

(67) Face coverings.

(A) For all employees who are not fully vaccinated, eEmployers shall provide face coverings and ensure they are worn by employees over the nose and mouth when

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- indoors, or in vehicles. when outdoors and less than six feet away from another person, and where
- (B) Employers shall provide face coverings and ensure they are worn by employees when required by orders from the CDPH-or local health department.
- (C) Employers shall ensure that required face coverings are clean and undamaged, and that they are worn over the nose and mouth. Face shields are not a replacement for face coverings, although they may be worn together for additional protection.
- (D) When employees are required to wear face coverings under this section or sections 3205.1 through 3205.4, the following are exceptions to the face coverings requirementapply:
 - 1. When an employee is alone in a room or vehicle.
 - 2. While eating <u>orand</u> drinking at the workplace, provided employees are at least six feet apart and outside air supply to the area, if indoors, has been maximized to the extent <u>feasiblepossible</u>.
 - 3. Employees wearing respiratory protection respirators required by the employer and used in compliance in accordance with section 5144 or other title 8 safety orders.
 - 4. Employees who cannot wear face coverings due to a medical or mental health condition or disability, or who are hearing-impaired or communicating with a hearing-impaired person.
 - 5. Specific tasks which cannot feasibly be performed with a face covering. This exception is limited to the time period in which such tasks are actually being performed, and the unmasked employee shall be at least six feet away from all other persons unless unmasked employees are tested at least twice weekly for COVID-19.
 - NOTE: CDPH has issued guidance for employers that identifies examples when wearing a face covering is likely not feasible.
- (EB) Employees exempted from wearing face coverings due to a medical condition, mental health condition, or disability shall wear an effective non-restrictive alternative, such as a face shield with a drape on the bottom, if their condition or disability permits it.
- (FC) Any employee not wearing a face covering, face shield with a drape or other effective alternative, or respiratory protection, for any reason, pursuant to the exceptions in subsections (c)(6)(D)4. or 5., and not wearing a non-restrictive alternative when allowed by subsection (c)(6)(E), shall be at least six feet apart from

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

all other persons unless the unmasked employee is <u>either fully vaccinated or</u> tested at least twice-weekly for COVID-19 <u>during paid time and at no cost to the employee</u>. Employers may not use COVID-19 testing the provisions of subsection (c)(6)(F) as an alternative to face coverings when face coverings are otherwise required by this section.

- (GD) No employer shall prevent any employee from wearing a face covering when not required by this section, unless it would create a safety hazard, such as interfering with the safe operation of equipment.
- (H) When face coverings are not required by this section or by sections 3205.1 through 3205.4, employers shall provide face coverings to employees upon request, regardless of vaccination status.
- (\underline{IE}) Employers shall implement measures to communicate to non-employees the face coverings requirements on their premises.
- (F) The employer shall develop COVID-19 policies and procedures to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19 hazards originating from any person not wearing a face covering, including a member of the public.
- (78) Other engineering controls, administrative controls, and personal protective equipment.
 - (A) At fixed work locations where it is not possible to maintain the physical distancing requirement at all times, the employer shall install cleanable solid partitions that effectively reduce aerosol transmission between the employee and other persons.
 - (AB) For buildings with mechanical or natural ventilation, or both, employers shall maximize the quantity of outside air provided to the extent feasible, except when the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Air Quality Index is greater than 100 for any pollutant or if opening windows or maximizing letting in-outdoor air-by-other means would cause a hazard to employees, for instance from excessive heat or cold.
 - (BC) Employers shall implement cleaning and disinfecting procedures, which require:
 - Identifying and regularly cleaning and disinfecting frequently touched surfaces and objects, such as doorknobs, elevator buttons, equipment, tools, handrails, handles, controls, <u>phones</u>, <u>headsets</u>, <u>bathroom</u> surfaces, and steering wheels. The employer shall inform employees and authorized employee representatives of

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

cleaning and disinfection protocols, including the planned frequency and scope of regular-cleaning and disinfection.

- 2. Prohibiting the sharing of personal protective equipment and to the extent feasible, items that employees come in regular physical contact with such as phones, headsets, desks, keyboards, writing materials, instruments, and tools. When it is not feasible to prevent sharing, sharing shall be minimized and such items and equipment shall be disinfected between uses by different people. Sharing of vehicles shall be minimized to the extent feasible, and high touch points (steering wheel, door handles, seatbelt buckles, armrests, shifter, etc.) shall be disinfected between users.
- <u>23</u>. Cleaning and disinfection of areas, material, and equipment used by a COVID-19 case during the high-risk exposure period, and disinfection if the area, material, or equipment is indoors and will be used by another employee within 24 hours of the COVID-19 case.

NOTE: Cleaning and disinfecting must be done in a manner that does not create a hazard to employees. See Group 2 and Group 16 of the General Industry Safety Orders for further information.

- (CD) To protect employees from COVID-19 hazards, the employer shall evaluate its handwashing facilities, determine the need for additional facilities, encourage and allow time for employee handwashing, and provide employees with an effective hand sanitizer. Employers shall encourage employees to wash their hands for at least 20 seconds each time. Provision or use of hand sanitizers with methyl alcohol is prohibited.
- (DE) Personal protective equipment.
 - 1. Employers shall evaluate the need for personal protective equipment to prevent exposure to COVID-19 hazards, such as gloves, goggles, and face shields, and provide such personal protective equipment as needed.
 - 2. Employers shall evaluate the need for respiratory protection in accordance with section 5144 when the physical distancing requirements in subsection (c)(6) are not feasible or are not maintained. Upon request, employers shall provide respirators for voluntary use in compliance with subsection 5144(c)(2) to all employees who are not fully vaccinated and who are working indoors or in vehicles with more than one person. Whenever an employer makes respirators for voluntary use available, under this section or sections 3205.1 through 3205.4, the employer shall encourage

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

their use and shall ensure that employees are provided with a respirator of the correct size.

- 3. Employers shall provide and ensure use of respirators in <u>complianceaccordance</u> with section 5144 when deemed necessary by the Division through the Issuance of Order to Take Special Action, in accordance with title 8, section 332.3.
- 4. Employers shall provide and ensure use of eye protection and respiratory protection in <u>complianceaccordance</u> with section 5144 when employees are exposed to procedures that may aerosolize potentially infectious material such as saliva or respiratory tract fluids.
 - NOTE: Examples of work covered by subsection (c)($\underline{78}$)(\underline{DE})4. include, but are not limited to, certain dental procedures and outpatient medical specialties not covered by section 5199.
- (E) Testing of symptomatic employees. Employers shall make COVID-19 testing available at no cost to employees with COVID-19 symptoms who are not fully vaccinated, during employees' paid time.
- (89) Reporting, recordkeeping, and access.
 - (A) The employer shall report information about COVID-19 cases <u>and outbreaks</u> at the workplace to the local health department whenever required by law, and shall provide any related information requested by the local health department. <u>The employer shall report all information to the local health department as required by Labor Code section 6409.6.</u>
 - (B) The employer shall report immediately to the Division any COVID-19-related serious illnesses or death, as defined under section 330(h), of an employee occurring in a place of employment or in connection with any employment.
 - (\underline{BC}) The employer shall maintain records of the steps taken to implement the written COVID-19 Prevention Program in accordance with section 3203(b).
 - (<u>C</u>+) The written COVID-19 Prevention Program shall be made available at the workplace to employees, authorized employee representatives, and to representatives of the Division immediately upon request.
 - (<u>D</u>E) The employer shall keep a record of and track all COVID-19 cases with the employee's name, contact information, occupation, location where the employee worked, the date of the last day at the workplace, and the date of a positive COVID-

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

19 test. Medical information shall be kept confidential in accordance with subsections (c)(3)(C) and (c)(3)(D). The information shall be made available to employees, authorized employee representatives, or as otherwise required by law, with personal identifying information removed.

Note: Subsection (c)(9)(E) does not alter the right of employees or their representatives to request and obtain an employer's Log of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses (Log 300), without redaction, or to request and obtain information as otherwise allowed by law.

- (<u>910</u>) Exclusion of COVID-19 cases <u>and employees who had a close contact</u>. The purpose of this subsection is to limit transmission of COVID-19 in the workplace.
 - (A) Employers shall ensure that COVID-19 cases are excluded from the workplace until the return to work requirements of subsection (c)(10^{11}) are met.
 - (B) Employers shall exclude <u>from the workplace</u> employees <u>who had a close contact</u> <u>with COVID-19 exposure from the workplace until the return to work requirements of subsection (c)(10) are met, with the following exceptions: for 14 days after the last known COVID-19 exposure to a COVID-19 case.</u>
 - 1. Employees who were fully vaccinated before the close contact and who do not develop COVID-19 symptoms; and
 - 2. COVID-19 cases who returned to work pursuant to subsection (c)(10)(A) or (B) and have remained free of COVID-19 symptoms, for 90 days after the initial onset of COVID-19 symptoms or, for COVID-19 cases who never developed COVID-19 symptoms, for 90 days after the first positive test.
 - (C) For employees excluded from work under subsection (c)(910) and otherwise able and available to work, employers shall continue and maintain an employee's earnings, wages, seniority, and all other employee rights and benefits, including the employee's right to their former job status, as if the employee had not been removed from their job. Employers may use employer-provided employee sick leave benefits for this purpose to the extent permitted by lawand consider benefit payments from public sources in determining how to maintain earnings, rights and benefits, where permitted by law and when not covered by workers' compensation. Wages due under this subsection are subject to existing wage payment obligations and must be paid at the employee's regular rate of pay no later than the regular pay day for the pay period(s) in which the employee is excluded. Unpaid wages owed under this subsection are subject to enforcement through procedures available in existing law. If an employer determines that one of the exceptions below applies, it shall inform the employee of the denial and the applicable exception.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

EXCEPTION 1: Subsection (c)(910)(C) does not apply where the employee received disability payments or was covered by workers' compensation and received temporary disability. to any period of time during which the employee is unable to work for reasons other than protecting persons at the workplace from possible COVID-19 transmission.

EXCEPTION 2: Subsection (c)(910)(C) does not apply where the employer demonstrates that the close contact COVID-19 exposure is not work related.

- (D) Subsection (c)(910) does not limit any other applicable law, employer policy, or collective bargaining agreement that provides for greater protections.
- (E) At the time of exclusion, the employer shall provide the employee the information on benefits described in subsections (c)(5)(B) and (c)($\frac{910}{10}$)(C).

EXCEPTION to subsection (c)(10): Employees who have not been excluded or isolated by the local health department need not be excluded by the employer, if they are temporarily reassigned to work where they do not have contact with other persons until the return to work requirements of subsection (c)(11) are met.

(1011) Return to work criteria.

- (A) COVID-19 cases with COVID-19 symptoms shall not return to work until:
 - 1. At least 24 hours have passed since a fever of 100.4 <u>degrees Fahrenheit</u> or higher has resolved without the use of fever-reducing medications; <u>and</u>
 - 2. COVID-19 symptoms have improved; and
 - 3. At least 10 days have passed since COVID-19 symptoms first appeared.
- (B) COVID-19 cases who tested positive but never developed COVID-19 symptoms shall not return to work until a minimum of 10 days have passed since the date of specimen collection of their first positive COVID-19 test.
- (C) Once a COVID-19 case has met the requirements of subsection (c)(10)(A) or (B), as applicable, Aa negative COVID-19 test shall not be required for an employee to return to work.
- (D) Persons who had a close contact may return to work as follows:
 - 1. Persons who had a close contact but never developed any COVID-19 symptoms may return to work when 10 days have passed since the last known close contact.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

- 2. Persons who had a close contact and developed any COVID-19 symptom cannot return to work until the requirements of subsection (c)(10)(A) have been met, unless all of the following are true:
 - a. The person tested negative for COVID-19 using a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) COVID-19 test with specimen taken after the onset of symptoms; and
 - b. At least 10 days have passed since the last known close contact; and
 - c. The person has been symptom-free for at least 24 hours, without using fever-reducing medications.
- 3. During critical staffing shortages, when there are not enough staff to provide safe patient care, essential critical infrastructure workers in the following categories may return after Day 7 from the date of last exposure if they have received a negative PCR COVID-19 test result from a specimen collected after Day 5:
 - a. Health care workers who did not develop COVID-19 symptoms;
 - b. Emergency response workers who did not develop COVID-19 symptoms; and
 - c. Social service workers who did not develop COVID-19 symptoms and who work face to face with clients in child welfare or assisted living.
- (ED) If an order to isolate, or quarantine, or exclude an employee is issued by a local or state health official, the employee shall not return to work until the period of isolation or quarantine is completed or the order is lifted. If no period was specified, then the period shall be in accordance with the return to work periods in subsection (c)(10)(A), (c)(10)(B), or (c)(10)(D), as applicable 10 days from the time the order to isolate was effective, or 14 days from the time the order to quarantine was effective.
- (FE) If there are no violations of local or state health officer orders for isolation, or quarantine, or exclusion would result, the Division may, upon request, allow employees to return to work on the basis that the removal of an employee would create undue risk to a community's health and safety. In such cases, the employer shall develop, implement, and maintain effective control measures to prevent transmission in the workplace including providing isolation for the employee at the workplace and, if isolation is not feasible possible, the use of respirators respiratory protection in the workplace.

Note: Authority cited: Section 142.3, Labor Code. Reference: Sections 142.3, and 144.6, and 6409.6, Labor Code.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

Add new section 3205.1 to read:

- § 3205.1. Multiple COVID-19 Infections and COVID-19 Outbreaks.
- (a) Scope.
 - (1) This section applies to a <u>work</u>place of employment-covered by section 3205 if it has been identified by a local health department as the location of a COVID-19 outbreak or when there are three or more employee COVID-19 cases within an exposed group, as defined by section 3205(b), visited the workplace during their high-risk exposure period at any time during in an exposed workplace within a 14-day period.
 - (2) This section shall apply until there are no new COVID-19 cases detected in <u>the exposed</u> group-a workplace for a 14-day period.
- (b) COVID-19 testing.
 - (1) The employer shall <u>makeprovide</u> COVID-19 testing <u>available at no cost to its employees</u> <u>within the exposed group, during employees' paid time, except:</u>
 - (A) Employees who were not present at the workplace during to all employees at the exposed workplace except for employees who were not present during the period of an outbreak identified by a local health department or the relevant 14-day period(s) under subsection (a)., as applicable. COVID-19 testing shall be provided at no cost to employees during employees' working hours.
 - (B) Employees who were fully vaccinated before section 3205.1 became applicable to the workplace and who do not have COVID-19 symptoms.
 - (C) For COVID-19 cases who did not develop COVID-19 symptoms after returning to work pursuant to subsections 3205(c)(10)(A) or (B), no testing is required for 90 days after the initial onset of COVID-19 symptoms or, for COVID-19 cases who never developed symptoms, 90 days after the first positive test.
 - (2) COVID-19 testing shall consist of the following:
 - (A) Immediately upon being covered by this section, <u>testing shall be made available to</u> all employees in the exposed <u>group workplace shall be tested</u> and then tested again one week later. Negative COVID-19 test results of employees with COVID-19 exposure

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- shall not impact the duration of any quarantine, isolation, or exclusion period required by, or orders issued by, the local health department.
- (B) After the first two COVID-19 tests required by subsection (b)(2)(A), employers shall provide-make COVID-19 testing available once a week at no cost, during paid time, continuous COVID-19 testing of employees to all employees in the exposed group who remain at the workplace-at least once per week, or more frequently if recommended by the local health department, until this section no longer applies pursuant to subsection (a)(2).
- (c)(C) Employers shall <u>provide</u> <u>make</u> additional testing <u>available</u> at no cost to employees, during <u>employees' paid time</u>, when deemed necessary by the Division through the Issuance of Order to Take Special Action, in accordance with title 8, section 332.3.
- (c) Exclusion of COVID-19 cases. Employers shall ensure COVID-19 cases and employees who had COVID-19 exposure are excluded from the workplace in accordance with subsections 3205(c)(10) and (c)(11) and local health officer orders if applicable.
- (d) Investigation of workplace COVID-19 illness. The employer shall immediately investigate and determine possible workplace related factors that contributed to the COVID-19 outbreak in accordance with subsection 3205(c)(3). The employer shall continue to comply with all applicable provisions of section 3205, and shall also do the following:
 - (1) Employees in the exposed group shall wear face coverings when indoors, or when outdoors and less than six feet from another person, unless one of the exceptions in subsection 3205(c)(6)(D) applies.
 - (2) Employers shall give notice to employees in the exposed group of their right to request a respirator for voluntary use under subsection 3205(c)(7)(D)2., if they are not fully vaccinated.
 - (3) Employers shall evaluate whether to implement physical distancing of at least six feet between persons or, where six feet of physical distancing is not feasible, the use of cleanable solid partitions of sufficient size to reduce COVID-19 transmission.
- (e) COVID-19 Investigation, review and hazard correction. In addition to the requirements of subsection 3205(c)(2) and 3205(c)(4), tThe employer shall immediately perform a review of potentially relevant COVID-19 policies, procedures, and controls and implement changes as needed to prevent further spread of COVID-19. The investigation and review shall be documented and include:

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- (1) Investigation of new or unabated COVID-19 hazards including the employer's leave policies and practices and whether employees are discouraged from remaining home when sick; the employer's COVID-19 testing policies; insufficient outdoor air; insufficient air filtration; and lack of physical distancing.
- (2) The review shall be updated every thirty30 days that the outbreakthis section continues to apply, in response to new information or to new or previously unrecognized COVID-19 hazards, or when otherwise necessary.
- (3) The employer shall implement changes to reduce the transmission of COVID-19 based on the investigation and review required by subsections (e)(1) and (e)(2). The employer shall consider moving indoor tasks outdoors or having them performed remotely, increasing outdoor air supply when work is done indoors, improving air filtration, increasing physical distancing as much as feasible-possible, requiring respiratory protection in compliance with section 5144, and other applicable controls.
- (f) In buildings or structures with mechanical ventilation, employers shall filter recirculated air with Minimum Efficiency Reporting Value (MERV) 13 or higher efficiency filters if compatible with the ventilation system. If MERV-13 or higher filters are not compatible with the ventilation system, employers shall use filters with the highest compatible filtering efficiency. Employers shall also evaluate whether portable or mounted High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filtration units or other air cleaning systems would reduce the risk of transmission and, if so, shall implement their use to the degree feasible.
- (f) Notifications to the local health department.
 - (1) The employer shall contact the local health department immediately but no longer than 48 hours after the employer knows, or with diligent inquiry would have known, of three or more COVID-19 cases for guidance on preventing the further spread of COVID-19 within the workplace.
 - (2) The employer shall provide to the local health department the total number of COVID-19 cases and for each COVID-19 case, the name, contact information, occupation, workplace location, business address, the hospitalization and/or fatality status, and North American Industry Classification System code of the workplace of the COVID-19 case, and any other information requested by the local health department. The employer shall

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

- continue to give notice to the local health department of any subsequent COVID-19 cases at the workplace.
- (3) Effective January 1, 2021, the employer shall provide all information to the local health department required by Labor Code section 6409.6.

Note: Authority cited: Section 142.3, Labor Code. Reference: Sections 142.3 and 144.6, Labor Code.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

Add new section 3205.2 to read:

§ 3205.2. Major COVID-19 Outbreaks.

- (a) Scope.
 - (1) This section applies to any <u>work</u>place-of employment covered by section 3205 when there are if 20 or more employee COVID-19 cases in an exposed group, as defined by section 3205(b), visited the workplace during their high-risk exposure period within a 30-day period.
 - (2) This section shall apply until there <u>are fewer than three</u> are no new COVID-19 cases detected in the exposed group workplace for a 14-day period.
- (b) Employers shall continue to comply with section 3205.1, except that the COVID-19 testing described in section 3205.1(b) shall be made available to all employees in the exposed group, regardless of vaccination status, COVID-19 testing. Employers shall provide twice a week-COVID-19 testing, or more frequently if recommended by the local health department. To all employees present at the exposed workplace during the relevant 30-day period(s) and who remain at the workplace. COVID-19 testing shall be provided at no cost to employees during employees' working hours.
- (c) Exclusion of COVID-19 cases. Employers shall ensure COVID-19 cases and employees with COVID-19 exposure are excluded from the workplace in accordance with subsections 3205(c)(10) and (c)(11) and any relevant local health department orders.
- (d) Investigation of workplace COVID-19 illnesses. The employer shall comply with the requirements of subsection 3205(c)(3).
- (<u>ce</u>) <u>COVID-19 hazard correction.</u> In addition <u>to the requirements of sections 3205 and 3205.1, to the requirements of subsection 3205(c)(4), the employer shall take the following actions:</u>
 - (1) In buildings or structures with mechanical ventilation, employers shall filter recirculated air with Minimum Efficiency Reporting Value (MERV) 13 or higher efficiency filters if compatible with the ventilation system. If MERV 13 or higher filters are not compatible with the ventilation system, employers shall use filters with the highest compatible filtering efficiency. Employers shall also evaluate whether portable or mounted High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filtration units, or other air cleaning systems would reduce the risk of transmission and shall implement their use to the degree feasible.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

- (12) The employer shall provide a respirator for voluntary use in compliance with subsection 5144(c)(2) to employees in the exposed group and shall determine the need for a respiratory protection program or changes to an existing respiratory protection program under section 5144 to address COVID-19 hazards.
- (2) Any employees in the exposed group who are not wearing respirators required by the employer and used in compliance with section 5144 shall be separated from other persons by at least six feet, except where an employer can demonstrate that six feet of separation is not feasible, and except for momentary exposure while persons are in movement. Methods of physical distancing include: telework or other remote work arrangements; reducing the number of persons in an area at one time, including visitors; visual cues such as signs and floor markings to indicate where employees and others should be located or their direction and path of travel; staggered arrival, departure, work, and break times; and adjusted work processes or procedures, such as reducing production speed, to allow greater distance between employees. When it is not feasible to maintain a distance of at least six feet, individuals shall be as far apart as feasible.
- (3) At work stations where an employee in the exposed group is assigned to work for an extended period of time, such as cash registers, desks, and production line stations, and where the physical distancing requirement in subsection (c)(2) is not maintained at all times, the employer shall install cleanable solid partitions that effectively reduce transmission between the employee and other persons.
- (<u>4</u>3) The employer shall evaluate whether to halt some or all operations at the workplace until COVID-19 hazards have been corrected.
- (<u>54</u>) Any other control measures deemed necessary by the Division through the Issuance of Order to Take Special Action, in accordance with title 8 section 332.3.
- (f) Notifications to the local health department. Employers shall comply with the requirements of section 3205.1(f).

Note: Authority cited: Section 142.3, Labor Code. Reference: Sections 142.3 and 144.6, Labor Code.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

Add new section 3205.3 to read:

§ 3205.3. COVID-19 Prevention in Employer-Provided Housing.

(a) Scope. This section applies to employer-provided housing. Employer-provided housing is any place or area of land, any portion of any housing accommodation, or property upon which a housing accommodation is located, consisting of: living quarters, dwelling, boardinghouse, tent, bunkhouse, maintenance-of-way car, mobile home, manufactured home, recreational vehicle, travel trailer, or other housing accommodations. Employer-provided housing includes a "labor camp" as that term is used in title 8 of the California Code of Regulations or other regulations or codes. The employer-provided housing may be maintained in one or more buildings or one or more sites, including hotels and motels, and the premises upon which they are situated, or the area set aside and provided for parking of mobile homes or camping. Employer-provided housing is housing that is arranged for or provided by an employer, other person, or entity to workers, and in some cases to workers and persons in their households, in connection with the workers' employment, whether or not rent or fees are paid or collected.

The following exceptions apply:

- (1) This section does not apply to housing provided for the purpose of emergency response, including firefighting, rescue, and evacuation, and support activities directly aiding response such as utilities, communications, and medical operations, if:
 - (A) The employer is a government entity; or
 - (B) The housing is provided temporarily by a private employer and is necessary to conduct the emergency response operations.
- (2) Subsections (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h) do not apply to occupants-residents who maintained a household together prior to residing in employer-provided housing, such as family members, when no other persons outside the household are present.
- (3) This section does not apply to employees with occupational exposure as defined by section 5199, when covered by that section.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- (4) This section does not apply to employer-provided housing used exclusively to house COVID-19 cases or where a housing unit houses one employee.
- (5) This section does not apply to housing in which all residents are fully vaccinated.
- (b) Assignment of housing units. To the extent feasible, employers shall reduce exposure to COVID-19 hazards by assigning employee residents to distinct groups and ensuring that each group remains separate from other such groups during transportation and work. Employers shall ensure that shared housing unit assignments are prioritized in the following order:
 - (1) Residents who usually maintain a household together outside of work, such as family members, shall be housed in the same housing unit without other persons.
 - (2) Residents who work in the same crew or work together at the same worksiteworkplace shall be housed in the same housing unit without other persons.
 - (3) Employees who do not usually maintain a common household, work crew, or worksite-workplace shall be housed in the same housing unit only when no other housing alternatives are <u>feasiblepossible</u>.
- (c) Ventilation. Physical distancing and controls. Employers shall: (1) Ensure the premises are of sufficient size and layout to permit at least six feet of physical distancing between residents in housing units, common areas, and other areas of the premises. (2) Ensure beds are spaced at least six feet apart in all directions and positioned to maximize the distance between sleepers' heads. For beds positioned next to each other, i.e. side by side, the beds shall be arranged so that the head of one bed is next to the foot of the next bed. For beds positioned across from each other, i.e. end to end, the beds shall be arranged so that the foot of one bed is closest to the foot of the next bed. Bunk beds shall not be used. (3) In housing units, employers shall maximize the quantity and supply of outdoor air and increase filtration efficiency to the highest level compatible with the existing ventilation system. If there is not a Minimum Efficiency Reporting Value (MERV) 13 or higher filter in use, portable or mounted High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filtration units shall be used, to the extent feasible, in all sleeping areas in which there are two or more residents who are not fully vaccinated.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- (d) Face coverings. Employers shall provide face coverings to all residents and provide information to residents on when they should be used in accordance with state or local health officer orders or guidance.
- (e) Cleaning and disinfecting.
 - (1) Employers shall ensure that housing units, kitchens, bathrooms, and common areas are effectively cleaned and disinfected at least once a day to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Housing units, kitchens, bathrooms, and indoor common areas shall be cleaned and disinfected after a COVID-19 case was present during the high-risk exposure period, if another resident will be there within 24 hours of the COVID-19 case. Cleaning and disinfecting shall be done in a manner that protects the privacy of residents.
 - (2) Employers shall <u>instruct residents</u>ensure <u>not to share</u>that unwashed dishes, drinking glasses, cups, eating utensils, and similar items are not shared.
- (f) Screening. The employer shall encourage residents to report COVID-19 symptoms to the employer.
- (g) COVID-19 testing. The employer shall establish, implement, and maintain effective policies and procedures for COVID-19 testing of occupants residents who had a close contact COVID-19 exposure, who haveor COVID-19 symptoms, or as recommended by the local health department. These policies and procedures shall be communicated to the residents.
- (h) Isolation of COVID-19 cases and close contactspersons with COVID-19 exposure.
 - (1) Employers shall effectively <u>quarantine</u> isolate COVID-19 exposed residents who have <u>had a close contact</u> from all other occupants residents. Effective <u>quarantine</u> isolation shall include providing COVID-19 exposed residents who had a close contact with a private bathroom, <u>and</u> sleeping area, and cooking and eating facility. The following residents are exempt from this requirement:
 - (A) Fully vaccinated residents who do not have COVID-19 symptoms; and
 - (B) COVID-19 cases who have met the requirements of subsection 3205(c)(10)(A) or (B) and have remained free of COVID-19 symptoms, for 90 days after the

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

<u>initial onset of COVID-19 symptoms or, for COVID-19 cases who never</u> <u>developed COVID-19 symptoms, for 90 days after the first positive test.</u>

- (2) Employers shall effectively isolate COVID-19 cases from all occupants residents who are not COVID-19 cases. Effective isolation shall include housing COVID-19 cases only with other COVID-19 cases, and providing COVID-19 case occupants residents with a sleeping area, and bathroom, and cooking and eating facility that is not shared by non-COVID-19 case occupants residents.
- (3) Personal identifying information regarding COVID-19 cases and persons with COVID-19 symptoms shall be kept confidential in accordance with subsections 3205(c)(3)(C) and 3205(c)(3)(D).
- (4) Employers shall end isolation in accordance with subsections $3205(c)(\underline{910})$ and $(c)(\underline{1011})$ and any applicable local or state health officer orders.

Note: Authority cited: Section 142.3, Labor Code. Reference: Sections 142.3 and 144.6, Labor Code.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

Add new section 3205.4 to read:

- § 3205.4. COVID-19 Prevention in Employer-Provided Transportation-to-and from Work.
 - (a) Scope. This section applies to employer-provided motor vehicle transportation—to—and—from—work, which is any transportation of an employee—during the course and scope of employment, including transportation to and from different workplaces, jobsites, delivery sites, buildings, stores, facilities, and agricultural fields, provided, arranged for, or secured by an employer including ride-share vans or shuttle vehicles, car-pools, and private charter buses—regardless of the travel distance or duration involved. Subsections (b) through (g) apply to employer provided transportation. The following exceptions apply:
 - (1) This section does not apply if the driver and all passengers are from the same household outside of work, such as family members, or if the driver is alone in the vehicle.
 - (2) This section does not apply to employer-provided transportation when necessary for emergency response, including firefighting, rescue, and evacuation, and support activities directly aiding response such as utilities, communications, and medical operations.
 - (3) This section does not apply to employees with occupational exposure as defined by section 5199, when covered by that section.
 - (4) This section does not apply to vehicles in which all employees are fully vaccinated.
 - (5) This section does not apply to public transportation.
 - (b) Assignment of transportation. To the extent feasible, employers shall reduce exposure to COVID-19 hazards by assigning employees sharing vehicles to distinct groups and ensuring that each group remains separate from other such groups during transportation, during work activities, and in employer-provided housing. Employers shall prioritize shared transportation assignments in the following order:
 - (1) Employees residing in the same housing unit shall be transported in the same vehicle.

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

- (2) Employees working in the same crew or worksite workplace shall be transported in the same vehicle.
- (3) Employees who do not share the same household, work crew or worksiteworkplace shall be transported in the same vehicle only when no other transportation alternatives are feasible possible.
- (c) Physical distancing and <u>fF</u>ace coverings <u>and respirators</u>. Employers shall ensure that:
 - (1) Physical distancing and fFace covering requirements of subsection 3205(c)(6)-and $\frac{(c)(7)}{(c)}$, if applicable, are followed for employees waiting for transportation.
 - (2) The vehicle operator and any passengers are separated by at least three feet in all directions during the operation of the vehicle, regardless of the vehicle's normal capacity.(3) The vehicle operator and any passengers All employees who are not fully vaccinated are provided with and wear a face covering, which must be worn unless an exception under in the vehicle as required by subsection 3205(c)(67)(D) applies.
 - (3) Upon request, employers shall provide respirators for voluntary use in compliance with subsection 5144(c)(2) to all employees in the vehicle who are not fully vaccinated.
- (d) Screening. Employers shall develop, implement, and maintain effective procedures for screening and excluding drivers and riders with COVID-19 symptoms prior to boarding shared transportation.
- (e) Cleaning and disinfecting. Employers shall ensure that:
 - (1) All high-contact surfaces (door handles, seatbelt buckles, armrests, etc.) used by passengers are cleaned and disinfected to prevent the spread of COVID-19 before each tripand must be cleaned and disinfected if used by a COVID-19 case during the high-risk exposure period, when the surface will be used by another employee within 24 hours of the COVID-19 case.
 - (2) All high-contact surfaces used by drivers, such as the steering wheel, armrests, seatbelt buckles, door handles and shifter, shall be cleaned and disinfected to prevent the spread of COVID-19 between different drivers and are disinfected after

CALIFORNIA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH STANDARDS BOARD

TITLE 8, DIVISION 1, CHAPTER 4

use by a COVID-19 case during the high-risk exposure period, if the surface will be used by another employee within 24 hours of the COVID-19 case.

- (3) Employers shall provide sanitizing materials and ensure they are kept in adequate supply.
- (f) Ventilation. Employers shall ensure that vehicle windows are kept open, and the ventilation system set to maximize outdoor air and not set to recirculate air. Windows do not have to be kept open if one or more of the following conditions exist:
 - (1) The vehicle has functioning air conditioning in use and <u>excessive outdoor heat would</u> <u>create a hazard to employees</u> the outside temperature is greater than 90 degrees <u>Fahrenheit</u>.
 - (2) The vehicle has functioning heating in use and <u>excessive outdoor cold would create a hazard to employees</u> the outside temperature is less than 60 degrees Fahrenheit.
 - (3) Protection is needed from weather conditions, such as rain or snow.
 - (4) The vehicle has a cabin air filter in use and the U.S. EPA Air Quality Index for any pollutant is greater than 100.
- (g) Hand hygiene. Employers shall provide hand sanitizer in each vehicle and ensure that all drivers and riders sanitize their hands before entering and exiting the vehicle. Hand sanitizers with methyl alcohol are prohibited.
- (h) This section shall take precedence when in conflict with section 3205.

Note: Authority cited: Section 142.3, Labor Code. Reference: Sections 142.3 and 144.6, Labor Code.