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BEFORE THE 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
 

APPEALS BOARD 

 
In the Matter of the Appeal of: 
 

AGWOOD MILL & LUMBER INC. 
650 Kinzler Ranch Road 

Ukiah, CA  95482 
 
                                     Employer 

 

Docket No(s). 08-R1D5-1068 and 1069 
 

 
              DECISION AFTER 

              RECONSIDERATION 
 

 

 The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting 
pursuant to authority vested in it by the California Labor Code and having 

taken this matter under reconsideration on its own motion, renders the 
following decision after reconsideration. 
 

JURISDICTION 
 

 On December 21, 2007, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health 

(Division) issued two citations to Agwood Mill & Lumber, Inc. (Employer) 
alleging violations of Title 8, Cal. Code of Regulations sections 342(a) and 

6365(d).1  Employer timely appealed, and the factual issues were resolved by 
the parties through a series of stipulations.  The parties disputed the 
appropriate penalty for the 342(a) violation, and submitted the issue to the 

Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for determination based on the factual 
stipulations.  The ALJ concluded a two thousand dollar ($2,000.00) penalty 

was appropriate under the circumstances.  The Board ordered reconsideration 
of the matter on its own motion only regarding the appropriateness of the 
penalty assessed for the alleged violation of section 342(a).2 

 
EVIDENCE 

 

All of the evidence was entered in to the record by way of stipulations.  
The parties stipulated that on August 7, 2007, an employee of Employer 

suffered a serious, non-fatal injury of which Employer was aware at the time it 
occurred.  The injury required multiple surgeries and hospitalization, and 
Employer was aware of this treatment and the serious nature of the injury.  

Employer did not report the injury because it was unaware of the requirement 

                                                 
1 All references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations unless otherwise indicated. 
2 Employer did not answer the Order of Reconsideration.  The Division did, but did not raise any other 
issues.  The settlement reached by the parties regarding the violation of 6365(d) is thus not before us. 
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to do so.  On October 26, 2007, the employee reported the injury.  The failure 
of Employer to report impeded the Division’s investigation. 

 
ISSUE 

 

What is the appropriate penalty for the 342(a) violation? 
 

FINDINGS AND REASONS 

FOR 
DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 

 

Section 342(a) states: 
 

Every employer shall report immediately by telephone or 
telegraph to the nearest District Office of the Division of 
Occupational Safety and Health any serious injury or illness, or 

death, of an employee occurring in a place of employment or in 
connection with any employment. 

 

Immediately means as soon as practically possible but not 
longer than 8 hours after the employer knows or with diligent 

inquiry would have known of the death or serious injury or illness.  
If the employer can demonstrate that exigent circumstances exist, 
the time frame for the report may be made longer than 24 hours 

after the incident . . . 
 

The statutory authority for this regulation is Labor Code section 
6409.1(b), which states: 

 

In every case involving a serious injury or illness, or death, 
in addition to the report required by subdivision (a) [lost-time 
workplace injuries reported within 5 days to Administrative 

Director of Division of Workers’ Compensation], a report shall be 
made immediately by the employer to the Division of Occupational 

Safety and Health by telephone or telegraph.  An employer who 
violates this subdivision may be assessed a civil penalty of not less 
than five thousand dollars ($5000).  Nothing in this section shall 

be construed to increase the maximum civil penalty, pursuant to 
Sections 6427 to 6430, inclusive, that may be imposed for a 

violation of this section. 
 

In Trader Dan’s dba Rooms N Covers, Etc., Cal/OSHA App. 08-4978, 

Decision After Reconsideration (Oct. 8, 2009), the Board clarified the factors 
that could justify setting a penalty lower than that proposed by the Division.3  

                                                 
3 By its own regulation, the Division is only allowed to propose a $5,000.00 penalty.  (§336(a)(6).)  This 
penalty and the penalty for failure to obtain an elevator permit (336(a)(5) maximum $1,000.00 penalty) 
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We note Trader Dan’s was issued after the ALJ set the penalty, as the Order is 
dated September 6, 2009.  In Trader Dan’s one fact that justified reduction of 

the penalty below the proposed $5,000.00 penalty was that the failure to report 
did not impede the Division’s investigation.  Here, we have a stipulation 

establishing that the Division’s investigation was impeded. 
 
We infer from the stipulations that Employer was not intentionally trying 

to deceive the Division.  The parties stipulated that the reason for the failure of 
Employer to report was that it was unaware of its obligation to do so.  However,  

ignorance of the law is not a reason for non-compliance.  (Nick’s Lighthouse, 
Cal/OSHA App. 05-3086, Denial of Petition for Reconsideration (Jun. 8, 2007).)  

Thus, the innocence of the error here is irrelevant to the penalty amount. 
 
Rather, the Division’s proposed penalty is before us to determine whether 

it is appropriate to affirm, modify, or vacate the proposed penalty, or direct 
other appropriate relief given the purposes of the Occupational Safety and 
Health Act (Act).  (Labor Code sections 6602, 6300.)  Labor Code section 6300 

states: 
 

The California Occupational Safety and health Act of 1973 is 
hereby enacted for the purpose of assuring safe and healthful 
working conditions for all California working men and women by 

authorizing the enforcement of effective standards, assisting and 
encouraging employers to maintain safe and healthful working 
conditions, and by providing for research, information, education 

training and enforcement in the field of occupational safety and 
health. 

 
Having already established the Act’s purpose, the Legislature enacted 

6409.1(b) in 2002 stating that in every case, a penalty of not less than 

$5,000.00 may be assessed.  Section 6409.1(b) makes specific reference to 
other penalty setting portions of the Act, specifically those setting forth the 

maximum allowable penalty. 
 
Those sections, Labor Code section 6427 through 6430, state the 

maximum penalties that may be “assessed.”  We note that when the 
Legislature imposes a minimum penalty, it uses language different than that 
used to describe a maximum penalty.  In the minimum penalty setting, the 

Legislature has written: “except that in no case shall the penalty be less than 
seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) for each violation.”  (Labor Code section 

6712(d)(1).)  However, in the serious injury reporting requirement provision, 
the Legislature only speaks to the assessment of a penalty.  Thus, the 
$5,000.00 assessment is not a minimum penalty, but rather, a minimum 

assessment in cases where the Division elects to assess a penalty.  The word 
“assess” is undefined in the Act, and refers both to minimum penalties, 

                                                                                                                                                             
are the only regulatory penalties that do not state whether adjustment based on size, good faith, or 
history is specifically appropriate. 
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maximum penalties, and gravity-based penalties.  In subsection 336(a)(1), the 
regulations speak of a proposed penalty that shall be “assessed”, then 

adjusted for size, good faith and history. 
 

In this case, since Employer did not report the injury, the Division would 
not have been aware of the injury without the employee’s report.  The delay 
impeded the Division’s ability to investigate to some extent.  Thus, a penalty of 

$5,000.00 is not so out of proportion to the violation as to be purely punitive.  
Accordingly, we decline to modify, vacate, set aside, or afford other appropriate 
relief, and instead affirm the proposed penalty assessed by the Division.  A  

penalty of $5,000.00 is hereby imposed regarding docket number 08-R1D5-
1068.  The agreement of the parties regarding docket number 08-R1D5-1069 

remains affirmed. 
 

DECISION 

 
The Decision of the ALJ in Docket Number 08-R1D5-1068 is affirmed 

insofar as it found Employer had violated section 342(a), and modified to reflect 
that the penalty for the section 342(a) violation is $5,000.00 as proposed by the 
Division. 

 
 
ART R. CARTER, Chairman    

ED LOWRY, Member 
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