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BEFORE THE 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
 

APPEALS BOARD 

 
In the Matter of the Appeal of: 
 

SDUSD - PATRICK HENRY HIGH SCHOOL 
4860 Ruffner Street 

San Diego, CA  92111 
 
                                               Employer 

 

 Docket Nos. 11-R3D2-1296 & 
1297 
 

DECISION AFTER 
RECONSIDERATION 

AND 

ORDER OF REMAND 

 
The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting 

pursuant to authority vested in it by the California Labor Code and having 
taken this matter under reconsideration, orders the matter remanded to the 

Administrative Law Judge to conduct further proceedings. 
 

JURISDICTION 
 
 On May 12, 2011, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health 

(Division) issued to SDUSD – Patrick Henry High School (Employer) two 
citations alleging two violations of the Occupational Safety and Health 
Standards, one of which was for failing to timely report a serious workplace 

injury.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, §342(a).) 1   The parties stipulated that 
Employer’s report of the injury was untimely.  The injury occurred on February 

15, 2011, and was reported on February 17, 2011. 
 

The citations were timely appealed, and the matter came before an 

Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the Board.  The parties stipulated to a series 
of facts regarding the section 342(a) violation, and settled the remaining 

serious violation.  Based on the stipulations, the ALJ determined the 
appropriate penalty for the section 342(a) violation was $1,200.  An order was 
issued on February 28, 2012, containing this determination.  On March 21, 

2012, the Board ordered reconsideration of the matter on its own motion to 
address whether the penalty determination was appropriate under the 
circumstances.  Neither party filed an Answer to the Order of Reconsideration.  

We now address the appropriate penalty for this late report. 
 

 

                                                        
1 All references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations unless otherwise indicated. 
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DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 
 

The Labor Code assigns to the Board the duty to review penalties 
proposed by the Division.  The Board is to approve, modify, or vacate, the 

Division’s citation, order or penalty, or direct other appropriate relief when the 
Division action is appealed.  (Labor Code section 6602.)  The Division proposed 
a $5,000 penalty for the section 342(a) violation, and declined to adjust the 

penalty for the size, good faith, or history of the employer.  Labor Code section 
6319 requires the Division to consider the effect of the employer’s size, good 
faith, and history when assessing a penalty. 

 
We recently reviewed the effect of Labor Code section 6409.1(b), which 

was amended in 2002, and set the nominal penalty for failing to report serious 
injuries or deaths at $5,000.  (Allied Sales and Distribution, Inc., Cal/OSHA 
App. 11-0480, Decision After Reconsideration (Nov. 29, 2012); SDCCD – 
Continuing Education N C Center, Cal/OSHA App. 11-1196, Decision After 
Reconsideration (Dec. 4, 2012).)  It is clear that the legislation in 2002 was 

directed at the penalty the Legislature intended to impose on employers who 
fail to report serious injuries, illnesses, or deaths.  From this review of the 

legislative history, it is also clear the Legislature made no indication as to its 
intention regarding late filed reports.  (Central Valley Engineering & Asphalt, 
Cal/OSHA App. 08-5001, Decision After Reconsideration (Dec. 4, 2012).)  In 

such circumstances, the pre-2002 penalty considerations in Labor Code 
section 6319 cannot be deemed to have been repealed by implication.  (Central 
Valley Engineering & Asphalt, supra; Schatz v. Allen Matkins Leck Gamble & 
Mallory LLP (2009) 45 Cal.4th 557, 571.) 

 
The Board’s previous decisions, such as Trader Dan’s dba Rooms N 

Covers, Etc., Cal/OSHA App. 08-4978, Decision After Reconsideration (Oct. 8, 
2009) and Bill Callaway & Greg Lay dba Williams Redi Mix, Cal/OSHA App. 03-
2400, Decision After Reconsideration (Jul. 14, 2006), rested on the Board’s 

Labor Code section 6602 authority in examining all of the equities in a 
particular section 342(a) violation rather than solely the penalty provisions in 

the Act.  While the Board has ultimate authority pursuant to Labor Code 
section 6602 to set a final penalty, given that the Legislative history is silent 
regarding an intention to change the application of the pre-2002 penalty 

adjustment considerations in Labor Code section 6319 in the case of a late 
report, we believe a better approach is to apply those factors in these cases.  

When the violation is a late report, and there is some compliance with the 
reporting requirement, the only effect of the 2002 amendment of the Labor 
Code, and the subsequently adopted regulation (§ 336(a)(6)) was to increase the 

gravity-based penalty assessment (i.e. the penalty subject to adjustment per 
Labor Code § 6319 as appropriate) from $500 to $5000.  Remaining unchanged 
by the amendment is the obligation in Labor Code section 6319 that the 
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Division’s regulations take into consideration the size, good faith, and history of 
the employer when assessing a final penalty. 

 
However, the Division gave no consideration for those factors.  The record 

does not disclose Employer’s size.  It does disclose that Employer had an 
acceptable IIPP, and that it had no prior history of violations with the Division.  
Some of the considerations the Division must weigh when setting a penalty are 

contained in the record, but not all.  While it is likely Employer, a school 
district, has more than 100 employees, we will not assume facts not in 
evidence.  This additional evidence is relevant to the penalty adjustment 

factors, but the Division has not taken it in to consideration. 
 

We therefore remand the matter to the ALJ to allow the Division to 
comply with Labor Code section 6319, and its own regulations, such as section 
336(d), and evaluate the proper penalty.  The ALJ is to impose a penalty 

consistent with Labor Code section 6319 unless other penalty-related defenses 
are established by Employer.  (See, e.g., Stockton Tri Industries, Inc., Cal/OSHA 

App. 02-4946, Decision After Reconsideration (Mar. 27, 2006).) 
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