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   DECISION AFTER 
   RECONSIDERATION  
 

 
 The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting 
pursuant to the authority vested in it by the California Labor Code, and having 
taken this matter under reconsideration on its own motion, now issues this 
decision after reconsideration. 
 

JURISDICTION 
 
 The Division of Occupational Safety and Health (the Division) issued a 
citation to New Creation Builders (Employer) alleging a violation of section 
342(a) [failure to timely report a serious injury to the Division] of the 
occupational safety and health standards and orders found in Title 8, 
California Code of Regulations.1  The Division proposed a $5,000 civil penalty.  
Employer timely appealed the citation. 
 

On August 27, 2009, an Administrative Law Judge for the Board issued 
an Order assessing a penalty of $1,000 for the violation based, in part, on the 
parties’ stipulations regarding the serious injury and Employer’s response 
thereto. 

 
The Board then took this matter under reconsideration on its own 

motion on September 17, 2009 to determine whether an appropriate penalty 
had been assessed.  Neither party filed an answer to the Board’s Order of 
Reconsideration. 

 
On January 7, 2010, the Board issued an Order of Remand, which 

instructed the ALJ to determine whether the penalty assessed was appropriate 
in light of the Board’s decision in Trader Dan’s dba Rooms N Covers, Etc., 
                                                 
1 Unless otherwise specified all section references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations. 
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Cal/OSHA App. 08-4978, Decision After Reconsideration (Oct. 8, 2009).  The 
ALJ issued an Order After Remand in which she again assessed a $1,000 
penalty citing the factors she deemed warranted reductions from the $5,000 
penalty proposed by the Division. 

 
On March 9, 2010, the Board took reconsideration of the Order After 

Remand on its own to again determine if the penalty assessed was appropriate. 
 

ISSUE 
 

Was the penalty assessed appropriate under the circumstances? 
 
 

FINDINGS AND REASONS 
FOR 

DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 
 
To resolve Employer’s appeal of the section 342(a) violation, the parties 

submitted a series of stipulations.  From these, the ALJ assessed the 
referenced $1,000 penalty. 

 
The stipulations reveal, among other things, that Employer did not report 

the injury to the Division and did not know of its independent duty to report.  
Employer mistakenly believed that reports made by the first responders and 
the hospital would suffice.  The stipulations further reflect that this is a small 
employer with a good safety record who was only cited for the one violation, 
which it promptly abated.  Employer has suffered financially as a result of the 
economic downturn and its failure to report did not impede the Division’s 
ability to investigate the incident.  Employer ensured quick care for the injured 
worker and monitored his progress, and Employer implemented additional 
safety training to correct the reporting failure for the future. 

 
While we applaud Employer’s corrective measures and note the 

mitigating factors included in the parties’ stipulations, we recently held in 
Trader Dan’s dba Rooms N Covers, Etc., supra, that factors found to mitigate 
against imposition of the full $5,000 penalty proposed for a section 342(a) 
violation must be given less weight in a no-report situation than they might be 
given in a late report context.  This is because we found a “great distinction 
between situations in which legitimate circumstances contribute to a late 
report by an employer and situations in which an employer never reports.”  (Id.; 
emphasis added.)  We clarified that the offense is greater where no report is 
made and affirmed that the penalty must be proportional to the offense.  (Id.) 

   
In the present case, we find that undue weight was given to the factors 

mitigating against imposition of the $5,000 proposed penalty and conclude that 
a higher penalty is required. 
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We note, for example, that Employer was given a $200 reduction for 
showing initial concern for the injured worker by calling the paramedics and an 
additional $200 reduction for showing continued concern for the injured by 
following up and allowing a co-worker to accompany the injured to the 
hospital.  Similarly, Employer was given a $200 reduction because it did not 
intend to hide the injury and an additional $200 reduction because it promptly 
reported the injury to its worker’s compensation carrier, the only import of 
which in this context is that it shows Employer had no intent to hide the 
injury.  Also, Employer was given a $200 reduction because it did not have any 
history of violations with Cal/OSHA and an additional $200 reduction because 
it had a long and good safety record and had not experienced a prior serious 
injury.  We deem these to be largely duplicative considerations. 

 
While we agree that, under established Board precedent, Employer need 

not be assessed the full $5,000 proposed by the Division, we find that the 
reductions afforded here were excessive given Employer’s failure to report the 
serious injury to the Division.  Accordingly, we assess a civil penalty of $2,500. 

 
DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 

  
 The $1,000 penalty assessed for the section 342(a) violation is vacated.  
A civil penalty of $2,500 is assessed. 
 
 
CANDICE A. TRAEGER, Chairwoman  
ART R. CARTER, Member 
 
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH APPEALS BOARD 
FILED ON:  JUNE 2, 2010 
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