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The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), having taken 
this matter under reconsideration on its own motion, issues this Decision After 
Reconsideration pursuant to the authority vested in it by the California Labor 
Code. 

 
JURISDICTION 

 
Commencing on April 21, 2003, the Division of Occupational Safety and 

Health (the Division) conducted an accident investigation at a place of 
employment maintained by Sun Valley Skylights, Inc. (Employer) at 1833 North 
Old Orchard Road, Los Angeles, California.  On June 4, 2003, the Division 
cited Employer for violations of the occupational safety and health standards 
and orders found in Title 8, California Code of Regulations.1  

 
At a prehearing conference, the parties resolved all but one issue by 

agreement.  The remaining issue involved an alleged violation of section 
342(a).2  A hearing was held before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the 
Board on April 8, 2005 at which Employer challenged the existence of the 
violation and sought financial hardship relief.  The ALJ sustained the section 
342(a) violation and found the $5,000 penalty assessed reasonable under the 
Director of Industrial Relations’ regulation, section 336(a)(6).3  The ALJ 
determined, however, that Employer demonstrated it would experience 
financial hardship if the full penalty were imposed.  The ALJ concluded that 

                     
1 Unless otherwise noted, all section references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations. 
2 Section 342(a) requires employers to report serious injuries to the Division within eight hours, except as 
otherwise specified. 
3 Regulation section 336(a)(6) provides that a $5,000 minimum penalty shall be assessed against an 
employer found in violation of section 342(a).   
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financial hardship relief was warranted and reduced the penalty to $500.   
 
The Board took this matter under reconsideration on its own motion on 

June 1, 2005.  Both the Division and Employer submitted Answers in response 
to the Board’s order. 

 
ISSUES FOR RECONSIDERATION 

 
1) Does the Board have the ability to assess a penalty less than $5,000 

for a violation of section 342(a)? 
2) Did the ALJ properly apply the criteria for granting penalty relief 

based upon financial hardship? 
 

DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS 
 

1. The Board may assess a penalty of less than $5,000 for a section 
342(a) violation. 

 
When citing an employer for a section 342(a) violation, the Division 

believes it must propose a $5,000 penalty based on the Director of Industrial 
Relations’ regulation, section 336(a)(6).  The Board ordered reconsideration of 
this matter, in part, because it was in the process of evaluating whether the 
Board was similarly bound by the regulation.  After the ALJ issued the decision 
in this matter, and while reconsideration of this case was pending, we issued 
our decision in Bill Callaway & Greg Lay dba Williams Redi Mix Cal/OSHA App 
03-2400, Decision After Reconsideration (July 14, 2006) (Callaway), which 
resolved this question.   

 
In Callaway, supra, we held that this Board is not bound by the Director 

of Industrial Relations’ regulations.  Rather, we concluded that the intent of the 
Occupational Safety and Health Act (Act), and the history of decisions 
supporting that intent, required that we reassert the Board’s discretionary 
authority to establish the appropriate penalties on a case by case basis for 
section 342(a) violations as required under Labor Code section 6602. Our 
ruling in Callaway reaffirmed the principles articulated in Candlerock 
Restaurant, Cal/OSHA App. 74-0010, Decision After Reconsideration (June 5, 
1974), Liberty Vinyl Corp. Cal/OSHA App. 78-1276, Decision After 
Reconsideration (Sept. 24, 1980), Lefty's Pizza Parlor Cal/OSHA App. 74-580, 
Decision (Feb. 25, 1975), and the whole panoply of cases that recognize the 
authority of the Board and its ALJs to fashion appropriate relief.  

 
We further concluded that, in general, an employer that reports a serious 

injury to the Division, albeit belatedly, should not be placed in the same 
category as an employer that purposely fails to report at all.  Although 
ignorance of the duty to independently report is no defense to a violation4, the 

                     
4 Steve P. Rados, Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 97-575, Decision After Reconsideration (Nov. 22, 2000); and Jaco 
Oil Company, Cal/OSHA App. 97-943, Decision After Reconsideration (Nov. 22, 2000). 
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penalty for the violation should not be disproportionate to the infraction.  
 
We held in Callaway that, when appropriate in light of the facts 

presented, the Board may use reasonable discretion to reduce proposed 
penalties that exceed the levels necessary to encourage employers to seek out 
and eliminate hazardous conditions and maintain safe and healthful work 
places.  See also, T.M.C. Construction Co., Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 85-741, Decision 
After Reconsideration (Oct. 26, 1987); Mladen Buntich Construction Co., Cal/ 
OSHA App. 85-1668, Decision After Reconsideration (Oct. 14, 1987).  We 
determined that the Board may reduce or eliminate penalties that are shown to 
be purely punitive or are inconsistent with the Act’s intent.  

 
We also specified factors that an ALJ should consider in deciding the 

proper penalty.  As part of this discussion, we concluded that the purpose of 
Labor Code section 6409.1(b) (and the Division’s corresponding regulation 
section 342(a)) is to impel employers to report every serious injury quickly, so 
the Division can initiate an investigation.     

 
In applying these principles to the present case, we find Employer erred 

in not knowing that, in addition to reporting to its Workers Compensation 
Carrier, a report to the Division was required.  As the ALJ found, Employer had 
no intent to hide the injury.  The error was made by an inexperienced person 
who was not properly instructed.  Employer indicated that it learned its lesson 
from this experience and has taken steps to ensure that it is not repeated.  

 
The facts indicate that this was an innocent mistake, as seen by 

Employer’s quick report to the Division once it became aware of the need to do 
so.  Employer had no history of accidents and was clearly concerned for the 
well being of its employee, who was immediately attended to.  In addition, we 
find that Employer’s delay in reporting did not hamper the Division’s 
investigation.  

 
For the reasons stated, we believe that a $5,000 penalty would be 

punitive in nature and inconsistent with the purposes of the Act.  Although we 
reach our conclusion for different reasons, we agree with the ALJ’s decision to 
reduce the assessed penalty to $500.   Indeed, we recognize that the ALJ 
utilized a similar analytical approach as this Board applied in Callaway, supra, 
to reduce the penalty.   

 
2.  Further Penalty Relief Based on Financial Hardship is 
Unwarranted. 
 
Because we determined that the $5,000 penalty for the section 342(a) 

violation must be reduced to $500 under our holding in Callaway, we conclude 
that additional financial hardship relief is unwarranted.5   

                     
5 We nonetheless concur with the ALJ’s findings that Employer demonstrated it would have experienced 
financial hardship if required to pay the full $5,000.   
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DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 

 
For the reasons previously articulated, the Board upholds the $500 

penalty assessed by the ALJ for the section 342(a) violation.  
 

CANDICE A. TRAEGER, Chairwoman    
ROBERT PACHECO, Member          
 
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH APPEALS BOARD 
FILED ON: March 28, 2008 
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