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Background and Jurisdictional Information 
 

At all relevant times, Geo Plastics (Employer) was engaged in the 
manufacture of molded plastic products and employed workers in the state of 
California.  On December 14, 2012, the Division of Occupational Safety and 

Health (Division) opened an investigation at Employer’s place of business, 2200 
East 52nd Street, Los Angeles, California, 90058.  On February 21, 2013, the 
Division cited Employer for the following alleged violation of the California Code 

of Regulations1. 
 

Cit/Item Alleged Violation Type Penalty 
    

1-1 342(a) 

[Employer did not report a serious, work-
related injury to the Division] 

 

Regulatory 

 

$ 5,000  

 
 

 Employer filed a timely appeal, contesting the reasonableness of the 
penalty. Employer also alleged the affirmative defense of “absence of employer 

knowledge of serious violation.” 
  
 At the pre-hearing conference held in this matter on September 9, 2013, 

the ALJ informed Employer’s representative (Michael Morris) that due to 
recently issued Decisions After Reconsideration, the ALJs at the Cal/OSHA 

Appeals Board are precluded from reducing the regulatory $5,000 penalty for a 
violation of section 342(a) absent extenuating circumstances (which did not 
appear to be present in this matter--Employer’s position being that he did not 

                                       
1 Unless otherwise specified, all references are to sections of Title 8, California Code of 

Regulations. 
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know he was required to report the injury to the Division and that he had 
reported the injury to his Workers’ Compensation insurance carrier). Mr. 

Morris indicated that he wished to have a hearing on the issue so that he could 
appeal any Decision assessing the $5,000 regulatory penalty.  Therefore, at the 

request of the parties, a telephonic hearing was set for December 19, 2013.  
The telephonic hearing was convened at 9:00 a.m. on December 19, 2013 in 
West Covina, California. Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Sandra L. Hitt, 

presided. Michael Morris, President, represented Employer.  Michael Loupe, 
District Manager, High Hazard District, represented the Division.   Because the 
recording equipment was malfunctioning, the parties agreed to submit the 

matter for Decision on stipulations of fact.  
 

Summary of Evidence 
 
 The parties stipulated to the following facts:   

 
1. On or about March 11, 2012, one of Employer’s employees 

suffered a serious, work-related injury. 
2. The injury was a partial amputation of the employee’s finger. 
3. Prior to the Division’s investigation, Employer did not report the 

above-mentioned serious injury to the Division. 
4. Employer did report the serious injury to Employer’s Workers’ 

Compensation insurance carrier. 

5. The reason Employer did not report the serious injury to the 
Division was that Employer did not know he was required to 

report this injury to the Division.2 
 

Findings and Reasons for Decision 

 
Docket 13-R6D2-0810 

 

Citation 1, Item 1, Regulatory § 342(a)  
 

The Division established a regulatory violation of 
§ 342(a). 
 

Employer did not establish the affirmative defense of 
“lack of employer knowledge”. 

 
The $5,000 regulatory penalty is reasonable. 
 

                                       
2 At the pre-hearing, Employer stated that its previous and current Workers’ 
Compensation insurance carriers were also unaware of the requirement to report such 
an injury to the Division.  This statement is also contained on the appeal form which 
Employer filed. 
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 Section 342(a) requires an employer to report a serious, work-related 
injury to the nearest Division district office within 8 hours of the employer’s  

learning of the serious injury, with an exception for “exigent circumstances” if 
the injury is reported within 24 hours.  (Title 8, California Code of Regulations, 

section 342(a).)  Here, the injury was not reported within 24 hours.  Rather, 
some nine months later, when the Division opened its investigation, Employer 
still had not reported the injury.  The failure of an employer to report a serious, 

work-related injury was recently addressed by the Appeals Board in SCCD--
Continuing Education NC Center, CAL/OSHA App. 11-1196, Decision After 

Reconsideration (December 4, 2012).  There the Appeals Board held that 
$5,000 is the proper penalty to be assessed in all cases of non-reporting unless 
such assessment would result in a miscarriage of justice (in which case the 

proper penalty would be $0).   
 

 In Allied Sales and Distribution, Cal/OSHA App. 11-0480, Decision After 
Reconsideration (November 29, 2012), the Board considered a situation in 
which an employer failed to report because the employer relied on assurances 

from the Fire Chief that no further report was required.3  There the Board held 
that imposing a $5,000 penalty did not result in a miscarriage of justice.  Here, 

Employer had no argument for justifiable reliance; rather, Employer argued 
that he did not know he was supposed to report the injury to the Division and 
neither did his insurance carriers.   

 
 The affirmative defense of lack of knowledge does not apply to this 
situation. Employer knew that he had not reported the injury to the Division, 

(the violation), he simply did not know that the law required him to do so.  This 
requirement has been in place since at least 1992.4 The Appeals Board has 

long held that ignorance of safety orders is no excuse. (Nick's Lighthouse, 
Cal/OSHA App. 05-3086, Denial of Petition for Reconsideration (June 8, 2007); 
S. Kumar & Co., Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 93-622, Decision After Reconsideration 

(Nov. 13, 1996).) All California employers have a duty to stay current with 
safety standards, orders and regulations affecting their operations. (McKee 
Electric Company, Cal/OSHA App. 81-0001, Denial of Petition for 
Reconsideration (May 29, 1981).)   

 
 The Division classified the violation as regulatory.  A regulatory violation 
is defined by section 334(a) as follows: 

 
Regulatory violation--is a violation, other than one defined as 

Serious or General that pertains to permit posting, recordkeeping, 
and reporting requirements as established by regulation or statute.  
For example, failure to obtain permit; failure to post citation, 

                                       
3 Because the fire department reported the injury to the Division. 
4 The statute (Labor Code section 6409.1 (b)) was amended in 2002 to increase the 
penalty to $5,000.   
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poster; failure to keep required records; failure to report industrial 
accidents, etc.” (Emphasis added.) 

 
 Failure to report an injury falls squarely within the definition of a 

regulatory violation.  Therefore, the violation was properly classified as 
regulatory. 

 

The Division enjoys a rebuttable presumption that its penalties are 
reasonable once the Division establishes that it computed the penalties in 

adherence with the applicable regulations. Stockton Tri Industries, Inc. 

Cal/OSHA App. 02-4946, Decision After Reconsideration (Mar. 27, 2006). 
Labor Code section 6409.1(b) provides, in pertinent part, “An employer who 
violates this subdivision [reporting requirement] may be assessed a civil 

penalty of not less than five thousand dollars.” The Division assessed a $5,000 
penalty for Citation 1, Item 1 in adherence with Labor Code section 6409.1 (b). 
Employer offered insufficient evidence to rebut the presumption that the 

proposed penalty for Citation 1, Item 1, is reasonable.  Therefore, the penalty 
for Citation 1, Item 1, is assessed at $5,000   

 
Decision 

 

 It is hereby ordered that the citation is established, modified, or 
dismissed as set forth above and in the attached Summary Table. 
  

 
 
  

       _____________________________ 
                SANDRA L. HITT 

          Administrative Law Judge 
 
Dated:  January 21, 2014 

SLH:ml 
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MODIFICATION OR WITHDRAWAL 
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PENALTY 

PROPOSED 
BY DOSH 

IN 

CITATION         

 

PENALTY 

PROPOSED 
BY DOSH  

AT PRE-

HEARING         

 

 

FINAL 
PENALTY 

ASSESSED 

BY BOARD 

13-R6D2-0810 1 1 342(a) Reg [Failure to report serious, work-related injury to the 
Division] 

ALJ upheld the citation and the penalty. 

X  $5,000 $5,000 $5,000 

           

           

           

           

     Sub-Total   $5,000 $5,000 $5,000 

           

     Total Amount Due*      $5,000 

           (INCLUDES APPEALED CITATIONS ONLY) 
 

*You will owe more than this amount if you did not appeal one or more citations 

or items containing penalties.  Please call (415) 703-4291 if you have any 

questions. 
 

 

ALJ: SLH/ml 

POS: 1/21/2014 

 
 

IMIS No. 314761198 

NOTE:  Payment of final penalty amount should be 

made to: 

  Accounting Office (OSH) 
  Department of Industrial Relations 

  P.O. Box 420603 

  San Francisco, CA  94142 


