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All Workers in California Have Rights

Department of Industrial Relations,  
Labor Enforcement Task Force

All workers have rights on the job. In California, workers are protected by labor laws. It does not matter where 
you were born or what your legal status is. Once you are hired, you have rights. In this booklet, you will find 
information on your rights as workers, including:

•	 Rest and meal breaks
•	 Minimum wage and overtime
•	 Safe and healthy jobs
•	 Taking action without being punished
•	 Benefits in case of injury or unemployment

Wages and Breaks
Employers must:

1. Pay at least the minimum wage. 

2. Pay overtime equal to 1½ times the regular rate of 
pay:

•	 For most occupations, all hours over 8 in one day or 
over 40 in one week, and for the first eight hours of 
work on the seventh day of work in a workweek.

Example: If you are a dishwasher making $14 per hour and 
work 13 hours in one day, you must be paid:

$14 per hour for the first 8 hours 	 = 	 $112
$21 per hour for the next 4 hours 	 = 	 $84
$28 per hour for the last hour 	 = 	 $28
Total for 13-hour day 	 = 	 $224

•	 For personal attendants, all hours over 9 in one day 
or over 45 in one week.

•	 Overtime for Agricultural Workers: Beginning in 
2019, the number of hours worked per day or per 
week before overtime pay is required at a rate of 
one and one-half times the agricultural employee’s 
regular rate of pay.  For more information 
visit https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Overtime-for-
Agricultural-Workers.html.

3. Pay doubletime: 
•	 For most occupations, all hours over 12 in one day or over 

eight on the seventh day of work in a workweek

•	 For farm workers, all hours over eight on the seventh day 
of work in a workweek

Schedule for California Minimum Wage rate, 2020–
2023

Date

Minimum wage 
for employers 

with 25 
employees or 

less

Minimum wage 
for employers 

with 26 
employees or 

more

January 1, 2020 $12.00/hour $13.00/hour

January 1, 2021 $13.00/hour $14.00/hour

January 1, 2022 $14.00/hour $15.00/hour

January 1, 2023 $15.00/hour

If you are paid by the piece or unit (sometimes called “by 
contract”) or paid by the day or week, your wages still must 
equal at least minimum wage for all the hours you worked. 
Tips are separate and cannot be counted as part of the min-
imum wage. A few types of employees do not have to be 
paid minimum wage, including outside salespersons, close 
family members and camp counselors. For more informa-
tion about Piece-Rate Compensation, visit https://www.dir.
ca.gov/pieceratebackpayelection/AB_1513_FAQs.htm.

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Overtime-for-Agricultural-Workers.html
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Overtime-for-Agricultural-Workers.html
https://www.dir.ca.gov/pieceratebackpayelection/AB_1513_FAQs.htm
https://www.dir.ca.gov/pieceratebackpayelection/AB_1513_FAQs.htm


2

All workers in California have rights

Some occupations have different overtime rules and some 
types of workers are exempt from overtime.

4. Provide a paid 10-minute rest break for every 4 
hours of work.

5. Provide a meal break of at least 30 minutes after no 
more than 5 hours of work.

6. Pay employees (with certain limited exceptions) at 
least twice a month on designated regular paydays. 

With each payment of wages, whether by cash or check, the 
employer must provide a wage stub or statement with the 
following information: pay period dates; gross wages earned; 
total hours worked; breakdown of hourly rates and hours 
worked at each rate; piece rate information if applicable; all 
deductions; net wages; name and ID number of employee; 
and legal name and address of employer.

A copy of the state’s Wage Order for your occupation 
or industry should be posted in a place where it can be 
easily seen and read by employees, such as in a break room.

What you can do if you have questions or think there 
may be a problem:

•	 Keep track of your work hours and pay. Every day, write 
down the date, when you start and end work, when you 
take breaks, the total hours worked, and what you are 
supposed to be paid (by hour or by piece or contract 
rate). Compare this with the information shown on 
your pay stubs.

•	 Tell your employer. You have a right to tell your employer, 
or complain if necessary, if you think you are not getting 
what you are entitled to under the law. It is illegal for 
any person to discharge, discriminate, retaliate, or take 
any other adverse action against an employee for mak-
ing such a complaint in good faith.

•	 Know who your employer is. Write down the names of 
the people who hire you, pay you, or supervise you. 
Find out the name and address of the company by 
looking at pay stubs and other information that may be 
available at the job site.

•	 Don’t wait too long. Don’t wait to speak up and don’t 
delay in filing a claim because there are time limits, and 
it is easier to prove you are owed wages or benefits 
when events are close in time. Generally, you have three 
years to bring a formal claim, but sometimes you have 
less time and sometimes more.

Get help
•	 Contact the Labor Commissioner. To contact the Labor 

Commissioner’s office, see page 7. You can obtain infor-
mation about your rights. You can also file a claim to get 
wages you are owed and possibly additional payments 
for having to wait for your wages or for not getting 
breaks to which you were entitled.

More information is also available on the Labor Com-
missioner’s website at www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/dlse.html.

•	 Call a worker organization or legal aid group. They may 
be able to advise you on your rights and help you decide 
what actions to take.

 Wages and Breaks

Veronica works as a janitor cleaning office buildings. She was working up to 13-14 hours a day and making 
less than minimum wage. Her employer paid her a single flat rate for each day of work and said she was an 
“independent contractor.” He said this even though it was his janitorial business, and he controlled all aspects 
of her work, including when and how long she worked, what tasks she performed, and what she wore.

Veronica asked about her rights and learned that legally she was an employee of the janitorial business and 
entitled to minimum wages and overtime. She filed a claim with the Labor Commissioner and eventually 
obtained several thousand dollars in back pay. The employer was also cited and fined by the Labor Commis-
sioner and other LETF agencies for not having workers’ compensation, not paying employment tax, and other 
violations.

Note: This example reflects a typical scenario.

http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/dlse.html
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Safety and Health

Your employer is required to keep you safe at work. To help pre-
vent injuries on the job, employers must:

1. Make sure the workplace is safe by identifying health and 
safety hazards and correcting them.

2. Have a written health and safety plan. This is sometimes 
called an Injury and Illness Prevention Program.

3. Tell you about workplace hazards and train you how to 
work safely. The training must be presented in a way that 
you understand.

4. Have Workers’ Compensation insurance and pay for medi-
cal care for work-related injuries and illnesses.

5. Keep track of all workplace injuries and illnesses that re-
quire more treatment than first aid. Certain employers must 
keep a log of injuries and illnesses and post a summary from 
February to April.

6. Post the Cal/OSHA poster, Safety and Health Protection 
on the Job, in a place where everyone can see.

7. Call Cal/OSHA right away when an employee is killed or 
seriously injured on the job.

Cal/OSHA regulations describe what employers must 
do to protect workers from specific hazards. These reg-
ulations can be found in Title 8 of the California Code 
of Regulations, and on Cal/OSHA’s website at www.dir.
ca.gov/title8/index/T8index.asp. Employers have to follow 
these laws and regulations, or Cal/OSHA can fine them.

What you can do:

Worksites are safer when workers are involved, and the 
law protects you when you speak up about safety. You have 
the right to:
•	 Ask for information about things you think are  

dangerous
•	 Talk about health and safety problems with your  

coworkers or supervisor

•	 Make suggestions for a safer workplace
•	 Report safety problems and injuries to your supervisor
•	 Refuse work that could put your life in danger or cause 

serious injury
•	 Report problems to Cal/OSHA.

Get help
•	 Report problems to Cal/OSHA. To contact Cal/OSHA, 

see page 7. Cal/OSHA, the state workplace safety and 
health agency, inspects workplaces and can fine employ-
ers and require them to fix problems. Cal/OSHA will 
never give your name to the employer. You can even call 
them without giving your name.

•	 Call a worker organization or legal aid group. They may 
be able to advise you on your rights and help you de-
cide what actions to take.

It is illegal for your employer to fire you or discriminate against you at work for  
making a good faith complaint about an unhealthy or unsafe condition.

http://www.dir.ca.gov/title8/index/T8index.asp
http://www.dir.ca.gov/title8/index/T8index.asp
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Right to Take Action

Taking action can be difficult, but the law protects you.

You may be worried about how your employer will respond. 
But the law is on your side, and there are steps you can take 
to protect yourself.

1. The law is on your side.
The law says you are protected when you:

•	 Speak up about wages that are owed to you
•	 Report an injury or a health and safety hazard
•	 File a claim or complaint with a state agency
•	 Join together with other workers to ask for changes.

The law says it is illegal for employers to threaten or retal-
iate against you for taking these actions. For example, em-
ployers cannot retaliate by:

•	 Firing you or sending you home
•	 Changing your assignment to give you less desirable 

tasks or shifts
•	 Threatening you with deportation
•	 Preventing you from getting another job.

2. You can take steps to protect yourself:
•	 Talk to your co-workers. Work together to plan what 

to do. You may have more power and more legal pro-
tections acting together as a group.

•	 Get help. A worker organization or legal aid group 
may help you understand your rights, suggest ways to 
address the problems, and help you decide whether to 
speak to your employer and what to say.

•	 Take notes. If you speak to your employer, write down 
when you met, who was there, and what was said.

•	 Report problems to the state agencies. You may decide 
it’s not safe to talk to your employer. You can report a 
problem directly to an agency.

Get help
Report any retaliation to the Labor Commissioner. To con-
tact the Labor Commissioner’s office, see page 7.

In most cases, you must file a retaliation complaint with-
in 6 months. If retaliation is found, the Labor Commission-
er can help you get any wages or other payments you are 
owed. You may also be able to get your job back.

•	 Contact a worker organization or legal aid group. They 
may be able to advise you on your rights and help you 
decide what actions to take.

The law protects workers who assert their legal rights or report unsafe working conditions.

As a garment worker Jose presses decals onto 
t-shirts using a 400-degree hot iron press machine 
and has burned himself several times on the equip-
ment. He learned that his co-workers almost had 
their fingers cut off from the cloth-cutting machines 
because of the unguarded blade. Despite these in-
cidents, the employer never did anything to elimi-
nate the hazards.

When Cal/OSHA inspected the workplace, it shut 
down several cloth-cutting machines and made the 
company provide gloves to protect the workers’ 
hands from burns. The employees also learned from 
the inspection about being poked with tagging gun 
needles and the danger of catching a bloodborne 
disease from another worker who was poked with 
the same needle.

After the Cal/OSHA investigation, the employer 
was cited for 8 violations and required to repair the 
various machines. In addition, a protective policy is 
now in place.

Note: This example reflects a typical scenario.

Most injuries on the job can be prevented, 
and employers are responsible for keeping 

the workplace safe.
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Chen is a waiter at a restaurant. He worked long days and was not allowed to take breaks. LETF investiga-
tors conducted an investigation at his worksite and Chen was one of the workers interviewed. After LETF 
left, the employer fired him for speaking with the investigator.

Chen called the investigator he spoke with. The investigator sent the complaint to the Labor Commissioner’s 
Office Retaliation Unit. An investigator from the retaliation unit called the employer and sent a letter to let 
him know what he had done was illegal. 

Chen got his job back without losing pay or benefits. The employer was also required to post a notice in-
forming all employees that it is illegal to retaliate against employees who talk to state investigators or exer-
cise other legal rights.

Don’t be afraid to speak up to investigators when they conduct an investigation of your employer. You may 
contact the LETF hotline at any time to file a complaint.

Note: This example reflects a typical scenario.

Paid Sick Leave

You may be eligible for paid sick leave. Starting July 1, 2015, employers must:

•	 Provide at least 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave for each eligible employee to use per year.
•	 Allow eligible employees to use accrued paid sick leave.
•	 Show how many days of sick leave an employee has available. This must be on a pay stub or a document 

issued the same day as a paycheck.

If you are injured on the job…

Your employer must pay for medical care for injuries and 
illnesses related to work. You may also get weekly payments. 
This is called workers’ compensation. It doesn’t matter who 
was at fault for the injury. In most cases, you can get benefits 
even if you are a temporary or part-time worker. You have 
a right to workers’ compensation regardless of your immi-
gration status.

What to do if you get ill or hurt on the job:
•	 Ask for medical help right away. If it’s an emergency, call 

911 or go straight to an emergency room.
•	 Tell your employer. Your employer must give you a 

claim form within one working day after hearing about 

Benefits If You Are Injured or Unemployed

your injury (from you or anyone else). Along with this 
form, the employer must give you notice of your rights 
when claiming workers’ compensation benefits. You can 
also obtain a claim form from any office of the Division 
of Workers’ Compensation or the Employment Devel-
opment Department.

•	 Get help and information from the Division of Workers’ 
Compensation at 1-800-736-7401.

•	 If your employer refuses to give you a claim form or 
threatens or discriminates against you because you are 
injured or made a job injury claim, you may wish to see an 
attorney who represents employees in workers’ compen-
sation cases. If an attorney takes your case, he or she can 
only charge a small percentage fee (15% or less) that will 
be deducted from cash benefits owed to you.

Employment Status 
In September 2019, Governor Newsom signed Assembly Bill (AB) 5 into law. The new law addresses 
the “employment status” of workers when they are claimed to be an independent contractor and 
not an employee. For more information, visit the Employment Status Portal: https://www.labor.ca.gov/
employmentstatus/.

https://www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/.
https://www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/.
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When you call a state agency, give as much information as you can about  
the specific problem, your worksite and your employer.

Workers may have concerns:

“My boss told 
me I’m not an 
employee.”

Sometimes, employers call workers “independent contractors” 
to cut corners and avoid paying taxes. Even if your employer does 
this, you may be an employee under the law and have all the rights 
as an employee. 

“I am not  
a citizen.”

You are protected by labor laws whether or not you are legally in 
the United States. If you call a state agency to report a problem, 
they will not ask you about your immigration status. It is also 
against the law for your employer to threaten you because of 
your immigration status. 

“I’m afraid I will  
lose my job if  
I speak up.” 

There may be dangers to speaking up about working conditions, 
but it is illegal for your employer to punish you for doing so. You 
can also take steps to protect yourself.

If you are unemployed… You may be able to receive unemployment insurance (UI) benefits while you are 
unemployed (or working less than full time) and are ready, willing, and able to work. The quickest and easiest 
way to apply for UI benefits is online. Visit the Employment Development Department (EDD) website at: 
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/. Then click on “File or Reopen a Claim.” You can also file a claim by telephone 
at 1-800-300-5616 (for Cantonese, call 1-800-547-3506; for Mandarin, call 1-866-303-0706; for Spanish, call 
1-800-326-8937; for Vietnamese, call 1-800-547-2058; for TTY, call 1-800-815-9387).   

If you have a non–work-related disability … The quickest and easiest way to apply for Disability Insurance 
(DI) benefits is online.  Visit the EDD website at: www.edd.ca.gov/disability/. Then select “SDI Online.” DI 
claims can also be filed by mail. For questions about DI, call 1-800-480-3287 (for Spanish, call 1-866-658-8846; 
for TTY, call 1-888-563-2441).

If you need to care for your family or bond with a new child… The quickest and easiest way to apply for 
Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits is online. Visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability/. Then select 
“SDI Online.” PFL claims can also be filed by mail. For questions about PFL, call 1-877-238-4373 (for Spanish, 
call 1-877-379-3819; for Cantonese, call 1-866-692-5595; for Vietnamese, call 1-866-692-5596; for Armenian, 
call 1-866-627-1567; for Punjabi, call 1-866-627-1568; for Tagalog, call 1-866-627-1569; for TTY, call 1-800-445-
1312).

http://www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment
http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability
http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability
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Where to get help or report a problem

There are several state agencies in California that work to make sure employers are following labor laws. Your immigra-
tion status does not matter. They will not ask you about your immigration status. The agencies have staff who speak other 
languages, or they will get an interpreter.

You can also get help from a worker organization or legal group to report a problem to any of these agencies.

To find a worker organization, union, or legal aid group:

•	 Ask co-workers, friends, and family for ideas.
•	 Check the phonebook under “Legal clinic” or “Labor Organization” or “Community  

Organization.”
•	 To find a legal group and lawyers that can help you, go to www.lawhelpca.org.
•	 Call 211 for free information. Ask if they serve your area. Ask for a community group that 

helps workers with work-related problems.

Call the Labor Enforcement Task Force (LETF). LETF is a joint program bring-
ing together several state agencies. They work together to make sure employ-
ers in these industries are following labor laws. For help, go to:  
www.dir.ca.gov/letf/ .

1-855-297-5322 (toll free)

For wages or rest and meal breaks or retaliation:

Contact the Labor Commissioner, also known as the Division of Labor Stan-
dards Enforcement. To find your local office, go to:  
www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DistrictOffices.htm.

1-844-LABOR-DIR
(toll free statewide line with informa-
tion in English and Spanish)

For safety and health:

Report a hazard to Cal/OSHA by calling or going in person to your local Cal/
OSHA office. To find your local office, go to: www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/Complaint.
htm.

1-844-LABOR-DIR
(toll free statewide line with informa-
tion in English and Spanish)

For an injury or illness due to work:

Call the Division of Workers’ Compensation, Information and Assistance line. 
To find your local office, go to: www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/ContactDWC.htm.

1-800-736-7401

For benefits:

Contact the Employment Development Department (EDD) about certain ben-
efits you may be able to receive. For help, go to: www.edd.ca.gov. For faster as-
sistance with Unemployment Insurance, visit: www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/ 
and, for Disability Insurance and Paid Family Leave, www.edd.ca.gov/disability/.

1-800-300-5616
(if you are unemployed)

1-800-480-3287 (if you are disabled)

1-877-238-4373
(if you need to care for a family  
member)

You have the right to tell your employer about your rights as an employee. You also have the 
right to complain or file a claim with the state if you think your employer is violating those 

rights. It is illegal for your employer to fire you or punish you for taking these actions.

http://www.lawhelpca.org
http://www.dir.ca.gov/letf
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DistrictOffices.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/Complaint.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/Complaint.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/ContactDWC.htm
http://www.edd.ca.gov
http://www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment
http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability
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This booklet provides general information and is not meant to serve as legal advice. 

About the Labor Enforcement Task Force (LETF):

The Labor Enforcement Task Force, under the direction of the Department of Industrial Relations, is a coalition of Cal-
ifornia state government enforcement agencies that work together and in partnership with local agencies to combat the 
underground economy. In this joint effort, information and resources are shared to ensure employees are paid properly and 
have safe work conditions and honest, law-abiding businesses have the opportunity for healthy competition.

For more information, visit the LETF website at www.dir.ca.gov/letf.

Members of the Labor Enforcement Task Force (LETF):

Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC)
Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR) 
California Department of Insurance (CDI) 
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA)
Contractors State License Board (CSLB) 
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE)
Division of Occupational Safety & Health (Cal/OSHA) 
Employment Development Department (EDD)
State Attorney General (DOJ)

2020

http://www.dir.ca.gov/letf
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