Newsline No. 38-09 printer image Printer friendly

July 22, 2009

Division of Workers' Compensation appoints new members to the medical guidelines advisory committee

The California Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) is pleased to announce the appointment of two new members to its medical evidence evaluation advisory committee. Claire Johnson, DC, MSEd, DACBSP, will fill the vacant position in the chiropractic field. William Meeker, DC, MPH, has been selected as chiropractic subject matter expert. Dr. Johnson and Dr. Meeker bring a wealth of evidence-based knowledge to the medical evidence evaluation advisory committee.

Members of the medical evidence evaluation advisory committee serve a term of two years and remain in the position until a successor is selected.

The committee is presently composed of the following members:

Melvin Belsky, MD - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Mary Foto, OTR - Occupational Therapy

Scott Haldeman, MD, DC, PhD - Neurology

Claire Johnson, DC, MSEd, DACBSP - Chiropractor

Franklin Kase, DPM - Podiatry

Joshua Kirz, PhD - Psychology

Ronald Koretz, MD - Internal Medicine

Sean Mackey, MD, PhD - Pain Management

Peter Mandell, MD - Orthopedics

Sam Miles, MD, PhD - Psychiatry

Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD - Neurosurgery

Bernyce Peplowski, DO, MS - Occupational and Environmental Medicine

Joshua Prager, MD, MS - Anesthesiology

Ted Priebe, OMD, LAC - Acupuncture

Marcia Sablan, MD - Family Medicine

Leslie Torburn, PT, MS - Physical Therapy

Subject Matter Expert:

William Meeker DC, MPH - Chiropractor

The committee, under the guidance of Dr. Bowen Wong, Associate Medical Director, continues to systematically review evidence and make recommendations to the DWC acting administrative director on revising, updating or supplementing the medical treatment utilization schedule (MTUS).