Newsline No. 24-09 printer image Printer friendly

April 27, 2009


EAMS recognized by Computerworld Honors Program

The Division of Workers’ Compensation’s Electronic Adjudication Management System (EAMS) has won recognition from the Computerworld Honors Program, which was established to recognize the achievements of men, women, organizations and institutions around the world whose visionary applications of information technology promote positive social, economic and educational change.

EAMS was named a Computerworld Honors Laureate for 2009 for integrating DWC’s court, and many of its administrative functions, into a seamless case management system.

“We are honored to be recognized for our efforts to bring our disparate units together and modernize the workers’ compensation court system,” said John Duncan, Department of Industrial Relations director. “While EAMS is still in its infancy, we are beginning to see how this technology will improve our service. We expect to make great strides in the coming months as this system evolves to better meet our needs and those of our constituents.”

The Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) is the DWC’s parent agency and DIR’s Information Systems Unit partnered with DWC to implement EAMS.

“Each year, the Computerworld Honors Program seeks to recognize organizations, from a variety of sectors, for their ongoing efforts to utilize technology in order to benefit society,” said Ron Milton, Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Computerworld Information Technology Awards Foundation and Executive Vice President of Computerworld. “We are proud to provide a platform to publicly acknowledge these contributions.”

EAMS was developed using “off the shelf” software components, which were integrated to provide a seamless case management process for different, but interrelated units of the workers’ compensation system. Before EAMS, each of these units (adjudication, disability evaluation, retraining and return to work, the Uninsured Employers Benefits Trust Fund and the Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund) had its own database and filing system, resulting in redundant data entry, multiple paper case files and information that was not uniformly updated. After EAMS, all these units share one electronic version of the case file and information about the injured worker, the employer, the claims administrator and associated representatives in a case is entered only once. A number of functions—such as file creation, case file transfer, storage and retrieval—were automated through EAMS.

And while EAMS, which went live for DWC employees in August of 2008, is primarily an internal case management system, it also allows external users to file forms and documents over the Web. Some 200 user locations are currently filing all their forms and documents electronically using e-forms, and access for external users will expand over time.  

Improvements are continually being made to EAMS to increase efficiency and extend access to external users. Current plans include:

About the award:

Founded by International Data Group (IDG) in 1988, the Computerworld Honors Program is governed by the not-for-profit Computerworld Information Technology Awards Foundation. Computerworld Honors is in its 21st year honoring individuals and organizations that use information technology to benefit society.

The 21st Annual Laureates Medal Ceremony & Gala Awards Evening will take place on June 1 at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C.

Find EAMS information on the Web at


EAMS project timeline

Before and after EAMS