Newsline No. 20-07
printer image Printer friendly
March 2, 2007  

Division of Workers' Compensation medical guideline advisory committee will begin work March 19 to supplement treatment guidelines

The Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) is pleased to announce that its medical evidence evaluation advisory committee has been formed and will begin supplementing California's medical treatment guidelines at its first meeting on March 19. Topics for the first meeting include reviewing the soon to be released American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) revised chapter on elbow injuries, addressing chronic pain and setting priorities for future guideline supplements. 

"We want California's treatment guidelines to stay current, so the committee will be examining ACOEM's new elbow chapter right away," said DWC Executive Medical Director Dr. Anne Searcy, who also said the committee will meet as a whole approximately four times per year.

This committee, under the guidance of the DWC executive medical director, will use the hierarchy of evidence in the division's medical treatment utilization schedule to review evidence and make recommendations to the DWC administrative director on revising, updating or supplementing the treatment guidelines currently guiding treatment decisions. 

Nominations for the committee were opened in October of 2006 and the appointees represent a wide variety of specialties, with experience in fields such as orthopedic surgery, occupational medicine, physical therapy, chiropractic and acupuncture. 

"We were very impressed with the caliber and number of providers nominated for the committee," said Searcy. "The depth of nominations allowed us to select a mix of providers whose experience encompasses everything from family practice in a rural setting to neurosurgery. California is a huge state with workers who may need to seek treatment for a wide variety of potential injuries under vastly differing circumstances. We wanted to make sure we had the right team of people on this vital project," she said. 

Members of the medical evidence evaluation advisory committee will serve a term of two years and remain in the position until a successor is selected. The members are:

Melvin Belsky, M.D. -- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Mary Foto, O.T.R. -- Occupational Therapy
Gary Globe, D.C., M.B.A., Ph.D. -- Chiropractic
Scott Haldeman, M.D., D.C., Ph.D. -- Neurology
Franklin Kase, D.P.M. -- Podiatry
Joshua Kirz, Ph.D. -- Psychology
Ronald Koretz, M.D. -- Internal Medicine
Sean Mackey, M.D., Ph.D. -- Pain Management
Peter Mandell, M.D. -- Orthopedics
Sam Miles, M.D., Ph.D. -- Psychiatry
Praveen V. Mummaneni, M.D. -- Neurosurgery
Bernyce Peplowski, D.O., M.S. -- Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Joshua Prager, M.D., M.S. – Anesthesiology
Ted Priebe, O.M.D., L.A.C. -- Acupuncture
Marcia Sablan, M.D. -- Family Medicine
Leslie Torburn, P.T., M.S. -- Physical Therapy