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Regulatory Update 
• California EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill 

Payment Records, Version 2.0 
 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for First and 
Subsequent Reports of Injury, Versions 3.0 & 3.1 
 

• Administrative Penalties 
 

 



Medical Billing Data 
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• California EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill Payment 
Records, Version 2.0 was updated in April 2015 to reflect and be 
consistent with requirements in IAIABC’s Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Bill Data Reporting Implementation Guide, Release 2.0 
(dated February 1, 2014). 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill Payment 
Records, Version 2.0 is being further updated to reflect and be 
consistent with requirements in IAIABC’s Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Bill Data Reporting Implementation Guide, Release 2.0 
(dated February 1, 2015).  These changes should take effect on or 
around April 2016. 

• Title 8, California Code of Regulations sections 9701 and 9702 are 
being simultaneously updated to reflect and be consistent with new 
EDI reporting requirements.  

 
 



First Report & Subsequent Reports of Injury 
 

4 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for First 
and Subsequent Reports of Injury, Version 3.0 was 
released on November 1, 2011. 

 
• WCIS is in the process of updating the EDI 

Implementation Guide for First and Subsequent 
Reports of Injury to Version 3.1, and 8 C.C.R. 
section 9701 and 9702. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



First Report & Subsequent Reports of Injury 
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• The current updates to the FROI/SROI 
Guide are being accomplished in the same 
rulemaking as the updates to Medical Data 
Reporting.  We anticipate the rulemaking 
being complete by the end of the first half 
of 2016. 
 
 
 
 



Administrative Penalties 

• Labor Code section 138.6 requires DWC to: 
 

• Assess administrative penalties for WCIS data reporting 
violations by claims administrators. 
 

• Promulgate a schedule of penalties capped at $5,000 
against a claims administrator in any given year.   
 

• The schedule shall provide for no more than $100 per 
violation for violations where a report is not submitted or 
not accepted, and no more than $50 per violation for 
violations involving errors or late filings. 



Administrative Penalties 

• Establish threshold rates of violations that shall be 
excluded from the calculation of penalty assessments.  
• Threshold rates cannot be less than 3% of the reports 

filed by the claims administrator.   
• Higher thresholds rates for data elements that 

commonly are not reasonably available. 
• Publish an annual report on the compliance of claims 

administrators.  
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