
 

            
                                                                                                                          

 

 

 

 

   

   
 

 

 

 

   
 

  

 

    

  

    

     

  

   

  

    

  

  

 

 

 

      

          

          

 
 

 

 

     

  

 

 

State of California   
Department of Industrial  Relations  

Division of Occupational Safety and Health  

Oakland District Office  

1515 Clay Street,  Suite 1303  

Oakland,  CA   94612  

Phone:  (510) 622-2916 Fax:  (510) 622-2908  

  

  

  

  

  

Inspection #:  1516465  

Inspection Dates:  02/25/2021 - 07/30/2021  
Issuance Date:  07/30/2021  
CSHO ID:  U7118  
Optional Report #:   025-21  

Citation and Notification of Penalty  

Company Name:    Livermore Senior  Living Associates,  LP  
Establishment DBA:   Heritage  Estates   

and its successors  

Inspection Site:   900 E.  Stanley Boulevard  
Livermore,  CA   94550  

Citation  1 Item  1   Type of Violation: Regulatory 

California Code of Regulations, Title 8, §342(a). Reporting Work-Connected Fatalities and Serious 

Injuries. 

(a) Every employer shall report immediately to the Division of Occupational Safety and Health any 

serious injury or illness, or death, of an employee occurring in a place of employment or in 

connection with any employment. The report shall be made by the telephone or through a specified 

online mechanism established by the Division for this purpose. Until the division has made such a 

mechanism available, the report may be made by telephone or email. 

Immediately means as soon as practically possible but not longer than 8 hours after the employer 

knows or with diligent inquiry would have known of the death or serious injury or illness. If the 

employer can demonstrate that exigent circumstances exist, the time frame for the report may be 

made no longer than 24 hours after the incident. 

Serious injury or illness is defined in section 330(h), Title 8, California Administrative Code. 

Violation 

The employer failed to immediately report to the Division of Occupational Safety and Health the 

serious illness suffered by an employee who was hospitalized with COVID-19 for about 58 days starting 

on or about December 17, 2020 and later passed on or about February 13, 2021 related to the 

COVID-19 illness. 

Date By Which Violation Must be Abated: Corrected During Inspection 
 
Proposed Penalty:  $5000.00 
 

See pages 1 through 4 of this Citation and Notification of Penalty for information on employer and employee rights and responsibilities.
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Citation  2 Item  1  Type of Violation: Serious 

California Code of Regulations, Title 8, §3205(c). COVID-19 Prevention. 

(c) Written COVID-19 Prevention Program. Employers shall establish, implement, and maintain an 

effective, written COVID-19 Prevention Program, which may be integrated into the employer's Injury 

and Illness Program required by section 3203, or be maintained in a separate document. The written 

elements of a COVID-19 Prevention Program shall include: 

(9) Reporting, recordkeeping, and access. 

(B) The employer shall report immediately to the Division any COVID-19-related serious 

illnesses or death, as defined under section 330(h), of an employee occurring in a 

place of employment or in connection with any employment. 

(10) Exclusion of COVID-19 cases. The purpose of this subsection is to limit transmission of 

COVID-19 in the workplace. 

(B) Employers shall exclude employees with COVID-19 exposure from the workplace for 

10 days after the last known COVID-19 exposure to a COVID-19 case. 

(11) Return to work criteria. 

(C) A negative COVID-19 test shall not be required for an employee to return to work. 

References:
 
California  Code of Regulations, Title 8, §342(a). Reporting Work-Connected Fatalities and Serious 
 
Injuries. 
 
(a) Every employer shall report immediately to the Division of Occupational Safety and Health any 

serious injury or illness, or death, of an employee occurring in a place of employment or in 

connection with any employment. The report shall be made by the telephone or through a specified 

online mechanism established by the Division for this purpose. Until the division has made such a 

mechanism available, the report may be made by telephone or email. 

Immediately means as soon as  practically possible but not longer  than 8 hours after the employer  

knows or  with diligent inquiry would have known of the death or serious injury or illness. If the 

employer can demonstrate that exigent  circumstances exist, the time frame for  the report  may be  

made no longer  than 24 hours after the incident.  

Serious injury or illness is defined in section 330(h), Title 8, California  Administrative Code.  

See pages 1 through 4 of this Citation and Notification of Penalty for information on employer and employee rights and responsibilities.
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California Code of Regulations, Title 8, §3205(b)(3). COVID-19 Prevention. 

(b) Definitions. The following definitions apply to this section and to sections 3205.1 through 3205.4. 

(3) "COVID-19 exposure" means being within six feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative 

total of 15 minutes or greater in any 24-hour period within or overlapping with the "high-risk 

exposure period" defined by this section. This definition applies regardless of the use of face 

coverings. 

Violation 

Prior to and during the course of the inspection, including but not limited to, on February 25, 2021 the 

employer failed to establish, implement, and maintain an effective, written COVID-19 Prevention 

Program, with the required written elements, in the following instances. 

Instance 1: The employer failed to establish, implement, and maintain an effective, written element 

for reporting immediately to the Division any COVID-19-related serious illnesses or death, as defined 

under section 330(h), of an employee occurring in a place of employment or in connection with any 

employment. [Ref. T8 CCR Section 3205(c)(9)(B) and Section 342(a)] 

Instance 2: The employer failed to establish, implement, and maintain an effective written element 

for the exclusion of COVID-19 cases, including sections (c)(10)(A), (c)(10)(B), and (c)(10)(E), within 

their COVID-19 Prevention Program. The employer's written policy titled "COVID-19 Employee 

Exposure-Related Work Restriction Decision Tree" allowed employees to not be excluded from the 

workplace if either the COVID-19 Case or the exposed employee were using face coverings. [Ref. T8 

CCR Section 3205(c)(10)(B) and Section 3205(b)(3)] 

Instance 3: The employer failed to ensure that one or more employees with COVID-19 exposure were 

excluded from the workplace for 10 days after their last known COVID-10 exposure to a COVID-19 

case occurring on and about December 4, 2020. [Ref. T8 CCR Section 3205(c)(10)(B) and Section 

3205(b)(3)] 

Instance 4: The employer failed to establish, implement, and maintain an effective written element 

for the return to work criteria, including sections (c)(11)(C), within their COVID-19 Prevention Program. 

The employer's written policy titled "COVID-19 Employee Exposure-Related Work Restriction Decision 

Tree" allowed employees who test positive and or develop symptoms related for COVID-19 to return 

to work after a negative COVID-19 test and approval from the Operations Leader were met. [Ref. T8 

CCR Section 3205(c)(11)(C)] 

Date By Which Violation Must be Abated: Corrected During Inspection
 
Proposed Penalty:  $20250.00 
 

See pages 1 through 4 of this Citation and Notification of Penalty for information on employer and employee rights and responsibilities.
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Citation  3 Item  1   Type of Violation: Serious 

California Code of Regulations, Title 8, §3205(c)(3)(B). COVID-19 Prevention. 

(c) Written COVID-19 Prevention Program. Employers shall establish, implement, and maintain an 

effective, written COVID-19 Prevention Program, which may be integrated into the employer's Injury 

and Illness Program required by section 3203, or be maintained in a separate document. The written 

elements of a COVID-19 Prevention Program shall include: 

(3) Investigating and responding to COVID-19 cases in the workplace. 

(B) The employer shall take the following actions when there has been a COVID-19 

case at the place of employment: 

2. Determine who may have had a COVID-19 exposure. This requires an 

evaluation of the activities of the COVID-19 case and all locations at the 

workplace which may have been visited by the COVID-19 case during the high-

risk exposure period. 

3. Give notice of the potential COVID-19 exposure, within one business day, in a 

way that does not reveal any personal identifying information of the COVID-19 

case, to the following: 

a. All employees who may have had COVID-19 exposure and their authorized 

representatives. 

5. Investigate whether any workplace conditions could have contributed to the 

risk of COVID-19 exposure and what could be done to reduce exposure to 

COVID-19 hazards. 

Violation 

Prior to and during the course of the Division's investigation, the employer failed to investigate and 

take the following required actions when it became aware that there had been COVID-19 cases in 

the workplace, including but not limited to in the month of December 2020. 

Instance 1: The employer failed to effectively investigate and evaluate the activities of COVID-19 

cases working in the facility and all the locations at the workplace which the COVID-19 cases had 

See pages 1 through 4 of this Citation and Notification of Penalty for information on employer and employee rights and responsibilities.
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visited during the high-risk exposure periods. [T8 CCR Section 3205(c)(3)(B)2.] 

Instance 2: The employer failed to give notice to all employees who may have had potential 

exposure to the COVID-19 case(s). [T8 CCR Section 3205(c)(3)(B)3.a.] 

Instance 3: The employer failed to investigate whether any workplace conditions could have 

contributed to the risk of COVID-19 exposure and what could be done to reduce exposure to 

COVID-19 hazards. [T8 CCR Section 3205(c)(3)(B)5.] 

Date By  Which  Violation Must  be  Abated:  Corrected During  Inspection 

Proposed  Penalty:   $20250.00  

Spencer Wojcik / Wendy Hogle-Lui 

Compliance Officer / District Manager 

See pages  1  through 4  of  this Citation and  Notification  of Penalty for  information on  employer  and employee rights  and  responsibilities.
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