

# ARCHIVED Cal/OSHA COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standards –

## What Employers Need to Know

December 18, 2020

California approved emergency temporary Cal/OSHA standards on COVID-19 infection prevention on November 30, 2020. These new **temporary standards** apply to most workers in California not covered by Cal/OSHA's Aerosol Transmissible Diseases **standard**.

### Requirements for employers covered by the COVID-19 Prevention standard

- Establish, implement, and maintain an effective written COVID-19 Prevention Program that includes:
  - Identifying and evaluating employee exposures to COVID-19 health hazards.
  - o Implementing effective policies and procedures to correct unsafe and unhealthy conditions (such as safe physical distancing, modifying the workplace and staggering work schedules).
  - o Providing and ensuring workers wear face coverings to prevent exposure in the workplace.
- Provide effective training and instruction to employees on how COVID-19 is spread, infection
  prevention techniques, and information regarding COVID-19-related benefits that affected employees
  may be entitled to under applicable federal, state, or local laws.

Cal/OSHA has developed a <u>COVID-19 Model Prevention Program</u> to assist employers with developing their own written program

#### When there are multiple COVID-19 infections and COVID-19 outbreaks

Employers must follow the requirements for testing and notifying public health departments of **workplace outbreaks** (three or more cases in a workplace in a 14-day period) and **major outbreaks** (20 or more cases within a 30-day period).

COVID-19 testing for employees who might have been exposed

Requires employers to offer COVID-19 testing at no cost to their employees during their working hours who had potential COVID-19 exposure in the workplace and provide them with the information on benefits.

Notification requirements to the local health department

A new requirement that obligates employers to contact the local health department immediately but no longer than 48 hours after learning of three or more COVID-19 cases to obtain guidance on preventing the further spread of COVID-19 within their workplace.

#### Recordkeeping and reporting COVID-19 cases

Employers must maintain a record of and track all COVID-19 cases, while ensuring medical information remains confidential. These records must be made available to employees, authorized employee representatives, or as otherwise required by law, with personal identifying information removed. When a COVID-19-related serious illness (e.g., COVID-19 illness requiring inpatient hospitalization) or death occurs, the employer must **report** this immediately to the nearest Cal/OSHA enforcement district office.

This guidance document is an overview. For the full requirements, see title 8 sections 3205, 3205.1, 3205.2, 3205.3, 3205.4

ARCHIVED June 18, 2021