
The labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce,
also called the Division of labor Standards 

Enforcement (DlSE), is a part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

decides your claim for unpaid wages. It enforces 

minimum labor standards to ensure employees 

are not permitted to work under substandard, 

unlawful conditions. It also protects employers 

who comply with the law from having to 

compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAl SECURITY

NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION

TO FIlE A ClAIM.

YOU MAY FIlE A ClAIM REGARDlESS OF

YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS.

YOU DO NOT NEED A lAWYER AND THE

lABOR COMMISSIONER WIll PROVIDE

AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR lANGUAGE.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE
FOllOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and

decides individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor 

law violations.

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the

“Garment Worker Protection Act,” a law known as “AB 633.”

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) 

investigates reports of employers’ failure to provide 

minimum wage, overtime or meal and rest periods to groups 

of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 

employers for violations of workers’ compensation, child 

labor, recordkeeping, licensing, and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor 

laws on public works construction projects. “Prevailing 

wages” are wages that are higher than the State minimum 

wage and are required for workers on most public 

construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT

investigates complaints of retaliation. “Retaliation” occurs 

when an employer takes actions such as firing a worker or 

reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 

enforce his or her labor rights.

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers to 

collect their wages after the labor Commissioner determines 

that an employer owes unpaid wages.
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LABOR
COMMISSIONER’S
OFFICE LOCATIONS

SAN JOSE
(408) 277-1266

SANTA ANA 
(714) 558-4910

SANTA BARBARA 
(805) 568-1222

SANTA ROSA 
(707) 576-2362

STOCKTON 
(209) 948-7771

VAN NUYS 
(818) 901-5315

REDDING
(530) 225-2655

SACRAMENTO 
(916) 263-1811

SALINAS
(831) 443-3041

SAN BERNARDINO 
(909) 383-4334

SAN DIEGO 
(619) 220-5451

SAN FRANCISCO 
(415) 703-5300

BAKERSFIELD 
(661) 587-3060

EL CENTRO 
(760) 353-0607

FRESNO 
(559) 244-5340

LONG BEACH 
(562) 590-5048

LOS ANGELES 
(213) 620-6330

OAKLAND 
(510) 622-3273

VIOlATIONS OF BASIC lABOR lAW PROTECTIONS SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM

WAGE AND OVERTIME IS CAllED WAGE THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE

THEFT, FIlE A WAGE ClAIM WITH THE lABOR COMMISSIONER.
To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS:
Minimum Wage: Almost all employees in California must receive the 
minimum wage as required by State law, whether they are paid by piece rate, 
by commission, by the hour, or by salary.

Overtime: Most workers in California must receive overtime pay of:
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours in 

a workday or over 40 hours in a week, and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 hours in 

a workday.

If a worker works 7 days in a workweek, the worker must be paid:
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 7th day, 

and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours on 

the 7th day. 

However, overtime laws do not apply to all workers and certain workers, such
as domestic workers and farm workers, are covered by different overtime laws.

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. The labor Commissioner enforces all wages an employer owes, 
not just minimum wage. For example, if your employer promised to pay you 
$15 per hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you may file a wage claim for the 
unpaid amount of $5 per hour.

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an 
uninterrupted 30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and 
a paid 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled 
to a rest break even if you work less than 4 hours. Certain workers such as 
domestic workers and farm workers have different meal and rest break laws.

Deductions from Pay: Except for withholdings required by law (such as social
security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages from your pay.
Common violations include deductions for uniforms or tools.

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for all
expenses reasonably necessary for your job. For example, your employer
must pay for tools and supplies required for the job and must provide mileage
reimbursement if you use your personal car for work. However, if you earn
at least twice the minimum wage, your employer can require you to provide
certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation.

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be 
paid for at least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 
For example, a farm worker who reports to work for an 8-hour shift and only 
works for 1 hour must receive 4 hours of pay—1 for the hour worked, and 3 
as reporting time pay, so that the worker receives pay for at least half of the 
expected 8-hour shift.

Split Shift Premium: If you work 2 or more shifts in a workday with an unpaid
break of more than an hour, your employer may be required to pay a “split shift
premium” which is calculated based on your rate of pay.

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you must 
receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid when your job 
ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional payment of a day’s wages 
for each day your employer withholds your final paycheck, for up to 30 days.

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check that is
returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties of up to 30
days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check.

FAQs
1. Who can file? 

California labor laws protect all workers regardless of 
immigration status. The labor Commissioner accepts 
complaints from any employee who performed work in 
California, and in some cases from public employees.

2. Where can I get help? 
You may go to your local office of the labor 
Commissioner to ask for help with your claim. Many non-
profit organizations, including legal Service Providers, 
help workers fill out and file claims with the labor 
Commissioner.

3. When will I receive my unpaid wages?
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing and decision
process may take several months. If you win and your 
employer does not pay, you have a number of collection 
methods available, such as requesting that the Sheriff
seize your employer’s assets (such as bank accounts, 
equipment, or inventory). 

4. How does my claim affect other people 
in my workplace who experienced the 
same violations? 
Your individual claim should not affect your co-workers. 
Co-workers who experienced the same wage violations
will not recover their unpaid wages unless they file their 
own wage claims. You may also consider filing a Report 
of labor law Violation with the labor Commissioner’s 
Bureau of Field Enforcement (BOFE), the unit that 
investigates wage theft violations that affect groups of 
workers. Co-workers may recover wages as a result of a 
BOFE investigation.

5. What if my boss fires, demotes or 
punishes me for filing this claim? 
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against
workers for enforcing workplace rights. If your employer
retaliates against you, you can file a complaint for retaliation
with the labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Complaint Unit.

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

    
  

 

 
 

 

 
   

 
  

  

 
  

 

 

 

  

  

 
 

 
 

  

  
 

 
 

  

 WCA (ENGlISH)
 

RECOVER YOUR 
UNPAID 
WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 



RECOVER YOUR 
UNPAID 
WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE

REV. 09/2014

LABOR
COMMISSIONER’S
OFFICE LOCATIONS

SAN JOSE
(408) 277-1266

SANTA ANA 
(714) 558-4910

SANTA BARBARA 
(805) 568-1222

SANTA ROSA 
(707) 576-2362

STOCKTON 
(209) 948-7771

VAN NUYS 
(818) 901-5315

REDDING
(530) 225-2655

SACRAMENTO 
(916) 263-1811

SALINAS
(831) 443-3041

SAN BERNARDINO 
(909) 383-4334

SAN DIEGO 
(619) 220-5451

SAN FRANCISCO 
(415) 703-5300

BAKERSFIELD 
(661) 587-3060

EL CENTRO 
(760) 353-0607

FRESNO 
(559) 244-5340

LONG BEACH 
(562) 590-5048

LOS ANGELES 
(213) 620-6330

OAKLAND 
(510) 622-3273

To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS:
Minimum Wage: Almost all employees in California must receive the 
minimum wage as required by State law, whether they are paid by piece rate, 
by commission, by the hour, or by salary.

Overtime: Most workers in California must receive overtime pay of:
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours in 

a workday or over 40 hours in a week, and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 hours in 

a workday.

If a worker works 7 days in a workweek, the worker must be paid:
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 7th day, 

and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours on 

the 7th day. 

However, overtime laws do not apply to all workers and certain workers, such
as domestic workers and farm workers, are covered by different overtime laws.

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. The Labor Commissioner enforces all wages an employer owes, 
not just minimum wage. For example, if your employer promised to pay you 
$15 per hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you may file a wage claim for the 
unpaid amount of $5 per hour.

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an 
uninterrupted 30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and 
a paid 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled 
to a rest break even if you work less than 4 hours. Certain workers such as 
domestic workers and farm workers have different meal and rest break laws.

Deductions from Pay: Except for withholdings required by law (such as social
security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages from your pay.
Common violations include deductions for uniforms or tools.

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for all
expenses reasonably necessary for your job. For example, your employer
must pay for tools and supplies required for the job and must provide mileage
reimbursement if you use your personal car for work. However, if you earn
at least twice the minimum wage, your employer can require you to provide
certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation.

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be 
paid for at least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 
For example, a farm worker who reports to work for an 8-hour shift and only 
works for 1 hour must receive 4 hours of pay—1 for the hour worked, and 3 
as reporting time pay, so that the worker receives pay for at least half of the 
expected 8-hour shift.

Split Shift Premium: If you work 2 or more shifts in a workday with an unpaid
break of more than an hour, your employer may be required to pay a “split shift
premium” which is calculated based on your rate of pay.

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you must 
receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid when your job 
ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional payment of a day’s wages 
for each day your employer withholds your final paycheck, for up to 30 days.

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check that is
returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties of up to 30
days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check.

FAQs
1. Who can file? 

California labor laws protect all workers regardless of 
immigration status. The Labor Commissioner accepts 
complaints from any employee who performed work in 
California, and in some cases from public employees.

2. Where can I get help? 
You may go to your local office of the Labor 
Commissioner to ask for help with your claim. Many non-
profit organizations, including Legal Service Providers, 
help workers fill out and file claims with the Labor 
Commissioner.

3. When will I receive my unpaid wages?
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing and decision
process may take several months. If you win and your 
employer does not pay, you have a number of collection 
methods available, such as requesting that the Sheriff
seize your employer’s assets (such as bank accounts, 
equipment, or inventory). 

4. How does my claim affect other people 
in my workplace who experienced the 
same violations? 
Your individual claim should not affect your co-workers. 
Co-workers who experienced the same wage violations
will not recover their unpaid wages unless they file their 
own wage claims. You may also consider filing a Report 
of Labor Law Violation with the Labor Commissioner’s 
Bureau of Field Enforcement (BOFE), the unit that 
investigates wage theft violations that affect groups of 
workers. Co-workers may recover wages as a result of a 
BOFE investigation.

5. What if my boss fires, demotes or 
punishes me for filing this claim? 
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against
workers for enforcing workplace rights. If your employer
retaliates against you, you can file a complaint for retaliation
with the Labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Complaint Unit.
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The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce, 
also called the Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE), is a part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The Labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

decides your claim for unpaid wages. It enforces 

minimum labor standards to ensure employees 

are not permitted to work under substandard, 

unlawful conditions. It also protects employers 

who comply with the law from having to 

compete with those who do not. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY 

NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

TO FILE A CLAIM. 

YOU MAY FILE A CLAIM REGARDLESS OF 

YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER AND THE 

LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE 

AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE. 

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS: 

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and 

decides individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor 

law violations. 

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT 

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the 

“Garment Worker Protection Act,” a law known as “AB 633.” 

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) 

investigates reports of employers’ failure to provide 

minimum wage, overtime or meal and rest periods to groups 

of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 

employers for violations of workers’ compensation, child 

labor, recordkeeping, licensing, and registration laws. 

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor 

laws on public works construction projects. “Prevailing 

wages” are wages that are higher than the State minimum 

wage and are required for workers on most public 

construction projects. 

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT 

investigates complaints of retaliation. “Retaliation” occurs 

when an employer takes actions such as firing a worker or 

reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 

enforce his or her labor rights. 

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers to 

collect their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines 

that an employer owes unpaid wages. 

VIOLATIONS OF BASIC LABOR LAW PROTECTIONS SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM 

WAGE AND OVERTIME IS CALLED WAGE THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE 

THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER. 



FILE A CLAIM

Complete and file the “Initial Report or Claim” with the Labor Commissioner district office that handles
wage claims for the city where you worked. This form is available at any of the Labor Commissioner
office locations and at the agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). Claim forms are available in English,
Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Thai, and Russian. If you go to the Labor Commissioner
to file your claim, there may be interpreters to help you in your language. However, it is still a good idea to
bring someone who can interpret for you, if needed. Indicate your primary language on the claim form to
receive interpretation assistance in the future.

Submit the form with copies of your supporting documents. Do not submit originals, as they may not be
returned to you. After you file your Initial Report or Claim, you and your employer will be notified by mail
about the next steps of your claim. Update the Deputy Labor Commissioner assigned to your claim in
writing of any change in your address or phone number.

You must attend the settlement conference and hearing or your claim may be dismissed. If you are
unable to attend the conference in person, you may be able to participate by phone by making prior
arrangements with your assigned Deputy Labor Commissioner.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE IS HERE TO PROTECT YOUR RIgHTS, REgARDLESS 
OF YOUR IMMIgRATION STATUS. WE WILL NOT ASK ABOUT YOUR IMMIgRATION STATUS 
OR REPORT YOUR IMMIgRATION STATUS TO OTHER gOVERNMENT AgENCIES.

[THE WAgE CLAIM ADJUDICATION PROCESS]

2 PROVE YOUR CLAIM AT A 
HEARING

If your claim does not settle at the conference, a hearing will be 
scheduled and you will receive a Notice of Hearing with the hearing 
date and time. During the hearing, you and your employer will testify 
under oath and submit evidence about the claim. You are responsible 
for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Officer
will not have any supporting documentation that you previously 
provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of your 
evidence at the hearing.

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 

• Review your claim information, such as the hours you worked
and how much you were paid, and prepare notes and a 
timeline of events that you can review during the hearing.

• Bring at least three sets of copies to the hearing of any
documents that support your claim so that you can refer to
them and provide copies to the Hearing Officer and your
employer.

• If you have	witnesses	who can testify to support your claim,
make sure they can attend the hearing.

• You have the right to question the defendants and any of their
witnesses. Prepare a list of possible questions in advance.

ATTEND A SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE

A settlement conference will be scheduled for most claims. During
this conference, a Deputy Labor Commissioner will try to help you
and your employer reach a settlement agreement for the payment of
your claim. At any point during the conference you may ask to speak
with the Deputy Labor Commissioner in private. If you do not reach
a settlement agreement before or during the conference, then your
claim will move to a hearing.

3 4 REVIEW THE DECISION 
AND gET HELP IF YOUR 
EMPLOYER APPEALS

After the hearing, you will receive a decision called an Order, Decision
or Award (“ODA”). The ODA will explain the Labor Commissioner’s
decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. An 
appeal must be filed within 10 days. If neither side appeals within
that time, the decision will become final and enforceable as	a	court
judgment. If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the 
case without reviewing the decision of the Labor Commissioner. You 
and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony 
again. You will receive a “Request for Attorney Representation” and
a form called “Claimant’s Financial Status.” Low-income workers
may use these forms to request free representation from one of the 
Labor Commissioner’s attorneys. If you appeal the decision, you may 
represent yourself or hire an attorney. 

5

“I filed a claim because I was not paid
minimum wage for my restaurant job.
My boss made a settlement offer at the
conference but I rejected it because it

was much less than the amount of wages I was claiming. To
prepare for the hearing, I made notes of all the important
dates and activities for my claim to help me remember all
the facts. I practiced testifying about the hours that I worked 
and how much I was paid. I also asked a co-worker to attend
the hearing to testify about the hours that I worked. I knew 
my boss would argue that I was wrong, so I made a list of
questions to ask her and her witnesses. The Hearing Officer 
was patient and fair, and later I received a decision that
ordered my employer to pay me the unpaid wages.”

HOW TO RECOVER YOUR UNPAID WAgES 

1 PREPARE TO FILE 

CHECK THE DEADLINE 
• You must file claims for violations of minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay or unpaid 

reimbursements within three years. 
• You must file claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimum wage within two years. 
• You must file claims based on 	a	 written contract within four years. 

RESEARCH 
Gather any documents you have to prove your claim, such as paystubs, time sheets, calendars or notes about 
your work hours. If possible, identify any property your employer owns, such as buildings, equipment, and 
inventory, in case you win your case but your employer refuses to pay. This information may be used to collect 
your unpaid wages and the Deputy Labor Commissioner assigned to your claim will ask you to list this property. 

IDENTIFY ALL YOUR EMPLOYERS 
Many workers have one single employer, but some may have more than one employer. Be aware that any 
person or business that has control over wages, hours or working conditions may be included as a defendant in 
your claim and may be responsible for your wages. 

“I worked as a janitor at a supermarket. The supermarket manager gave 
me my schedule and supervised me daily. However, my paychecks came 
from another cleaning company and my uniform had their name on it. 
I filed a claim because I was not paid for my overtime hours. The Labor 
Commissioner decided that both the supermarket and the cleaning 
company were responsible for my unpaid wages.” 



CHECK THE DEADLINE
• You must file claims for violations of minimumwage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay or unpaid

reimbursements within three years.
• You must file claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimumwage within two years.
• You must file claims based on	a	written contract within four years.

RESEARCH
Gather any documents you have to prove your claim, such as paystubs, time sheets, calendars or notes about 
your work hours. If possible, identify any property your employer owns, such as buildings, equipment, and 
inventory, in case you win your case but your employer refuses to pay. This information may be used to collect 
your unpaid wages and the Deputy Labor Commissioner assigned to your claim will ask you to list this property. 

IDENTIFY ALL YOUR EMPLOYERS
Many workers have one single employer, but some may have more than one employer. Be aware that any 
person or business that has control over wages, hours or working conditions may be included as a defendant in 
your claim and may be responsible for your wages.

[THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION PROCESS]HOW TO RECOVER YOUR UNPAID WAGES

1 PROVE YOUR CLAIM AT A 
HEARING

If your claim does not settle at the conference, a hearing will be 
scheduled and you will receive a Notice of Hearing with the hearing 
date and time. During the hearing, you and your employer will testify 
under oath and submit evidence about the claim. You are responsible 
for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Officer
will not have any supporting documentation that you previously 
provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of your 
evidence at the hearing.

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 

• Review your claim information, such as the hours you worked
and how much you were paid, and prepare notes and a 
timeline of events that you can review during the hearing.

• Bring at least three sets of copies to the hearing of any
documents that support your claim so that you can refer to
them and provide copies to the Hearing Officer and your
employer.

• If you have	witnesses	who can testify to support your claim,
make sure they can attend the hearing.

• You have the right to question the defendants and any of their
witnesses. Prepare a list of possible questions in advance.

ATTEND A SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE

A settlement conference will be scheduled for most claims. During
this conference, a Deputy Labor Commissioner will try to help you
and your employer reach a settlement agreement for the payment of
your claim. At any point during the conference you may ask to speak
with the Deputy Labor Commissioner in private. If you do not reach
a settlement agreement before or during the conference, then your
claim will move to a hearing.

3 4 REVIEW THE DECISION 
AND GET HELP IF YOUR 
EMPLOYER APPEALS

After the hearing, you will receive a decision called an Order, Decision
or Award (“ODA”). The ODA will explain the Labor Commissioner’s
decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. An 
appeal must be filed within 10 days. If neither side appeals within
that time, the decision will become final and enforceable as	a	court
judgment. If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the 
case without reviewing the decision of the Labor Commissioner. You 
and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony 
again. You will receive a “Request for Attorney Representation” and
a form called “Claimant’s Financial Status.” Low-income workers
may use these forms to request free representation from one of the 
Labor Commissioner’s attorneys. If you appeal the decision, you may 
represent yourself or hire an attorney. 

5PREPARE TO FILE

“I worked as a janitor at a supermarket. The supermarket manager gave
me my schedule and supervised me daily. However, my paychecks came
from another cleaning company and my uniform had their name on it.
I filed a claim because I was not paid for my overtime hours. The Labor 
Commissioner decided that both the supermarket and the cleaning
company were responsible for my unpaid wages.”

“I filed a claim because I was not paid
minimum wage for my restaurant job.
My boss made a settlement offer at the
conference but I rejected it because it

was much less than the amount of wages I was claiming. To
prepare for the hearing, I made notes of all the important
dates and activities for my claim to help me remember all
the facts. I practiced testifying about the hours that I worked 
and how much I was paid. I also asked a co-worker to attend
the hearing to testify about the hours that I worked. I knew 
my boss would argue that I was wrong, so I made a list of
questions to ask her and her witnesses. The Hearing Officer 
was patient and fair, and later I received a decision that
ordered my employer to pay me the unpaid wages.”

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

  

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	  

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
 

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
  

 
 

 
 

 

 
   

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

 
  

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
  

 
  

 

 
 

 

 

2
 FILE A CLAIM
 

Complete and file the “Initial Report or Claim” with the Labor Commissioner district office that handles  
wage claims for the city where you worked. This form is available at any of the Labor Commissioner  
office locations and at the agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). Claim forms are available in English,  
Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Thai, and Russian. If you go to the Labor Commissioner  
to file your claim, there may be interpreters to help you in your language. However, it is still a good idea to  
bring someone who can interpret for you, if needed. Indicate your primary language on the claim form to  
receive interpretation assistance in the future.  

Submit the form with copies of your supporting documents. Do not submit originals, as they may not be 
returned to you. After you file your Initial Report or Claim, you and your employer will be notified by mail 
about the next steps of your claim. Update the Deputy Labor Commissioner assigned to your claim in 
writing of any change in your address or phone number. 

You must attend the settlement conference and hearing or your claim may be dismissed. If you are 
unable to attend the conference in person, you may be able to participate by phone by making prior 
arrangements with your assigned Deputy Labor Commissioner. 

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE IS HERE TO PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS, REGARDLESS 
OF YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. WE WILL NOT ASK ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS 
OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS TO OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES. 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse


FILE A CLAIM

Complete and file the “Initial Report or Claim” with the Labor Commissioner district office that handles
wage claims for the city where you worked. This form is available at any of the Labor Commissioner
office locations and at the agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). Claim forms are available in English,
Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Thai, and Russian. If you go to the Labor Commissioner
to file your claim, there may be interpreters to help you in your language. However, it is still a good idea to
bring someone who can interpret for you, if needed. Indicate your primary language on the claim form to
receive interpretation assistance in the future.

Submit the form with copies of your supporting documents. Do not submit originals, as they may not be
returned to you. After you file your Initial Report or Claim, you and your employer will be notified by mail
about the next steps of your claim. Update the Deputy Labor Commissioner assigned to your claim in
writing of any change in your address or phone number.

You must attend the settlement conference and hearing or your claim may be dismissed. If you are
unable to attend the conference in person, you may be able to participate by phone by making prior
arrangements with your assigned Deputy Labor Commissioner.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE IS HERE TO PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS, REGARDLESS 
OF YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. WE WILL NOT ASK ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS 
OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS TO OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES.

CHECK THE DEADLINE
• You must file claims for violations of minimumwage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay or unpaid

reimbursements within three years.
• You must file claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimumwage within two years.
• You must file claims based on	a	written contract within four years.

RESEARCH
Gather any documents you have to prove your claim, such as paystubs, time sheets, calendars or notes about 
your work hours. If possible, identify any property your employer owns, such as buildings, equipment, and 
inventory, in case you win your case but your employer refuses to pay. This information may be used to collect 
your unpaid wages and the Deputy Labor Commissioner assigned to your claim will ask you to list this property. 

IDENTIFY ALL YOUR EMPLOYERS
Many workers have one single employer, but some may have more than one employer. Be aware that any 
person or business that has control over wages, hours or working conditions may be included as a defendant in 
your claim and may be responsible for your wages.

[THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION PROCESS]HOW TO RECOVER YOUR UNPAID WAGES

1 2PREPARE TO FILE

“I worked as a janitor at a supermarket. The supermarket manager gave
me my schedule and supervised me daily. However, my paychecks came
from another cleaning company and my uniform had their name on it.
I filed a claim because I was not paid for my overtime hours. The Labor 
Commissioner decided that both the supermarket and the cleaning
company were responsible for my unpaid wages.”

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

  

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
  

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
  

 
  

 

 
 

 

 

3 ATTEND A SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE 

A settlement conference will be scheduled for most claims. During 
this conference, a Deputy Labor Commissioner will try to help you 
and your employer reach a settlement agreement for the payment of 
your claim. At any point during the conference you may ask to speak 
with the Deputy Labor Commissioner in private. If you do not reach 
a settlement agreement before or during the conference, then your 
claim will move to a hearing. 

“I filed a claim because I was not paid 
minimum wage for my restaurant job. 
My boss made a settlement offer at the 
conference but I rejected it because it 

was much less than the amount of wages I was claiming. To 
prepare for the hearing, I made notes of all the important 
dates and activities for my claim to help me remember all 
the facts. I practiced testifying about the hours that I worked 
and how much I was paid. I also asked a co-worker to attend 
the hearing to testify about the hours that I worked. I knew 
my boss would argue that I was wrong, so I made a list of 
questions to ask her and her witnesses. The Hearing Officer 
was patient and fair, and later I received a decision that 
ordered my employer to pay me the unpaid wages.” 



SETTLEMENT:
When you enter a SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT, you agree to end your claim by accepting
an employer’s offer to pay you an amount that may be less than the full value of your claim.
You may receive a settlement offer at any point in your claim process. Accepting or rejecting
a settlement offer is an important decision. You can consider the following points before you
make your decision. 

•	 WHY ACCEPT A SETTLEMENT OFFER? Your claim resolves promptly and you may receive 

payment of your wages sooner. You eliminate the risk of losing at the hearing. If you do not settle 

and proceed with your claim, there is a possibility that your employer will file for bankruptcy or 

close before you receive any wages.

•	 WHY REJECT A SETTLEMENT OFFER? You may get far less than the wages and penalties to 

which you are entitled according to the law. If you receive a settlement offer that is too low, you 

can demand more and try to negotiate for an acceptable settlement amount.

REVIEW THE DECISION 
AND GET HELP IF YOUR 
EMPLOYER APPEALS

After the hearing, you will receive a decision called an Order, Decision
or Award (“ODA”). The ODA will explain the Labor Commissioner’s
decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. An 
appeal must be filed within 10 days. If neither side appeals within 
that time, the decision will become final and enforceable as a court 
judgment. If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the 
case without reviewing the decision of the Labor Commissioner. You 
and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony 
again. You will receive a “Request for Attorney Representation” and
a form called “Claimant’s Financial Status.” Low-income workers
may use these forms to request free representation from one of the 
Labor Commissioner’s attorneys. If you appeal the decision, you may 
represent yourself or hire an attorney. 
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4
 PROVE YOUR CLAIM AT A 

HEARING 

If your claim does not settle at the conference, a hearing will be 
scheduled and you will receive a Notice of Hearing with the hearing 
date and time. During the hearing, you and your employer will testify 
under oath and submit evidence about the claim. You are responsible 
for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Officer 
will not have any supporting documentation that you previously 
provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of your 
evidence at the hearing. 

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 

• Review your claim information, such as the hours you worked 
and how much you were paid, and prepare notes and a 
timeline of events that you can review during the hearing. 

• Bring at least three sets of copies to the hearing of any 
documents that support your claim so that you can refer to 
them and provide copies to the Hearing Officer and your 
employer. 

• If you have 	witnesses	 who can testify to support your claim, 
make sure they can attend the hearing. 

• You have the right to question the defendants and any of their 
witnesses. Prepare a list of possible questions in advance. 



PROVE YOUR ClAIM AT A
HEARING

If your claim does not settle at the conference, a hearing will be 
scheduled and you will receive a Notice of Hearing with the hearing 
date and time. During the hearing, you and your employer will testify 
under oath and submit evidence about the claim. You are responsible 
for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Officer 
will not have any supporting documentation that you previously 
provided to the labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of your 
evidence at the hearing.

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 

•	 Review your claim information, such as the hours you worked
and how much you were paid, and prepare notes and a 
timeline of events that you can review during the hearing.

•	 Bring at least three sets of copies to the hearing of any
documents that support your claim so that you can refer to
them and provide copies to the Hearing Officer and your
employer.

•	 If you have witnesses who can testify to support your claim,
make sure they can attend the hearing.

•	 You have the right to question the defendants and any of their
witnesses. Prepare a list of possible questions in advance.
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5 REVIEW THE DECISION 
AND  GET HELP   IF YOUR 
EMPlOYER APPEAlS
 

After the hearing, you will receive a decision called an Order, Decision 
or Award (“ODA”). The ODA will explain the labor Commissioner’s 
decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. An 
appeal must be filed within 10 days. If neither side appeals within 
that time, the decision will become final and enforceable as a court 
judgment. If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the 
case without reviewing the decision of the labor Commissioner. You 
and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony 
again. 	You 	will	 receive	 a	 “Request	 for	 Attorney	 Representation”	 and	 
a form called “Claimant’s Financial Status.” low-income workers 
may	 use	 these	 forms	 to	 request	 free	 representation 	from	 one	 of	 the	 
labor Commissioner’s attorneys. If you appeal the decision, you may 
represent yourself or hire an attorney. 

SETTLEMENT: 
When you enter a  SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT, you agree to end your claim by accepting  
an employer’s offer to pay you an amount that may be less than the full value of your claim.  
You may receive a settlement offer at any point in your claim process. Accepting or rejecting  
a settlement offer is an important decision. You can consider the following points before you  
make your decision. 

•	 WHY ACCEPT A SETTLEMENT OFFER? Your claim resolves promptly and you may receive 

payment of your wages sooner. You eliminate the risk of losing at the hearing. If you do not settle 

and proceed with your claim, there is a possibility that your employer will file for bankruptcy or 

close before you receive any wages. 

•	 WHY REJECT A SETTLEMENT OFFER? You may get far less than the wages and penalties to 

which you are entitled according to the law. If you receive a settlement offer that is too low, you 

can demand more and try to negotiate for an acceptable settlement amount. 



The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce,
also called the Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE), is a part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The Labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

decides your claim for unpaid wages. It enforces 

minimum labor standards to ensure employees 

are not permitted to work under substandard, 

unlawful conditions. It also protects employers 

who comply with the law from having to 

compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY

NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION

TO FILE A CLAIM.

YOU MAY FILE A CLAIM REGARDLESS OF

YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS.

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER AND THE

LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE

AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

RECOVER YOUR 
UNPAID 
WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and

decides individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor 

law violations.

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the

“Garment Worker Protection Act,” a law known as “AB 633.”

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) 

investigates reports of employers’ failure to provide 

minimum wage, overtime or meal and rest periods to groups 

of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 

employers for violations of workers’ compensation, child 

labor, recordkeeping, licensing, and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor 

laws on public works construction projects. “Prevailing 

wages” are wages that are higher than the State minimum 

wage and are required for workers on most public 

construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT

investigates complaints of retaliation. “Retaliation” occurs 

when an employer takes actions such as firing a worker or 

reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 

enforce his or her labor rights.

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers to 

collect their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines 

that an employer owes unpaid wages.
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LABOR
COMMISSIONER’S
OFFICE LOCATIONS

SAN JOSE
(408) 277-1266

SANTA ANA 
(714) 558-4910

SANTA BARBARA 
(805) 568-1222

SANTA ROSA 
(707) 576-2362

STOCKTON 
(209) 948-7771

VAN NUYS 
(818) 901-5315

REDDING
(530) 225-2655

SACRAMENTO 
(916) 263-1811

SALINAS
(831) 443-3041

SAN BERNARDINO 
(909) 383-4334

SAN DIEGO 
(619) 220-5451

SAN FRANCISCO 
(415) 703-5300

BAKERSFIELD 
(661) 587-3060

EL CENTRO 
(760) 353-0607

FRESNO 
(559) 244-5340

LONG BEACH 
(562) 590-5048

LOS ANGELES 
(213) 620-6330

OAKLAND 
(510) 622-3273

VIOLATIONS OF BASIC LABOR LAW PROTECTIONS SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM

WAGE AND OVERTIME IS CALLED WAGE THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE

THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.
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  KNOW YOUR RIGHTS:
 
Minimum Wage: Almost all employees in California must receive the 
minimum wage as required by State law, whether they are paid by piece rate, 
by commission, by the hour, or by salary. 

Overtime: Most workers in California must receive overtime pay of: 
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours in 

a workday or over 40 hours in a week, and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 hours in 

a workday. 

If a worker works 7 days in a workweek, the worker must be paid: 
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 7th day, 

and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours on 

the 7th day. 

However, overtime laws do not apply to all workers and certain workers, such 
as domestic workers and farm workers, are covered by different overtime laws. 

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. The Labor Commissioner enforces all wages an employer owes, 
not just minimum wage. For example, if your employer promised to pay you 
$15 per hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you may file a wage claim for the 
unpaid amount of $5 per hour. 

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an 
uninterrupted 30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and 
a paid 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled 
to a rest break even if you work less than 4 hours. Certain workers such as 
domestic workers and farm workers have different meal and rest break laws. 

Deductions from Pay: Except for withholdings required by law (such as social 
security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages from your pay. 
Common violations include deductions for uniforms or tools. 

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for all 
expenses reasonably necessary for your job. For example, your employer 
must pay for tools and supplies required for the job and must provide mileage 
reimbursement if you use your personal car for work. However, if you earn 
at least twice the minimum wage, your employer can require you to provide 
certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation. 

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be 
paid for at least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 
For example, a farm worker who reports to work for an 8-hour shift and only 
works for 1 hour must receive 4 hours of pay—1 for the hour worked, and 3 
as reporting time pay, so that the worker receives pay for at least half of the 
expected 8-hour shift. 

Split Shift Premium: If you work 2 or more shifts in a workday with an unpaid 
break of more than an hour, your employer may be required to pay a “split shift 
premium” which is calculated based on your rate of pay. 

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you must 
receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid when your job 
ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional payment of a day’s wages 
for each day your employer withholds your final paycheck, for up to 30 days. 

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check that is 
returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties of up to 30 
days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check. 

FAQs 
1.  Who can fi le? 

California labor laws protect all workers regardless of 
immigration status. The Labor Commissioner accepts 
complaints from any employee who performed work in 
California, and in some cases from public employees. 

2. Where can I get help? 
You may go to your local offi  ce of the Labor 
Commissioner to ask for help with your claim. Many non­
profi t organizations, including Legal Service Providers, 
help workers fi ll out and fi le claims with the Labor 
Commissioner.  

3.  When will I receive my unpaid wages? 
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing and decision  
process may take several months. If you win and your 
employer does not pay, you have a number of collection 
methods available, such as requesting that the Sheriff   
seize your employer’s assets (such as bank accounts, 
equipment, or inventory). 

4.  How does my claim aff ect other people 
in my workplace who experienced the 
same violations? 
Your individual claim should not aff ect your co-workers. 
Co-workers who experienced the same wage violations  
will not recover their unpaid wages unless they fi le their 
own wage claims. You may also consider fi ling a Report 
of Labor Law Violation with the Labor Commissioner’s 
Bureau of Field Enforcement (BOFE), the unit that 
investigates wage theft v iolations that aff ect groups of 
workers. Co-workers may recover wages as a result of a 
BOFE investigation. 

5.  What if my boss fi res, demotes or 
punishes me for fi ling this claim? 
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against  
workers for enforcing workplace rights. If your employer  
retaliates against you, you can fi le a complaint for retaliation  
with the Labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Complaint Unit. 

To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm


The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce,
also called the Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE), is a part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The Labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

decides your claim for unpaid wages. It enforces 

minimum labor standards to ensure employees 
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law violations.

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the

“Garment Worker Protection Act,” a law known as “AB 633.”
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of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 
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construction projects.
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reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 
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THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers to 
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WAGE AND OVERTIME IS CALLED WAGE THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE

THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.
To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS:
Minimum Wage: Almost all employees in California must receive the 
minimum wage as required by State law, whether they are paid by piece rate, 
by commission, by the hour, or by salary.

Overtime: Most workers in California must receive overtime pay of:
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours in 

a workday or over 40 hours in a week, and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 hours in 

a workday.

If a worker works 7 days in a workweek, the worker must be paid:
•	 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 7th day, 

and 
•	 double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours on 

the 7th day. 

However, overtime laws do not apply to all workers and certain workers, such
as domestic workers and farm workers, are covered by different overtime laws.

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. The Labor Commissioner enforces all wages an employer owes, 
not just minimum wage. For example, if your employer promised to pay you 
$15 per hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you may file a wage claim for the 
unpaid amount of $5 per hour.

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an 
uninterrupted 30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and 
a paid 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled 
to a rest break even if you work less than 4 hours. Certain workers such as 
domestic workers and farm workers have different meal and rest break laws.

Deductions from Pay: Except for withholdings required by law (such as social
security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages from your pay.
Common violations include deductions for uniforms or tools.

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for all
expenses reasonably necessary for your job. For example, your employer
must pay for tools and supplies required for the job and must provide mileage
reimbursement if you use your personal car for work. However, if you earn
at least twice the minimum wage, your employer can require you to provide
certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation.

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be 
paid for at least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 
For example, a farm worker who reports to work for an 8-hour shift and only 
works for 1 hour must receive 4 hours of pay—1 for the hour worked, and 3 
as reporting time pay, so that the worker receives pay for at least half of the 
expected 8-hour shift.

Split Shift Premium: If you work 2 or more shifts in a workday with an unpaid
break of more than an hour, your employer may be required to pay a “split shift
premium” which is calculated based on your rate of pay.

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you must 
receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid when your job 
ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional payment of a day’s wages 
for each day your employer withholds your final paycheck, for up to 30 days.

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check that is
returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties of up to 30
days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check.

FAQs
1. Who can file? 

California labor laws protect all workers regardless of 
immigration status. The Labor Commissioner accepts 
complaints from any employee who performed work in 
California, and in some cases from public employees.

2. Where can I get help? 
You may go to your local office of the Labor 
Commissioner to ask for help with your claim. Many non-
profit organizations, including Legal Service Providers, 
help workers fill out and file claims with the Labor 
Commissioner.

3. When will I receive my unpaid wages?
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing and decision
process may take several months. If you win and your 
employer does not pay, you have a number of collection 
methods available, such as requesting that the Sheriff
seize your employer’s assets (such as bank accounts, 
equipment, or inventory). 

4. How does my claim affect other people 
in my workplace who experienced the 
same violations? 
Your individual claim should not affect your co-workers. 
Co-workers who experienced the same wage violations
will not recover their unpaid wages unless they file their 
own wage claims. You may also consider filing a Report 
of Labor Law Violation with the Labor Commissioner’s 
Bureau of Field Enforcement (BOFE), the unit that 
investigates wage theft violations that affect groups of 
workers. Co-workers may recover wages as a result of a 
BOFE investigation.

5. What if my boss fires, demotes or 
punishes me for filing this claim? 
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against
workers for enforcing workplace rights. If your employer
retaliates against you, you can file a complaint for retaliation
with the Labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Complaint Unit.
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LABOR  
COMMISSIONER’S  
OFFICE LOCATIONS 

BAKERSFIELD 
(661) 587-3060 

EL CENTRO 
(760) 353-0607 

FRESNO 
(559) 244-5340 

LONG BEACH 
(562) 590-5048 

LOS ANGELES 
(213) 620-6330 

OAKLAND 
(510) 622-3273 

REDDING  
(530) 225-2655 

SACRAMENTO 
(916) 263-1811 

SALINAS  
(831) 443-3041 

SAN BERNARDINO 
(909) 383-4334 

SAN DIEGO 
(619) 220-5451 

SAN FRANCISCO 
(415) 703-5300 

SAN JOSE 
(408) 277-1266 

SANTA ANA 
(714) 558-4910 

SANTA BARBARA 
(805) 568-1222 

SANTA ROSA 
(707) 576-2362 

STOCKTON 
(209) 948-7771 

VAN NUYS 
(818) 901-5315 
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