
The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce, 
also called the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

(DLSE), is part of the California Department of Industrial

Relations. The Labor Commissioner’s Office is the state

agency that decides your claim for unpaid wages. It

enforces labor standards to ensure employees are not

permitted to work under substandard, unlawful conditions.

It also protects employers who comply with the law from

having to compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY
NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION TO
FILE A CLAIM.

YOU MAY FILE A CLAIM REGARDLESS OF
YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS.

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER, AND THE
LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE
AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

FAQs
1. If my employer moves or changes its 

business name, can I name the new 
company in my claim?
Yes. You can file a claim against the new “successor” 
company if your employer moves or changes the 
company name. This means that if a contractor shuts 
down without paying you wages and re-opens under a 
different name or owner, then the new business may still 
be responsible for your unpaid wages.

2. If my employer only paid me cash without
an itemized wage statement, what kind of
evidence can I submit to support my claim?
You should submit any documents, such as timesheets, 
logs, or your personal notes or calendar, to prove your 
hours worked. If you do not have documents to support 
your claim, you can provide your best estimate. 

3. When will I receive my unpaid wages?
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing, decision, and
collection process may take several months. 

4. What if my boss fires, demotes, or 
punishes me for filing this claim? 
California law prohibits your employer from retaliating 
against you for exercising your workplace rights. In 
addition, your employer cannot report or threaten to 
report your citizenship or immigration status because 
you have exercised your labor rights. If your employer 
does take action against you, you can file a retaliation 
complaint with the Labor Commissioner.

5. How does my claim affect other people
in my workplace who experienced the
same violations?
Your individual claim should not affect your coworkers. If 
labor law violations at your work affect several workers, 
you may file a “Report of Labor Law Violation” with the 
Labor Commissioner’s Bureau of Field Enforcement 
(BOFE). BOFE reviews all reports and may investigate 
your employer, issue a citation, and require the employer 
to pay workers unpaid wages.

GARMENT WORKERS’ RIGHTS: 
Minimum Wage: You must receive no less than the state minimum 
wage, whether you are paid by piece rate, by the hour, or by salary.

For example, if a contractor pays workers $0.12 per piece and a
worker finishes 40 pieces in an hour (totaling $4.80), the contractor
must still pay at least the state minimum wage, regardless of the
number of pieces finished and the piece rate amount.

Overtime: You must receive overtime pay of:
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours in a workday or over 40 hours in a week
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 

hours in a workday.

If you work 7 days in a workweek, you must be paid:
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 

7th day
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours on the 7th day. 

The Labor Commissioner’s Office can assist you with calculating your 
unpaid wages, including overtime. You are entitled to overtime pay 
whether you are paid by piece rate or hourly.

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. For example, if your employer promised to pay you $12 per 
hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you could file a wage claim for 
the unpaid amount of $2 per hour.

Meal or Rest Breaks: You must receive an uninterrupted 30-minute 
unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute 
rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest 
break even if you work less than 4 hours.

Pay Stub or Wage Statement: You must receive a pay stub or a 
wage statement with your employer’s name, address, and telephone 
number; your name and employee ID number or the last 4 digits of 
your social security number; total wages earned; all deductions; the 
dates for the period you are being paid; the number of pieces you 
made and the rate per piece; and the name(s) of any manufacturer(s) 
whose garments were made during that pay period.

Paydays: You have the right to a regularly scheduled payday, at 
least twice a month, and your employer must post a notice at your 
workplace of the regular paydays and the time and place of payment. 

Tools, Supplies, and Workplace Standards: Any tools and 
supplies that you need to perform your job such as needles, scissors, 
and sewing machines must be provided and maintained by your 
employer at no cost to you. 

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you 
must receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid 
when your job ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional 
payment of a day’s wages for each day that your employer withholds 
your final paycheck, for up to 30 days.

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check
that is returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties
of up to 30 days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check.

Garment workers who are not paid for their
work may file claims against the contractor
who hired them, as well as the manufacturers
whose garments they produced. In some
cases, retailers may also be responsible
for garment workers’ unpaid wages. Under
California law, these manufacturers and retailers
are called “guarantors” and must guarantee
that garment workers receive their wages.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and decides 
individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor law violations. 

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT
reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the
Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633.

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) investigates
reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum wage, overtime, or
meal and rest periods to groups of workers. BOFE also investigates
complaints against employers for violations of workers’ compensation,
child labor, recordkeeping, and licensing and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor laws 
on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages are higher 
than the State minimum wage and are required for workers on 
most public construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT
investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs when an
employer takes actions such as firing a worker or reducing hours or
pay because the worker took steps to enforce his or her labor rights.

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers collect
their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines that an 
employer owes unpaid wages. 
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VIOLATION OF BASIC LABOR LAW, SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM WAGE AND OVERTIME, IS CALLED WAGE

THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm

CALIFORNIA LABOR COMMISSIONER
LOS ANGELES DISTRICT OFFICE
320 W. 4TH STREET, SUITE 450, LOS ANGELES, CA 90013 
(213) 620-6330 
www.dir.ca.gov/dlse
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AB 633 (ENGLISH) 

GARMENT 
WORKERS 

RECOVER YOUR 
UNPAID WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 



FAQs
1. If my employer moves or changes its 

business name, can I name the new 
company in my claim?
Yes. You can file a claim against the new “successor” 
company if your employer moves or changes the 
company name. This means that if a contractor shuts 
down without paying you wages and re-opens under a 
different name or owner, then the new business may still 
be responsible for your unpaid wages.

2. If my employer only paid me cash without
an itemized wage statement, what kind of
evidence can I submit to support my claim?
You should submit any documents, such as timesheets, 
logs, or your personal notes or calendar, to prove your 
hours worked. If you do not have documents to support 
your claim, you can provide your best estimate. 

3. When will I receive my unpaid wages?
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing, decision, and
collection process may take several months. 

4. What if my boss fires, demotes, or 
punishes me for filing this claim? 
California law prohibits your employer from retaliating 
against you for exercising your workplace rights. In 
addition, your employer cannot report or threaten to 
report your citizenship or immigration status because 
you have exercised your labor rights. If your employer 
does take action against you, you can file a retaliation 
complaint with the Labor Commissioner.

5. How does my claim affect other people
in my workplace who experienced the
same violations?
Your individual claim should not affect your coworkers. If 
labor law violations at your work affect several workers, 
you may file a “Report of Labor Law Violation” with the 
Labor Commissioner’s Bureau of Field Enforcement 
(BOFE). BOFE reviews all reports and may investigate 
your employer, issue a citation, and require the employer 
to pay workers unpaid wages.

GARMENT WORKERS’ RIGHTS: 
Minimum Wage: You must receive no less than the state minimum 
wage, whether you are paid by piece rate, by the hour, or by salary.

For example, if a contractor pays workers $0.12 per piece and a
worker finishes 40 pieces in an hour (totaling $4.80), the contractor
must still pay at least the state minimum wage, regardless of the
number of pieces finished and the piece rate amount.

Overtime: You must receive overtime pay of:
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours in a workday or over 40 hours in a week
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 

hours in a workday.

If you work 7 days in a workweek, you must be paid:
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 

7th day
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours on the 7th day. 

The Labor Commissioner’s Office can assist you with calculating your 
unpaid wages, including overtime. You are entitled to overtime pay 
whether you are paid by piece rate or hourly.

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. For example, if your employer promised to pay you $12 per 
hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you could file a wage claim for 
the unpaid amount of $2 per hour.

Meal or Rest Breaks: You must receive an uninterrupted 30-minute 
unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute 
rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest 
break even if you work less than 4 hours.

Pay Stub or Wage Statement: You must receive a pay stub or a 
wage statement with your employer’s name, address, and telephone 
number; your name and employee ID number or the last 4 digits of 
your social security number; total wages earned; all deductions; the 
dates for the period you are being paid; the number of pieces you 
made and the rate per piece; and the name(s) of any manufacturer(s) 
whose garments were made during that pay period.

Paydays: You have the right to a regularly scheduled payday, at 
least twice a month, and your employer must post a notice at your 
workplace of the regular paydays and the time and place of payment. 

Tools, Supplies, and Workplace Standards: Any tools and 
supplies that you need to perform your job such as needles, scissors, 
and sewing machines must be provided and maintained by your 
employer at no cost to you. 

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you 
must receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid 
when your job ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional 
payment of a day’s wages for each day that your employer withholds 
your final paycheck, for up to 30 days.

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check
that is returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties
of up to 30 days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check.

GARMENT 
WORKERS

RECOVER YOUR
UNPAID WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 

To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm

AB 633 (ENGLISH)

CALIFORNIA LABOR COMMISSIONER
LOS ANGELES DISTRICT OFFICE
320 W. 4TH STREET, SUITE 450, LOS ANGELES, CA 90013 
(213) 620-6330 
www.dir.ca.gov/dlse

REV. 09/2014

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

  
 

 

  
 

 
 
 

 

 

 
  

 
 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 
 

 

  
   

 
  

 
  

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 

 

  

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

  

 

The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce, 
also called the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement 

(DLSE), is part of the California Department of Industrial 

Relations. The Labor Commissioner’s Office is the state 

agency that decides your claim for unpaid wages. It 

enforces labor standards to ensure employees are not 

permitted to work under substandard, unlawful conditions. 

It also protects employers who comply with the law from 

having to compete with those who do not. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION TO 
FILE A CLAIM. 

YOU MAY FILE A CLAIM REGARDLESS OF 
YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER, AND THE 
LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE 
AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE. 

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS: 

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and decides 
individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor law violations. 

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT 
reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the 
Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633. 

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) investigates 
reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum wage, overtime, or 
meal and rest periods to groups of workers. BOFE also investigates 
complaints against employers for violations of workers’ compensation, 
child labor, recordkeeping, and licensing and registration laws. 

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor laws 
on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages are higher 
than the State minimum wage and are required for workers on 
most public construction projects. 

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT 
investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs when an 
employer takes actions such as firing a worker or reducing hours or 
pay because the worker took steps to enforce his or her labor rights. 

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers collect 
their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines that an 
employer owes unpaid wages. 
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Garment workers who are not paid for their 
work may file claims against the contractor 
who hired them, as well as the manufacturers 
whose garments they produced. In some 
cases, retailers may also be responsible 
for garment workers’ unpaid wages. Under 
California law, these manufacturers and retailers 
are called “guarantors” and must guarantee 
that garment workers receive their wages. 

VIOLATION OF BASIC LABOR LAW, SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM WAGE AND OVERTIME, IS CALLED WAGE 

THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER. 



[THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIMS ADJUDICATION PROCESS]

Complete the “Garment Initial Claim” form available at any of the Labor Commissioner’s offi  ces and at the 
agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). The Los Angeles offi  ce of the Labor Commissioner accepts and 
decides garment worker claims. For help, call the offi  ce at (213) 620-6330 or go to 320 W. 4th Street, Suite 
450, Los Angeles, California 90013. 

If you go to the Los Angeles offi  ce, a Deputy Labor Commissioner (Deputy) will interview you immediately and 
help you fi ll out the claim form. If you go to another Labor Commissioner offi  ce location, a phone interview will 
be scheduled with a Deputy in the Los Angeles offi  ce to help you fi ll out the claim form. If an advocate from an 
organization helps you fi ll out and mail in the claim form, an interview will be scheduled with a Deputy.

Once you fi le a claim, the Deputy assigned to your claim will identify any additional defendants, including 
manufacturers and retailers whose garments you sewed. The Deputy will notify all of the defendants of your 
claim and require your contractor to submit documents related to your claim. You may request to see these 
documents by contacting your Deputy. You may also request that the Labor Commissioner require documents 
from other defendants. Update your Deputy about any change in your address or phone number in writing. You 
must attend the settlement conference and hearing, or your claim may be dismissed.

FILE A CLAIM2

ATTEND THE SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE3

Most claims will go to a settlement conference where a Deputy will help you and your employer discuss the 
possibility of entering into a settlement agreement. During the conference, you may ask to speak with the 
Deputy in private. If you do not reach a settlement, your claim will be scheduled for a hearing. 

PROVE YOUR CLAIM 
AT THE HEARING4

If your claim does not settle at the conference, you will receive a “Notice of Hearing” with the date and 
time. During the hearing, you and the defendants will testify under oath and submit evidence about the 
claim. You are responsible for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Offi  cer will not 
have documentation that you previously provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of 
your evidence at the hearing.

“I worked at a garment factory for a contractor who did not pay me for one 
week of work. During this time, I produced dresses with two different labels 
that were then sold by a department store. When I filed a wage claim with the 
Labor Commissioner, the Deputy told me that the two labels (manufacturers) 
and possibly the department store were the guarantors of my claim. This meant that the 
contractor, manufacturers, and potentially the department store were all defendants in my 
claim and responsible for paying me my wages.”

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 
• Review your claim information, such as the hours that you worked and how much you were paid, and 

prepare notes and a timeline of events that you can review during the hearing. 
• Bring multiple sets of copies of any documents that support your claim for you, the Hearing Offi  cer, and 

the defendant(s). 
• Ask witnesses who can support your claim to attend the hearing. 
• You have the right to question the defendant(s) and any of their witnesses. Prepare a list of possible 

questions in advance. 
• You may have an attorney represent you at the hearing. If you win your claim, the defendant(s) must pay 

your attorney’s fees. 

Aft er the hearing, you will receive a decision called the “Order, Decision or Award” (ODA). The ODA will 
explain the Labor Commissioner’s decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. If neither 
side requests that the decision be changed by fi ling an appeal within 15 days, the ODA will become fi nal and 
enforceable as a court judgment. 

If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the case without reviewing the decision of the Labor 
Commissioner. You and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony again. Low-income 
workers may request an attorney to represent them for free by completing forms provided by the Labor 
Commissioner. If you appeal the decision, you can represent yourself or hire an attorney.

If you are unable to collect the full amount of your award from the defendants, you may apply to receive 
payment for the unpaid wages (but not penalties) from the Garment Special Fund. The Deputy assigned to 
your claim can help you complete the necessary forms to receive payment from this fund. 

REVIEW THE DECISION AND GET HELP 
IF YOUR EMPLOYER APPEALS5

HOW TO RECOVER YOUR UNPAID WAGES
 

1 PREPARE TO FILE 

CHECK THE DEADLINE 
• 	

 	
 	

You must fi le claims for violations for unpaid minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay, or 
unpaid reimbursements within three years. 

• You must fi le claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimum wage within two years. 
• You must fi le claims based on a written contract within four years. 
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RESEARCH 
Gather as much of the following as you can to support your claim: 
• 	
 	
 	

 	
 	
 	
 	

Name, address, and phone number of your employer 
• Car license plate number of your employer 
• Records or your best recollection of the days and hours you worked; 

you can use any of your personal notes or calendars 
• Copies of paycheck stubs 
• Garment tags, labels, and RN numbers 
• Production or shipment order information 
• Any design specifi cations 

CALIFORNIA LABOR LAWS PROTECT ALL WORKERS, REGARDLESS OF 
IMMIGRATION STATUS. THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE WILL NOT ASK 
ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS 
TO OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES. 



HOW TO reCover Your unPAId WAGes

InsIde 
CenterFold

Prove Your ClAIm  
AT THE HEARING4

If your claim does not settle at the conference, you will receive a “Notice of Hearing” with the date and 
time. During the hearing, you and the defendants will testify under oath and submit evidence about the 
claim. You are responsible for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Officer will not 
have documentation that you previously provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of 
your evidence at the hearing.

TO PrePAre FOR THE HEARING: 
•	 Review your claim information, such as the hours that you worked and how much you were paid, and 

prepare notes and a timeline of events that you can review during the hearing. 
•	 Bring multiple sets of copies of any documents that support your claim for you, the Hearing Officer, and 

the defendant(s). 
•	 Ask witnesses who can support your claim to attend the hearing. 
•	 You have the right to question the defendant(s) and any of their witnesses. Prepare a list of possible 

questions in advance. 
•	 You may have an attorney represent you at the hearing. If you win your claim, the defendant(s) must pay 

your attorney’s fees. 

“I worked at a garment factory for a contractor who did not pay me for one 
week of work. During this time, I produced dresses with two different labels 
that were then sold by a department store. When I filed a wage claim with the 
Labor Commissioner, the Deputy told me that the two labels (manufacturers) 
and possibly the department store were the guarantors of my claim. This meant that the 
contractor, manufacturers, and potentially the department store were all defendants in my 
claim and responsible for paying me my wages.”

After the hearing, you will receive a decision called the “Order, Decision or Award” (ODA). The ODA will 
explain the Labor Commissioner’s decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. If neither 
side requests that the decision be changed by filing an appeal within 15 days, the ODA will become final and 
enforceable as a court judgment. 

If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the case without reviewing the decision of the Labor 
Commissioner. You and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony again. Low-income 
workers may request an attorney to represent them for free by completing forms provided by the Labor 
Commissioner. If you appeal the decision, you can represent yourself or hire an attorney.

If you are unable to collect the full amount of your award from the defendants, you may apply to receive 
payment for the unpaid wages (but not penalties) from the Garment Special Fund. The Deputy assigned to 
your claim can help you complete the necessary forms to receive payment from this fund. 

revIeW tHe deCIsIon AND GET HELP 
IF YOUR EMPLOYER APPEALS5

1
CHeCk THE DEADLINE
•	 You must file claims for violations for unpaid minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay, or 

unpaid reimbursements within three years.
•	 You must file claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimum wage within two years.
•	 You must file claims based on a written contract within four years.

reseArCH
Gather as much of the following as you can to support your claim: 
•	 Name, address, and phone number of your employer
•	 Car license plate number of your employer
•	 Records or your best recollection of the days and hours you worked; 

you can use any of your personal notes or calendars
•	 Copies of paycheck stubs
•	 Garment tags, labels, and RN numbers 
•	 Production or shipment order information
•	 Any design specifications

PrePAre TO FILE

CAlIFornIA lABor lAWs ProteCt All Workers, reGArdless oF 
ImmIGrAtIon stAtus. tHe lABor CommIssIoner’s oFFICe WIll not Ask 
ABout Your ImmIGrAtIon stAtus or rePort Your ImmIGrAtIon stAtus 
to otHer Government AGenCIes. 

MEDIUM
 100% COTTON
 RN# 742992
 MADE IN USA

Two 
Seven
Eight
  & Six
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2 FIle A CLAIM 

Complete the “Garment Initial Claim” form available at any of the Labor Commissioner’s offices and at the 
agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). The Los Angeles office of the Labor Commissioner accepts and 
decides garment worker claims. For help, call the office at (213) 620-6330 or go to 320 W. 4th Street, Suite 
450, Los Angeles, California 90013. 

If you go to the Los Angeles office, a Deputy Labor Commissioner (Deputy) will interview you immediately and 
help you fill out the claim form. If you go to another Labor Commissioner office location, a phone interview will 
be scheduled with a Deputy in the Los Angeles office to help you fill out the claim form. If an advocate from an 
organization helps you fill out and mail in the claim form, an interview will be scheduled with a Deputy. 

Once you file a claim, the Deputy assigned to your claim will identify any additional defendants, including 
manufacturers and retailers whose garments you sewed. The Deputy will notify all of the defendants of your 
claim and require your contractor to submit documents related to your claim. You may request to see these 
documents by contacting your Deputy. You may also request that the Labor Commissioner require documents 
from other defendants. Update your Deputy about any change in your address or phone number in writing. You 
must attend the settlement conference and hearing, or your claim may be dismissed. 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse
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3 Attend  THE SETTLEMENT   
CONFERENCE  

Most claims will go to a settlement conference where a Deputy will help you and your employer discuss the 
possibility of entering into a settlement agreement. During the conference, you may ask to speak with the 
Deputy in private. If you do not reach a settlement, your claim will be scheduled for a hearing. 

settlement: 
When you enter into a settlement AGreement, you agree to resolve your claim by accepting 
a defendant’s offer to pay you an amount that may be less than the full value of your claim. If there 
are multiple defendants in your claim, then you may be able to reach a settlement with one or more 
defendants but still continue your claim against the defendants who were not part of the settlement. 
Accepting or rejecting a settlement offer is an important decision. Consider the following points before 
you make your decision. 

•	 WHY ACCePt A s ettlement oFFer? Your claim resolves promptly, and you may receive 
payment of your wages sooner. You eliminate the risk of losing at the hearing. If you do not settle 
and proceed with your claim, there is a possibility that your employer will file for bankruptcy or close 
before you receive any wages. 

•	 WHY r ejeCt A s ettlement oFFer? You may get far less than the wages and penalties to which 
you are entitled according to the law. If you receive a settlement offer that is too low, you can demand 
more and try to negotiate for an acceptable settlement amount. 



[THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIMS ADJUDICATION PROCESS]HOW TO RECOVER YOUR UNPAID WAGES

Complete the “Garment Initial Claim” form available at any of the Labor Commissioner’s offi  ces and at the 
agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). The Los Angeles offi  ce of the Labor Commissioner accepts and 
decides garment worker claims. For help, call the offi  ce at (213) 620-6330 or go to 320 W. 4th Street, Suite 
450, Los Angeles, California 90013. 

If you go to the Los Angeles offi  ce, a Deputy Labor Commissioner (Deputy) will interview you immediately and 
help you fi ll out the claim form. If you go to another Labor Commissioner offi  ce location, a phone interview will 
be scheduled with a Deputy in the Los Angeles offi  ce to help you fi ll out the claim form. If an advocate from an 
organization helps you fi ll out and mail in the claim form, an interview will be scheduled with a Deputy.

Once you fi le a claim, the Deputy assigned to your claim will identify any additional defendants, including 
manufacturers and retailers whose garments you sewed. The Deputy will notify all of the defendants of your 
claim and require your contractor to submit documents related to your claim. You may request to see these 
documents by contacting your Deputy. You may also request that the Labor Commissioner require documents 
from other defendants. Update your Deputy about any change in your address or phone number in writing. You 
must attend the settlement conference and hearing, or your claim may be dismissed.

FILE A CLAIM2

ATTEND THE SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE3

Most claims will go to a settlement conference where a Deputy will help you and your employer discuss the 
possibility of entering into a settlement agreement. During the conference, you may ask to speak with the 
Deputy in private. If you do not reach a settlement, your claim will be scheduled for a hearing. 

“I worked at a garment factory for a contractor who did not pay me for one 
week of work. During this time, I produced dresses with two different labels 
that were then sold by a department store. When I filed a wage claim with the 
Labor Commissioner, the Deputy told me that the two labels (manufacturers) 
and possibly the department store were the guarantors of my claim. This meant that the 
contractor, manufacturers, and potentially the department store were all defendants in my 
claim and responsible for paying me my wages.”

Aft er the hearing, you will receive a decision called the “Order, Decision or Award” (ODA). The ODA will 
explain the Labor Commissioner’s decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. If neither 
side requests that the decision be changed by fi ling an appeal within 15 days, the ODA will become fi nal and 
enforceable as a court judgment. 

If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the case without reviewing the decision of the Labor 
Commissioner. You and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony again. Low-income 
workers may request an attorney to represent them for free by completing forms provided by the Labor 
Commissioner. If you appeal the decision, you can represent yourself or hire an attorney.

If you are unable to collect the full amount of your award from the defendants, you may apply to receive 
payment for the unpaid wages (but not penalties) from the Garment Special Fund. The Deputy assigned to 
your claim can help you complete the necessary forms to receive payment from this fund. 

REVIEW THE DECISION AND GET HELP 
IF YOUR EMPLOYER APPEALS51

CHECK THE DEADLINE
• You must fi le claims for violations for unpaid minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay, or 

unpaid reimbursements within three years.
• You must fi le claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimum wage within two years.
• You must fi le claims based on a written contract within four years.

RESEARCH
Gather as much of the following as you can to support your claim: 
• Name, address, and phone number of your employer
• Car license plate number of your employer
• Records or your best recollection of the days and hours you worked; 

you can use any of your personal notes or calendars
• Copies of paycheck stubs
• Garment tags, labels, and RN numbers 
• Production or shipment order information
• Any design specifi cations

PREPARE TO FILE

CALIFORNIA LABOR LAWS PROTECT ALL WORKERS, REGARDLESS OF 
IMMIGRATION STATUS. THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE WILL NOT ASK 
ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS 
TO OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES. 

MEDIUM
 100% COTTON
 RN# 742992
 MADE IN USA

MEDIUMMEDIUM

Two 
Seven
Eight
  & Six

4 PROVE YOUR CLAIM 
AT THE HEARING 

If your claim does not settle at the conference, you will receive a “Notice of Hearing” with the date and 
time. During the hearing, you and the defendants will testify under oath and submit evidence about the 
claim. You are responsible for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Offi  cer will not 
have documentation that you previously provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of 
your evidence at the hearing. 

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 
• 	

 	

 	
 	

 	

Review your claim information, such as the hours that you worked and how much you were paid, and 
prepare notes and a timeline of events that you can review during the hearing. 

• Bring multiple sets of copies of any documents that support your claim for you, the Hearing Offi  cer, and 
the defendant(s). 

• Ask witnesses who can support your claim to attend the hearing. 
• You have the right to question the defendant(s) and any of their witnesses. Prepare a list of possible 

questions in advance. 
• You may have an attorney represent you at the hearing. If you win your claim, the defendant(s) must pay 

your attorney’s fees. 



HOW TO RECOVER YOUR UNPAID WAGES

Complete the “Garment Initial Claim” form available at any of the Labor Commissioner’s offi  ces and at the 
agency’s website (www.dir.ca.gov/dlse). The Los Angeles offi  ce of the Labor Commissioner accepts and 
decides garment worker claims. For help, call the offi  ce at (213) 620-6330 or go to 320 W. 4th Street, Suite 
450, Los Angeles, California 90013. 

If you go to the Los Angeles offi  ce, a Deputy Labor Commissioner (Deputy) will interview you immediately and 
help you fi ll out the claim form. If you go to another Labor Commissioner offi  ce location, a phone interview will 
be scheduled with a Deputy in the Los Angeles offi  ce to help you fi ll out the claim form. If an advocate from an 
organization helps you fi ll out and mail in the claim form, an interview will be scheduled with a Deputy.

Once you fi le a claim, the Deputy assigned to your claim will identify any additional defendants, including 
manufacturers and retailers whose garments you sewed. The Deputy will notify all of the defendants of your 
claim and require your contractor to submit documents related to your claim. You may request to see these 
documents by contacting your Deputy. You may also request that the Labor Commissioner require documents 
from other defendants. Update your Deputy about any change in your address or phone number in writing. You 
must attend the settlement conference and hearing, or your claim may be dismissed.

FILE A CLAIM2

ATTEND THE SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE3

Most claims will go to a settlement conference where a Deputy will help you and your employer discuss the 
possibility of entering into a settlement agreement. During the conference, you may ask to speak with the 
Deputy in private. If you do not reach a settlement, your claim will be scheduled for a hearing. 

PROVE YOUR CLAIM 
AT THE HEARING4

If your claim does not settle at the conference, you will receive a “Notice of Hearing” with the date and 
time. During the hearing, you and the defendants will testify under oath and submit evidence about the 
claim. You are responsible for proving that your employer owes you wages. The Hearing Offi  cer will not 
have documentation that you previously provided to the Labor Commissioner, so you must submit all of 
your evidence at the hearing.

TO PREPARE FOR THE HEARING: 
• Review your claim information, such as the hours that you worked and how much you were paid, and 

prepare notes and a timeline of events that you can review during the hearing. 
• Bring multiple sets of copies of any documents that support your claim for you, the Hearing Offi  cer, and 

the defendant(s). 
• Ask witnesses who can support your claim to attend the hearing. 
• You have the right to question the defendant(s) and any of their witnesses. Prepare a list of possible 

questions in advance. 
• You may have an attorney represent you at the hearing. If you win your claim, the defendant(s) must pay 

your attorney’s fees. 

1
CHECK THE DEADLINE
• You must fi le claims for violations for unpaid minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions from pay, or 

unpaid reimbursements within three years.
• You must fi le claims based on an oral promise to pay more than minimum wage within two years.
• You must fi le claims based on a written contract within four years.

RESEARCH
Gather as much of the following as you can to support your claim: 
• Name, address, and phone number of your employer
• Car license plate number of your employer
• Records or your best recollection of the days and hours you worked; 

you can use any of your personal notes or calendars
• Copies of paycheck stubs
• Garment tags, labels, and RN numbers 
• Production or shipment order information
• Any design specifi cations

PREPARE TO FILE

CALIFORNIA LABOR LAWS PROTECT ALL WORKERS, REGARDLESS OF 
IMMIGRATION STATUS. THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE WILL NOT ASK 
ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS 
TO OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES. 

MEDIUM
 100% COTTON
 RN# 742992
 MADE IN USA

MEDIUMMEDIUM
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Seven
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5 REVIEW THE DECISION AND GET HELP
IF YOUR EMPLOYER APPEALS 

Aft er the hearing, you will receive a decision called the “Order, Decision or Award” (ODA). The ODA will 
explain the Labor Commissioner’s decision and the amount that the employer must pay you, if any. If neither 
side requests that the decision be changed by fi ling an appeal within 15 days, the ODA will become fi nal and 
enforceable as a court judgment. 

If your employer appeals, the Superior Court will hear the case without reviewing the decision of the Labor 
Commissioner. You and your employer will have to present your evidence and testimony again. Low-income 
workers may request an attorney to represent them for free by completing forms provided by the Labor 
Commissioner. If you appeal the decision, you can represent yourself or hire an attorney. 

If you are unable to collect the full amount of your award from the defendants, you may apply to receive 
payment for the unpaid wages (but not penalties) from the Garment Special Fund. The Deputy assigned to 
your claim can help you complete the necessary forms to receive payment from this fund. 

“I worked at a garment factory for a contractor who did not pay me for one 
week of work. During this time, I produced dresses with two different labels 
that were then sold by a department store. When I filed a wage claim with the 
Labor Commissioner, the Deputy told me that the two labels (manufacturers) 
and possibly the department store were the guarantors of my claim. This meant that the 
contractor, manufacturers, and potentially the department store were all defendants in my 
claim and responsible for paying me my wages.” 



The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce, 
also called the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

(DLSE), is part of the California Department of Industrial

Relations. The Labor Commissioner’s Office is the state

agency that decides your claim for unpaid wages. It

enforces labor standards to ensure employees are not

permitted to work under substandard, unlawful conditions.

It also protects employers who comply with the law from

having to compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY
NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION TO
FILE A CLAIM.

YOU MAY FILE A CLAIM REGARDLESS OF
YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS.

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER, AND THE
LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE
AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

GARMENT 
WORKERS

RECOVER YOUR
UNPAID WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 

Garment workers who are not paid for their
work may file claims against the contractor
who hired them, as well as the manufacturers
whose garments they produced. In some
cases, retailers may also be responsible
for garment workers’ unpaid wages. Under
California law, these manufacturers and retailers
are called “guarantors” and must guarantee
that garment workers receive their wages.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and decides 
individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor law violations. 

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT
reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the
Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633.

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) investigates
reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum wage, overtime, or
meal and rest periods to groups of workers. BOFE also investigates
complaints against employers for violations of workers’ compensation,
child labor, recordkeeping, and licensing and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor laws 
on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages are higher 
than the State minimum wage and are required for workers on 
most public construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT
investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs when an
employer takes actions such as firing a worker or reducing hours or
pay because the worker took steps to enforce his or her labor rights.

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers collect
their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines that an 
employer owes unpaid wages. 
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VIOLATION OF BASIC LABOR LAW, SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM WAGE AND OVERTIME, IS CALLED WAGE

THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.

AB 633 (ENGLISH)

CALIFORNIA LABOR COMMISSIONER
LOS ANGELES DISTRICT OFFICE
320 W. 4TH STREET, SUITE 450, LOS ANGELES, CA 90013 
(213) 620-6330 
www.dir.ca.gov/dlse
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GARMENT WORKERS’ RIGHTS: 

Minimum Wage: You must receive no less than the state minimum 
wage, whether you are paid by piece rate, by the hour, or by salary. 

For example, if a contractor pays workers $0.12 per piece and a 
worker finishes 40 pieces in an hour (totaling $4.80), the contractor 
must still pay at least the state minimum wage, regardless of the 
number of pieces finished and the piece rate amount. 

Overtime: You must receive overtime pay of: 
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours in a workday or over 40 hours in a week 
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 

hours in a workday. 

If you work 7 days in a workweek, you must be paid: 
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 

7th day 
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours on the 7th day. 

The Labor Commissioner’s Office can assist you with calculating your 
unpaid wages, including overtime. You are entitled to overtime pay 
whether you are paid by piece rate or hourly. 

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. For example, if your employer promised to pay you $12 per 
hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you could file a wage claim for 
the unpaid amount of $2 per hour. 

Meal or Rest Breaks: You must receive an uninterrupted 30-minute 
unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute 
rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest 
break even if you work less than 4 hours. 

Pay Stub or Wage Statement: You must receive a pay stub or a 
wage statement with your employer’s name, address, and telephone 
number; your name and employee ID number or the last 4 digits of 
your social security number; total wages earned; all deductions; the 
dates for the period you are being paid; the number of pieces you 
made and the rate per piece; and the name(s) of any manufacturer(s) 
whose garments were made during that pay period. 

Paydays: You have the right to a regularly scheduled payday, at 
least twice a month, and your employer must post a notice at your 
workplace of the regular paydays and the time and place of payment. 

Tools, Supplies, and Workplace Standards: Any tools and 
supplies that you need to perform your job such as needles, scissors, 
and sewing machines must be provided and maintained by your 
employer at no cost to you. 

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you 
must receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid 
when your job ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional 
payment of a day’s wages for each day that your employer withholds 
your final paycheck, for up to 30 days. 

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check 
that is returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties 
of up to 30 days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check. 

FAQs
 
1. If my employer moves or changes its 

business name, can I name the new 
company in my claim? 
Yes. You can fi le a claim against the new “successor” 
company if your employer moves or changes the 
company name. This means that if a contractor shuts 
down without paying you wages and re-opens under a 
diff erent name or owner, then the new business may still 
be responsible for your unpaid wages. 

2. 	If my employer only paid me cash without  
an itemized wage statement, what kind of  
evidence can I submit to support my claim? 
You should submit any documents, such as timesheets, 
logs, or your personal notes or calendar, to prove your 
hours worked. If you do not have documents to support 
your claim, you can provide your best estimate. 

3.  When will I receive my unpaid wages? 
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing, decision, and 
collection process may take several months. 

4.  What if my boss fi res, demotes, or 
punishes me for fi ling this claim? 
California law prohibits your employer from retaliating 
against you for exercising your workplace rights. In 
addition, your employer cannot report or threaten to 
report your citizenship or immigration status because 
you have exercised your labor rights. If your employer 
does take action against you, you can file a retaliation 
complaint with the Labor Commissioner. 

5.  How does my claim affect other people  
in my workplace who experienced the  
same violations?  
Your individual claim should not affect your coworkers. If 
labor law violations at your work affect several workers, 
you may file a “Report of Labor Law Violation” with the 
Labor Commissioner’s Bureau of Field Enforcement 
(BOFE). BOFE reviews all reports and may investigate 
your employer, issue a citation, and require the employer 
to pay workers unpaid wages. 

To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm


The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Offi  ce, 
also called the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

(DLSE), is part of the California Department of Industrial

Relations. The Labor Commissioner’s Office is the state

agency that decides your claim for unpaid wages. It

enforces labor standards to ensure employees are not

permitted to work under substandard, unlawful conditions.

It also protects employers who comply with the law from

having to compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY
NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION TO
FILE A CLAIM.

YOU MAY FILE A CLAIM REGARDLESS OF
YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS.

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER, AND THE
LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE
AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

FAQs
1. If my employer moves or changes its 

business name, can I name the new 
company in my claim?
Yes. You can file a claim against the new “successor” 
company if your employer moves or changes the 
company name. This means that if a contractor shuts 
down without paying you wages and re-opens under a 
different name or owner, then the new business may still 
be responsible for your unpaid wages.

2. If my employer only paid me cash without
an itemized wage statement, what kind of
evidence can I submit to support my claim?
You should submit any documents, such as timesheets, 
logs, or your personal notes or calendar, to prove your 
hours worked. If you do not have documents to support 
your claim, you can provide your best estimate. 

3. When will I receive my unpaid wages?
It depends. Many claims settle and you receive your 
settlement either when you sign the settlement 
agreement or based on the agreed date of payment. 
If your case does not settle, the hearing, decision, and
collection process may take several months. 

4. What if my boss fires, demotes, or 
punishes me for filing this claim? 
California law prohibits your employer from retaliating 
against you for exercising your workplace rights. In 
addition, your employer cannot report or threaten to 
report your citizenship or immigration status because 
you have exercised your labor rights. If your employer 
does take action against you, you can file a retaliation 
complaint with the Labor Commissioner.

5. How does my claim affect other people
in my workplace who experienced the
same violations?
Your individual claim should not affect your coworkers. If 
labor law violations at your work affect several workers, 
you may file a “Report of Labor Law Violation” with the 
Labor Commissioner’s Bureau of Field Enforcement 
(BOFE). BOFE reviews all reports and may investigate 
your employer, issue a citation, and require the employer 
to pay workers unpaid wages.

GARMENT WORKERS’ RIGHTS: 
Minimum Wage: You must receive no less than the state minimum 
wage, whether you are paid by piece rate, by the hour, or by salary.

For example, if a contractor pays workers $0.12 per piece and a
worker finishes 40 pieces in an hour (totaling $4.80), the contractor
must still pay at least the state minimum wage, regardless of the
number of pieces finished and the piece rate amount.

Overtime: You must receive overtime pay of:
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours in a workday or over 40 hours in a week
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 12 

hours in a workday.

If you work 7 days in a workweek, you must be paid:
• 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 

7th day
• double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 

hours on the 7th day. 

The Labor Commissioner’s Office can assist you with calculating your 
unpaid wages, including overtime. You are entitled to overtime pay 
whether you are paid by piece rate or hourly.

Hourly Wages Promised: Your employer must pay you the wages 
promised. For example, if your employer promised to pay you $12 per 
hour and only paid you $10 per hour, you could file a wage claim for 
the unpaid amount of $2 per hour.

Meal or Rest Breaks: You must receive an uninterrupted 30-minute 
unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute 
rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest 
break even if you work less than 4 hours.

Pay Stub or Wage Statement: You must receive a pay stub or a 
wage statement with your employer’s name, address, and telephone 
number; your name and employee ID number or the last 4 digits of 
your social security number; total wages earned; all deductions; the 
dates for the period you are being paid; the number of pieces you 
made and the rate per piece; and the name(s) of any manufacturer(s) 
whose garments were made during that pay period.

Paydays: You have the right to a regularly scheduled payday, at 
least twice a month, and your employer must post a notice at your 
workplace of the regular paydays and the time and place of payment. 

Tools, Supplies, and Workplace Standards: Any tools and 
supplies that you need to perform your job such as needles, scissors, 
and sewing machines must be provided and maintained by your 
employer at no cost to you. 

Final Paychecks at Termination: If your employer fires you, you 
must receive your final paycheck on your last day. If you are not paid 
when your job ends, you may be entitled to receive an additional 
payment of a day’s wages for each day that your employer withholds 
your final paycheck, for up to 30 days.

Penalties for Bounced Checks: If your employer writes you a check
that is returned for insufficient funds, you have a right to receive penalties
of up to 30 days’ wages in addition to the amount of the check.

GARMENT 
WORKERS

RECOVER YOUR
UNPAID WAGES 

WITH THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 

Garment workers who are not paid for their
work may file claims against the contractor
who hired them, as well as the manufacturers
whose garments they produced. In some
cases, retailers may also be responsible
for garment workers’ unpaid wages. Under
California law, these manufacturers and retailers
are called “guarantors” and must guarantee
that garment workers receive their wages.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT reviews and decides 
individual claims for unpaid wages and other labor law violations. 

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADJUDICATION UNIT
reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the
Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633.

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) investigates
reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum wage, overtime, or
meal and rest periods to groups of workers. BOFE also investigates
complaints against employers for violations of workers’ compensation,
child labor, recordkeeping, and licensing and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor laws 
on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages are higher 
than the State minimum wage and are required for workers on 
most public construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INVESTIGATION UNIT
investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs when an
employer takes actions such as firing a worker or reducing hours or
pay because the worker took steps to enforce his or her labor rights.

THE JUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers collect
their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines that an 
employer owes unpaid wages. 
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VIOLATION OF BASIC LABOR LAW, SUCH AS NOT PAYING MINIMUM WAGE AND OVERTIME, IS CALLED WAGE

THEFT. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WAGE THEFT, FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.To learn more, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page at the DLSE website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse-faqs.htm

AB 633 (ENGLISH)
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