Minors in Door-to-Door Sales
Who Must Register
Regulations governing the registration of employers, transporters and supervisors of minors, under the age of 16, engaged in door-to-door sales were adopted by the California Secretary of State on August 22, 1998 and are now incorporated in the California Code of Regulations. The regulations require the registration of any person who employs, transports, or supervises a minor under 16 years of age in door-to-door sales more than ten miles from the minors residence. Registrants must comply with all state and federal laws that regulate the employment of minors, the payment of wages, conditions, terms, and places of employment affecting the health and safety of minors.
Registration is valid for one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed annually.
Registration requirements do not apply to the following:
Failure to Register
Failure to be registered is a misdemeanor and is punishable by fines ranging from $1,000 per minor upon initial violation to $2,500 for a second violation and up to $10,000 for a third or subsequent violations.
A $350 fee is required for the initial application for an employers registration with a $200 renewal fee. A $100 fee is required for an initial application for a transporters or supervisors registration with a $50 renewal fee. An employer registering as a transporter/supervisor shall pay the applicable initial or renewal fees required for both the employer and the transporter/supervisor registrations.
For applications and instructions write to :
Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, Licensing and Registration, 9th Floor West, P.O. Box 420603, San Francisco, CA 94142 .
How to Detect Violations in Door-to-Door Sales
Door-to-door selling includes minors selling in parking lots or malls, whether alone or in pairs or teams. The door-to-door regulations do not apply to newscarriers who solicit subscriptions or sell newspapers door-to-door when they are directly employed by the newspaper and deliver the newspaper regularly to an established readership for a requested consideration.
Children employed in door-to-door sales may not work during school hours and must be at least 12 years old. Minors under the age of 16 may not sell magazine subscriptions, candy, cookies, flowers, or other merchandise or commodities door-to-door unless all of the following conditions are met:
How to Report Suspected Violations of Door-to-Door Regulations
If you suspect a violation of the door-to-door statutes/regulations, you can assist the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) by gathering the following information:
If you suspect violations of the door-to-door regulations call the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement at:
Northern California (707)
Southern California (213) 897-9856