#### TRAVEL AND SUBSISTENCE PROVISIONS

#### **CRAFT/CLASSIFICATION**

Tile Finisher: Red Circled Finisher; Tile Setter

# ID

18-3-7

## LOCALITY

Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Del Norte, Fresno, Humboldt, Kings, Lake, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Napa, San Benito, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Tulare, Trinity and Tuolumne Counties

## TRAVEL AND SUBSISTENCE

SECTION 43. VEHICLES. No employee shall be required to furnish a truck or other vehicle to the Employer, whether compensated or not. The Employer shall supply adequate transportation facilities to employees engaged in the patching and servicing of tile work. Employers may require the return of Employer-provided vehicles at any time at their sole discretion.

SECTION 82. TOLLS AND PARKING. Where an employee in traveling to or from work for an Individual Employer incurs a bridge or any other kind of toll or fare, or is required to park in a parking lot in a metropolitan area, the employee shall be reimbursed by the Individual Employer upon presentation of the receipt with the employee's current time card. The maximum reimbursement for parking expenses is \$40.00 per day, unless prior written approval is obtained for a higher amount. Mass transportation, such as BART, or Public transportation expenses shall be reimbursed to a maximum of fifteen (\$15.00) per day upon production of receipts.

ARTICLE IX. TRAVEL ALLOWANCES, TRAVEL TIME, MILEAGE AND SUBSISTENCE

## SECTION 84. MILEAGE DETERMINATION

(a) For the purpose of determining travel allowances, travel time, mileage and subsistence, distance shall be measured from the Individual Employer's principal place of business or the employee's residence; whichever is closer to the job site.

(b) The Individual Employer's principal place of business is the city or town recognized as such by the California State Contractor's Licensing Division. Each Employer may have a number of shops on the condition that it has a license which is currently valid under the California Contractor's License Law; provided, however, that each shop must be a bona fide place of business which is permanent, used for both the transaction of business and the storage of materials, from which vouchers are dispatched and where day-to-day operations are carried out. Temporary offices or other places of business established at or

near the job site after bid opening date shall not be recognized as principal places of business for purposes of this Article.

(c) Any Individual Employer, which has no principal place of business within the area covered by this Agreement, shall use only the employee's residence for the purposes of this Article.

SECTION 85. UNCOMPENSATED TRAVEL. As determined in accordance with Section 84, on all jobs forty (40) miles or less from the Individual Employer's principal place of business, travel to and from the job site, unless within the regular workday, shall be on the employee's own time and expense, regardless of the actual distance traveled.

#### SECTION 86. TRAVEL ALLOWANCES

(a) Zones:

40 miles or less	Free Zone
41 to 50 miles	\$30.00 per day
51 to 60 miles	\$35.00 per day
61 to 80 miles	\$45.00 per day

(or any portion of a day worked on all jobs.)

(b) Travel allowances shall be included and shown as such on the employee's regular paycheck. No travel allowance will be paid pursuant to this section for any day on which subsistence is paid pursuant to Section 85.

(c) Employees traveling in the Employer's vehicles, or to whom Employer offers in writing the option of traveling in the Employer's vehicles, shall not be entitled to the travel allowances provided in this Section. Any employee traveling to and from the job at the beginning and end of the workday in an Employer-provided vehicle, or any employee who was provided such an option in writing, shall travel on his own time and shall not be entitled to the travel allowance provided in this Section.

(d) An employee required to transfer from one job location to another during the workday shall do so on the Employer's time.

#### SECTION 87. SUBSISTENCE, TRAVEL TIME AND MILEAGE

(a) On all jobs eighty - one (81) miles or more from the Individual Employer's principal place of business or the employee's residence, whichever is closer to the job site, any employee who chooses to remain at the job site overnight shall receive a subsistence allowance for food, laundry and lodging equal to the amount for which receipts are provided, not to exceed \$125.00 per day and shall not receive any travel allowance except as provided below. If no receipts are provided for jobs which would otherwise qualify for a subsistence allowance, the

employee shall be paid the travel allowance of \$70.00 for each day of work in lieu of the subsistence allowance.

(b) Regardless of the distance actually traveled, on all jobs eighty-one (81) miles or more from the Individual Employer's principal place of business or the employee's residence, whichever is closer to the job site, as defined in Section 86, employees shall be entitled to travel time and mileage, once at the start and once at the conclusion of the job. Travel time and mileage allowances shall be computed without regard to the forty-one to fifty (41-50), fifty-one to sixty (51-60), and sixty-one to eighty (61-80) mile limits stated in Section 84.

(c) Travel time shall be computed by dividing the mileage from the Individual Employer's principal place of business or the employee's residence, whichever is closer to the job site by fifty (50) and multiplying the result by the employee's regular straight-time hourly wage rate.

(d) Travel Mileage shall be computed at the standard business mileage rate established by the IRS, per mile based on the mileage from the job site to Individual Employer's principal place of business or the Employee's residence whichever is closer to the job site. Employees traveling in Employer-provided vehicles, or employees given such option in writing, shall not be entitled to a mileage allowance.

(e) Travel time and mileage shall be paid once at the beginning of the project and once at the completion of the project.