## STATE OF CALIFORNIA

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION OFFICE OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR 1515 Clay Street, Suite 1700 Oakland, California 94612 Tel (510) 286 -7100 Fax (510) 286-0687



August 8, 2023

Diane Hafner 50 Santiago Ave. Atherton, CA 94027

## NOTICE OF PROVIDER SUSPENSION - WORKERS' COMPENSATION

Dear Ms. Hafner:

The Administrative Director of the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) is required by Labor Code sections 139.21(a)(1)(A) and 139.21(a)(1)(C) to suspend you from participation in the California workers' compensation system for one or more of the following reasons: (1) you have been convicted of a crime described in Labor Code section 139.21(a)(1)(A); and/or (2) because your license, certification, or approval to provide healthcare services has been surrendered or revoked. Enclosed are copies of the documents relied upon by the Administrative Director as the basis for taking this action.

Your suspension will start 30 calendar days after the date of mailing of this notice, unless you submit a written request for a hearing, which will stay the suspension pending the outcome of the hearing. Your request must be made within 10 calendar days of the date of mailing of this notice. If you do not request a hearing within the 10-day time limit, you will be suspended from participation in the California workers' compensation system pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 9788.2(b).

Your request for a hearing must contain:

- Your current mailing address;
- The legal and factual reasons as to why you do not believe Labor Code section 139.21(a)(1) is applicable to you;
- Your original signature or the original signature of your legal representative; and
- A valid email address for subsequent service of pleadings and/or correspondence.

The scope of the hearing is limited to whether or not Labor Code section 139.21(a)(1) is applicable to you. The Administrative Director is required to suspend you unless you provide proof in the hearing that Labor Code section 139.21(a)(1) does not apply.

Your original request for a hearing and one copy of the request must be filed with the Administrative Director. Additionally, you must also serve one copy of the request for a hearing on the DIR Anti-Fraud Unit. This may be completed either by regular mail or via email to: <u>AntiFraudUnit@dir.ca.gov</u>.

August 8, 2023 Diane Hafner

The mailing address for the Adminitrative Director is:

Hearing Request Administrative Director Division of Workers' Compensation 1515 Clay Street, Suite 1700 Oakland, CA 94612

And/or if needed:

Hearing Request Department of Industrial Relations Office of the Director – Anti-Fraud Unit 1515 Clay Street, Suite 701 Oakland, CA 94612

The original and all copies of the request for hearing must have a proof of service attached. A sample proof of service, containing all necessary elements, can be found on the DWC website at https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/DWCPropRegs/Provider-Suspension-Procedure/Provider-Suspension-Procedure.htm, under the category "Court Forms," and then "Proof of Service." The Administrative Director is required to hold your hearing within 30 days of the receipt of your written request. The hearing will be conducted by a hearing officer appointed by the Administrative Director. You will be notified shortly after the receipt of your request of the date and time of the hearing.

For more information about the suspension procedure, please refer to Provider Suspension Regulations, California Code of Regulations, title 8, sections 9788.1 - 9788.4, which can be found on the DWC website at https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/DWCPropRegs/Provider-Suspension-Procedure/Clean-Version/Text-of-Regulations.doc.

Sincerely,

/S/ George Parisotto George Parisotto Administrative Director Division of Workers' Compensation

Encls:

- Accusation: Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Case No. 2021-1292, dated 11/08/2021
- Default Decision and Order: Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Case No. 2021-1292, Order dated 3/08/2022, effective 4/07/2022
- Complaint: *The People of the State of California v. Diane Helen Hafner*, Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa, Docket No. 01-188671-2. Filed 2/06/2019

- Misdemeanor Advisement of Rights, Waiver and Plea Form: *People v. Diane Hafner*, Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa, Case No. 1-188671-201. Filed 6/24/2019
- Misdemeanor Order of Probation: Hafner, Diane Helen Defendant, Superior Court of California, County of Contra Costa, Case No. 1-188671-2, dated 6/24/2019
- Felony and Misdemeanor Clerks Docket and Minutes: Hafner, Diane Helen Defendant, Superior Court, County of Contra Costa, Docket No. 1-188671-201, dated 6/24/2019
- CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners Licensing Details. Current date 7/03/2023
- Declaration of John Gordon in Support of Notice of Provider Suspension, dated 7/03/2023
- Proof of Service (Certificate of Service by Mailing)