DWC Audit and Enforcement Unit claims training for 2025

It is the goal of the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) to help claims administrators improve the administration quality of California workers' compensation claims. In order to achieve this goal and to help claims administrators avoid the types of errors for which the DWC Audit & Enforcement Unit assesses penalties, the Audit & Enforcement Unit is willing to participate in workshops and offer presentations to your claims handling personnel related to compliance with California workers' compensation statutes and regulations.

The Audit & Enforcement Unit presentations are designed to provide claims handling staffs with an understanding of the audit process and issues that are subject to scrutiny in the course of an audit. All topics listed below are included in the training:

- An Overview of the Audit & Enforcement Unit Regulations
- A detailed description of the PAR/FCA (Profile Audit Review and Full Compliance Audit) audit process
- Claim File Contents and Maintenance
- Documentation of Earnings; Calculation of the Average Weekly Wage (AWW)
- Payment and Notices for Provision of Temporary and Permanent Disability Indemnity
- Self-Imposed Increase
- Interest and Increase issues on late paid medical bills
- Electronic billing
- The Right and Duty to Investigate a Claim for Workers' Compensation Benefits
- Unsupported Denials
- The Penalty Regulations for LC 5814.6
- Information Available on the DIR/DWCWebpage
- Complaints Filed with the Audit & Enforcement Unit
- Benefit Notice Regulations (effective January 1, 2016)
- Utilization Review Investigations

In the year 2025, workshops will be conducted virtually via WEBEX, which includes a live instructor and PowerPoint presentation. All of the above topics will be discussed in this training. Please make your request 60 days in advance and provide alternate dates if possible. If your Company is interested in a workshop, please provide Company name, office location, telephone, and email contact, and preferred dates for the workshop. We will also require the participant's names and email, and each participant will receive an individual invite to in the training. We receive an email request, we will send you a form to complete and return to the **DWCAuditunit@dir.ca.gov** email box.

The training workshops last 90 to 120 minutes depending on the questions. There is no minimum participant requirement to request a workshop. We do limit participants to 35 attendees per class, and we will schedule multiple workshops upon request.

There is a charge for the cost of Webex. (.02 cents per minute x 120 minutes X the number of participants, which includes presenters). Example: (.02 cents X 120=\$2.40 per participant). If you have 30 participants, the charge for the workshop will be \$72.00 for the two-hour class.

Workshops can be scheduled from January to October of each year. Please send all requests for training to our email: DWCAuditUnit@dir.ca.gov.

There is no filming or recording permitted during the live presentation.

Training is assigned by California territory and training to out of state administrators is split between the offices.

For Northern California:

Nash Bajaj, Supervising Compliance Officer Division of Workers' Compensation, Audit & Enforcement Unit
160 Promenade Circle, Ste. 340
Telephone: (916) 928-3180

For Southern California:

Christopher Torres or Ilene Howard, Supervising Compliance Officer Division of Workers' Compensation, Audit & Enforcement Unit 320 West 4th Street, Suite 900, Los Angeles, CA 90013 Telephone: (213) 620-2312