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BEFORE THE 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
 

APPEALS BOARD 

 
In the Matter of the Appeal of: 
 

DISTRIBUTION CENTER 
MANAGEMENT GROUP (DCMG) 

14900 Innovation Drive 
Riverside, CA  92518 
 

                                             Employer 
 

 Docket No. 11-R3D3-2896 
 

 

DECISION AFTER 
RECONSIDERATION 

AND 
ORDER OF REMAND 

 
The Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board (Board), acting pursuant to 
authority vested in it by the California Labor Code and having taken this 

matter under reconsideration, orders the matter remanded to the 
Administrative Law Judge to conduct further proceedings. 

 
JURISDICTION 

 

 On October 18, 2011, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health 
(Division) issued to Distribution Center Management Group (DCMG) (Employer) 
three citations alleging four violation of the Occupational Safety and Health 

Standards, one of which was for failing to timely report a serious workplace 
injury.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 8, §342(a).)1  Employer was aware on April 30, 

2011, that its employee suffered a serious workplace injury that needed to be 
reported to the Division.  Employer did not report until May 4, 2011. 
 

The citations were timely appealed, and the matter came before an 
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the Board.  The parties stipulated to a series 

of facts regarding the section 342(a) violation, and settled the remaining three 
violations.  Based on the stipulations, the ALJ determined the appropriate 
penalty for the section 342(a) violation was $2,400 by order dated February 8, 

2012.  On March 7, 2012, the Board ordered reconsideration of the matter on 
its own motion to address whether the penalty determination was appropriate 
under the circumstances.  Neither party filed an Answer to the Order of 

Reconsideration.  We now address the appropriate penalty for this late report. 
 

 

                                                        
1 All references are to Title 8, California Code of Regulations unless otherwise indicated. 
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DECISION AFTER RECONSIDERATION 
 

The Labor Code assigns to the Board the duty to review penalties 
proposed by the Division.  The Board is to approve, modify, vacate, or impose 

other appropriate relief when a citation is appealed.  (Labor Code section 6602.)  
The Division proposed a $5000 penalty for the violation, and declined to adjust 
the penalty for the size, good faith, or history of the employer.  Labor Code 

section 6319 requires the Division to consider the effect of the employer’s size, 
good faith, and history when setting a penalty. 

 

We recently reviewed the effect of Labor Code section 6409.1(b), which 
was amended in 2002, and set the nominal penalty for failing to report serious 

injuries or deaths at $5000.  (Allied Sales and Distribution, Inc., Cal/OSHA App. 
11-0480, Decision After Reconsideration (Nov. 29, 2012); SDCCD – Continuing 
Education N C Center, Cal/OSHA App. 11-1196, Decision After Reconsideration 
(Dec 4, 2012).)  It is clear that the legislation in 2002 was directed at the 
penalty the Legislature intended to impose on employers who fail to ever report 

serious injuries, illnesses, or deaths.  From this review of the Legislative 
history, it is also clear the Legislature made no indication as to its intention 

regarding late filed reports.  (Central Valley Engineering & Asphalt, Inc., 
Cal/OSHA App. 085-5001, Decision After Reconsideration (Dec. 4, 2012).)  In 

such circumstances, the pre-2002 penalty calculations cannot be deemed to 
have been repealed by implication.  (Central Valley Engineering, supra; Schatz 
v. Allen Matkins Leck Gamble & Mallory LLP (2009) 45 Cal.4th 557, 571.)  Based 

on a review of the legislative history of this otherwise ambiguous enactment, we 
concluded that the prior penalty adjustment method articulated in Trader 
Dan’s dba Rooms N Covers, Etc., Cal/OSHA App. 08-4978, Decision After 
Reconsideration (Oct. 8, 2009) and Bill Callaway & Greg Lay dba Williams Redi 
Mix, Cal/OSHA App. 03-2400, Decision After Reconsideration (Jul. 14, 2006), 
was not what the Legislature intended, in the late report context, when it 

amended Labor Code section 6409.1(b) to state “An employer who violates this 
subdivision may be assessed a civil penalty of not less than five thousand 
dollars ($5,000).”  Rather, when the violation is a late report, and there is some 

compliance with the reporting requirement, the only effect of the 2002 
amendment of the Labor Code, and the subsequently adopted regulation (§ 
336(a)(6)) was to increase the gravity-based penalty assessment from $500 to 

$5,000.  Remaining unchanged by these amendments is the obligation in Labor 
Code section 6319 that the Division’s regulation take in to consideration the 

size, good faith, and history of the employer when assessing a final penalty. 
 

Here, the Division gave no consideration for those factors, in 

contravention of the requirement of Labor Code section 6319.  The record 
discloses Employer had 54 employees.  The evidence relevant to the good faith 

of Employer is the existence of an IIPP violation also issued with the section 
342(a) violation.  As for history, there is no prior violation history, but a fall 
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hazard was identified and cited during the inspection.  Even so, there may be 
additional evidence relevant to these penalty adjustment factors that the 

Division has not taken in to consideration. 
 

We therefore remand the matter to the ALJ to allow the Division to 
comply with Labor Code section 6319, and its own regulations, such as section 
336(d), and evaluate the proper penalty.  The ALJ is to impose a penalty 

consistent with Labor Code section 6319 unless other penalty-related defenses 
are established by Employer.  (See, e.g., Stockton Tri Industries, Inc., Cal/OSHA 

App. 02-4946, Decision After Reconsideration (Mar. 27, 2006).) 
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