
 
History of the State of California Industrial Welfare Commission 
 
The California Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC) was established in 1913 by the California 
Legislature to regulate minimum wages, maximum hours of work, and standards for working 
conditions for women and minors. California was the ninth State to create a commission to 
protect the welfare of working women and minors.  Gov. Hiram W. Johnson appointed the five 
members of the commission on September 16, 1913. The commission consisted of two members 
from industry, two from labor, and a fifth from the general public. At least one member was 
required to be a woman.  These members were: Albert Bonnheim, A.B.C. Dohrmann, Katherine 
P. Edson, Walter G. Mathewson, and Judge Frank J. Murasky. 
 
The commission first met in San Francisco on October 6. Permanent offices were opened in San 
Francisco on January 2, 1914. Later that year, offices were established in Los Angeles.  A small 
staff provided the IWC with investigative and administrative support. 
 
The IWC targeted industries that employed the most women, including canning, agriculture, 
mercantile, laundry, manufacturing, telephone and telegraph, and hotels and restaurants. 
Investigations involved on site inspections and reviews of pay roll records. Studies determined 
the average cost of living for a woman in the State. The estimate for a woman to support herself 
in 1914 was $9.62 a week.  At the time, more than half the women working in major industries 
made less than $10 a week. 
 
In 1916, the commission issued its first wage order, setting the minimum wage rate at 16 cents 
an hour for the fruit and vegetable canning industry, with pay of one and a quarter of minimum 
after ten hours,  a limit of 72 hours a week, and improved sanitary conditions. A few years later 
the commission reduced the maximum hours to 8 hours a day and 48 hours a week. By 1918, 
nine orders were in effect, eight establishing minimum wages and conditions in different 
industries and one setting sanitary conditions. Apprentices, called “learners,” were regulated 
under these orders, and like minors, were paid at a lower rate. By 1920, the minimum wage was 
raised to $16 a week.  
 
Three of the original members served for over ten years on the commission. These were 
Katherine Phillips Edson, well known suffragist and responsible for pure milk initiatives in 
Southern California; A.B. C. Dohrmann of  San Francisco,  president of the Emporium 
department store and shareholder of the Yosemite Park Company; and Walter G. Mathewson, 
secretary of the Building Trades Council of San Jose, representing labor. Judge Frank J. Murasky 
was forced to resign as chairman in 1919 due to a ruling that a judge could not also hold a non-
judicial state office. Albert Bonnheim, a dry goods merchant from Sacramento, died in 1916. 
 
The IWC was considered one of the most effective government agencies of its type in America. 
In the Commission’s early days, Edson proved to be the driving force for the Commission.  She 
worked 16 hour days and traveled extensively throughout the State.  However, it took the entire 
commission working together to reduce conflicts between labor and industry interests, bring non-
complying owners in line, improve working conditions for women and minors, and generally 
avoid litigation. 
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The commission experienced a number of setbacks in the twenties. In 1923, the US Supreme 
Court ruled that the minimum wage law in the District of Columbia was unconstitutional, putting 
at risk similar laws in all states. The commission continued to enforce the California minimum 
wage for women and minors by following a strategy of avoiding legal actions and working 
closely with both industry and labor.  In 1937, after a challenge to the Washington state 
minimum wage law, the Supreme Court reversed its decision. 
 
Another setback took place in 1922 when the commission lowered the minimum wage for the 
needle industry, based on studies showing a decrease in the cost of living. Labor organizations 
initiated a law suit.   While investigating the actions of the commission, the attorney general 
determined that all the wage orders created by the IWC were invalid due to a technicality, as 
each order had not followed the required 14 day notice. Subsequent reports showed that the cost 
of living was rising. The new order reinstated the $16 a week minimum wage. 
 
In 1927, a reorganization of state government placed the IWC under the Department of Industrial 
Relations.  The IWC continued to regulate wage orders while the Division of Industrial Welfare 
(DIW) provided enforcement.  In 1975 the DIW merged with the Division of Labor Law 
Enforcement and became the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement.  
 
Since its inception, the IWC followed a set pattern of proceedings with few modifications. The 
commission conducted a review of the minimum wage every two years. If the commission found 
that the minimum wage did not provide an adequate cost of living, an advisory wage board was 
convened. The wage board consisted of an equal number of employer and employee 
representatives and a chairperson, who held hearings and met for a few days until they completed 
their recommendations. The commission reviewed the wage board’s report and other evidence 
and then submitted its own decision.   
 
In 1976, the legislature added a provision that if at any time the state minimum wage fell below 
the federal minimum wage, the IWC could follow an abbreviated procedure and skip establishing 
a wage board.  The commission could also set a higher minimum wage than that established by 
the U.S. Congress, as exists in 2005 with a federal minimum wage of $5.15 an hour and a state 
one of $6.75. 
 
The IWC called a wage board review if it found that hours or conditions of labor seriously 
impacted the welfare of employees in any industry. During its history, many different industries 
and occupations were reviewed and included in the orders, ranging from motion picture extras in 
the twenties to software programmers and shepherds in 2000. 
 
World War II created new challenges for working women and the IWC. As women began 
performing work previously only done by men, the commission had to adjust its regulations and 
assure sanitary conditions were met. Margaret L Clark, chief of the Division of Industrial 
Welfare, wrote in the 1940-42 Biennial Report, “At a time when the worker in the plant is as 
important as the soldier on the front in the fight for spreading democracy, and with the 
established fact that seven productive workers are needed to supply one man in military service, 
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the safeguarding of these workers has passed the stage of sentimentality and has become a 
concrete weapon in the winning of the war.”  
 
By the sixties, the IWC faced ongoing legal challenges to its orders, especially over the issue of 
regulations only for women. In Rosenfield vs. Southern Company, the federal court ruled that 
Rosenfield had been denied a promotion due to the state’s laws limiting the hours of employment 
and the amount of weight a woman was allowed to lift.  This ruling cited the provisions of the 
Civil Rights Act of 1964 as prohibiting this kind of separate regulation. Similar findings led to 
the legislature extending the commission’s powers to include men in 1973. 
 
Throughout the next decade orders received greater scrutiny and were often under contention, 
usually based on whether IWC procedures were properly followed. All 1968 orders were 
invalidated due to maximum eight hour day for women. All 1974 orders were invalidated due to 
procedural grounds. Court challenges blocked enforcement of five of the 15 orders in 1976. 
Three other 1976 orders were not enforceable due to certain sections. Ultimately, courts found 
that there was an inadequate statement of basis for orders 9-76 (transportation) and 10-76 
(amusement and recreation) but all other orders were found valid. Fifteen revised orders were 
issued in 1980, for the first time protecting both men and women. These were challenged but 
found enforceable. 
 
During the eighties and nineties the commission faced conflicting issues over standard work 
weeks and daily overtime. In May 1997 funding for the IWC was removed, a political response 
to the decision of the commissioners to change from requiring overtime pay after eight hours in 
any day to overtime only after 40 hours in one week. When the legislature restored the daily 
overtime practice two years later, Gov. Gray Davis reinstated the commission. The IWC 
remained in operation until July 2004, when its funding was again eliminated from the state 
budget. The responsibility for setting the minimum wage and other workplace regulations was 
assumed by the state legislature. 
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