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What is vocational  
rehabilitation? 
 
 Vocational rehabilitation is a workers’ 
compensation benefit that helps injured workers 
return to work. 
 You generally qualify for vocational 
rehabilitation if you can no longer do your old 
job, and your employer does not offer you 
another. 
 If you qualify, a plan to return you to 
work will usually be developed by a vocational 
counselor - - with assistance from you and your 
claims administrator, the person who is handling 
your claim for your employer or your employer’s 
insurance company. 
 California law limits the amount of 
money for rehabilitation services. 
 
How do I find out if I’m eligible for 
vocational rehabilitation services? 
 
 When you are off work for 90 days, 
your claims administrator will give the doctor 
who is treating you a job description that lists the 
exact duties you performed at work. 

 Your claims administrator will ask for 
your help in preparing this job description.  This 
is to make sure that your doctor has an accurate 
picture of your job duties 
 Your participation is very important, 
because if you do not assist, the claims 
administrator may send your doctor the 
employer’s description of your job. 
 If you need help filling out the job 
description form, you may contact the Division 
of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) Information 
and Assistance office. 
 Once your doctor reports whether you 
can return to your job, you will receive a letter 
from the claims administrator and a copy of the 
doctor’s regarding medical eligibility. 
 If you are unable to return to your old 
job, your employer will decide whether you can 
return to other work with your disability.  You 
should receive a notice in about a month from 
the date you receive the notice of potential 
eligibility from the claims administrator. 
 If your employer offers you work 
within your medical restrictions, and you reject 
or fail to accept the job within 30 days of the 
offer, you will not qualify for rehabilitation 
services. 
 
What if the job my employer offered 
does not work out? 
 
You may still be entitled to rehabilitation 
services if the job doesn’t last for 12 months or 
your disability prevents you from performing the 
tasks. 
 If you have concerns, talk to your 
employer, claims administrator, or Information 
and Assistance officer. 

 
What if my employer does not offer me 
a job? 
 
 You will receive an offer of vocational 
rehabilitation services.  You have 90 days to 
accept.  You may ask for an evaluation to help 
you decide. 
 If you want services but can’t start 
immediately, you should let your claims 
administrator know and ask about the possibility 
of delaying services.   
 If you do not wish rehabilitation at all, 
you may decline these services by signing a 
form.  This ends your employer’s obligation to 
provide rehabilitation services at a later date. 
 
Can I settle my vocational 
rehabilitation services? 
 
 No, for injuries which occurred prior to 
January 1, 2003. California law does not permit 
prospective vocational rehabilitation services to 
be settled. 
 
 Yes, for injuries which occur on or after 
January 1, 2003. An employer and represented 
employee may agree to settle rights to 
prospective vocational rehabilitation services 
with a one-time payment not to exceed $10,000 
for use in self directed vocational rehabilitation. 
   
If I accept vocational rehabilitation, 
what should I expect? 
 
 You and your claims administrator can 
choose an agreed upon counselor who will 
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develop a rehabilitation plan for your.  This can 
include job modification, job placement 
assistance, short-term training, and self-
employment possibilities - - whatever is the best 
way to return to work 
 You also have the right to request a 
change of counselor. 
 
What income do I receive if I accept 
vocational rehabilitation? 
 
If you are receiving temporary disability 
payments when you start vocational 
rehabilitation, you may continue receiving them 
until your doctor reports your condition is 
“permanent and stationary.”  When this occurs, 
you will then receive a maintenance allowance 
of up to $246 per week. There is a 52-week limit 
to the maintenance allowance that counts against 
the $16,000 cap. It is better for you to start your 
rehabilitation as soon as possible.  You may also 
receive advance payments of permanent 
disability benefits to supplement the 
maintenance allowance. 
 
What are the limits of vocational 
rehabilitation? 
 
 The California Legislature has placed 
very strict limits on rehabilitation plans: 

* The plan must be completed within  
                 18 months. 

* Vocational rehabilitation  
maintenance allowance payments are 
limited 

                to a total of 52 weeks. 
 * Once you agree to a plan, changes 
                 are limited. 

 * Total cost, including maintenance 
allowance, counseling fees, services and  
expenses, are generally limited to $16,000. 
 
What if I’m already enrolled in a 
college or university? 
 
If you are already enrolled and have made 
substantial progress toward a degree or 
certificate at a community college, California 
State University, or the University of California, 
you may be able to waive the services of a 
rehabilitation counselor.  Funds normally paid 
for counseling may then be used to help pay for 
the college or university program in which you 
are enrolled.  Contact the DWC Rehabilitation 
Unit for details. 
 
What other services or benefits could I 
receive as part of the vocational 
rehabilitation benefit? 
 

* Transportation allowance at a  
rate specified by the State of California. 

* Specific costs required for your 
rehabilitation plan, such as the cost of re- 
training, supplies, tools and equipment, 
tuition and student fees. 

* Reasonable additional living 
expenses, such as temporary relocation costs 
during evaluation or training.  This consists of 
the costs of your food and lodging when you are 
required to be away from home. 
 * Reasonable relocation expenses if 
permanent relocation is required. 

 * Remember, total costs cannot be 
more than $16,000 except in very limited 
circumstances. 

 
What are my responsibilities? 
 
You are expected to: 

* Take an active role in your 
rehabilitation. 

* Complete assignments. 
* Be on time for all appointments,  

classes, interviews and scheduled meetings. 
* Notify your rehabilitation  

counselor immediately if you are unable to keep 
appointments. 

* Maintain an accurate, complete 
travel expense log. 
 * Stay in contact with and immediately 
notify your counselor of any problems. 
 * Keep your counselor and claims 
administrator advised of any change of your 
address or phone number. 
 * Be available for rehabilitation 
services Monday through Friday, during 
reasonable business hours. 
 You should be aware that if you do not 
participate fully, your maintenance allowance 
may be stopped. 
 
What are the claims administrator 
responsibilities? 
 
The claims administrator in a timely manner: 

* assists you in returning to 
   work with your employer. 
* pays your benefits that are due. 
* pays for rehabilitation services and  
   expenses that are agreed upon. 
* notifies you of changes in benefits 
* submits required paperwork to 
   DWC 
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* responds to your questions. 
 
If your claims administrator causes a 

delay in the provision of services, you may be 
entitled to additional benefits that could extend 
beyond the $16,000 limitation.  You must file a 
Request for Dispute Resolution (DWC Form 
RU-103) if you wish a written determination as 
to whether there was a delay. 
 
How do I request assistance from the 
DWC Rehabilitation Unit? 
 
We hope that you can resolve problems 
informally with your claims administrator.  
However, the DWC Rehabilitation Unit is the 
agency responsible for resolving disputes in 
vocational rehabilitation. 
 You can contact the Rehabilitation Unit 
by phone, or you may request assistance by 
completing a Request for Dispute Resolution 
(DWC RU-103). 
 There is also a toll-free information 
number you may call for a recorded message - - 
1-800-736-7401.  You may also request any 
forms or printed information that you may need 
by calling the toll free number. 
 
Should I have an attorney represent 
me?  How much will it cost? 
 
 Both the DWC rehabilitation consultant 
and the information and assistance officer are 
available to help at no cost to you. 
 If you decide you want the services of 
any attorney, you will be represented on matters 
involving your workers’ compensation claim(s). 
Your attorney will represent you before the 

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board and 
Rehabilitation Unit. Your attorney will also 
represent you in proceedings before any 
appellate court, or any proceedings designed to 
execute on an award.  

You should be aware that your weekly 
vocational rehabilitation maintenance allowance 
payment (VRMA) may be reduced to pay the 
attorney.  Generally 12% of your weekly VRMA 
is set aside for payment of attorney fees.  For 
example, if you are entitled to the maximum rate 
of $246 per week, a 12% reduction means that 
you would receive $216.48 per week.  For this 
reason, you should discuss fees with the 
attorney. 
 
You may or may not be entitled to other 
rights. 
 
The federal Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA) prohibits discrimination against qualified 
individuals.  Qualified individuals include 
persons who have a physical or mental 
impairment that substantially limits one or more 
life activities and who can perform essential job 
functions.  The employer is required to provide a 
reasonable accommodation if it would not 
impose an “undue hardship” on the employer. 
 For information on the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, call the Equal Opportunity 
Commission at 1-800-USA-EEOC. 
 The state Department of Fair 
Employment and Housing (FEHA) administers 
California laws that prohibit harassment or 
discrimination in employment, housing and 
public accommodations.  If you feel an employer 
has discriminated against you and you want 
information, the phone number is  

1-800-884-1684. 
 
Here is how to get helpful information: 
  
This publication is intended to answer the most 
frequently asked questions. It may not 
necessarily provide a solution for your particular 
problem, because the specific facts of your 
situation may call for a different approach.  The 
information contained here is general in nature, 
and not intended as a substitute for legal advice. 
 If you have more questions after 
reading this publication, contact one of the DWC 
Information and Assistance offices or 
Rehabilitation offices listed in the white pages of 
your telephone directory under “State 
Government Offices, Department of Industrial 
Relations” or contact the web site at:  
www.dir.ca.gov
 
 
ANYONE WHO KNOWINGLY FILES OR ASSISTS IN 
THE FILING OF A FALSE WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION CLAIM MAY BE FINED UP TO 
$50,000 AND SENT TO PRISON FOR UP TO FIVE 
YEARS. 
 

[Insurance Code Section 1871.4] 
 
 
 

State of California 
Department of Industrial Relations 
Division of Workers Compensation 

Rehabilitation Unit 
Note: Authority cited: Sections 133, 139.5, 
139.5, 139.6, and 5307.3, Labor Code.  
Reference: Sections 139.5, 4646, and 4636, 
Labor Code. 
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