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Regulatory Update 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill 
Payment Records, Version 2.0 

 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for First and 
Subsequent Reports of Injury, Versions 3.0 & 3.1 

 

• Administrative Penalties 

 

 



Medical Billing Data 
 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill Payment 
Records, Version 2.0 was updated in April 2015 to reflect and be 
consistent with requirements in IAIABC’s Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Bill Data Reporting Implementation Guide, Release 2.0 
(dated February 1, 2014). 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for Medical Bill Payment 
Records, Version 2.0 is being further updated to reflect and be 
consistent with requirements in IAIABC’s Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Bill Data Reporting Implementation Guide, Release 2.0 
(dated February 1, 2015).    

• Title 8, California Code of Regulations sections 9701 and 9702 are 
being simultaneously updated to reflect and be consistent with new 
EDI reporting requirements.  

 

 



 
 
 
 
 
 

Medical Billing Data 
 

• The current updates to the Medical Billing Guide 
are being accomplished in the same rulemaking as 
the updates to Medical Data Reporting.  We 
anticipate the current rulemaking update to be 
complete by the end of 2016.   

 

• However, the changes will not take effect until six 
months following filing of the regulations with the 
Secretary of State. 

 



First Report & Subsequent Reports of Injury 
 

• California EDI Implementation Guide for First 
and Subsequent Reports of Injury, Version 3.0 was 
released on November 1, 2011. 

 

• WCIS is in the process of updating the EDI 
Implementation Guide for First and Subsequent 
Reports of Injury to Version 3.1, and 8 C.C.R. 
section 9701 and 9702. 

 

 

 

 

 

 



First Report & Subsequent Reports of Injury 
 

• The current updates to the FROI/SROI 
Guide are being accomplished in the same 
rulemaking as the updates to Medical Data 
Reporting.  We anticipate the rulemaking 
being complete by the end of 2016.   

 

• However, the changes will not take effect 
until 12 months following filing of the 
regulations with the Secretary of State. 

 

 

 

 



Administrative Penalties 

• Labor Code section 138.6 requires DWC to: 

 

• Assess administrative penalties for WCIS data reporting 
violations by claims administrators. 

 

• Promulgate a schedule of penalties against a claims 
administrator in any given year.   

 

 



Administrative Penalties 
 no more than $100 per violation when a report is not 

submitted or not accepted. 

 

 no more than $50 per violation for violations involving 
errors or late filings. 

 

 Penalties were capped at $5,000 per year per claims 
administrator. However, SB 1160 has increased that 
amount to $10,000 per  year.  

 



Administrative Penalties 

• The schedule of administrative penalties will also 
establish threshold rates for violations that shall be 
excluded from the calculation of penalty assessments.  

 

• Threshold rates cannot be less than 3% of the reports 
filed by the claims administrator.   

 

• Higher thresholds rates for  may be set for data elements 
that commonly are not reasonably available. 

 



Administrative Penalties 
 

 Penalties collected pursuant to this penalty schedule 
shall be deposited in the Workers’ Compensation 
Revolving Fund.  

 

 DWC Office of the Administrative Director shall 
publish an annual report on the compliance rates of 
claims administrators, which will be published on 
DWC’s website.  

 


