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CHOOSING MEDICAL CARE FOR WORK-RELATED 
INJURIES and ILLNESSES 

 
California law requires your employer to provide and pay for medical treatment if you are injured 
at work.  Your employer has chosen to provide this medical care by using a health plan called a 
Workers' Compensation Health Care Organization, or HCO.  This form gives you information 
about the HCO program, and describes your rights in choosing medical care for work-related 
injuries and illnesses. 
 
What is an HCO? 
 
A Workers' Compensation Health Care Organization is an organization which has been certified 
by the State of California Division of Workers' Compensation to provide health care to injured 
workers.  HCOs must meet the quality and service standards set by the Division of Workers' 
Compensation.  They must have health care providers who understand the workers' compensation 
system and occupational health care.  The HCO must be able to work with employers and 
workers to improve worksite health and safety. 
 
If you choose an HCO, the HCO will coordinate all aspects of the care for your work injury, 
including working with your employer to help you get back to work in a job that will not make 
the injury worse.  The HCO must provide information on the services they provide to injured 
workers and must answer your questions and complaints.  By choosing an HCO, you may help 
your employer save money.  There is no cost to you in choosing an HCO. 
 
Choosing an HCO 
 
Your employer must give you a choice of two HCOs has offered you enrollment in an HCO.  If 
your employer's workers' compensation insurance company owns or controls one of the HCOs 
this HCO, you must have a third choice your employer must tell you this during the enrollment 
process.  Your employer must give you information on each about the HCO before you make a 
choice. 
 
If you choose to enroll in the an HCO, you must use the HCO for any medical treatment you need 
as a result of a work injury for at least 90 days after the injury.  If you choose an HCO and your 
employer pays for at least one-half of your health insurance (for non-work injuries), then you 
must use the HCO for at least 180 days after a work injury.  In some HCOs, your own personal 
physician or chiropractor for your regular health care is available to treat you for work 
injuries/illnesses. If so, you must use the HCO for one year after a work injury. 
 
Choosing Your Own Doctor -- Not in an HCO 
 
If you do not want to be treated by an the HCO after a work injury, you can "designate" your own 
personal physician or chiropractor who has treated you before and who has your medical records.  
If you choose your own physician or chiropractor, you may go to him or her any time for 
treatment of a work injury. 
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MAKING YOUR CHOICE 
For Workers’ Compensation Health Care 

 
Use this form to choose how you want to get medical care if you have a work-related injury or 
illness.  You may choose one of the Workers' Compensation Health Care Organizations 
Organization offered by your employer, or you may designate your own personal physician or 
chiropractor.  If you choose to designate your own physician or chiropractor, you should do so in 
the space provided below your employer will give you another form within three days.  If you do 
not make one of these choices, your employer will decide where you will enroll you in the HCO 
in order for you to receive treatment for a work injury or illness. 
 
If you have questions about HCOs or medical treatment after a work injury, you may call an 
Information and Assistance officer.  Find the telephone number in the phone book listed under 
State of California, Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Workers Compensation.  If 
you have concerns, complaints or questions regarding a specific HCO or the enrollment process 
you can call 1-800-277-1767. 
  
THIS IS AN IMPORTANT LEGAL DOCUMENT THAT AFFECTS YOUR RIGHTS IF YOU 
HAVE A WORK INJURY. 
 

 
� I want to enroll in an HCO for my medical care for any work related 

injury or illness.  I have received information about different the 
Health Care Organizations Organization offered by my employer and 
want to enroll in: that HCO. 

    
      (Write in the name of the HCO you have chosen) 
 
� I do not want to enroll in an HCO.  I want my personal physician or 

personal chiropractor to treat me for any work-related injury or illness.  
My personal physician is: 

            
      (Write in the name and address of your personal physician or 

chiropractor) 
 
� I do not want to enroll in an HCO or designate a personal physician or 

chiropractor to treat me for any work-related injury or illness.  I 
understand that my employer can choose which will enroll me in the 
HCO will treat me for treatment of any work-related injury or illness. 

 
 
 

     
(Print) Name of Employee  Signature 
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