STATE OF CALIFORNIA GRAY DAVIS, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS ENFORCEMENT

Santa Rosa Legal Section
50 D Street, Suite 360

Santa Rosa, CA 95404

(707) 576-6788

H. THOMAS CADELL, Of Counsel

June 24, 2002

LaVerne David

Strategic Business Partners, Inc.

15068 Rosecrans Ave., #318

L.a Mirada, CA 950638 -

Re:

Dear Ms.

Labor Code Section 233

David:

Anne Stevason, Acting Chief Counsel of the Division, has asked
me to respond on behalf of the Division of Labor Standards
Enforcement to your letter of March 4, 2002 regarding the above-
referenced topic.

1.

Your first question asks whether the provisions of Labor
Code § 233 apply to public employers such as municipal
corporations.

The provisions of Labor Code § 233 (b) (2) defines “employer”
for purposes of the section and clearly indicates that the
legislation was designed to include the “state, political
subdivisions of the state, and municipalities.” In the
view of the DLSE, this broadly worded coverage includes all
public entities in California.

Next you ask whether the section applies if there is an
existing labor agreement in place that discusses sick
leave.

There is no exception for collective bargaining situations
in the statute and, inasmuch as the provisions of the
section are clearly intended to constitute a state mandated
minimum standard, the enforcement would not be pre-empted
by the National Labor Relations Act. (See Livadas V.
Bradshaw 521 U.S. 107, 114 S.Ct. 2068 (1994))

You ask how would Labor Code § 233 apply if:
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a. The company is a public corporation and employees are
covered by a collectiverbargaining agreement.

b. Employees accumulate 8 hours vacation! per month.

¢. During the year 2001, an employee does not use any sick
leave; therefore, he/she has accumulated 12 days sick
time.

d. In January of 2002, the employee asks for § days of Kin
Care.

You then ask whether the employer should take into
consideration the accumulated sick time from 2001, which would be
available for the employee’s own illness, and grant the 6 days of
use as Kin Care. The answer is yes.

The Legislative Analyst’s report attached to AB 109 provided:
"This bill would require an employer who provides sick
leave, as defined, for employees to permit an employee to

use in any calendar year accrued sick leave, in an amount

not less than the -amount. earned during 6 months’
employment, to attend to the illness of a child, parent,

Or spouse of the employee.”

a sick leave bolicy in effect, time for caring for family members
was provided in the same manner as sick leave time which arises as
a result of the employee himself being 111, with the exception, of
course, of the limit on the amount of accrual which may be taken in

We hope this adequately addresses the questions you raised in
your letter. Pleage eéxcuse the delay in responding, we hope that
such delay has not greatly inconvenienced you.

Yours truly,

H. THOMAS CADELL, JR.
Attorney for the Labor Commissioner

.IWe assume for purposes of this question that you mean “sick leave” not
acation, since vacation is accrued under the provisions of Labor Code § 227.3
and, under California law, is vested and cannot be forfeited.
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c.c. Arthur Lujan, State Labor Commissioner
Tom Grogan, Chief Deputy Labor Commissioner
Anne Stevason, Acting Chief Counsel
Assistant Labor Commissiocners
Regional Managers
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