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1. MINOR DEFINED 

Almost all minors under the age of 18 are subject to California’s child labor protections.  
Under the California Labor Code, “minor” means any person under the age of 18 
years who is required to attend school under the provisions of the Education Code, and 
includes minors under age six. Nonresidents of the state who would be subject to 
California’s compulsory education laws if they were residents are also considered minors 
and are subject to all the requirements and protections of the Labor Code. [LC 1286(c)] 
(See Chapter 3 of this digest). The Labor Code definition means, for example, the high 
school graduates under the age of 18, who are not subject to the compulsory education 
laws, are entirely excluded from permit requirements, work hour restrictions, and all 
occupational prohibitions. However, under federal regulation high school graduates may 
not be employed in an occupation prohibited to minors under 18 unless they have also 
completed a bona fide course of training in that occupation. [29 CFR 570.50] “Dropouts” 
are still subject to California’s compulsory education laws, and thus are subject to all 
state child labor requirements. (See Chapter 2 of this digest). Emancipated minors are 
subject to all California’s child labor laws, except that they may apply for a work permit 
without their parents’ permission.  [FC 7050] (See Chapter 3 of this digest). 

2. SCHOOL ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS 

Minors age six through 15 years must attend school full-time unless the minor is a high 
school graduate [EC 49110], attends an approved alternative school [EC4822], is tutored 
[EC 48224], is on an approved leave absence [EC 48232], has transferred from another 
state with less than 10 days left in the school year [EC 48231], or has justifiable personal 
reasons requested by the parent and approved by the principal including, illness, court 
appearances, religious observances and retreats, funerals, or employment conferences. 
[EC 48205] In rare circumstances, 14 and 15 year olds enrolled in Work Experience 
Education may be granted a permit to work full-time during school hours. [EC 49130] 
(See Chapter 5 of this digest). 

Sixteen and seventeen year olds, who have not graduated from high school or who have 
not received a certificate of proficiency may opt to attend part-time classes. Those who 
are regularly employed must attend continuation classes for at least four hours per week. 
Those not regularly employed must attend continuation classes for at least 15 hours per 
week.  [EC 48400 and 48402]  No minor may legally drop out of school entirely. 

Note: Schools may excuse the absences of a pupil who holds an entertainment work 
permit or who participates with a not-for-profit arts organization in a performance for a 
public school audience. For additional information, refer to the section entitled, 
“Excused School Absences,” in Chapter 9 of this digest. 
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3. PERMITS TO EMPLOY AND WORK 

Overview 

Except in limited circumstances defined in law and summarized below, all minors under 
18 years of age employed in the state of California must have a permit to work. [EC 
49160; LC 1299] The federal Fair Labor Standards Act also requires a certificate of age 
for working minors. The state Permit to Employ and Work (“Permit”) is accepted as the 
federal certificate [EC 49110, 49112, 49113, 49116] 

Employers must have a Permit to Employ and Work on file and available for inspection 
by school and labor officials at all times. [LC 1299, EC 49161 and 49164] Permits to 
Employ and Work are issued on the same form. Permits are always required, even when 
school is not in session. Permits are issued for specific employment at a specified 
address. [EC 49115 and 49163] Permits contain the maximum number of hours a minor 
may work in a day and week, the range of hours during the day that a minor may work, 
any limitations, and any additional restrictions imposed at the school’s discretion. 

Permits may not be issued that violate any provision of law. [EC 49164] Thus, all 
restrictions on minimum ages for employment in various occupations and all work hour 
restrictions must be strictly followed. (See Chapters 5, 6, 7, and 8 of this digest).  
Neither school nor labor officials are empowered to waive, at any time or under any 
circumstances, any minimum labor standard established by law or regulation. 

Minors work with the permission of the local school district, and no law requires schools 
to issue permits for the maximum hours allowed by law or for every occupation for 
which a minor might be eligible. Thus, depending on the minor’s particular 
circumstances or local district policy, school officials may impose additional restrictions 
at their discretion. Any violation of such special restrictions subjects the permit to 
revocation. [EC 49164] Any person empowered to issue a permit that knowingly 
certifies to false information on a permit, commits a misdemeanor.  [EC 49183] 

Permits to Employ and Work may be denied or canceled at any time by school officials 
or the Labor Commissioner, whenever the conditions for the issuance of the certificate or 
permit do not exist, no longer exist, or have never existed. [LC 1300; EC 49164] School 
officials who determine that school work or health of the minor is impaired by the 
employment may revoke the permit. 
[EC 49116] 

Permits issued during the school year expire five days after the opening of the next 
succeeding school year and must be renewed.  [EC 49118] 
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Inclusions 

Federal and state occupational restrictions are such that in most cases minors must be at 
least 14 years of age to begin working. Any minor who is at least 12 years of age may be 
issued a permit by school officials [EC 49111], however few occupations are available to 
them. (See Chapters 6 and 7 of this digest). Exception: An employer must first obtain a 
Permit to Employ Minors in the entertainment industry before a minor may be employed 
in such industry. Additionally, the minor’s parent or legal guardian must obtain an 
Entertainment Work Permit before the minor may be employed in the entertainment 
industry.  Both such permits are issued by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement. 
[LC 1308.5 CCR 11752 and 11753] Please refer to Chapter 9 of this digest for 
additional information regarding minors working in the entertainment industry. 

A minor enrolled in a Work Experience Education program must obtain a work permit, 
and his or her employer must possess a permit to employ. The minor must be at least 16 
years of age to be enrolled in a Work Experience Education program, with certain 
exceptions as specified in the Education Code. 
[EC 49113] 

An apprentice in a bona fide apprenticeship training program must have the standard 
Permit to Employ and Work issued by his or her school. Apprentices must be at least 16 
years of age.  [LC 3077] 

Parents who employ their children in any occupation permitted to minors, including 
industrial, mercantile, or similar commercial enterprises, must obtain the standard Permit 
to Employ and Work. [EC 49141] This means that parents must obtain permits for the 
employment of their minor children in any enterprise, unless they employ their minor 
children in agriculture or domestic labor. (See “Permit Exclusions” below and Chapter 
10 of this digest). 

Minors visiting from another state (or country, if eligible to work in the United States) 
who wish to work in California must obtain the standard Permit to Employ and Work, 
and their employers must possess such permit. [LC 1286 and 1299; EC 49160 and 
49164] These permits may be issued by the local school district in which the minor will 
reside while visiting.  [EC 49110] 

Emancipated minors must have the standard Permit to Employ and Work, and employers 
employing them must possess this permit. Emancipated minors are those persons under 
18 who have entered into a valid marriage (whether or not the marriage was dissolved), 
are on active duty with the armed services, or possess a “Declaration of Emancipation” 
issued by the superior court. Minors declared emancipated by the court must be at least 
14 years of age. Emancipated minors may apply for a Permit to Employ and Work 
without parental consent [FC 7000 et seq.], but they are subject to all other child labor 
laws. So-called “dropouts” under 18 are still subject to California’s compulsory 
education laws, and must, therefore, have permits in order to work. 
(See Chapter 2 of this digest). 
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Exclusions 

High school graduates or minors who have been awarded a certificate of proficiency are 
exempt from the permit requirements.  [EC 49101; LC 1286] Minors do not need to attain 
a minimum age in order to graduate from high school. However, to qualify for a 
certificate of proficiency, the minor must be at least 16 years of age, or must have been 
enrolled for one academic year in the 10th grade, or have completed one academic year of 
enrollment in the 10th grade at the end of the semester the test was taken. 

Parents or guardians who employ their children in agriculture, horticulture, viticulture, or 
domestic labor on or in connection with property the parent or guardian owns, operates, 
or controls do not require permits.  [LC 1394] 

Minors who are self-employed do not require permits. 

Minors irregularly employed in odd jobs in private homes, such as baby-sitting, lawn 
mowing, and leaf raking, do not need to obtain a Permit to Employ and Work. [18 Ops. 
Cal. Atty. Gen. 114, August 31, 1951] 

Minors engaged in the sale and distribution of newspapers or magazines are often self-
employed, and thus do not require permits. Minors who are at least 14 years of age and 
employed to deliver newspapers to consumers do not require permits, whether or not they 
are self-employed.  [EC 49112 (d)] 
Requirements for this occupation are detailed in Chapter 7 of this digest. 

Minors of any age who participate in any horseback riding exhibition, contest, or event, 
whether or not they receive payment for services or prize money do not need to obtain a 
Permit to Employ and Work. [EC 49119 and 49165; LC 1308(b) (3)] Note: Minors 
under 16 years of age are prohibited from participating in any rough stock rodeo event, 
circus, or race. “Rough stock rodeo event” means any rodeo event operated for profit or 
operated by other than a nonprofit organization in which unbroken, little-trained, or 
imperfectly trained animals are ridden or handled by the participant, and shall include, 
but not be limited to, saddle bronco riding, bareback riding, and bull riding.” “Race” 
means any speed contest between two or more animals that are on a course at the same 
time and that is operated for profit or operated other than by nonprofit organizations.” 
[LC 1308(b) (3)] 

State and local agencies that directly employ minors are not included in the Labor Code’s 
child labor provisions, and are exempt from permit requirements. State and local 
agencies must be expressly included in the Labor Code to be subject to its requirements. 
State and local agencies are, however, covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act 
and must meet all of its requirements. [29 USC 203 (s) (1) 
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Obtaining Permits to Employ and Work 

Prior to permitting the minor to work, employers must possess a valid Permit to Employ 
and Work. The minor’s school issues the permit. In typical circumstances, after an 
employer agrees to hire a minor, the minor then obtains from his or her school a brief 
form with the title “Statement of Intent to Employ Minor and Request for Work Permit” 
(“Application”). [EC 49162] The application is completed by the minor and the 
employer, and signed by the minor’s parent or guardian and the prospective supervisor.  
[EC 49163] After returning the completed and signed application to the school, school 
officials may then issue the Permit to Employ and Work.  [EC 49110 – 49113 and 49130] 
Exception: A minor employed in the entertainment industry must have an Entertainment 
Work Permit issued by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement. [LC 1308.5, CCR 
11753] The employer of such a minor must have a Permit to Employ Minors in the 
Entertainment Industry that is also issued by the Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement.  [CCR 11752] (See Chapter 9 of this digest). 

Minors Who Attend a Charter School 

A minor attending a charter school* who wishes to work, must obtain the standard Permit 
to Employ and Work, and the employer must possess such permit. Either the minor’s 
school or the authority that granted the school’s charter (normally the local school 
district) may issue the permit. 

*Please see EC 47600 et seq. for a description of charter schools and how they are established. 
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4. WAGES 

Minors must be paid at least the minimum wage and applicable overtime rates established 
by the California Industrial Welfare Commission. [LC 1197, IWC Orders Section 4]  
Employers who are subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (and most are) must 
pay the applicable federal minimum wage and overtime rates. [29 USC 206, 207, and 
214] Whenever state and federal wage standards differ; the higher wage must always be 
paid.  [LC 1182, 29 USC 218] 

Required Payment of Adults Wage Rates 

High school graduates or the equivalent must be paid commensurate with adults when 
they perform the same quantity, quality, and classification of work. This includes wage 
rates that are above the minimum wage.  [LC 1391.2 

Minors participating in Work Experience Education programs and who work between 10 
p.m. and 12:30 a.m. (an extension of hours which requires the express approval of parents 
and school officials) must be paid at least the adult minimum wage for any work 
performed during those hours.  [LC 1391.1] 

Sixteen and seventeen year olds who are permitted to work 48 hours in a week must be 
paid any applicable overtime pay.  [LC 1391 (a) (3), IWC Orders Section 3, USC 207] 

FEDERAL OPPORTUNITY WAGE & IWC LEANER & MINOR RATES 

Amendments to FLSA also provide a subminimum “opportunity wage” for youth. The 
opportunity wage, effective October 1, 1996, must be at least $4.25 per hour and applies 
only to workers under 20 years of age during the first 90 consecutive calendar days after 
the employee is initially hired. [29 USC 206 (g)] It is unlawful for an employer to 
displace a current employee or reduce his or her work hours or benefits in order to pay 
the opportunity wage. 

State labor regulations (IWC Orders Section 4 Learners) allows a learner employee to be 
paid at 85% of the minimum wage rounded to the nearest nickel during their first 160 
hours of employment in occupations in which the employee has no previous similar or 
related experience.   

In order to pay a subminimum wage, a California employer who is also subject to the 
FLSA and local law must determine if the employment is eligible for a subminimum 
“opportunity wage” under federal and local law simultaneously. If the employment 
violates any state requirements, then the state minimum wage must be paid even though 
the employment meets all federal subminimum wage requirements. Likewise, if the 
employment violates any federal requirement, the federal minimum wage must be paid 
even though the employment meets all state subminimum wage requirements. 
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In a special case in which a statute overrides the applicable IWC Order [Order No. 10 in 
this case], student employees, camp counselors, or program counselors of an organized 
camp, regardless of age, may be paid a weekly salary amounting to 85% of the 
minimum wage for a 40 hour week, even if they work more than 40 hours in a week. 
[LC 1182.4] This provision does not exempt employers from the maximum work hour 
limits for minors established in Labor Code Section 1391, which are explained in Chapter 
5 of this digest. Thus, the only savings on overtime hours that can apply are those for16 
and 17 year olds, who are allowed to work up to 48 hours per week. [LC 1391 (a) (3)] If 
student employees, camp counselors, or program counselors, regardless of age, work less 
than 40 hours per week, they must be paid at least 85% of the minimum wage for each 
hour worked. An “organized camp” is defined in state law as a site with program and 
facilities established for the primary purposes of providing an outdoor group living 
experience with social, spiritual, educational, or recreational objectives, for five days or 
more during one or more seasons of the year. The term does not include a motel, tourist 
camp, trailer park, resort, hunting camp, auto court, labor camp, penal or correctional 
camp, child care institution, home-finding agency, or any charitable or recreational 
organization operating a special (i.e., temporary) occupancy trailer park. [HSC 18897 
and 18301] The organized camp must meet the standards established by the American 
Camping Association. 

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act also exempts from minimum wage and overtime 
requirements employees of organized camps (and amusement or recreational 
establishments and religious or nonprofit educational conference centers) if the facility 
does not operate for more than seven months in any calendar year or if its average 
receipts for any six months of the preceding year do not exceed 33 1/3% of the receipts 
for the remaining six months of the preceding year. However, private entities providing 
services or facilities in a National Park, National Forest, or National Wildlife Refuge is 
not exempt from federal wage requirements, unless the services or facilities are related to 
skiing. [29 USC 213 (a) (3)] 

Minimum Wage Exemptions 

State minimum wage and overtime exemptions are listed in the applicable IWC Order.  
Employers who are also subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act should also check 
with the U.S. Department of Labor to determine if the state’s exemption coincides with 
federal requirements. Exemptions for parent or guardians are explained in Chapter 10 of 
this digest. 
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5. HOURS OF WORK 

SUMMARY CHART 

SCHOOL  

IN  

SESSION*  

SCHOOL  
NOT  IN  

SESSION  

SPREAD OF 
HOURS  

Ages 16  &  17  
Must have completed  7th  grade to  

work  while school in  session.  
(EC  49112)  

4  hours  per  day  on  any  schoolday**  
[EC  49112; 49116; LC  1391]  

8  hours  on  any  non-schoolday  or  on  
any  day  preceding  a non-schoolday.  
[EC  49112; 49116; LC  1391]  

48  hours  per  week  [LC  1391]  

WEE  students  &  personal 
attendants***  may  work  more than  4  
hours  on  a schoolday,  but never  more 
than  8.  See text. [EC  49116; LC  
1391,  1392]  

8  hours  per  day  [LC  1391,  1392]   

48  hours  per  week  [LC  1391]  
5  a.m.  –  10  p m.  However,  until 12:30
a.m.  on  any  evening  preceding  a
nonschoolday  [LC  1391]  

WEE  students,  with  permission,  until
12:30  a m.  on  any  day  [LC  1391.1]  

Messengers: 6  a.m.  –  9  p m.  

 
 

 

Ages 14  &  15  
Must have completed  7th  grade to  

work  while school in  session  
(EC  49112)  

3  hours  per  schoolday  outside of  
school hours   
[EC  49112,  49116; LC  1391]  

8  hours  on  any  non-schoolday  

18  hours  per  week  [EC  49116; LC  
1391]  

WEE  students  may  work  during  
school hours  &  up  to  23  hours  per  
week.  See text. [EC  49116; LC  1391]  

8  hours  per  day  [LC  1391,  1392]   

40  hours  per  week  [LC  1391]  
7  a.m.  –  7  p.m.,  except that from  June  
1  through  Labor  Day,  until  9  p.m.  
[LC  1391]  

Ages 12 & 13 

May  be employed  only  during  school 
holidays  and  vacations  (usually  
construed  to  include weekends).  May  
never  be employed  on  any  schoolday,  
either  before or  after  school. [EC  
49111]  See text.  

Daily  and  weekly  work  hour  
maximums  while school is in  session  
are not specified  in  statute,  but  may  
not exceed  the maximum  allowed  
when  school is not in  session  or  the 
maximum  stated  on  permit.  
[EC  49111; LC  1391,  1392]  See text.  

Not eligible for  WEE  programs.  [EC  
49113]  
8  hours  per  day  [LC  1391,  1392]   

40  hours  per  week  [LC  1391]  
7  a.m.  – 7  p.m.,  except that from  June  
1  through  Labor  Day,  until  9  p m.  
[LC  1391]  

 

PENALTIES 

EC 49111, 49112, 49116 Misdemeanor. [EC 49182] 
LC 1297 Misdemeanor.[LC 1303] 
LC 1391 First violation, Class B, $500; second violation, Class B, $1,000; third and subsequent violations, Class A, 
$5,000 - $10,000. [LC 1288] Misdemeanor.[1303] 
LC 1392 Class A violation $5,000 - $10,000. (Minor must be a ward or apprentice.) Misdemeanor. [LC 1392] 

• Permits must be revoked (by school officials or the Labor Commissioner) if work exceeds the hours stated 
on the permit. 
[LC 1300; EC 49164] 

• With few exceptions, all employees are entitled to one day of rest in seven. [LC 551, 552] Days of rest may 
be accumulated providing that in each calendar month the employee receives the equivalent of one day of 
rest in seven. [LC 554] A violation of Sections 551, 552 and 554 is a misdemeanor. [LC 553]. School 
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attendance is not considered work time. 

• See Chapter 11 of this digest for additional details on penalties 

*Statutes governing workhours for 14- and 15-year-olds use the phrase, "while school is in session", for the three-
hour day, 18-hour week. California provides no precise definition of this phrase. However, the phrase is also used in 
federal regulations from which California's standard is derived [29 CFR 570.35(a)]. The U.S. Department of Labor 
considers the term "school in session" to mean the scheduled schooldays of the public school system in the county 
where the minor resides. A school week under federal standards is any week during which school is in session for at 
least one day. Thus, school is considered in session during any week that has at least one scheduled schoolday. Since 
the school session is derived from the schedule for the county's public schools, school may be considered in session 
for a minor who attends a private school that is closed during the summer if the public schools are in session at that 
same time. 

**A "schoolday" is any day that the minor is required to attend school for 240 minutes or more. [EC 49116; LC 
1391] 

***"Personal attendant" is specifically defined; see "Household Occupations" in Chapter 7 of this digest. 

Work Hour Exceptions for Sixteen and Seventeen Year Olds 

Sixteen and seventeen year olds enrolled in Work Experience or cooperative vocational 
education programs approved by the California Department of Education or those 
conducted by private schools may work on any day after 10 p.m., but not later than 12:30 
a.m., provided that the parent or guardian and the Work Experience Education 
coordinator approve. Such employment may not be detrimental to the health, education, 
or welfare of the minor. Minors in these programs who work between the hours of 10 
p.m. and 12:30 a.m. must be paid at least the adult minimum wage for those hours. [LC 
1391.1] As the chart indicates, 16 and 17 year olds enrolled in a school approved Work 
Experience or cooperative vocational education program may work more than 4 hours on 
a school day, but never more than eight hours in any day. [EC 49116, LC 1391 and 
1392] 

Sixteen and seventeen year olds employed in agricultural packing plants during the peak 
harvest season may work up to 10 hours on any day that school is not in session. Such 
employment requires a special permit granted by the Labor Commissioner to the 
employer operating the packing plant. Permits may only be granted if they do not 
materially affect the safety and welfare of minor employees and will prevent undue 
hardship on the employer. The Labor Commissioner may require an inspection of a 
packing plant prior to granting the permit. Permits may be revoked after reasonable 
notice is given in writing or immediately if any of its terms or conditions are violated.  
Applications must be made upon a form provided by the Labor Commissioner and a copy 
must be posted at the place of employment at the time the application is submitted. [LC 
1393]*  
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Work Hour Exceptions for Fourteen and Fifteen Year Olds 

Fourteen and fifteen year olds who have successfully completed elementary school and 
are enrolled in a Work Experience Education program may be issued permits for full-
time employment if: (1) it is demonstrated that through the death or desertion of the 
minor’s father or mother, the family needs the minor’s earnings and sufficient aid cannot 
be secured in any other manner; (2) the minor is unable to reside with his or her family 
and such full-time earnings are necessary for the support of the minor; or (3) the minor is 
residing in foster care and, with the written authorization of their social worker, probation 
officer, or child protective services worker, they wish to further the goal of obtaining a 
court ordered Declaration of Emancipation or gain knowledge of work skills and habits. 
[EC 49130] 

*As of January 1, 1996, authority for this extension rest solely and expressly with the Labor Commissioner; school 
officials are not required to review or amend work permits to reflect the extended hours. 

School officials must investigate the conditions claimed for issuance of this permit and 
issue a written judgment that the earnings are needed for the support of the minor and that 
sufficient aid cannot be secured in any other way. For minors who are in foster care, the 
school official must sign a statement that he or she has received authorization from the 
minor’s social worker, probation officer, or child protective services worker. [EC 49130] 
These permits may only be issued if the minor’s parent or guardian appears in person 
before the permit issuer and applies for the permit. [EC 49132] In addition, the issuing 
authority must receive and examine bona fide and current school and attendance records, 
proof of age, a written statement from the prospective employer affirming and describing 
the prospective employment, and a certificate of health signed by a physician or public 
medical officer that the minor is physically fit for the prospective employment. No fee 
may be charged the minor for this certificate. [EC 49133] Finally, the parent, guardian, 
or custodian who accompanies the minor must swear an oath that his or her statement of 
the name, address, birthplace, and age of the minor entered on the application are true and 
correct to the best of their knowledge. [EC 49134] These permits must expire no later 
than the end of the school year in which they are issued. [EC 49130] Note: These 
permits may only be issued for employment that is exempt from the federal Fair Labor 
Standards Act. See Chapter 12 of this digest or contact the nearest office of the Wage 
and Hour Division of the U. S. Department of Labor for further information. 

Work Hour Exceptions for Fourteen and Fifteen Year Old Sports Attendants 

Fourteen and fifteen year olds may be employed in “sports attending services” at 
professional baseball games until 10:00 p.m. on any night preceding a school day or until 
12:30 p.m. on any night preceding a nonschool day. When school is in session, fourteen 
and fifteen year olds may work a maximum of 5 hours per day and 18 hours per week as 
professional baseball “sports attendants.” When school is not in session, they may work 
a maximum of 40 hours per week.  [LC 1295.5] 
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No minor may be permitted to work in professional baseball sports attending services 
without the prior written approval of either his or her school district or county board of 
education.  [LC 1295.5] 

Work Hours for Twelve and Thirteen Year Olds 

Twelve and thirteen year olds may be issued permits to work in the occupations permitted 
to them on a “regular school holiday, during the regular vacation of the public school…, 
and during a specified occasional public school vacation…” but not on any regular school 
day, either before or after school. [EC 49111, 49112, and 49116] The phrases referring 
to vacations and holidays are not precisely defined, but are usually construed to include 
weekends during the regular school year. Daily and weekly work hour maximums for 12 
and 13 who may work during the regular school year are not specified in any statute, and 
are therefore left to local school officials to determine. [EC 49111] However, it is very 
unlikely that any local school official would issue permits allowing 12 and 13 year olds 
to work hours in excess of the 3 per day and 18 per week accorded to 14 and 15 year 
olds. At no time during the year or under any circumstances may 12 and 13 year olds 
work more than 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a week in the occupations permitted to 
them. [LC 1391] 

Note: State law provides that a 13 year old may be issued a permit to work up to 2 hours on a 
school day and up to 4 hours in a week if he or she has completed sixth grade, been identified by 
the school district as a potential dropout, and is a participant in an employment program 
conducted on school premises and sponsored by one or more school districts. [EC 49112] Note: 
State schools are subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, which prohibits employment of 
minors under 14 except in an exempted occupation. See Chapter 12 of this digest for those 
exemptions or contact the nearest office of the Wage and Hour Division of the U. S. Department 
of Labor for further information. 

Work hour Exceptions Applicable to All Age Groups 

High school graduates or those awarded a certificate of proficiency may be employed for 
the same hours as adults and do not require permits.  [LC 1286] 

School officials may restrict working hours to fewer than the maximum allowed by law.  
Minors work with the permission of school authorities, and no law requires school 
authorities to issue a permit for the maximum hours allowed by law. 

Minors aged 12 to 18 who enter an attendance area from another state with less than 10 
days remaining in the school term may be issued permits for the remainder of the school 
term and are exempt from full-time school attendance requirements.  [EC 49111, 48231] 

Finally, several exceptions are discussed in detail in subsequent chapters of this digest: 
News carriers (Chapter 7), personal attendants and household occupations (Chapter 7), 
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minors employed in the entertainment industry (Chapter 9), parent or guardian employers 
(Chapter 10), and exemptions under federal law (Chapter 12). 

6. MINMUM AGES FOR EMPLOYMENT 

Eighteen 

Eighteen is the minimum age that minors may be: 

• Employed in occupations declared hazardous by federal regulation and 
adopted by inclusion by the state of California.  [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 
570 subpart E]  (See Chapter 8 of this digest). 

• Employed without being subject to child labor restrictions since they 
are no longer minors.  With rare exceptions, such as the sale and 
service of alcohol or the transportation of hazardous materials, persons 
who are at least 18 may be employed in any occupation without 
restriction. 

Sixteen 

Sixteen is the minimum age that minors may be: 

• Employed in California unless minors under that age are expressly 
permitted by law to work:  “NO MINOR UNDER THE AGE OF 16 
YEARS SHALL BE EMPLOYED, PERMITTED, OR SUFFERED 
TO WORK in or in connection with any manufacturing establishment 
OR OTHER PLACE OF LABOR OR EMPLOYMENT AT ANY 
TIME, except as may be provided in this article (namely, LC Sections 
1285 -1312) or by the provisions of Part 27 of the Education Code [EC 
48000 et seq.] [LC 1290] (Emphasis added).” Exceptions for minors 
under 16 are summarized below and detailed in Chapters 7 and 8 of 
this digest. 

• Employed in any of the occupations prohibited by Labor Code 
Sections 1292, 1293, 1294, 1294.1, and 1297 or by Article 1 of 
Subchapter 1 of Chapter 6 of Title 8 of California Code of 
Regulations.  (See Chapters 7 and 8 of this digest). 

• Accepted in an approved apprenticeship training program.  [LC 3077] 
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• Trained in specified occupations declared hazardous by federal 
regulations to minors under 18.  Such training must be pursuant 

to an approved training course or apprenticeship. [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 
570 Subpart E]  (See Chapter 8 of this digest). 

• Employed during the regular school year and during regular school 
hours (in addition to 14 and 15 year olds enrolled in Work Experience 
Education programs).  [EC 49113 and 49116] 

Fourteen 

Fourteen is the minimum age that minors may be: 

• Employed in occupations permitted in Subpart C of Title 29 of the 
Code of Federal Regulation and adopted by inclusion by the state of 
California in Labor Code Section 1294.1 (a) (2).  These occupations 
are listed in Chapter 7 of this digest.  No minor under 14 may be 
employed in firms subject to federal Fair Labor Standards Act unless 
the employment is exempt as specified in Chapter 12 of this digest. 

• Employed during the regular school year, but only before or after 
school.  [EC 49112] (For exceptions see Chapter 5 of this digest). 

• Enrolled in a Work Experience Education program.  [EC 49113] 

Twelve 

Twelve is the minimum age that minors may be: 

• Issued a Permit to Work by school authorities.  [EC 49111] 

• Employed in household occupations or as a personal attendant if 
issued a Permit to Work.  [EC 49111]  This should not be construed to 
apply to irregular employment as a babysitter or other personal 
attendant duties or to irregular yard or housework since those 
occupations, when pursued on a casual, irregular basis, are considered 
exempt from permit requirements.  [18 ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 114 
(1951)] Since most domestic service is not considered part of the 
child labor provisions of the FLSA, the federal minimum age of 14 for 
permitted occupations does not apply to domestic service.  [29 CFR 
552.108]  (See Chapter 7 of this Digest). 
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• Employed or permitted to work in or in connection with the 
occupation of selling or distributing newspapers, magazines, 
periodicals, or circulars.  [LC 1298]  News carriers are exempt from 
the FLSA [29 USC 213] 

Under Twelve 

• Minors under 12 may perform irregular odd jobs in private 
households performing such duties as baby-sitting.  [18 ops. Cal. 
Atty. Gen. 114, (1951)] 

• Minors under 12 may not be employed or permitted to work or 
accompany or be permitted to accompany an employed parent or 
guardian into an agricultural zone of danger [LC 1293.1], unless 
the minor is employed by the parent or guardian on or in 
connection with premises that the parent or guardian owns, 
operates, or controls.  [LC 1394] (See Chapter 8 of this digest). 

• Six is the minimum age that minors may engage in door-to-door 
sales or street sales of candy, cookies, flowers, or any other 
merchandise or commodities.  [LC 1308.1]  However, minors 
under 12 may not engage in these activities unless they are exempt 
from permit requirements.*  And all minors under 16 may only 
engage in these activities certain specified conditions.  [8 CCR 
11706] (See Chapter 7 of this digest). 

• Minors 15 days to 18 years may be employed in the entertainment 
industry under permits issued by the Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement.  [LC 1308.5] (See Chapter 9 of this digest). 

• Parent or guardian employers have limited exemptions for this age 
group explained in Chapter 10 of this digest. 

*Notwithstanding the fact that LC 1308.1 provides that “No minor under the age of 6 years shall be permitted to 
engage in door-to-door sales or street sales of candy, cookies, flowers, or any other merchandise or commodities…”, 
thus raising an inference that a minor need only be six years of age in order to engage in such sales, this is not in fact 
the case. By virtue of provisions of LC 1299 which require that employers “shall keep on file all permits… either to 
work or to employ”, and the terms of EC 49111 which provide that “A permit to work be issued to any minor over 
the age of 12 years and under the age of 18 years…”, the effect of these two statutes is that a minor must be over the 
age of 12 years in order to engage in door-to-door and/or street sales and then, only if the all of the conditions 
described in 8 CCR 11706 are met. 
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7. RESTRICTED OCCUPATIONS 

Occupations Permitted to Fourteen and Fifteen Year Olds 

The State of California has adopted by inclusion federal standards for 14 and 15 year olds 
as they appear in the Code of Federal Regulation. The adoption of federal standards 
automatically includes any changes that may be made in federal regulations in the future.  
[LC 1294.1, 29 CFR Part 570, Subpart C]  Fourteen and fifteen year olds who work in the 
food service, retail, and gasoline service industries may only be employed in the 
occupations expressly permitted to them in federal regulation and state law. [LC 1294.1; 
29 CFR Part 570, Subpart C] Permitted occupations in these industries are listed below 
under individual headings. Fourteen and fifteen year olds may be employed in any 
occupation not prohibited by federal regulation [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570.32, 570.33 (a)] 
or under state law [C 1294.1 and 1294.3] These occupations are listed in Chapter 8 of this 
digest. 

Food Service and Retail 

Fourteen and fifteen year olds may be employed in the following occupations in the 
food service and retail industries: 

• Office and clerical work, including the operation of office machines. 

• Cashiering, selling, modeling, art work, work in advertising 
departments, window trimming, and comparative shopping. 

• Price marking and tagging by hand or by machine, assembling orders, 
packing and shelving. 

• Bagging and carrying out customers orders. 

• Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, or public transportation. 

• Clean-up work, including the use of vacuum cleaners and floor 
waxers, and maintenance of grounds, but not including the use of 
power driven mowers or cutters. 

• Kitchen work and other work involved in preparing and serving food 
and beverages, including the operation of machines and devices used 
in the performance of this work, including but not limited to, 
dishwashers, toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn poppers, milkshake 
blenders, and coffee grinders. 
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• Cleaning vegetables and fruits, and wrapping, sealing, labeling, 
weighing, pricing, and stocking goods when performed in areas 
physically separate from areas where meat is prepared for sale and 
outside freezers or meat coolers. 

Fourteen and fifteen year olds may perform cooking duties at soda fountains, lunch 
counters, snack bars, or cafeteria serving counters where such cooking is performed in 
plain sight of customers and is not the minor’s sole duty. In fast food restaurants where, 
for example, the French fryer is in plain view, a 14 or 15 year old may perform duties 
related to that machine. Where hamburgers or other food items are prepared out of plain 
sight of the customers or such preparation is the minor’s sole duty, the minor must be at 
least 16. [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570.34 (b)] Additional occupations prohibited to minors 
under 16 in food service and retail are listed in Chapter 8 of this digest. Minors under 
18 are prohibited from using power-driven meat processing machines and certain baking 
machines. [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570.61 and 570.52] Occupations prohibited to minors 
under 18 are also detailed in Chapter 8 of this digest. 

Underage employment in any of these occupations is a Class A child labor violation.  
Penalties are explained in Chapter 11 of this digest. 

Liquor and Lottery Sales 

Persons under 21 may not be employed during business hours in or on that portion of 
any premises that are primarily designed and used for the sale and service of alcoholic 
beverages for consumption on the premises.  [BPC 25663]  This refers to any activity, not 
just the sale and service of alcohol. However, person’s 18 to 21 years of age may 
perform as musicians in such establishments if no live lewd acts are allowed on the 
premises and if no alcohol is allowed in the musicians’ performance area. [BPC 25667] 
Persons 18 to 21 years of age may serve alcohol in a bona fide public eating 
establishment if the person is no employed as a bartender and the service is in that part of 
the establishment used for the sale and service of food. [BPC 25667] No law prohibits 
minors under 18 from bussing tables in a bona fide public eating establishment where 
alcohol is served. 

Minors under 18 may be employed by establishments that sell alcohol for consumption 
off the premises only if the minor is constantly supervised by a person 21 years of age or 
older.  [BPC 25663 (b)] 

Minors under 18 may sell lottery tickets or shares only if they are constantly supervised 
by a person 21 years of age or older.  [GC 8880.50] 
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Gasoline Service Stations 

Fourteen and fifteen year olds may work in gas stations, but only in those activities that 
are also permitted to 14 and 15 year olds in the food service and retail industries. [LC 
1294.5] 

Sixteen is the minimum age that minors may be allowed to work in the following 
activities.  [LC 1294.5]: 

• Dispensing gas or oil; 

• Courtesy service; 

• Car cleaning, washing, and polishing. 

Sixteen is the minimum age that minors may be employed or permitted to perform any 
type of mechanical work [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570.34 (b) (3)] or any work in a gasoline 
service establishment prohibited to minors under 16 by federal regulation and adopted by 
inclusion by the state of California. [LC 1294.1; 29 CFR 570.34 (b)] (See Chapter 8 of 
this digest for a detailed list of these occupations). 

Eighteen is the minimum age that a person may perform activities in gas stations that 
involve the use of pits, racks, lifting apparatuses, or the inflation of any tire mounted on a 
rim equipped with a removable retaining ring. [LC 1294.5] Minors may not be 
employed in a gas station service establishment in any occupation declared hazardous by 
the Secretary of Labor for minors under 18. [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570 Subpart E] (See 
Chapter 8 of this digest). 

Underage employment in any of these occupations is a Class A child labor violation.  
Penalties are explained in Chapter 11 of this digest. 

Motor Vehicle Occupations 

Minors under 18 may not be employed for the purpose of driving a motor vehicle on the 
highways or streets.  [LC 1294.1 (b); VC 12515] Note: The Vehicle Code is not violated 
unless the “primary or principal purpose” of the minor’s employment is the driving of a 
motor vehicle on the highway or street. [61 ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 146, (1978)] Similarly, 
federal standards [29 CFR 570.52] adopted by the state prohibit persons under 17 years 
of age from performing any on the job driving of automobiles and trucks on public 
roadways. Such standards do, however, permit 17 year old minors to drive automobiles 
and trucks on public roadways only if such driving meets all of the following conditions: 

• such driving is restricted to daylight hours; 
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• the minor holds a State license valid for the type of driving 
involved in the job performed and has no records of any moving 
violation at the time of hire; 

• the minor has successfully completed a State approved driver 
education course; 

• the automobile or truck is equipped with a seat belt for the driver 
and any passengers and the employer has instructed the minor that 
the seat belts must be used when driving the automobile or truck; 

• the automobile or truck does not exceed 6,000 pounds of gross 
vehicle weight; 

• such driving does not include: 

• the towing of vehicles 

• route deliveries or route sales 

• the transportation for hire of property, goods, or passengers; 

• urgent, time-sensitive deliveries; 

• more than two trips away from the primary place of employment in 
any single day for the purpose of delivering goods of the minor’s 
employer or to a customer (other than urgent, time-sensitive 
deliveries); 

• more than two trips away from the primary place of employment in 
any single day for the purpose of transporting passengers (other 
than employees of the employer); 

• transporting more than three passengers (including employees of 
the employer); 

• driving beyond a 30 mile radius from the minor’s place of 
employment and 

• such driving is only occasional and incidental to the minor’s 
employment. 
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The term “occasional and incidental” means no more than one-third of a minor’s work 
time in any workday and nor more than twenty percent of a minor’s work time in any 
work-week.  [29 CFR 570.52] 

Minors under 16 may not be employed to drive a motor vehicle in any capacity. [LC 
1294] However, certain exceptions are available for training programs in agriculture. 
(See Chapter 8 of this digest). Minors under 16 may not deliver goods, merchandise, 
commodities, papers (except newspapers) or packages from a motor vehicle regardless of 
the vehicle’s size or type {8 CCR 11701, LC 1294/4], serve as helpers on motor vehicles 
[LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570.33], or be employed in any occupation which must be 
performed on any media of transportation.  [LC 1294.1; 29 CFR 570.33] 

Violation of the Labor Code or Title 8 regulations governing motor vehicles are Class A 
child labor violations.  Penalties are explained in Chapter 11 of this digest. 

Persons under 21 may not be hired to transport hazardous materials.  [VC 12515] 

Messengers 

Sixteen is the minimum age that minors may be permitted to work as a messenger for any 
telegraph, telephone or messenger company in the distribution or delivery of goods or 
messages. [LC 1297] This statute does not apply to any minor employed to deliver 
newspapers to consumers. Although, Labor Code Section 1297 makes additional 
reference to the lawful employment of minors under 16 in messenger occupations, federal 
standards adopted by inclusion by the state of California prohibit minors under 16 from 
being employed or permitted to work in occupations in a public messenger service. [LC 
1294.1; 29 CFR 570.33 (d)] Messengers have a unique spread of hours, which allows 
them to work only from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. 

Fourteen and fifteen year olds may be employed to run errands and make deliveries by 
foot, bicycle, or public transportation.  [LC 1294.1 and 1294.3, 29 CFR 570.34] 

Persons or companies engaged in the delivery of packages, letters, notes, messages or 
other matter and every manager, superintendent or other agent thereof, who sends any 
minor (that is, any person under 18) in the employ of the company or person to the 
keeper of any house of prostitution, variety theater or other places of questionable repute, 
or to any person connected with, or to any inmate of such house, theater or other place, or 
who permits any minor to enter such house, theater, or other place is guilty of a 
misdemeanor.  [PC 273 (e)] 
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Newspaper and Magazine Sales 

Twelve is the minimum age that minors may be permitted to work in or in connection 
with the occupation of selling or distributing newspapers, magazines, periodicals or 
circulars. Nothing prohibits a minor engaged in the delivery of newspapers to consumers 
from making deliveries by foot, or bicycle, public transportation, or from an automobile 
driven by a person who is at least 18 years of age or older. [LC 1294.4]* News carriers 
are exempt from occupational restrictions governing door-to-door sales. [8 CCR 
11706.2] News carriers who are at least 14 years of age do not require work permits, 
whether or not they are self-employed. [EC 49112 (d)] News carriers are except from all 
work hour restrictions, except that they may not work more than 8 hours in a day. [EC 
49112 and 49116, LC 1391 and 1392] Employment as news carriers does not exempt 
minors from compulsory school attendance requirements, and their work activities must 
be performed outside of school hours. News carriers’ exemption from the federal FLSA 
is explained in Chapter 12 of this digest. 

Door-to-Door Sales 

“Door-to-door sales” has the same meaning as a “home solicitation contract or offer,” 
which is any contract, whether single or multiple or any offer which is subject to 
approval, for the sale, lease, or rental of goods or services or both, made at other than 
appropriate trade premises. No minimum or maximum monetary amount whatsoever 
applies to this definition when applied to minors’ door-to-door sales. [LC 1286 (e), CC 
1689.5, 8 CCR 11706.1] 

No minor under the age of 6 may be permitted to engage in the door-to-door sales or 
street sales of candy, cookies, flowers, or any other merchandise or commodities. [LC 
1308.1] Because school officials may only issue a Permit to Employ and Work to a 
minor who is at least 12 years of age [EC 49111], and because an employer is required to 
keep on file all such permits [LC 1299], the effect of these two statutes is to vitiate the 
inference raised by [LC 1308.1] that a minor need only be 6 years of age in order to 
engage in these activities.  (See Chapter 6 of this digest). 

*As of January 1, 1996, a minor may be 16 to drive an automobile for these purposes. However, if the 
minor is construed to be hired to drive upon the public streets, he or she must still be 18 [VC 12515] 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT: 

• Sell to passing motorists newspapers, candy, flowers or other 
merchandise or commodities from a fixed location on a street, 
highway, freeway island or divider, freeway on or off ramp, or the 
side of a freeway or highway entrance or exit shoulder.  [LC 1296, 
8 CCR 11706] 
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• Sell newspaper or magazine subscriptions, candy, cookies, flowers 
or other merchandise or commodities door-to-door unless all of 
the following conditions are met [LC 1296, 8 CCR 11706]: 

•  Minors so engaged work in pairs, as a team, on the same or  
opposite side of the street;  

•  Minors so engaged must be supervised by  an adult  
supervisor for  each crew of 10 or fewer minors;  

•  Minors must be within the sight or sound of the adult  
supervisor at least once every 15 minutes;  

•  Minors must be returned to their respective homes or place  
of rendezvous daily after each day’s work  

•  In addition, the door-to-door sales activities (including  
newspaper or magazine subscriptions) must be performed 
within 50 miles of the minor’s residence.  [LC 1308.1]  

Note: Door-to-door selling includes minors selling in parking lots or 
malls, whether alone or in pairs or teams. [8 CCR 11706.1] Exception: 
These regulations do not apply to news carriers who solicit subscriptions, 
or sell newspapers door-to-door when they are directly employed by the 
newspaper company and deliver the newspaper on a regular basis to an 
established readership for a requested consideration.  [8 CCR 11706.2] 

Employers, supervisors and transporters of minors under 16 engaged in door-to-door 
sales more than 10 miles from the minor’s residence must register with the Labor 
Commissioner. [LC 1308.2, 1308.3 and 1308.4] (See Chapter 10 of this digest for 
individual information on registration requirements). 

Manufacturing and Processing 

Under state law 16 is the minimum age that minors may be employed, permitted or 
suffered to work in or in connection with any manufacturing establishment. [LC 1290] 
“Manufacturing” includes work done at any place upon the work of a manufacturing 
establishment or upon the materials entering into the products of a manufacturing 
establishment whether directly under any arrangement with the person in charge of the 
establishment or indirectly through contractors of third persons.  [LC 1291] 

Under federal regulation, adopted by inclusion by the state of California, 16 is the 
minimum age for employment in manufacturing and processing occupations. Minors 
under 16 may not be employed in manufacturing or processing in any occupation 
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performed in the work rooms or work places where goods are manufactured or processed, 
including occupations that would otherwise be permitted to 14 and 15 year olds. [LC 
1294.1, 29 CFR 570.33 (a) and 570.34 (b)] Processing occupations include for example, 
filleting fish, dressing poultry, cracking nuts, commercial laundering, and dry cleaning 
(except in a retail, food service or gasoline service establishment in those occupations 
expressly permitted and listed in Chapter 7 or this digest). 

Goods may  only  be  manufactured or assembled in the home when both the  employee  and  
employer have  special permits  issued by  the Labor Commissioner  which allow industrial  
homework.  [LC  2658 & 2659]   A person must  be  at least 16 years of age  to be  issued a  
home worker permit.  [LC 2661]   Home  worker  permits  are  inexpensive and the fee  may  
be  waived if it  causes financial hardship.  [LC  2660]   The  following  items  may  never be  
manufactured in a  home, regardless of age  or  circumstances:   Bandages and other  
sanitary  goods, explosives, fireworks or similar items, drugs or poisons, tobacco, wearing 
apparel, toys, dolls, food,  drink or articles connected with the serving  of food and drink.  
[LC 2651]   

Household Occupations 

Minors who are irregularly employed in odd jobs in private households such as 
babysitting and yard work do not require permits to work or employ. [18 Ops. Cal. Atty. 
Gen. 114 (1951)] However, they may not be employed in these occupations during 
regular school hours or in any hazardous duty prohibited to the minor’s age group. 

Employment of minors in a household on a regular basis to perform domestic duties 
requires permits to work and employ. Wage and working condition requirements for 
these occupations are governed by IWC Order No. 15 and the employer must keep a copy 
of this Order available for inspection by the employee upon request. [IWC Order No. 15 
Section 17] IWC Orders are available on the Internet at 
http://www.dir.ca.gov/IWC/iwc.html or from any Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement office. (http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DistrictOffices.htm) 

IWC Order No. 15 defines two groups of domestic duties, household 
occupations and personal attendants: “Household occupations” are all services 
related to the care of persons or maintenance of a private household or its 
premises by an employee of a private householder. Said occupations shall 
include, but not be limited to, the following: butlers, chauffeurs, companions, 
cooks, day workers, gardeners, graduate nurses, grooms, housecleaners, 
housekeepers, maids, practical nurses, tutors, valets and other similar occupations.  
[IWC Order No. 15 Section 2 (c)]. 

“Personal attendants” includes babysitters and means any person employed by a 
private householder or by any third party employer recognized in the health care 
industry to work in a private household, to supervise, feed or dress a child or 
person who by reason of advanced age, physical disability or mental deficiency 
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needs supervision. The status of ‘personal attendant’ shall apply when no 
significant amount of work other than the foregoing is required. [IWC Order No. 
15 Section 2 (i)]. 

Personal attendants are exempt from state minimum wage requirements. Personal 
attendants who are at least 16 years old may be issued a work permit to work in 
that occupation for more than 4 hours on a school day.  [EC 49116, LC 1391] 

Note however, that the duties of the personal attendant are sharply limited to 
‘supervising, feeding or dressing’ a person, and that any significant duties in 
addition to these void the classification and its accompanying exemptions. 

Minors employed in household occupations may be issued a permit to be 
employed for more than 8 hours in a day, but are still subject to the weekly 
maximum for their age group. [LC 1392] Minors may not be employed in all the 
household occupations; they are still prohibited form underage employment in 
any occupation prohibited to them by statute. For example, the occupation of 
chauffeur is a household occupation, but minors are prohibited from being 
employed to drive motor vehicles. Special exemptions for parent or guardian 
employers of their own minor children in domestic labor are explained in Chapter 
10 of this digest. 

The state’s categories for household occupations do not precisely coincide with 
federal categories and standards, but there is an approximate equivalence. Under 
federal law, “domestic service employment,” that is, duties performed in or about 
the private home of the employer [29 CFR 552.101] are exempt from the FLSA 
child labor provisions (like work hour restrictions, for example) [29 CFR 
552.108], but not from federal minimum wage and overtime requirements. [29 
CFR 552.99] Nevertheless, babysitters are exempt from federal wage 
requirements if their duties are performed on a casual basis. [29 CFR 552.104] 
“Casual” means that the work may not exceed 20 hours per week on a regular 
basis. Hours may occasionally exceed this maximum if performed for irregular or 
intermittent periods. [29 CFR 552.104] Sitters may accompany a family on a 
vacation for up to six weeks and still be exempt from federal wage requirements.  
[29 CFR 552.104] The 20 hours per week limitation does not apply to 
“companionship services,” which includes the care of the aged and mentally or 
physically infirm. [29 CFR 552.6] Contact the local office of the Wage and Hour 
Division of the U.S. Department of Labor for further information regarding 
federal requirements for domestic service employment. 
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Immoral Places and Activities 

Any person, whether as parent, guardian, employer or otherwise and any firm or 
corporation who as employer or otherwise, sends, directs or causes to be sent or 
directed to any saloon, gambling house, house of prostitution or other immoral 
place any minor under 18 is guilty of a misdemeanor.  [PC 273 (f)]. 

Farm labor contractors who knowingly send any minor to any house of ill fame, 
gambling house or to any place where alcohol is sold to be consumed on the 
premises has committed a misdemeanor and may have their license suspended.  
[LC 1698.4, 1698.5, 1697 and 1690]. 

Minors under 18 may not be exhibited, used or employed or in any manner 
under any pretense, sold, apprenticed, given away, let out or disposed of to 
another person who causes, procures or encourages the minor to engage in any 
obscene, indecent or immoral purpose, exhibition or practice whatsoever. [LC 
1308 (a) (3) and 1309]. 

8. PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS 

The prohibitions discussed in this chapter are strict and the penalties severe. Allowing 
underage minors to work in prohibited occupations in a Class A child labor violation 
carrying civil penalties that range from $5000 on the first offense to a maximum of 
$10,000. [LC 1288] Criminal misdemeanor penalties also apply. [LC 1303 and 1308] 
Moreover, responsible persons may not permit a minor to perform these work activities 
under any circumstances even if the minor is not technically his or her employee.  
Penalties are discussed in detail in Chapter 11 of this digest. 

Note: When the state adopted these federal standards it also retained existing state 
standards for minors under 16. In some cases these two standards overlap and may 
appear to contradict. In all such instances, the more protective standard always applies. 
For example, Labor Code Section 1293 prohibits minors under 16 from working with 
band and circular saws, but minors under 18 are also prohibited from working with these 
saws. [LC 1294.1 (b), 29 CFR 570.65 (H.O. 14)] An employer who hires a 17 year old 
to operate a circular saw cannot use his or her compliance with Labor Code Section 1293 
to justify noncompliance with the higher standard for that same occupation that is 
established in Labor Code Section 1294.1 (b) for minors under 18. 

Minors under 18 

The state of California has adopted by inclusion all federal standards for hazardous 
occupations for minors under 18 as they appear in the Code of Federal Regulation. The 
adoption of federal standards by inclusion automatically incorporates into state law any 
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changes that may be made in federal regulations in the future. [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR Part 
570 Subpart E]*  
Under federal law, high school graduates under 18 are subject to all these prohibitions 
unless they have also completed an approved training program in the occupation in which 
they are to be employed.  [29 CFR 570.50] 

Restrictions, exceptions and detailed descriptions of the occupations declared hazardous 
in federal regulation to minors under 18 are complex and lengthy. The following is only 
a brief summary of those hazardous occupations. A complete text of the regulations in 
pamphlet is entitled Child Labor Requirements in Nonagricultural Occupations. 

Minors under 18 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in the following 
occupations declared hazardous in federal regulation and adopted by inclusion by the 
state of California [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570 Subpart E]: 

• Occupations in or about plants or establishments manufacturing or 
storing explosives or articles containing explosive components, 
including for example:  small arms ammunition [29 CFR 570.51 
(H.O. 1)]; 

• Occupations of motor vehicle driver and outside helper [29 CFR 
570.52 (H.O. 2)] (See Chapter 7 of this digest); 

• Coal mine occupations [29 CFR 570.53 (H.O. 3)]; 

• Occupations in connection with mining other than coal mining [29 
CFR 570.60 (H.O. 9)]; 

*These federal regulations are also referred to as the “Hazardous Occupation Orders.” References to them 
are often abbreviated as H.O. and numbered 1, 2, etc.; this digest includes that identification as well as the 
legal citation. 

• Logging, sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill or cooperage mill 
Occupations [29 CFR 570.54 (H.O. 4)]; 

• Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven 
Wood-working machines [29 CFR 570.55 (H.O. 5)]; 

• Occupations involved in the operations of circular saws, band saws 
and guillotine shears [29 CFR 570.65 (H.O. 14)]; 

• Occupations involving the operation of power-driven hoisting 
apparatuses, including, for example:  operating or assisting to 
operate certain elevators, cranes, derricks, hoists, riggers or high 
lift trucks [29 CFR 570.58 (H.O. 7)]; 
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• Occupations involved in the operations of power-driven metal  
forming, punching and shearing machines [29 CFR 570.59 (H.O. 
8)]; 

• Occupations in the operation of power-driven meat processing 
machines and occupations involving slaughtering, meat packing or 
processing or rendering [29 CFR 570.61 (H.O. 10)]; 

• Occupations involved in the operation of bakery machines [29 
CFR 570.52 (H.O. 11)]; 

• Occupations involved in the operation of paper products machines 
[29 CFR 570.62 (H.O. 12)]; 

• Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile and kindred 
products [29 CFR 570.64 (H.O. 13)]; 

• Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition and ship-breaking 
operations [29 CFR 570.66 (H.O. 15)]; 

• Occupations in roofing operations [29 CFR 570.67 (H.O. 16)]; 

• Occupations in excavation operations [29 CFR 570.68 (H.O. 17)]; 

• Occupations involving exposure to radioactive substances and to 
ionizing radiations. [29 CFR 570.57 (H.O. 6)] 

Minors under 16 

Food Service, Retail and Gasoline Service Establishments 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in the following 
occupations in retail, food service and gasoline service establishments as provided in 
federal regulation and adopted by inclusion by the state of California [LC 1294.1, 29 
CFR 570.34 (b)]: 

• Work performed in or about boiler or engine rooms; 

• Work in connection with maintenance or repair of the 
establishment, machines or equipment; 

• All work requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds or their substitutes, 
including outside window washing that involves working from 
sills; 
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• Cooking (except at soda fountains, lunch counters, snack bars or 
cafeteria serving counters where such cooking is performed in 
plain sight of customers and is not the minor’s only duty); 

• Baking; 

• Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, 
cleaning, oiling, or repairing power driven food slicers, grinders, 
food choppers, cutters, and bakery type mixers; 

• Work in freezers and meat coolers and all work in the preparation 
of meat for sale.  Wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing 
and stocking goods are permitted but only if these duties are 
performed in areas physically separate from freezers and meat 
coolers. 

• Loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, railroad cars or 
conveyors; 

• All occupations in warehouses except office and clerical work. 

Note: The state of California has adopted higher standards than federal standards for minors 
employed in gasoline service establishments, but the prohibitions in this list apply to this age 
group under both federal and state law.  (See Chapter 7 of this digest). 

Federal Prohibitions Adopted by California 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in 
the following occupations prohibited by federal regulation and adopted by 
inclusion by the state of California [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570.33]: 

• Manufacturing, mining or processing occupations, including duties 
of any kind in workrooms or workplaces where goods are 
manufactured, mined or processed. 

• Occupations that involve the operation or tending of a hoisting 
apparatus or of any power driven machinery other than office 
machines. 

• The operation of motor vehicles or service as helpers on such 
vehicles. 

• Public messenger service. 
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• Occupations in connection with: 

• Transportation of persons or property by rail, highway, air, 
water, pipeline or other means; 

• Warehousing and storage; 

• Communications and public utilities; 

• Construction, including demolition and repair. 

Note: Fourteen and fifteen year olds may work in these industries in the occupations generally 
permitted to them (and listed in Chapter 7 of this digest), but only if their duties are not 
performed on any media of transportation or at the actual site of construction. [LC 1294.1, 29 
CFR 570.33 (e)] 

Additional State Prohibitions 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in any capacity in [LC 
1292]: 

• Adjusting any belt to any machinery; 

• Sewing or lacing machine belts in any workshop or factory; 

• Oiling, wiping or cleaning machinery or assisting therein. 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in any capacity in 
operating or assisting in operating any of the following machines [LC 1293]: 

• Circular or band saws:  wood shapers, wood jointers, planers, 
sandpaper or wood polishing machinery, wood turning or boring 
machinery. 

• Picker machines or machines used in picking wool, cotton, hair or 
other material; carding machines, leather burnishing machines, and 
laundry machinery. 

• Printing presses of all kinds; boring or drill presses, stamping 
machines used in sheet metal and tinnier,  in paper and leather 
manufacturing or in washer and nut factories, metal or paper 
cutting machines and paper lace machines. 
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• Corner-staying machines in paper box factories; corrugating rolls, 
such as are used in corrugated paper, roofing or washboard 
factories. 

• Dough brakes or cracker machinery of any description. 

• Wire or iron straightening or drawing machinery, rolling mill 
machinery, power punches or shears, washing, grinding or mixing 
machinery, calendar rolls in paper and rubber manufacturing, 
steam boilers; in proximity to any hazardous or unguarded belts, 
machinery or gearing. 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in any capacity [LC 
1294]: 

• Upon any railroad, whether steam, electric or hydraulic. 

• Upon any vessel or boat engaged in navigation or commerce 
within the jurisdiction of this state. 

• In, about, or in connection with any processes in which dangerous 
or poisonous acids are used in the manufacture or packing of 
paints, colors, white or red lead or in soldering. 

• In occupations causing dust in injurious quantities, in the 
manufacture or use of dangerous or poisonous dyes, in the 
manufacture or preparation of compositions with dangerous or 
poisonous gases or in the manufacture or use of compositions of 
lye in which the quantity thereof is injurious to health. 

• On scaffolding in heavy work in the building trades, in any tunnel 
or excavation or in, about, or in connect with any mine, coal 
breaker, coke oven or quarry. 

• In assorting, manufacturing or packing tobacco. 

• In operating any automobile, motor car or truck. 

• In any occupation dangerous to the life or limb or injurious to the 
health or morals of the minor. 
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Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in the following 
occupations declared hazardous in state regulation [LC 1296]: 

• All occupations where the minors come in close proximity to 
moving machinery. [8 CCR 11701] 

• All building or construction work of any kind. [8 CCR 11701] 

• Delivering goods, merchandise, commodities, papers or packages 
from motor vehicles.  [8 CCR 11701] Exception: Newspaper 
industry as detailed in Chapter 7 of this digest. 

• All occupations in or about any plant manufacturing explosives or 
articles containing explosive components and all occupations in the 
transportation and sale of explosives or articles containing 
explosive components.  [8 CCR 11703] 

• Working in close proximity to explosives or the functioning parts 
of unguarded and dangerous moving equipment, aircraft or vessels 
or of functioning blades or propellers.  [8 CCR 11707] 

• Door-to-door sales unless certain requirements are met.  (See 
Chapters 7 and 10 of this digest). 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be exhibited, used or employed or in any manner or under 
any pretense, sold, apprenticed, given away, let out or disposed of by a parent, relative, 
guardian, employer or person otherwise having the care, custody or control of the minor 
to another person who causes, procures or encourages the minor to engage in any of the 
following.  [LC 1308]: 

• Any business, exhibition or vocation injurious to the health or 
dangerous to the life or limb of the minor. 

• The vocation, occupation, service or purpose of singing or playing 
on musical instruments, except in a school or church or with an 
entertainment work permit issued by the Labor Commissioner; 
rope or wire walking, dancing, begging, peddling or as a gymnast, 
acrobat, contortionist or rider in any place whatsoever. 

• Any mendicant or wandering business. 

• Any rough stock rodeo event, circus or race involving animals 
competing on the same course.  The prohibitions DO NOT apply to 
minors who participate in horseback riding exhibitions or contests 
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or to minors who lead livestock in nonprofit fairs, stock parades, 
livestock shows or exhibitions.  “Rough stock rodeo event” means 
any rodeo event operated for profit or operated by other than a 
nonprofit organization in which unbroken, little trained or 
imperfectly trained animals are ridden or handled by the 
participant and shall include, but not be limited to saddle bronc 
riding, bareback riding and bull riding.”  “Race” means any speed 
contest between two or more animals that are on a course at the 
same time and that is operated for profit or operated other than by 
a nonprofit organization.” 

Note: Entertainment activities are permitted under valid and 
current permits to work and employ issued by the Labor 
Commissioner.  (See Chapter 9 of this digest). 

Federal Agricultural Prohibitions Adopted by California 

Minors under 16 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work in any of the following 
agricultural occupations declared hazardous in federal regulation and adopted by 
inclusion by the state of California. 
[LC 1294.1 (a), 29 CFR 570.71]: 

• Operating a tractor of over 20 PTO horsepower, or connecting or 
disconnecting an implement or any of its parts to or from such a 
tractor. 

• Operating or assisting to operate, including starting, stopping, 
adjusting, feeding or any other activity involving physical contact 
associated with the operation of any of the following machines: 

• Corn picker, cotton picker, grain combine, hay mower, 
forage harvester, hay baler, potato digger or mobile pea 
viner. 

• Power post-hole digger, power post driver or none 
walking type rotary tiller. 

• Operating or assisting to operate, including starting, stopping 
adjusting, feeding or any other activity involving physical contact 
associated with the operation of any of the following machines: 

• Trencher or earth-moving equipment, 

• Forklift 
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• Potato combine or 

• Power-driven circular, band or chain saw. 

• Working on a farm in a yard, pen or stall occupied by a: 

• Bull, boar or stud horse maintained for breeding 
purposes or 

• Sow with suckling pigs or cow with newborn calf with 
umbilical cord present. 

• Working from a ladder or scaffold; painting, repairing or building 
structures, pruning trees, picking fruit, etc. from a height of over 
20 feet. 

• Driving a bus, truck or automobile when transporting passengers or 
riding on a tractor as a passenger or helper. 

• Working inside: 

• A fruit forage or grain storage designed to retain an oxygen 
deficient or toxic atmosphere, 

• An upright silo within 2 weeks after silage has been added 
or when a top unloading device is in operating position, 

• A manure pit or 

• A horizontal silo while operating a tractor for packing 
purposes. 

•  Handling or applying, including cleaning or decontaminating 
equipment, disposal or return of empty containers or serving as a 
flag-man for aircraft applying agricultural chemicals under Federal 
Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act [7 USC 135 et seq.]  as 
Category I of toxicity identified by the work “poison” and the 
“skull and crossbones” on the label or Category II of toxicity 
identified by the word “warning” on the label. 

• Handling or using a blasting agent including but not limited to 
dynamite black powder, sensitized ammonium nitrate, blasting 
caps and primer cord or 

• Transporting, transferring or applying anhydrous ammonia. 
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Note: The terms describing machinery, equipment or facilities in these agricultural 
occupations are defined in the current edition of Agricultural Engineering, a dictionary 
and handbook published by Interstate Printers and Publishers; Danville, Illinois. Copies 
are available for examination in the Regional Offices of the Wage and Hour Division of 
the U.S. Department of Labor. [29 CFR 570.71 (b)] Exception: Parents and guardians 
have a special exemption when employing their children in agricultural occupations that 
is explained in Chapter 10 of this digest. 

Minors under 12 Agricultural Zone of Danger 

Minors under 12 MAY NOT be employed or permitted to work or accompany or be 
permitted to accompany an employed parent or guardian in an agricultural zone of 
danger.  “Agricultural zone of danger” means any of the following [LC 1293.1]: 

• On or about moving equipment. 

• In or about unprotected chemicals. 

• In or about any protected water hazard. 

• In any of the occupations declared hazardous for employment of 
minors under 16 in agriculture in Section 570.71 of Title 29 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (See preceding list). 

• Other hazards that constitute a zone of danger as may be 
determined in the future by the California Department of Industrial 
Relations. 

Exception: Minors of any age employed in agriculture, horticulture, viticulture or 
domestic labor by their parents or guardian upon or in connection with premises the 
parent or guardian owns, operates or controls are exempt from these restrictions. [LC 
1394] 

Training for Prohibited and Restricted Occupations 

With restrictions specified in federal regulation, student learners and apprentices, who 
must be at least 16, MAY BE TRAINED ONLY in the following occupations declared 
hazardous by federal regulation [LC 1294.1, 29 CFR 570 Subpart E]: 

• Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven 
woodworking machines [29 CFR 570.55 (H.O. 5)]. 

• Occupations involved in the operations of circular saws, band saws 
and guillotine shears [29 CFR 570.65 (H.O. 14]. 
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• Occupations involved in the operations of power-driven metal 
forming, punching and shearing machines [29 CFR 570.59 (H.O. 
8)]. 

• Occupations in the operation of power-driven meat processing 
machines and occupations involving slaughtering, meat packing or 
processing or rendering [29 CFR 570.61 (H.O. 10)]. 

• Occupations involved in the operation of paper products machines 
[29 CFR 570.63 (H.O. 12)]. 

• Occupations in roofing operations [29 CFR 570.67 (H.O. 16)]. 

• Occupations in excavation operations [29 CFR 570.68 (H.O. 17)]. 

Student learners must be enrolled in an approved cooperative vocational training program 
operated by state or local authorities. The student learner must be employed under a 
written agreement that provides: (1) the work of the student learner in the hazardous 
occupation is incidental to the training; (2) the work must be intermittent, brief and 
closely supervised by a qualified and experienced person; (3) safety instructions must be 
given by the school and correlated by the employer with on the job training; (4) a 
schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be performed on the job must be 
prepared, (5) the written agreement must contain the name of the student learner and the 
signatures of the employer and the school coordinator or principal, and (6) copies of the 
agreement must be kept on file by both the school and the employer. [29CFR 570.50 (c) 
and Part 520] Contact your local school district or the Wage and Hour Division of the U. 
S. Department of Labor for information regarding programs for student learners. 

Apprentices must be in an approved apprenticeship program of a recognized apprentice 
trade. The work of the apprentice in the hazardous occupation must be incidental to the 
training. The work must also be intermittent and for short periods of time under the 
direct and close supervision of a journeyman level employee as a necessary part of the 
training. Laws governing apprentices appear in Chapter 4 of Division 3 of the Labor 
Code commencing at Section 3070. Apprenticeship programs are governed by the 
Division of Apprenticeship Standards, a part of the California Department of Industrial 
Relations.  [LC 3070-3098, EC 51766, 29 CFR Parts 521 and 570.50 (b)] 

Minors under 16 MAY work in occupations otherwise prohibited by Labor Code 
Sections 1292, 1293, 1294 (listed above in this chapter) and 1294.5 gas station 
employment, but only in the following circumstances [LC 1295]: 

• Courses of training in vocational or manual training schools or in 
state institutions. 
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Minors under  16 employed in  agriculture  MAY  work in occupations declared  
hazardous in federal regulation for  minors under 16 in agriculture, but only  in the 
following circumstances [LC 1295, 29 CFR 570.72 (a)]:  
  

 

 
•  

 

 

 
 

 

• Training in an apprenticeship program established pursuant to 
Chapter 4 of Division 3 of the Labor Code, commencing at Section 
3070. 

• Work Experience Education programs conducted pursuant to the 
requirements of the Education Code [EC 51760, et seq.] if (1) the 
Work Experience teacher or coordinator determines that the 
students have been sufficiently trained in the employment or work 
otherwise prohibited by these sections, (2) parents approve and (3) 
the student’s principal or counselor determines that the progress of 
the student toward graduation will not be impaired. 

•  Student learners in a bona fide vocational agriculture   
program working  in the  hazardous occupation  under a  written 
agreement that provides that the work is incidental to training  and 
intermittent for  short periods of time and under close supervision 
of a qualified person and includes all of the following:  

•  Safety instructions given by the school and correlated with 
the student learner’s on the job training.  

A schedule of organized and progressive  work processes 
for the student learner.  

•  The name of the student learner and;  

•  The signature of the employer and a school authority, each 
of whom must keep copies of the agreement.  

Fourteen  and  fifteen  year  olds who hold certificates of completion of either a  tractor 
operation or a  machine  operation program of the  United States Office  of Education  
Vocational  Agriculture  Training  Program and are  working  in the occupations for  which  
they  have  been trained.  These  certificates are  valid only  for  the agricultural hazardous 
occupations.  Farmers employing minors who have  completed  this program must  keep a  
copy of the certificate of completion on file with the minors records.  
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9. ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY 

Defined 

The entertainment industry is defined in state regulations as “…any organization, or 
individual, using the services of any minor in: motion pictures of any type (film, 
videotape, etc.), using any format (theatrical, film, commercial documentary, television 
program, etc.), by any medium (theater, television, videocassette, etc.); photography; 
recording; modeling; theatrical productions; publicity; rodeos; circuses; musical 
performances; and any other performances; and any other performances where minors 
perform to entertain the public.”  [8 CCR 11751] 

Permits to Work and Permits to Employ  

Minors aged 15 days*  to 18 years employed in the entertainment industry (as defined 
above) must have a permit to work and employers must have a permit to employ issued 
by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement. [LC 1308.5, 8 CCR 11751 (b), 11752, 
11753 and 11754] These permits are also required for minors making phonographic 
recordings or who are employed as advertising or photographic models. [LC 1308.5 (a) 
(6) and (7)] Permits are required even when the entertainment is non-commercial in 
nature.  [LC 1308.5 (a) (5)] 

Permits to work or employ will not be issued if the environment is improper for the 
minor, the employment conditions are detrimental to the minor’s health, or if the minor’s 
education is hampered. [LC 1308.6] The Labor Commissioner may require school 
officials to investigate these employment conditions. [LC 1308.6] 

The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement issues four types of entertainment work 
permits: Ten-day individual temporary permits, six-month individual permits, permits to 
employ minors, and blanket permits. A six-month individual permit is issued to the 
minor specifically named in the application and must be renewed in the same manner and 
under the same conditions as the original permit. [8 CCR 11753 (b)] 

*No infant under the age of one month may be employed on any motion picture set or location unless a 
licensed physician who is board certified in pediatrics provides written certification that the infant is at least 
15 days old and in his or her medical opinion, the infant was carried to full term, was normal birth weight, 
is physically capable of handling the stress of filmmaking, and the infant’s lungs, eyes, heart and immune 
system are sufficiently developed to with-stand the potential risks. [LC 1308.8 (a)] 
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PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING AN ENTERTAINMENT WORK PERMIT 

• Obtain the “Application for Permission to Work in the Entertainment 
Industry” from any Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office or 
online. 

• The minor’s parent or legal guardian must complete all of the requested 
information on the application, and print and sign her or his name. 

• If the minor is of school age (first grade and above), an authorized school 
official (i.e., principal, vice principal, dean, headmistress, headmaster, 
counselor or the minor’s teacher) must complete the “School Record” 
portion of the application, sign his or her name and print his or her title or 
position, and affix the school’s seal or stamp.  (See “School Age Children” 
section below for details). 

• If the minor is not of school age (15 days through kindergarten) the 
minor’s parent or legal guardian must provide one of the following: 

o A certified copy of the minor’s birth certificate; 
o The minor’s baptismal certificate; 
o A letter on the hospital’s letterhead from the hospital where the 

minor was born attesting to the birth of the minor; or 
o The minor’s passport. 

• The completed application with original signatures and the school’s seal or 
stamp affixed thereto must either be mailed or presented in person to any 
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office for issuance of the 
minor’s entertainment work permit.  Faxed copies cannot be accepted. 

SCHOOL AGE CHILDREN 

Although school officials may not issue work permits for employment in the 
entertainment industry, written verification from the minor’s school demonstrating a 
satisfactory academic and attendance record must accompany the application for an 
individual permit. The verification must come from an authorized school official.  
Minors who attend a charter school must obtain the written verification from either the 
minor’s school or the authority that granted the school’s charter. Minors who are 
schooled in a setting other than a public school classroom must obtain the written 
verification from either the local school district or the county office of education where 
the minor lives.  
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Exception: 

(1) Minors who attend a private full-time day school [EC 48222] must obtain the written 
verification from the principal or other person having charge of the private school.  

(2) Minor’s who are instructed by a private tutor pursuant to EC 48224 must obtain the 
written verification from either the local school district or the county office of education 
where the minor lives. 

(3) Minors who participate in independent study through the local public school system 
[EC 51745, et seq.] must obtain the written verification from either the minor’s school, 
the local school district or the county office of education where the minor lives. If school 
is not in session (i.e., school break, vacation, holiday, etc.), either the minor’s most recent 
report card or a letter on school letterhead from the principal or other person having 
charge of the minor’s school or a letter on district letterhead from an official of the local 
school district where the minor lives or a letter on the county board of education’s 
letterhead from an official of that agency, indicating that the minor’s scholastic record, 
attendance and health are all satisfactory or better, is required. An entertainment work 
permit based on the minor’s report card or any of the aforementioned letters will be 
effective only for the particular period during which the minor’s school is not in session. 
If a minor is from out of state, either the minor’s most recent report card or a letter on 
school letterhead from the principal or other person having charge of the minor’s school 
indicating that the minor’s scholastic record, attendance and health are all satisfactory or 
better, is required.          

The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement may also require a physical examination to 
ensure that the minor is physically able to perform the duties required.  [8 CCR 11753] 

Blanket permits are issued for groups of minors hired for special events or particular 
productions lasting a limited time. [8 CCR 11754] Employers obtain these permits after 
demonstrating proof of workers’ compensation coverage and that a parent or guardian 
will accompany each group of 20 minors or fraction thereof. [8 CCR 11754] The 
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement requires that school verification and parental 
consent forms for each minor accompany the application. Minors are not individually 
named on the permit, but a list of the minors’ names submitted by the employer 
is attached. Appropriate numbers of studio teachers must be supplied. [8 CCR 11754]  
Special arrangements must be made for groups of 100 minors or more. [8 CCR 11754]  
These permits expire at the end of the special event for which they are issued. 

Employers in the entertainment industry must posses a Permit to Employer Minors in the 
Entertainment Industry issued by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement when 
employing minor under either an individual or blanket permit. [8 CCR 11751 (b)] 
Application forms for these permits may be obtained from any Division of Labor 
Standards office. Employers must demonstrate proof of workers’ compensation coverage. 
The permit is issued for an indefinite period, but the Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement’s policy requires that any interruption of workers’ compensation coverage 
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requires a new application. Permits to employ may be denied, revoked or suspended for 
any violation of law or regulation or any discrimination against a studio teacher for 
performing duties authorized and required by law and regulation for the protection of 
their minor charges.  [8 CCR 11758 and 11758.1] 

Exception: Minors of any age may appear in the following venues without permits [LC 
1310]: 

• In any church, public or religious school or community entertainment; 

• In any school entertainment or in any entertainment for charity or for 
children, for which no admission fee is charged; 

• In any radio or television broadcasting exhibition, where the minor 
receives no compensation directly or indirectly therefor and where the 
engagement of the minor is limited to a single appearance lasting not more 
than one hour and where no admission fee is charge for the radio 
broadcasting or television exhibition; 

• At any one event during a calendar year, occurring on a day on which 
school attendance is not required or on the day preceding such a day, 
lasting four hours or less, where a parent or guardian of the minor is 
present, for which the minor does not directly or indirectly receive any 
compensation. 

• High school graduates and minors who have been awarded a certificate of 
proficiency pursuant to EC 48412 (such certificate being equivalent to a 
high school diploma), also do not require permits.  [LC 1286 (c), 8 CCR 
11750] 

Excused School Absences 

A school may excuse the absences of a pupil who holds an entertainment work permit or 
who participates with a not-for-profit arts organization in a performance for a public 
school audience. [EC 48225.5] The law limits the number of excused absences for a 
child holding an entertainment work permit to five absences per school year, each of 
which may consist of up to five days.  A child who is absent due to participation in a non-
profit public school performance is limited to five excused absences per school year. 

A child who receives an excused absence for participation in a not-for-profit arts 
organization performance at a public school must be allowed to make-up missed 
assignments and receive credit for all work satisfactorily completed. A child excused 
from school attendance because of employment in the entertainment industry must be 
instructed during the absence by a studio teacher certified by the Labor Commissioner in 
accordance with Section 11755 of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations. 
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Hours of Work and Concurrent Requirements 

Minors in the entertainment industry may not work more than eight hours in a day [LC 
1308.7 and 1392] or more than 48 hours in a week. [LC 1308.7] They may only work 
between the hours of 5 a.m. and 10 p.m. (to 12:30 a.m. on days preceding a non-school-
day). [LC 1308.7] “Schoolday” means any day that a minor is required to attend school 
for 240 minutes or more. [LC 1308.7] Exception: Upon the Labor Commissioner’s 
approval following a written request (submitted 48 hours in advance); a minor aged eight 
to eighteen may continue his or her part past 10 p.m. up to12 midnight preceding a 
school-day in a “presentation, play, or drama” which begins before 10:00 p.m. [LC 
1308.5 (a) (4)] This exception may never be construed to allow the minor to be at the 
place of employment more than the maximum number of hours permitted in law or 
regulation. In addition, state regulation establishes minimum work hour standards for 
individual age groups as described below. 

Infants aged 15 days to 6 months may be at the place of employment for one period of 
two consecutive hours, which must occur between 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. or between 
2:30 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. [8 CCR 11764] Actual work may not exceed 20 minutes under 
any circumstances. [8 CCR 11760] Infants may not be exposed to light exceeding 100 
foot-candles for more than 30 seconds at a time. A studio teacher and a nurse must be 
present for each three or fewer infants aged 15 days to 6 weeks. A studio teacher and a 
nurse must be present for each 10 or fewer infants aged 6 weeks to 6 months. [8 CCR 
11755.2 and 11760]  A parent or guardian must always be present.  [8 CCR 11757] 

Minors aged 6 months to 2 years may be at the place of employment for up to four 
hours and may work up to two hours. The remaining time must be reserved for the 
minor’s rest and recreation.  [8 CCR 11760] 

Minors aged 2 years to 6 years may be at the place of 
employment for up to six hours and may work up to three hours. The remaining time 
must be reserved for the minor’s rest and recreation.  [8 CCR 11760] 

Minors aged 6 years to 9 years when school is in session may be at the place of 
employment for up to eight hours, the sum of four hours work, three hours schooling and 
one hour of rest and recreation. When school is not in session, work time may be 
increased up to six hours, with one hour of rest and recreation.  [8 CCR 11760] 

Minors aged 9 years to 16 years when school is in session may be at the place of 
employment for up to nine hours, the sum of five hours work, three hours schooling and 
one hour of rest and recreation. When school is not in session, work time may be 
increased up to seven hours, with one hour of rest and recreation.  [8 CCR 11760] 

All minors aged 6 months to 16 years must be provided with one studio teacher for 
each group of ten or fewer minors when school is in session and for each group of twenty 
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or fewer minors on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays or during school vacations. [8 CCR 
11755.1] In addition to the studio teacher, a par or guardian must always be present. [8 
CCR 11757] Exception: Minors under 16 do not require the presence of a studio 
teacher for up to one hour for wardrobe, make-up, hair-dressing, promotional publicity, 
personal appearances or audio recording if these activities are not on the set, if school is 
not in session and if the parent or guardian is present.  [8 CCR 11762] 

Minors aged 16 years to 18 years when school is in session may be at the place of 
employment for up to ten hours, the sum of six hours work, three hours schooling and 
one hour of rest and recreation. When school is not in session, work time may be 
increased up to eight hours, with one hour of rest and recreation. [8 CCR 11760] Studio 
teachers need only be present for the minors’ schooling, if schooling is still required. [8 
CCR 11760]  A parent or guardian need not be present. 

The time minors may be permitted at the place of employment may be extended by no 
more than one-half hour for a duty-free meal period.  [8 CCR 11761] 

All travel time between the studio and a location counts as work time. Up to forty-five 
minutes travel from on-location overnight lodging to a worksite is generally considered 
work time. Travel between school, home and the studio is not work time. [8 CCR 
11759] 

All time spent in make-up or hair-dressing in the minor’s home, with the assistance of 
studio personnel, is considered work time. No make-up person or hair-dresser may work 
on a minor in the minor’s home before 8:30 a.m. Twelve hours must lapse between the 
time the minor is dismissed on one day and the time make-up or hair-dressing begins on 
the following day.  [8 CCR 11763] 

Twelve hours must elapse between the minor’s time of dismissal and call time on the 
following day. If the minor’s regular school starts less than twelve hours after his or her 
dismissal time, the minor must be schooled the following day at the employer’s place of 
business.  [8 CCR 11760 (i)] 

Minors who attend regular school may not work in the entertainment industry for the 
same number of hours as minors tutored by studio teachers. Minors tutored by studio 
teachers need only be instructed for three hours a day [EC 48224; 8CCR 11760] while 
minors in regular school are generally required to attend school for a much longer time. 
Clearly, minors who attend regular school cannot assume the same work hour burden as 
tutored minors. Consequently, the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement adopted an 
enforcement policy for minors who attend regular school by subtracting six hours from 
the maximum number of hours that tutored minors are permitted on set when school is in 
session. For example, tutored minors 9 to 16 years of age are permitted to be on set for 
up to nine hours, therefore minors who attend regular school on a work day would be 
permitted to be on set for up to three hours. Such work days for minors attending regular 
school do not require a one hour rest and recreation period, but they may be extended 
one-half hour by a meal period.  Finally, the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement 
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policy always assumes that the minor who attends regular school always attend for at 
least six hours. Thus, in an effort to safeguard the minor’s educational interest, an 
artificially shortened regular school day is never allowed to result in an employer benefit 
of extended work hours. 

Nothing in the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement policy for minors who attend 
regular school may be construed to allow those minors to work during regular school 
hours. The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement policy is specifically designed to 
dissuade any interruption of a minor’s regular school attendance requirements. There is 
only one exception. A minor 14 years of age or older who attends regular school may 
work up to eight hours during regular school hours for each of two consecutive days upon 
the written permission of the minor’s school.  [8 CCR 11760 (h)] 

No law exempts minors employed in the entertainment industry from any of the 
prohibited occupations listed in Chapters 7 and 8 of this digest, except those 
entertainment activities cited in Labor Code Section 1308. 

Neither studio teachers nor the Labor Commissioner are empowered to waive, at any 
time or under any circumstances, any minimum labor standard established in law or 
regulation. Exception: The special exemption described above allowing minors aged 8 
to 18 to work past 10 p.m. up to 12 midnight on a school night. 

Wages 

As set forth in the IWC Orders (Section 1 (B) of Orders 11 and 12), professional actors 
are exempt from the minimum wages and overtime pay requirements of the California 
Industrial Welfare Commission. Minors employed in the entertainment industry who are 
not professional actors must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime after eight 
hours in a work day and forty hours in a workweek. 

Out of State Locations 

California employers who are bound by contractual arrangements made in California to 
employ minors residing within the state to work on location outside of the state, must 
comply with all California regulations, including the use of studio teachers. [8 CCR 
11756] 

Studio Teachers 

Studio teachers tutor minors whose employment responsibilities in this special industry 
does not allow them to attend full-time regular school. Excerpts of the California Code 
of Regulations, Title 8 that apply to studio teachers are reproduced below: 
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8 CCR Section 11755.  Studio Teacher; Definition and Certification 

(a) A studio teacher within the meaning of these regulations must be a 
certificated teacher who holds one California teaching credential listed in paragraphs (1) 
through (4) of subsection (d) of this section and one California teaching credential listed 
in (5) or (6) of subsection (d) of this section must be in one of the following subject areas:  
English, Math, Social Science or Foreign Language. 

(b) Certification by the Labor Commissioner shall be for a maximum 
three year period, not to exceed the earliest expiration date of any one of the qualifying 
teaching credentials submitted in support of certification.  A written examination will be 
required of the studio teacher by the Labor Commissioner at the time of certification or 
renewal.  Such examination shall be designed to ascertain the studio teacher’s knowledge 
of the labor laws and regulations of the State of California as they apply to the 
employment of minors in the entertainment industry.  In addition, each studio teacher 
applicant will be required to successfully complete a twelve hour course of instruction 
designed by the Labor Commissioner to instruct the applicant in the duties and 
responsibilities of the studio teacher.  Every studio teacher, as a condition of renewal of 
certification by the Labor Commissioner must complete three hours of instruction in a 
class designed by the Labor Commissioner to ensure that the studio teacher remains 
abreast of any changes in the laws and regulations and duties and responsibilities of the 
studio teacher. 

(c)  For the purpose of this section: 

(1) “English” means composition, creative writing, debate, forensics, 
humanities, journalism, language arts, literature, public speaking, 
speech (oral communication), writing, and other subjects with consent 
related to English. 

(2) “Math”  means algebra, calculus, geometry, mathematical analysis, 
number systems, probability and statistics, trigonometry and other 
subjects with content related to mathematics. 

(3) “Social Science” means American government and politics, 
anthropology, comparative government, economics, ethnic studies, 
European history, geography, government, history, 
humanities/cultural studies, international politics, psychology, 
sociology, United States history, world history and other subjects with 
content related to social science. 

(4) “Science” means astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, 
conservation, general science, geology, physics, physiology, zoology 
and other subjects with content related to science. 

(5) “Foreign Language” means any language other than English. 
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(d)  The California teaching credentials that satisfy subsection (a) are as follows: 

(1) A Multiple Subject credential issued under the provisions of the 
Teacher Credentialing Law of 1988 [EC 44200] et seq., as amended 
(commonly known as the Bergeson Act) or issued under the 
provisions of the Teacher Preparation and Licensing Act of 1970 [EC 
44200] et. seq., (commonly known as the Ryan Act) as amended; 

(2) An Elementary credential issued under the provisions of the Education 
Code in effect prior to the enactment of the Ryan Act (former EC 
13101 et seq., commonly known as the Fisher Act; a co-called 
“Standard Credential”);  

(3) An Early Childhood Education credential issued under the provisions 
of the Education Code in effect prior to the enactment of the Ryan 
Act (former EC 13101 et. seq., as amended; a so-called “Standard 
Credential’); 

(4) An Elementary credential issued under the provisions of the Education 
Code in effect prior to the enactment of the Fisher Act (former EC 
12025 et. seq., as amended; a so-called “General Credential”); 

(5) A Single Subject credential issued under the provisions of the 
Teacher Credentialing Law of 1988 [EC 44200] et. seq., as amended 
(commonly known as the Bergeson Act), or issued under the 
provisions of the Teacher Preparation and Licensing Act of 1970, [EC 
44200] et. seq., (commonly known as the Ryan Act) as amended, in 
one of the following subject areas: English, Math, Social Science, 
Science or Foreign Language; 

(6) A Secondary credential issued under the provisions of the Education 
Code in effect prior to the enactment of the Ryan Act (former EC 
13101 et. seq., commonly known as the Fisher Act; a so-called 
“Standard Credential”), in one of the following subject areas:  
English, Math, Social Science, Science or Foreign Language; 

(7) A General Secondary Teaching credential or a Special Secondary 
Teaching Credential in Speech Arts issued under the provisions of the 
Education Code in effect prior to the enactment of the Fisher Act 
(former EC 12025 et. seq., as amended; a so-called “ General 
Credential”). 

(e) A studio teacher who already possesses a certification by the Labor 
Commissioner and who possesses only one of the credentials listed in 
subsections (1) through (7) of subsection (d) above may continue to be 
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certified by the Labor commissioner, provided that the applicant is currently 
in the process of obtaining a second credential to meet the requirements of 
subsection (a) above and such credential is obtained by the applicant no later 
than December 31, 2000. After December 31, 2000 no person shall be 
permitted to continue to be certified as a studio teacher who has not obtained 
two credentials of a type provided for in subsections (d) (1), (2), (3) or (4) 
and subsection (d) (5), (6) or (7) of this section. 

(f) The Labor Commissioner may issue a special certificate as a studio teacher 
for a limited purpose where it is shown that a particular child actor may 
benefit from a particular applicant who may hold credentials of a special 
nature in order to meet the particular needs of that child actor.  Studio 
teachers holding special certificates do not count toward satisfying the studio 
teacher to minor ratios specified in section. [8 CCR 11755.2] 

8 CCR Section 11755.2 Use of Studio Teachers 

Employers shall provide a studio teacher on each call for minors from age 15 days to 
their sixteenth birthday and fro minors from age 16 to 18 years when required for the 
education of the minor.  One studio teacher must be provided for each group of 10 minors 
or fraction thereof. With respect to minor’s age 15 days to 16 years, one studio teacher 
must be provided for each group of 20 minors or fraction thereof on Saturdays, Sundays, 
holidays or during school vacations. 

8 CCR Section 11755.3 Studio Teacher’s Authority 

The studio teacher, in addition to teaching, shall also have the responsibility for caring 
and attending to the health, safety and morals of minors under 16 years of age for whom 
they have been provided by the employer, while such minors are engaged or employed in 
any activity pertaining to the entertainment industry and subject to these regulations. In 
the discharge of these responsibilities, the studio teacher shall take cognizance of such 
factors as working conditions, physical surroundings, signs of the minor’s mental and 
physical fatigue and the demands placed upon the minor in relation to the minor’s age, 
agility, strength and stamina.  The studio teacher may refuse to allow the engagement of a 
minor on a set or location and may remove the minor there-from, if in the judgment of the 
studio teacher, conditions are such as to present a danger to the health, safety or morals of 
the minor. Any such action by the studio teacher may be immediately appealed to the 
Labor Commissioner who may affirm or counter-mend such action. 
8 CCR Section 11755.4 Studio Teacher’s Remuneration 

The remuneration of the studio teacher shall be paid by the employer. 
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ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY - SUMMARY CHART 

AGE  

15  days  
to  

6  months  

6  months  
to  

2  years  

2  years  
to  

6  years  

6  years  
to  

9  years  

WORK  TIME  
SCHOOL  IN  

SESSION  

WORK  TIME  
SCHOOL  NOT  

IN SESSION  

20  minutes work  activity   

2  hrs.  max  at employment site 

May  only  be employed  between  9:30  a.m.  and  11:30  a m.  or  
between  2:30  p m.  and  4:30  p.m.  [8  CCR  11764].  

2  hours  work  activity   

4  hours  max  at employment 
site  

Balance  for  rest and  recreation  

May  only  be employed  between  5  a.m.  and  12:30  a.m.  [LC  
1308.7]  

3  hours  work  activity   

6  hours  max  at employment 
site  

Balance  for  rest and  recreation  

May  only  be employed  between  5  a.m.  and  12:30  a.m.  [LC  
1308.7]  

4  hours  work  activity   

3  hours  school  

1  hour  rest and  recreation  

6  hours  work  activity   

1  hour  rest  and  recreation  

CONCURRENT  
REQUIREMENTS  

Permits  to  work  and  employ  required.  [8  CCR  11751]   

Parent or  guardian  must be present. [8  CCR  11757]  

1  studio  teacher  and  1  nurse must be present for  each  3  
or  fewer  infants  15  days  to  6  weeks  old.  [8  CCR  
11760,  11755.2]  

1  studio  teacher  and  1  nurse must be present for  each  
10  or  fewer  infants  6  weeks  to  6  months  old.  [8  CCR  
11760,  11755.2]  

May  not be exposed  to  light exceeding  100  footcandles 
for  more than  30  seconds.  [8  CCR  11760]  

Permits  to  work  and  employ  required  unless  the  minor  
is  a high  school graduate or  equivalent. [8  CCR  11751]  
High  School graduates may  be  employed  as adults.  

Parent or guardian must be present. [8 CCR 11757] 

Studio  teacher  must be present.  [8  CCR  11751.1]   

1  studio  teacher  required  per  10  minors.  [8  CCR  
11755.1]  

1  studio  teacher  per  20  minors  on  weekends,  holidays,  
and  school breaks  and  vacations.  [8  CCR  11755.1]  

Studio  teachers  are responsible for  the health,  safety,  
and  morals of  the minor.  [8CCR  11755.2]  
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8  hrs.  max  at employment
site  

 

May  only  be employed  between  5  a m.  and  12:30  a.m.  (to  10  
p m.  preceding  schooldays  > 4  hours).[LC  1308.7]  

Minors  in  grades one through  six  must be tutored  
between  the hours  of  7  a.m.  and  4  p m.  Minors  in  
grades seven  through  twelve must be tutored  between  
the hours  of  7  a m.  and  7  p.m.  [EC  48225.5]  

9  years  
to  

16  years  

5  hours  work  activity   

3  hours  school  

1  hour  rest and  recreation  

9  hrs.  max  at employment 
site  

7  hours  work  activity   

1  hour  rest and  recreation  

Permits  to  work  and  employ  required  unless  a high  
school graduate or  equivalent. High  school graduates  
may  be employed  as adults.  

May  only  be employed  between  5  a m.  and  12:30  a.m.  (to  10  
p m.  preceding  schooldays  > 4  hours).[LC  1308.7]  

16  years  
to  

18  years  

6  hours  work  activity   

3  hours  school  

1  hour  rest and  recreation  

10  hrs.  max  at 
employment site  

8  hours  work  activity   

1  hour  rest and  recreation  

Studio  teacher  need  only  be present  for  minors'  
schooling   

if  minor  still required  to  attend  school.  

May  only  be employed  between  5  a m.  and  12:30  a.m.  (to  10  
p m.  preceding  schooldays  > 4  hours).[LC  1308.7]  

Regular 
School 

Attendance
and  Work  

Hours  

 

Compute work  hours  for  each  age group  by  subtracting  6  hours  from  the max  time at employment site for  tutored  
minors  when  school in  session.  The difference  is  the maximum  work  hours  for  these minors.  Thus,  9  to16  year-
olds  who  attend  regular  school may  only  work  up  to  3  hours  on  a schoolday.  The 1  hour  of  rest and  recreation  is  
not required,  but the workday  may  be extended  one-half  hour  by  a meal period.  No  work  permitted  during  regular  
school hours.  Exception: Minors  14  and  over  may  work  up  to  8  hours  during  regular  school hours  for  each  of  2  
consecutive days  if  excused  with  the school's  written  permission.  [8  CCR  11760]  

Max  
Day/Week  

No  minor  may  be employed  over  8  hours  in  a day.  [LC  1308.7,  1392]  or  over  48  hours  in  a week.  [LC  1308.7]  No  
exceptions.  

Meal Periods  Meal periods  are not work  time.  Workdays  extended  up  to  one-half  hour  for  a meal period.  [8  CCR  11761]  Meals  
must be within  6  hours  of  call time and/or  previous  meal period.  Teachers  may  require an  earlier  meal period.  

Travel Time  Travel between  studio  and  location  is  work  time.  Up  to  45  minutes  travel from  on-location,  overnight lodging  to  
work  site is  not generally  considered  work  time.  Travel between  school or  home and  studio  is  not work  time.  [8  
CCR11759]  

Day's  End  12  hours  must elapse between  dismissal and  next day's  call time. No  exceptions.  [8  CCR11760]  

Make-up  Make-up  in  minor's  home by  persons  employed  on  the same project  is  work  time,  and  may  not begin  before 8:30 
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Off Set a m. 12 hours must elapse between dismissal and the beginning of the next day's make-up/hairdressing. [8 CCR 
11763] 

Out of State California employers who employ resident minors outside of California under contractual arrangements made 
within California, must comply with all California child labor laws and regulations. [8 CCR 11756]. 

Note: Daily work and school hour schedules for tutored minors of all age groups are provided in 8 CCR 
11760. 

10. EMPLOYER REQUIREMENTS 

Recordkeeping 

Employers must keep on file all Permits to Employ and Work. Records must be open at 
all times for inspection by school authorities and officers of the Division of Labor 
Standards Enforcement. [LC 1299, EC 49161, EC 49164 and EC 49181] Failure to 
produce Permits to Employ and Work is prima facie evidence of the illegal employment 
of minors and subjects the employer to a $500 fine on the first offense. [LC 1304, LC 
1288 and EC 49181] 

Employers of minors must keep for three years a record showing the names, ages (dates 
of birth) and addresses of all minors employed as well as time and payroll records 
required by the applicable Industrial Welfare Commission Order. Employers must 
furnish this information when requested. [LC 1174 and LC 1175] 

Permits to Employ and Work issued during the school year expire five days after the 
opening of the next succeeding school year and must be renewed [EC 49118]. 
Exception: Entertainment Work Permits issued by the Labor Commissioner have 
different expiration dates (See Chapter 9 of this digest). 

An employer who employ student learners must keep a copy of the written agreement 
with the minor’s other employment records.  [LC 1295] (See Chapter 8 of this digest) 

All employers must furnish each of his or her employees, at the time the wages are paid, 
a separate or detachable itemized statement of deductions.  [LC 226] 

Worker’s Compensation Coverage 

Every employer in California except the state must either carry workers’ compensation 
insurance or have the consent of the Director of the Department of Industrial Relations to 
self-insure by furnishing proof that he, she or the employer has the ability to self-insure 
and to pay any compensation that may become due to his, her or its employees. [LC 
3700]  Failure on the part of an employer to secure the payment of compensation to his, 
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her or its employees is a very serious violation with severe consequences.*  Where an 
employer has failed to secure the payment of compensation, the Division of Labor 
Standards Enforcement (The Labor Commissioner’s office) will issue a “stop order” 
prohibiting that employer from using employees until he, she or it complies with Labor 
Code Section 3700. Concurrently with the issuance and service of the stop order, a 
penalty will be assessed against the employer in the sum of $1,500 per employee at the 
time the order is issued and served. [LC 3722] When a stop order is issued, any 
employee affected by the work stoppage will be paid by the employer for such work time 
loss, up to and including ten days. [LC 3710.1] 

All employers must have a written Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP). [8 CCR 
3203] The program and associated records must be presented to Cal/OSHA inspectors 
upon request. Cal/OSHA provides information pamphlets, work books and consultation 
services to help employers comply with this requirement and develop an effective IIPP. 

Required Postings 

Employers are required to post many types of notices, some specific to certain industries.  
The following are some of the postings required by the state of California (this list is not 
all inclusive): 

DLSE and IWC Required Postings 

• The Industrial Welfare Commission Order for the industry or occupation in 
which the minor is employed. [LC 1183] IWC Orders are available from any 
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office, the Industrial Welfare 
Commission or may be downloaded and printed off the Internet at 
http://www.dir.ca.gov/IWC/iwc.html. 

• A Minimum Wage poster available from any Division office or the Industrial 
Welfare Commission. 

• A Pay Day Notice specifying the regular pay days and the time and place of 
payment for employees. [LC 207]  Employers may make their own notice.  A 
sample notice can be obtained from any Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement office. 

Other Required Postings 

• A Cal/OSHA Safety Rules and Regulations notice available from the Division 
of Occupational Safety and Health. [LC 6328] 

• A Workers’ Compensation Insurance Coverage notice available from the 
employer’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier. [LC 3550] 
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• A Discrimination in Employment is Prohibited by Law notice available from 
the Department of Fair Employment and Housing. [GC 12950] 

• Every owner, tenant or operator of a farm employing parents having minor 
children in their immediate care and custody must conspicuously post a 
notice, where it may be easily read by employees, stating that minor children 
are not allowed to work unless permits to work have been secured.  Notices 
must be printed in both English and Spanish. [EC 49140]  Employers must 
furnish their own notices. 

• State Disability and Unemployment Insurance Notice available from the 
Employment Development Department. 

Parent or Guardian Employers 

Generally, when parents or guardians employ their minor children they must meet all the 
child labor requirements imposed upon other employers. Parents or guardians who 
employ their minor children in “manufacturing, mercantile or similar commercial 
enterprises” must obtain permits to work and employ. [EC 49141] The phrase “or similar 
commercial enterprises” is broadly construed to mean any business in which parents or 
guardians employ their children. 

The only parent or guardian employers who are exempt from California child labor laws 
are those who employ their minor children in agriculture, horticulture, viticulture or 
domestic labor on or in connection with premises that the parent or guardian owns, 
operates or controls. [LC 1394] 

*The willful failure to secure the payment of compensation is a misdemeanor, punishable by either a fine 
of up to $10,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year or both [LC 3700.5]. 

These parent or guardian employers are uniquely exempt from work permit requirements, 
most work hour restrictions and hazardous occupation prohibitions. Minors may not be 
employed by their parent(s) or guardian(s) in these exempted occupations during school 
hours even if the minor is under school age. [LC 1394] Under federal law, minors 
employed on a farm owned or operated by his or her parent or person standing in place of 
the parent are exempt from the FLSA’s child labor provisions, including hazardous 
occupations, but they may not be employed in any mining or manufacturing occupation 
on the farm. [29 USC 213 (c) (1) and (2), 29 CFR 570.123 (c)] 

The “domestic labor” exemption should not be construed to mean the employment in the 
parent or guardian’s home of a minor in an occupation otherwise prohibited. Domestic 
labor refers to the type of duties performed, that is, household duties, not the location 
where labor is performed. For example, minors may not be freely employed to 
manufacture goods in their parents’ home; they must be at least 16 and possess a home 
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worker permit issued by the Labor Commissioner in addition to possessing a work permit 
issued by the minor’s school. [LC 2659 and LC 2661] 

Similarly under federal law, parents do not have carte blanche when they employ their 
own children. Parents or guardians may not employ their minor children under 16 in 
mining or manufacturing; nor may they employ their children in the occupations declared 
hazardous for persons under 18 in federal regulations. (See Chapter 8 of this digest) [29 
USC 203 91) (1) and (2), 29 CFR 570 Subpart E] Under federal law, parents or 
guardians may employ their children under 16 in any other occupation. However, where 
state law imposes a more protective occupational standard, that standard applies to parent 
employers. State law does not permit parents or guardians to employ their underage 
children in prohibited occupations, except in agriculture on premises the parent or 
guardian owns, operates or controls.  [LC 1394] 

Parent or guardian employers are entirely exempt from both state and federal minimum 
wage and overtime pay requirements. Parents or guardians need not pay their employee 
children any wages at all.  [IWC Orders Section 1, USC 203 (s) (2)] 

Finally, parents or guardians have special liability for violations of certain child labor 
laws even when they are not the employer.  (See Chapter 11 of this digest). 

Registration for Employers, Transporters and Supervisors of Minors Engaged in 
Door-to-Door Sales 

Employers, transporters and supervisors of minors engaged in door-to-door sales are 
required to register with the Labor Commissioner. The following definitions apply to the 
registration: 

“Door-to-door sales” is defined in accordance with Labor Code Section 1286 (e) and 
Section 11706.1 of the California Code of Regulations.  [8 CCR 13760] 

A “door-to-door sales operation” is broadly construed to mean any activity directly or 
indirectly associated with the door-to-door sales activity including, but not limited to, a 
person’s business activities, recruitment or any activity directly or indirectly involving a 
minor employed or used in door-to-door sales. [8 CCR 13670] 

“Persons” means an individual, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, 
association or other legal entity.  [8 CCR 13670] 

“Employer” means a person subject to Labor Code Section 1308.3 and Subchapter 10 of 
Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations who exercises control, direction or 
supervision, either directly, of minors engaged in door-to-door sales operations. [8 CCR 
13670] 
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“Transporter” and/or “Supervisor” mean an individual subject to Labor Code Section 
1308.2 and Subchapter 10 of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations, who is at least 
18 years of age and who does one or more of the following: (1) recruits, (2) solicits, (3) 
hires, (4) directs, or (5) controls, directly or indirectly any activity that facilitates a 
minor’s participation in door-to-door sales operations. A “Transporter” and/or 
“Supervisor” also includes any employer who does one or more of the following: (1) 
recruits, (2)solicits, (3) hires, (4) directs, or (5) controls, directly or indirectly, any 
activity that facilitates a minor’s participation in door-to-door sales operations. [8 CCR 
13670] 

Registration requirements for minors’ door-to-door sales are construed to apply to 
employers who employ minors to deliver newspapers to consumers.  [LC 1286 (e)] 

Exceptions: Registration requirements do not apply to the parent or guardian of the 
minor; persons acting on behalf of a bona fide trustee of charitable assets or on behalf of 
a charitable organization; government agencies (including schools); any religious 
corporation or organization which holds property for religious purposes or any officer, 
director or trustee thereof who holds property for like purposes; a bona fide cemetery 
corporation; a bona fide political committee; or a bona fide charitable corporation 
organized and operated primarily as a religious organization, educational institution, 
hospital or licensed health care service plan.  [LC 1308.2 and LC 1308.3; 
GC 12582, GC 12582.1 and GC 12583] 

Applications for registration as an employer, transporter or supervisor of minors engaged 
in door-to-door sales are available from the Division of Labor Standards 
Enforcement’s Licensing and Registration Unit. 

11. PENALTIES FOR VIOLATING CHILD LABOR LAWS 

Civil Penalties 

The state of California provides two types of civil penalties for violations of Child labor 
laws, Class A and Class B.  [LC 1288]* 

Class A violations are the more severe, generally involving underage employment in 
hazardous occupations. Class A violations include violations of Labor Code Sections 
1290 (manufacturing and underage employment); 1292, 1293, 1293.1, 1294, 1294.1, 
1294.5, 1308 (hazardous occupations); 1308.1 (door-to-door sales); 1392 (eight hour 
day); Title 8 California Code of Regulations Sections 11701, 11703, 11707 (hazardous 
activities), 11706 (door-to-door dales); and any other violations that the Director of 
Industrial Relations present an imminent danger to minor employees or a substantial 
probability that death or serious physical harm would result there-from. [LC 1288; 8 
CCR 11780] The violation of Labor Code Section 1391 (work hours) for the third or 
subsequent occasions also constitutes a Class A violation.  [LC 1288] 
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Class A violations incur penalties of not less than $5,000 and up to $10,000 for each and 
every violation.  [LC 1288; 8CCR 11779 and 11779.1] 

Class B violations include violations of Labor Code Sections 1299 (work permits), 
1308.5 (entertainment industry) and such other violations that the Director of Industrial 
Relations determines have a direct or immediate relationship to the health, safety or 
security of minor employees other than Class A violations. [LC 1288, 8 CCR 11782]  
The violation of Labor Code Section 1391 (work hours) is a $500 Class B violation upon 
the first violation and a $1,000 Class B violation on the second violation.  [LC 1288] 

Class B violations carry civil penalties of not less than $500 and up to $1000 for each and 
every violation.  [LC 1288 (b), 8 CCR 11781 and 11781.1] 

In addition, any employer may be liable for civil penalties for: 

• Failure to pay the applicable minimum wage.  [LC 1197.1] 
• Failure to carry workers’ compensation insurance.  [LC 3722] 
• Failure to provide a written deduction statement.  [LC 226] 

Criminal Penalties 

Criminal violations of child labor laws are misdemeanors punishable by fines ranging up 
to $10,000 or by confinement in the county jail for periods up to 6 months or both fine 
and imprisonment. [LC 1175, 1199, 1303, 1308, 1308.2, 1308.3, 1308.5 1308.7, 1309, 
1309.5, 1391 and 1392; EC 48454, 49182 and 49183] 

In essence, almost all the child labor laws, as well as the compulsory education laws have 
some misdemeanor penalty attached to them. 

Liability for Child Labor Penalties 

The employer, never the minor is liable for child labor violations. 

All statutes governing prohibited occupations (listed in Chapter 8 of this digest) make 
liable any person who employs or permits underage minors to work in the prohibited 
occupation. This means that any person, even if they are not the employer who permits 
and underage minor to perform a hazardous duty no matter how voluntary the act is on 
the part of the minor is liable for Class A penalties. Even minors who regard themselves 
as self-employed may not engage in these prohibited activities. A client who permits 
such a minor to engage in the prohibited activity would be liable for Class A penalties.  
This type of liability also extends to underage employment in any of the federally 
regulated occupations adopted by the state of California. For example, minors under 16 
may not be employed or permitted to work in occupations involving mining, 
manufacturing, processing, or perform any duties in related work-rooms. [LC 1294.1 and 

53 



 

   

       
      

  
 

    
    

 
 

     
      

      
   

         
       

  
 

       
      
         

    
  

 
 

    
     

  
 

     
  

         
     

   
  

 
 

 
 

       
   

   
     

     
       

       
     

 

LC 1290] Moreover, minors under 14, for example, may not be employed or permitted 
to work in clerical or food service occupations since a minor must be at least 14 to 
engage in these activities.  [LC 1294.1] 

Owners of real property who knowingly benefit from child labor violations are subject to 
all applicable civil penalties, whether or not the person is the minor’s employer. [LC 
1301] 

“Any person…who as parent, guardian, relative, employer, or otherwise having control 
of any minor, exhibits, uses, or employs, or in any manner or under any pretense for or 
who uses, procures, or encourages the minor to engage in…[a]ny business, exhibition, or 
vocation injurious to the health or dangerous to the life or limb of the minor” or in any of 
the activities specified in Labor Code 1308 are liable for any civil and criminal penalties 
which arise from its violation. [LC 1308] Occupations prohibited in Labor Code 1308 
are listed in Chapter 8 of this digest. 

*Civil penalties for statutes listed are effective as of January 1, 1996. Until that date, 
Labor Code Section 1290 is a Class B violation, while Labor Code Section 1294.5 and 
1308.1 have only a misdemeanor penalty attached to their violation. All other listed 
statutes currently carry the penalties as described and those penalties will continue 
unchanged after January 1, 1996. 

Parents or guardians (in addition to employers, agents, managers, etc.) who permit the 
minor to be employed unlawfully in the entertainment industry (which includes any 
violation of state regulations governing minors in the entertainment industry are liable for 
any civil and criminal penalties that arise from the violation.  [LC 1308.5] 

Garment manufacturers who within a two year period commit a second violation 
involving child labor, minimum wage, or maximum hours of labor, in any combination of 
violations, may be required by the Labor Commissioner to post a surety bond. Upon a 
third or subsequent violation within a two year period, the Labor Commissioner may 
suspend a garment manufacturer’s registration for up to one year and confiscate any 
partially or fully assembled garments.  [LC 2679(b)] 

Filing a Complaint 

Complaints for violations of state child labor standards and wage laws may be filed with 
the nearest Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office. The Division of Labor 
Standards Enforcement will accept anonymous and confidential complaints. Employees 
are urged to keep their own records to substantiate their claims, especially with regard to 
hours and wages. It is unlawful for employers to discharge or discriminate against any 
employee who files or threatens to file a bona fide complaint or claim with the Labor 
Commissioner. [LC 98.6] Employers may not adopt policies or retaliate against 
employees who disclose information to a government agency with the reasonable belief 
that the information reveals a violation of state or federal law.  [LC 1102.5] 
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Safety and health hazards that are not specifically part of the child labor protections 
outlined in this booklet should be reported to the nearest office of the California Division 
of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA). Employees may not be discriminated or 
retaliated against for filing health and safety complaints with Cal/OSHA. [LC 6310 and 
LC 6311] 

Complaints regarding federal child labor standards as well as federal wage and hour 
standards may be filed with the nearest office of the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. 
Department of Labor. 

12. FEDERAL FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT 

In addition to being governed by the California child labor laws, most employees are 
governed by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Generally, employees are 
covered by the FLSA if their activities meet either one or both of two tests, the employee 
test or the enterprise test. Under the employee test, employees must be engaged in 
commerce or in the production of goods for commerce or in activities closely related and 
directly essential to commerce. [29 CFR 776] “Commerce” means interstate or foreign 
trade, commerce, transportation, transmission, or communication and has the broadest 
interpretation. For example, “transactions” need not be commercial, “transportation” 
includes person and things, and “transmission” may refer to tangibles or intangibles. The 
employee need not directly affect commerce, but merely be engaged “in the channels of 
commerce.”  [29 CFR 776.8] 

Under the enterprise test, employees of specified enterprises (which include related 
activities performed through a unified operation or common control by any person(s) for 
a common business purpose) are covered by the FLSA if they merely work on goods or 
materials that have been moved in or produced for commerce. [29 USC 203(r) and (s)] 
Thus, enterprises specified in the FLSA that use anything (even, for example, paper and 
pencils) that has crossed a state line or national border places all employees of the 
enterprise under the FLSA regardless of their individual duties. Those specified 
enterprises include [29 USC 203(s) (1)]: 

• Enterprises whose annual gross  volume of sales or business done 
is at least $500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the retail level that 
are separately stated); 

• Enterprises engaged in the operation of a hospital, an institution 
primarily engaged in the care of the sick, the aged, or the mentally 
ill or defective who reside on the premises of such institution, a 
school for mentally or physically handicapped or gifted children, a 
preschool, elementary or secondary school, or an institution of 
higher education, whether or not such institutions are public, 
private, for profit, or not for profit. 
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• State and local agencies. 

The annual dollar volume of $500,000 for enterprise coverage became effective after 
March 31, 1990. Enterprises that qualified for coverage under the previous dollar 
$362,500 remain covered by all the FLSA standards in effect at that time, including the 
child labor provisions. Extensive discussion of FLSA coverage may be found in 29 CFR 
570.112, et seq. and 29 CFR Parts 776 and 779. The Department of Labor also publishes 
a pamphlet which discusses coverage titled, Employment Relationship under the Fair 
Labor Standards Act. 

The FLSA establishes sixteen as the minimum age for general employment. Minors 
sixteen and above may work in any occupation except for occupations declared 
hazardous in federal regulation for persons under eighteen.  (See Chapter 8 of this digest). 
Fourteen and fifteen year olds are allowed to work only in limited, specified occupations. 
(See Chapter 7 of this digest). Minors under fourteen may not work in firms subject to 
the FLSA, except in agriculture. The state of California has adopted federal hazardous 
occupation standards for minors under eighteen and many of the standards for fourteen 
and fifteen year olds. 

The FLSA’s child labor provisions (1) prohibit the shipment in interstate commerce or in 
foreign commerce of goods produced in or about establishments in the United States in 
which oppressive child labor has been employed within 30 days prior to the removal of 
goods; and (2) prohibit the employment of oppressive child labor in interstate or foreign 
commerce or in the production of goods for such commerce. “Oppressive child labor” 
means the employment of minors in violation of the child labor provisions of the FLSA 
or its attendant regulations. 

Exemptions from federal child labor standards [29 USC 203, 213] include: 

• Minors under sixteen employed by parents in occupations other than 
manufacturing or mining.  However, parents may not employ their minor 
children of any age in occupations declared hazardous in federal 
regulation for minors under eighteen. 

• Minors employed as actors or performers in motion pictures, theatrical, 
radio, or television productions; 

• Minors engaged in the delivery of newspapers to consumers; 

• Minors employed as home workers in the making of wreaths, composed 
principally of natural holly, pine, cedar, or other evergreens (including the 
harvesting of the evergreens or other forest products used in making such 
wreaths). 
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• Minors employed on a farm owned or operated by his or her parent or 
person standing in place of the parent are exempt but may not be 
employed in any mining or manufacturing occupation on the farm.  [29 
USC 213 (c) (1) and (2), 29 CFR 570.123 (c)]  The federal Hazardous 
Occupation Orders for minors under eighteen do not apply to minors 
employed in agriculture.  [29 CFR 570.123 (d)]  Only the occupations 
declared hazardous to minors under sixteen employed in agriculture apply. 
All these occupations are listed in Chapter 8 of this digest. 

• Minors employed in domestic service occupations are also exempt from 
the child labor provisions of the FLSA, and these exemptions are 
explained in “Household Occupations” in Chapter 7 of this digest. 

If the federal and state laws conflict, the more protective standard always prevails. 
Before employing minors, an employer should consult with the Wage and Hour Division 
of the U.S. Department of Labor, in order to determine the applicability of the federal 
wage and hour and child labor laws. Consult your telephone directory for the office 
location and telephone number. 

The Fair Labor Standards Act may be found in Title 29 of the United States Code 
commencing at section 201. Most accompanying child labor regulations may be found in 
Part 570 of Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulation. 

13. SUMMARY CHARTS 

The summary charts comparing California and federal child labor laws by age groups 
appearing on the following pages are merely summaries. Special rules or provisions, 
which may be important to you, may not be included in these summaries. Special 
circumstances may be included in the text of this digest, but where doubt remains, readers 
should consult the Division of Labor Standards (Labor Commissioners office) for details 
on California laws or the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor for 
details on federal laws. 
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MINORS UNDER AGE 12 
California Law Federal Law 

School Attendance 
Must attend school full-time State law applies. 

Permit to Work and to Employ 
Not Permitted to Work except in the entertainment industry on 
permits issued by the Labor Commissioner. 

Certificate of age required. (State permit suffices.) 

Hours of Work 
Maximum Hours Daily: 8 hours. Weekly: 40 hours.  
Spread of Hours 7am - 7pm (- 9pm June 1 through Labor Day).  
 
See text and separate table for entertainment industry employment. 

May not be employed in firms subject to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act, except certain agricultural firms. 

Wages 
Must be paid at least wage rates required by the Industrial Welfare 
Commission. Exceptions: Parents and personal attendants (which 
includes babysitting and companionship services) are exempt from 
minimum wage and overtime requirements.  

Must be paid at least the wage rates required by the FLSA. 
Exceptions: Casual babysitting (under 20 hours per week) and 
companionship services. Subminimum rates available only 
under a special federal certificate and must comply with state 
child labor standards. 

Exemptions 
NO PERMITS REQUIRED FOR: 
 
Any self-employed minor; news carriers self-employed on a regular 
route to deliver newspapers to consumers (news carriers must be at 
least 12 years of age); casual work in private homes such as 
babysitting, lawnmowing, leaf raking, etc.; Employment by 
parent/guardian in domestic labor on or in connection with premises 
the parent/guardian owns, operates or controls. 
 
NOTE: Parent/guardians may not employ their minor children in 
manufacturing, mercantile or other enterprises without work permits. 
Except as noted, parent employers are subject to all occupational 
restrictions. 

FLSA's child labor provisions do not apply to 1) child actors or 
performers in motion pictures, theatrical, radio or television 
productions; 2) news carriers; 3) children employed as 
homeworkers for production of holly and evergreen wreaths, 
including harvesting of forest products for such wreaths; and 4) 
most domestic service.  

NOTE: Parent/guardians may employ their minor children 
under 16 in any occupation except mining or manufacturing, or 
in occupations declared hazardous in federal regulation for 
minors under 18 (See chart for 16- and 17-year-olds.)  

Agriculture 
May only work for parent/guardian on or in connection with premises 
the parent owns, operates, or controls. No permit is required and no 
occupational restrictions apply except that the minor may not work 
during schoolhours, even if under schoolage.  
 
May not be employed in or accompany parent/guardian or guardian 
into an "agricultural zone of danger," which includes water hazards, 
chemicals, moving equipment or any agricultural occupation 
prohibited to minors under 16 unless activities are on or in 
connection with premises the parent/guardian owns, operates, or 
controls. 
 
 
 
 
 

May be employed on farms owned or operated by the parent or 
person standing in place of the parent. Must be employed 
outside the school district's regular school hours.  
 
May not be employed in occupations declared hazardous in 
federal regulation for minors under 16 in agriculture (See chart 
for 14- and 15-year-olds). 
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12- & 13-Year Olds 

California Law Federal Law 
School Attendance 

Must attend school full-time unless a high school graduate or 
equivalent.  

State law applies. 

Permits to Work and to Employ 
Required unless a high school graduate or equivalent.  
Permits may be more restrictive than minimum statutory standards. 

Certificate of age required. (State permit suffices.) 

Hours of Work 
May be employed only on non-schooldays. 
 
Maximum Hours Daily: 8 hours. Weekly: 40 hours.  
Maximum daily and weekly work hours during school year are not 
expressed in statute. See text.  
 
Spread of Hours 7am - 7pm (- 9pm June 1 through Labor Day).  
 
High school graduates may work the same hours as adults. 
 
See text for entertainment industry employment.  

May not be employed in firms subject to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act,  
except certain agricultural firms. 

Wages 
Must be paid at least wage rates required by the Industrial Welfare 
Commission. Exceptions: Parents and personal attendants (which 
includes baby-sitting and companionship services) are exempt from 
minimum wage and overtime requirements.  

Must be paid at least the wage rates required by the 
FLSA. Exceptions: Casual babysitting (under 20 hours 
per week) and companionship services. Subminimum 
rates available only under a special federal certificate 
and must comply with state child labor standards. 

Occupational Restrictions 
MAY BE EMPLOYED: 
 
As personal attendants, in household occupations, or as news carriers.  
In the entertainment industry on permits issued by the Labor 
Commissioner. 
 
MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED OR PERMITTED TO WORK: 
 
In occupations permitted only to minors who are at least 14 years old. 
(See chart for 14- & 15-year-olds.) 
In any hazardous occupation prohibited to minors under 16. (See chart 
for 14- & 15-year-olds.) 
In any hazardous occupation prohibited to 16- & 17-year-olds. (See 
chart for 16- & 17-year-olds.) 
Or enrolled in a Work Experience Education program.  

May not be employed in firms subject to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act, except certain agricultural firms. 

Exemptions 
NO PERMITS REQUIRED FOR: 
 
Any self-employed minor; news carriers self-employed on a regular 
route to deliver newspapers to consumers (news carriers must be at 
least 12 years of age); irregular odd jobs in private homes such as 
babysitting or yardwork; employment by parent/guardian in domestic 

FLSA's child labor provisions do not apply to 1) child 
actors or performers in motion pictures, theatrical, 
radio or television productions; 2) news carriers; 3) 
children employed as homeworkers for production of 
holly and evergreen wreaths, including harvesting of 
forest products for such wreaths; and 4) most domestic 
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labor on or in connection with premises the parent/guardian owns, 
operates or controls. 
 
NOTE: Parent/guardians may not employ their minor children in 
manufacturing, mercantile or other enterprises without work permits. 
Except as noted, parent employers are subject to all occupational 
restrictions. 

service.  
 
 
NOTE: Parent/guardians may employ their minor 
children under 16 in any occupation except mining or 
manufacturing, or in occupations declared hazardous in 
federal regulation for minors under 18 (See chart for 
16- and 17-year-olds.) 

Agriculture 
May not be employed in any occupation declared hazardous in federal 
regulation to minors under 16 in agriculture or in any occupation 
determined by state law or regulation to be hazardous . 
 
Minors' work performed on premises the parent/guardian owns, 
operates, or controls, requires no permit and has no occupational or 
work hour limitations, except that work may not be performed during 
school hours.  
 
Must be paid the wage rates provided in the applicable IWC Order. 
Parents exempt from wage payment requirements. 
 
May not be employed in occupations declared hazardous in federal 
regulation for minors under 16 in agriculture (listed in the chart for 14 
and 15-year-olds). 

May be employed on farms owned or operated by the 
parent or person standing in place of the parent. Must 
be employed outside the school district's regular school 
hours.  
 
May be employed outside school hours with 
parent/guardian's written consent or on the same farm 
employing the parent/guardian. 
 
May not be employed in occupations declared 
hazardous in federal regulation for minors under 16 in 
agriculture (listed in the chart for 14- and 15-year-
olds). 

14- & 15- Year Olds 

California Law Federal Law 
School Attendance 

Must attend school full-time unless a high school graduate  
or equivalent.  

State law applies. 

Permits to Work and to Employ 

Required unless a high school graduate or equivalent.  
Permits may be more restrictive than minimum statutory  
standards.  

Certificate of age required. (State permit suffices.) 

Hours of Work 

Maximum Work Hours 
School NOT in Session: Daily: 8 hours. Weekly : 40 hours.  
School IN Session: Daily: 3 hours on a schoolday, 8 hours on a non-schoolday ; Weekly : 18 hours, but all hours  
must be outside schoolhours .5 hours per day as sports attendant 
 
Work Experience Education enrollees may work up to 23 hours per week, any portion of which may be during school  
hours.  
Spread of Hours 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. (- 9 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day).  
High school graduates may be employed for same hours as adults. 
See text for entertainment industry employment.  
 
 

Wages 
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Must be paid at least wage rates required by the Industrial  
Welfare Commission. Exceptions: Parents and personal  
attendants (which includes baby-sitting and  
companionship services) are exempt from minimum wage  
and overtime requirements.  

 
Must be paid at least the wage rates required by the FLSA.  
Exceptions: Casual babysitting (under 20 hours per week)  
and companionship services. Subminimum rates available  
only under a special federal certificate and must comply with 
state child labor standards. 

Occupational Restrictions 

 
MAY BE EMPLOYED: 
In occupations expressly permitted in retail, food service, and gasoline service establishments: Office and clerical work;  
cashiering, selling, modeling, art work, advertising, window dressing, comparative shopping; price marking and tagging,  
assembling orders, packing and shelving; bagging and carry-out; errands and deliveries by foot, bike, or public  
transportation; clean-up work (may use vacuums & floor waxers, but not power mowers or cutters); kitchen work for the  
preparation and serving of food and beverages (may use machines such as dishwashers, toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn  
poppers, coffee grinders, milkshake blenders); cleaning, packing, wrapping, labeling, weighing, pricing, and stocking  
vegetables and fruits. Cooking is prohibited unless performed in plain view of customers and if it is not the sole duty.  
In office or clerical work in transportation, warehousing and storage, communications and public utilities, and  
construction if such work is not performed on trains, motor vehicles, aircraft, vessels, or any other form of transportation  
or at a construction site. 
In any other occupation not prohibited to this age group by state or federal law or regulation. 
 
MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED OR PERMITTED TO WORK: 
In any occupation declared hazardous in federal regulation for 16- and 17-year-olds (See chart for that age group); or  
In occupations in mining, manufacturing, or processing including any duties in related workrooms; or  
In occupations involving hoisting apparatuses, power-driven machinery, operation of motor vehicles or as helpers on  
vehicles, public messenger service; or  
In any occupation, except clerical as described above, involving the transportation of persons or property by any means,  
warehousing and storage, communications, public utilities, construction (including demolition and repair); or  
In occupations in the gasoline, retail, or food service industries involving maintenance or repair of the establishment,  
machines, or equipment; work in or about boiler or engine rooms; operating or maintaining food slicers grinders,  
choppers, or bakery mixers; outside window washing from window sills or any work on scaffolds, ladders, etc.; cooking 
except at lunch counters, snack bars etc.; any work in freezers or meat coolers; or loading or unloading from trucks,  
railcars, or conveyors.  

Solely under state law, MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED OR 
PERMITTED TO WORK: 
 
In door-to-door sales of newspapers or magazine subscriptions, candy, 
cookies, flowers or other merchandise door-to-door unless:  

• Minors work in pairs as a team;  
 
• One adult supervisor for 10 or fewer minors;  
 
• Within sight or sound of the supervisor once every 15 minutes;  
 
• Returned to home or rendezvous point daily;  
 
• Work performed within 50 miles of minor's residence;  
 
• Employer, transporter, supervisor registered with DLSE if work over 
10 miles from minors' home.  
In any occupation determined to be hazardous in state law or 
regulation, including for example:  

Under federal regulation, MAY BE EMPLOYED: 
 
In any gas station to dispense gas and oil, perform 
courtesy service, or clean, wash, or polish cars. 
NOTE: Under state law, minors must be at least 16 to 
perform these activities.  
 
MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED: 
 
In any gas station in work that involves the use of 
pits, racks, or lifting apparatuses, or the inflation of 
any tire mounted on a rim equipped with a removable 
retainer ring. NOTE: Under state law, minors must be 
at least 18 to perform these activities. (Under both 
state and federal law, minors must be at least 16 to 
perform maintenance or repair on machines of any 
kind, such as automobiles, but does not include any 
work on with machines prohibited to 16- and 17-year-
olds) 
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Any business, exhibition, or vocation injurious to the health or 
dangerous to the life or limb of the minor. [LC 1308(a)(1)] 
Construction work of any kind including work on any scaffolding.  
Delivering goods, packages, papers (except newspapers), etc. from 
motor vehicles.  
Gas station work except duties listed above. See federal list this chart 
opposite. 
Machine-related duties including any occupation in close proximity 
to moving machinery or hazardous or unguarded belts or gearing or in 
proximity to functioning parts of unguarded or dangerous moving 
equipment. Minors may not adjust or repair belts or oil, wipe, or clean 
machinery or assist in these activities. 
Machines-operation or assistance involving, for example, machines 
for laundry or washing; mixing or grinding; paper cutting, power 
punching or shearing, wire or iron straightening; corrugating rolls; 
calendar rolls in paper and rubber manufacture; paper cutting; leather 
burnishing; stamping leather, paper, and washer and nut manufacture; 
steamboilers, metal and woodworking; and drill presses or printing 
presses of any kind.  
Manufacturing of any kind, including industrial homework. SEE 
TEXT.  
Manufacture or use of dangerous dyes, gases, or use of dangerous 
acids, or manufacture or packing of paints, colors, tobacco, or lead. 
On any vessel or boat engaged in navigation or commerce within 
state's jurisdiction. 
In close proximity to vessels or aircraft or functioning blades or 
propellers. 
Any wandering , mendicant, or begging business. 
In any activity in or on that portion of an establishment primarily 
designed for on-site consumption of alcohol. 
To sell alcoholic beverages for off-site consumption unless constantly 
supervised by a person 21 or older. 
To sell lottery tickets unless constantly supervised by a person 21 or 
older. 
PARTIAL LIST. See text. Compliance with these standards does not 
justify noncompliance with any occupational prohibition for 16- and 
17-year-olds.  

Exemptions 
NO PERMITS REQUIRED FOR: 
Any self-employed minor; news carriers self-employed on a regular 
route to deliver newspapers to consumers (news carriers must be at 
least 12 years of age); irregular odd jobs in private homes such as 
babysitting, lawn mowing, leaf raking, etc.; employment by 
parent/guardian in domestic labor on or in connection with premises 
the parent/guardian owns, operates or controls. 
 
NOTE: Parent/guardians may not employ their minor children in 
manufacturing, mercantile or any other enterprises without work 
permits. Except as noted, parent employers are subject to all 
occupational restrictions that affect other employers.  

FLSA's child labor provisions do not apply to 1) child 
actors or performers in motion pictures, theatrical, radio 
or television productions; 2) news carriers; 3) children 
employed as homeworkers for production of holly and 
evergreen wreaths, including harvesting of forest 
products for such wreaths; and 4) most domestic 
service.  
 
NOTE: Parent/guardians may employ their minor 
children under 16 in any occupation except mining or 
manufacturing, or in occupations declared hazardous in 
federal regulation for minors under 18 (See chart for 
16- and 17-year-olds.)  

LIMITED EXEMPTION: Training in some otherwise restricted occupations (but not in any occupation declared hazardous in 
federal regulation for minors under 18) permitted in bona fide Work Experience Education programs with a valid permit. Also 
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see Hours of Work for these training programs. 

Agriculture 
May be employed with a permit on non-schooldays and on 
schooldays during non-school hours. Under state law, work hours 
that apply to 14- and 15-year-olds generally also apply when they 
are employed in agriculture. 
 
Must be paid at least the minimum wage rates provided in the 
applicable IWC Order. Parent/guardians exempt from wage 
payment requirements. 
 
When work is performed on premises owned, operated, or 
controlled by the parents or guardian, no permit is required and 
there are no hour limitations during the time public schools are not 
in session. Minors may not work at such occupations while the 
public schools are in session.  
 
May not be employed or permitted to work in the occupations 
declared hazardous for all other minors under 16.  

May be employed outside school hours only. Parent 
permission not required. 

MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED OR PERMITTED TO WORK IN AGRICULTURAL OCCUPATIONS DECLARED 
HAZARDOUS IN FEDERAL REGULATION FOR MINORS UNDER 16:  
 
Operating a tractor of over 20 PTO horsepower, or connecting or disconnecting an implement or any of its parts to or from such 
a tractor. 
 
Operating or assisting to operate (including starting, stopping, adjusting, feeding, or any other activity involving physical 
contact associated with the operations) any of the following machines:  
• Corn picker, cotton picker, grain combine, hay mower, forage harvester, hay baler, potato digger, or mobile pea viner;  
• Power post-hole digger, power post driver, or non-walking type rotary tiller.  
 
Operating or assisting to operate (including starting, stopping adjusting, feeding or any other activity involving physical contact 
associated  
with the operation) any of the following machines:  
• Trencher or earthmoving equipment;  
• Forklift;  
• Potato combine; or 
• Power-driven circular, band or chain saw.  
 
Working on a farm in a yard, pen, or stall occupied by a:  
• Bull, boar, or stud horse maintained for breeding purposes; or  
• Sow with suckling pigs, or cow with newborn calf (with umbilical cord present).  
 
Working from a ladder or scaffold (painting, repairing, or building structures, pruning trees, picking fruit, etc.) from a height of 
over 20 feet. 
 
Driving a bus, truck or automobile when transporting passengers or riding on a tractor as a passenger or helper.  
 
Working inside:  
• A fruit, forage, or grain storage designed to retain an oxygen deficient or toxic atmosphere;  
• An upright silo within 2 weeks after silage has been added or when a top unloading device is in operating position;  
• A manure pit; or 
• A horizontal silo while operating a tractor for packing purposes.  
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Handling or applying (including cleaning or decontaminating equipment, disposal or return of empty containers, or serving as a 
flagman for aircraft applying agricultural chemicals classified under Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (7 
USC 135 et seq.) as Category I of toxicity, identified by the word, "poison," and the "skull and crossbones" on the label; or 
Category II of toxicity, identified by the word, "warning," on the label; 
 
Handling or using a blasting agent including but not limited to dynamite black powder, sensitized ammonium nitrate, blasting 
caps, and primer cord; or 
 
Transporting, transferring, or applying anhydrous ammonia. 
 
LIMITED EXEMPTIONS: Training in some occupations permitted in bona fide training programs. See text. 

Sports Attendants 
May be employed in `sports-attending services´ at professional baseball games until 10:00 p m. on any night preceding a 
schoolday, or until 12:30 a.m. on any night preceding a non-schoolday.  
 
May work up to 5 hours a day, up to 18 hours per week as a sports attendant when school is in session. May work up to 8 hours 
a day or a maximum of 40 hours per week when school is not in session 

16- & 17-Year Olds 

16 and 17-Year Olds 

California Law Federal Law 

School Attendance 

Not required if a high school graduate or has a certificate of 
proficiency. 
If regularly employed and not a high school graduate or 
does not have a certificate of proficiency, must attend 
continuation school at least 4 hours per week.  

 
When not regularly employed and not a high school 
graduate or does not have a certificate of proficiency, must 
attend continuation school 15 hours per week.  

State law applies. 

Permits to Work and to Employ 

Required unless a high school graduate or equivalent.  
Permits may be more restrictive than minimum statutory 
standards. 

Certificate of age required. (State permit suffices.) 

Hours of Work 

Maximum Work Hours 
Daily: 8 hours on non-schooldays; 4 hours on a schoolday.  
"Schoolday" means equal to or greater than 4 hours required 
attendance. 
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5 hours per day as sports attendant 
Weekly: 48 hours.  
NOTE: Part-time students may work during the regular 
school hours of the school district, but such work may not 
interfere with their part-time schooling requirements. No 
exceptions to minimum work hour standards may be granted 
for these minors.  

 
Spread of Hours 5 a.m. – 10 p m. (- 12:30 a m. on days 
preceding a non-schoolday).  
Exceptions: Work Experience Education enrollees may 
work until 12:30 a m. on any day with approval. 
Messengers: 6 a m. – 9 p.m. only.  
High school graduates may be employed for the same hours 
as an adult. 
See text for entertainment industry employment.  

Wages 

Must be paid at least the minimum wage established by the 
Industrial Welfare Commission. Must receive any applicable 
overtime pay. Exceptions: Parents and personal attendants 
(which includes babysitting and companionship services) 
are exempt from minimum wage and overtime requirements.  
Work Experience Education enrollees must be paid at least 
the adult minimum wage for any work performed between 
10 p m. & 12:30 a.m. 
High school graduates must be paid commensurate with 
adults. 

Must be paid at least the federal minimum wage. Must be paid 
overtime after 40 hours in a week. Exceptions: Casual 
babysitting (under 20 hours per week) and companionship 
services. Subminimum rates available only under a special 
federal certificate and must comply with state child labor 
standards. 

Occupational Restrictions 

MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED OR PERMITTED TO WORK IN ANY OCCUPATION DECLARED HAZARDOUS IN 
FEDERAL REGULATION FOR PERSONS UNDER 18:  
 
Manufacturing and storing explosives (including small arms ammunition); motor vehicle driving and outside helper; logging 
and sawmilling; power-driven woodworking machines; power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears; power-
driven hoisting apparatuses (including forklifts); roofing, excavation; wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations; 
power-driven metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines; slaughtering, or meat-packing, processing or rendering; 
power-driven bakery machines; power-driven paper-products machines; manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred products; coal 
mining; mining other than coal mining; and exposure to radioactive substances.  

Solely under state law, MAY NOT BE EMPLOYED: 
In gas stations, in any work using pits, racks, lifting 
apparatuses, or inflating any tire mounted on a rim with a 
removable retaining ring. 
In or on that portion of an establishment primarily designed 
for on site consumption of alcohol. 
To sell alcoholic beverages for off-site consumption unless 
constantly supervised by a person 21 or older. 
To sell lottery tickets unless constantly supervised by a 
person 21 or older. 
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Exemptions 

NO PERMITS REQUIRED FOR: 
Any self-employed minor; news carriers; and irregular odd 
jobs in private homes such as baby-sitting, yardwork, etc. 
Employment by parent/guardian in domestic labor on or in 
connection with premises the parent/guardian owns, operates 
or controls.  
 
NOTE: Parent/guardians may not employ their minor 
children in manufacturing, mercantile or other enterprises 
without work permits. Parent employers subject to all 
occupational restrictions..  

Persons under 18 who are high school graduates and who have 
completed a bona fide training program in a hazardous occupation 
may be employed in that occupation.  

NOTE: Parent/guardians may not employ their children in 
occupations declared hazardous in federal regulation for minors 
under 18. 

LIMITED EXEMPTIONS: Training in bona fide Work Experience Education and apprenticeship training programs. Student 
learners and apprentices (who must be at least 16 years of age) may be trained within specified limits in otherwise prohibited 
occupations involving: Power-driven woodworking machines; power-driven metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines; 
slaughtering or meat-packing and processing; power-driven paper-products machines; power-driven circular saws, band saws, 
and guillotine shears; roofing; and excavation. Training not available in any other occupations prohibited to minors under 18.  

Agriculture 
Work hours same as all other minors except that minors 
employed in an agricultural packing plant may work up to 10 
hours on any nonschoolday during the peak harvest season 
under a special extension granted to the employer by the 
Labor Commissioner. 
 
Minors' work performed on premises the parent/guardian 
owns, operates, or controls, requires no permit and has no 
occupational or work hour limitations, except that work may 
not be performed during school hours.  
Must be paid the wage rates provided in the applicable IWC 
Order. Parents exempt from wage payment requirements. 

No work hour or occupational limitations. 

Sports Attendants 
May be employed in "sports-attending services" at professional baseball games until 10:00 p m. on any night preceding a 
schoolday, or until 12:30 a.m. on any night preceding a non-schoolday.  

May work up to 5 hours a day, up to 18 hours per week as a sports attendant when school is in session. May work up to 8 hours 
a day or a maximum of 48 hours per week when school is not in session. 

Wherever state and federal standards overlap or appear to contradict, the more 
protective standard always applies. 
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