
Y       our rights as a worker are enforced and protected by the California Department of
       Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE). DLSE
investigates and resolves complaints about discrimination, wages, child labor, hours
of work and working conditions.

Whether you are a documented or 
undocumented worker in Califor-
nia, you have rights protected by 
state laws that guarantee payment 
of wages for work performed. It is 
the policy of the California Depart-
ment of Industrial Relations not to 
question your immigration status.

Here are some rights that protect your 
working conditions:

The right to be paid the minimum wage  
You are to be paid no less than minimum wage of 
$9.00 per hour, whether the pay is measured by 
hour or contract. With few exceptions, all wages 

earned are due and payable at a minimum of twice during 
each month on your regular payday.

 The right to a net 10-minute rest period
 You must be permitted to take a net 10- 
  minute rest period for every four hours  worked 
 or major fraction thereof which to the extent possible 

shall be in the middle of each work period. If your employer 
does not provide you a rest period, your employer must pay 
you one additional hour of pay at your regular rate of pay for 
each workday the rest period is not allowed.

The right to a meal period
You are entitled to a meal period of at least 30 
minutes if you work more than five hours. You must 
be relieved of all work duty during your meal period. 

Each workday you are not provided a meal period, or you 
perform work during your meal period, your employer must 
pay you one additional hour of pay at your regular rate of pay. 
You have the right to a clean meal and rest area.

The right to be provided tools, supplies and a 
required uniform necessary to do your work
Tools, supplies and required uniforms should be 
provided and maintained by your employer at no 

cost to you. As a janitor, your employer must provide you with 
proper safety equipment such as plastic gloves, eye goggles, 
back brace, and respiratory mask. You have the right to receive 
regular workplace health and safety training. If you are required 
to use your own vehicle for workrelated responsibilities or 
purchase gasoline for a company vehicle, your employer must 
reimburse those expenses and compensate you for your travel 
time.

The right to a pay stub or wage statement 
every time you are paid your wages
Whether you are paid by check or in cash, you must 
receive a pay stub or a written wage statement 

showing among other things: your employer’s name, address 
and telephone number; your name; either your employee ID 
or the last 4 digits of your social security number; gross wages 
earned; all deductions; and the dates for the period you are 
being paid. You have the right to a regularly scheduled payday 
and your employer must post a notice at your workplace 
specifying the regular paydays and the time and place of 
payment. If your employer issues a paycheck that was returned 
because of insufficient funds, your employer may be penalized 
and required to pay you the equivalent of one day’s salary for 
each day delayed in paying your wages (up to a maximum of 
30 days).

Continued on reverse

You are protected under Industrial Welfare Commission 
wage order 5-2001.

The right to file a workers’ compensation 
claim if you are injured on the job
If you are injured on the job, your employer must 
provide you with medical care. Depending on 

the extent of your injury you may have the right to medical 
treatment, rehabilitation and job training at no cost to you. For 
fact sheets, information and assistance in filing a workers’ 
compensation claim, contact the Division of Workers’ 
Compensation at 1-800-736-7401 or visit www.dir.ca.gov. 
You have the right to process your workers’ compensation 
claim and are protected from termination.

The right to be properly classified. Some
employees are misclassified as independent 
contractors.
The California Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE) has found many instances where an 
employer has wrongly classified employees as independent 
contractors, denying the employees of their rights. It makes 
a difference if you are classified as an employee or an 
independent contractor. 



Continued on reverse

The simplified information contained in this flyer is provided to you from the California laws and regulations concerning wages, hours and working 
conditions; they are not legal interpretations of the California labor code, administrative code or the Industrial Welfare Commission wage orders. California 
labor laws can be found by contacting the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) offices or by visiting the Web sites:

www.dir.ca.gov
www.workitout.ca.gov

Bakersfield 	  (661) 587-3060
		   7718 Meany Avenue, 93308
El Centro 	  (760) 353-0607
		   1550 West Main Street, 92243
Fresno 		  (559) 244-5340
		   770 East Shaw Avenue, Suite 222, 93710
Long Beach 	  (562) 590-5048
		   300 Oceangate, Suite 302, 90802
Los Angeles 	  (213) 620-6330
		   320 West 4th Street, Suite 450, 90013
Oakland 	  (510) 622-3273
		   1515 Clay Street, Suite 801, 94612
Redding 	  (530) 225-2655
		   250 Hemsted Drive, 2nd Floor, Suite A, 96002
Sacramento 	  (916) 263-1811
		   2031 Howe Avenue, Suite 100, 95825
Salinas 	  (831) 443-3041
		   1870 North Main Street, Suite 150, 93906
San Bernardino (909) 383-4334
		   464 West Fourth Street, Room 348, 92401
San Diego 	  (619) 220-5451
		   7575 Metropolitan Drive, Suite 210, 92108
San Francisco 	 (415) 703-5300
		   455 Golden Gate Avenue, 8th floor, 94102
San Jose 	  (408) 277-1266
		   100 Paseo de San Antonio, Room 120, 95113
Santa Ana 	  (714) 558-4910
		   605 W. Santa Ana Blvd., Bldg. 28, Rm. 625, 92701
Santa Barbara 	 (805) 568-1222
		   411 East Canon Perdido Street, Room 3, 93101
Santa Rosa 	  (707) 576-2362
		   50 “D” Street, Suite 360, 95404
Stockton 	  (209) 948-7770
		   31 East Channel Street, Room 317, 95202
Van Nuys 	  (818) 901-5315
		   6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 206, 91401

Cal/OSHA
      1-800-963-9424

Cal/OSHA local offices:
      Northern California
      (916) 263-0704
      San Diego
      (619) 767-2060
      Los Angeles
      (562) 944-9366
      San Francisco Bay Area
      (510) 622-2891

Minimum wage:
1-888-275-9243 (ASK-WAGE)

(REV. 2007)

The right to file a wage claim, a 
discrimination complaint or speak to the 
California labor commissioner regardless 
of your immigration status and without 
retaliation from your employer

You have the right (free from retaliation) to process your 
wage claim, attend hearings to recover unpaid wages 
and investigate retaliation complaints. You may discuss 
labor issues with the DLSE and/or your employer 
under protection of the law and your employer may not 
discharge, demote, suspend or discipline you in any 
manner for this reason. You may file a complaint with 
the labor commissioner for reinstatement, full back pay, 
and any other appropriate remedy if you feel you were 
discharged because you engaged in such activity.

Contact the California Division of Labor Standards
Enforcement (DLSE) local district offices for labor law 
information, assistance and to obtain a claim form to file 
a complaint:

California’s wage and hour laws (minimum wage, overtime, 
meal periods and rest breaks) and anti-discrimination and 
retaliation laws protect employees, but they do not protect 
independent contractors. Employees are assisted by state 
agencies such as DLSE to seek enforcement of the law. 
Independent contractors must go to court to settle their 
disputes or enforce other rights under their contracts.

As an employee you are asked by your employer to fill out
a W2 form. Your employer is then responsible to report
wages; make deductions from your paycheck; and supply
you with tools, supplies, protective gear, and health and
safety training.

As an independent contractor, the person you work for
files a 1099 form at the end of the year reporting they are
not officially your employer and consequently not accountable 
for following employer responsibilities. An independent
contractor is a person who owns their own (janitorial)
business and will report their own income and pay their
own taxes to the government.
For information on the difference between an employee
and an independent contractor contact your local DLSE
office listed on this flyer.

The right to be paid all wages by your
employer the same day you are terminated
or within 72 hours of a voluntary quit
If you are terminated, your employer must pay you 

all wages due immediately. If you voluntarily quit without giving 
72 hours prior notice, your employer must pay you within 72 
hours. If your employer fails to pay you, they may be penalized 
and required to pay you the equivalent of one-day’s salary for 
each day delayed in paying your wages (up to a maximum of 
30 days).

Wage claim tip: Keep your own time records. Write down
every day the time you begin work, when you end work, the
time you take meal and rest breaks, the total hours you work
and record your hourly rate.




