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MINIMUM WAGE 
 

 The California minimum wage will change to $8.00 per hour effective January 1, 2008.  (Labor Code 
section 1182.11 and appropriate Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC) Order)  There are a few exceptions to 
the minimum wage requirement.  Some of these exceptions include: 
 
 

 Employees (learners) during their first one hundred and sixty (160) hours of employment in 
occupations in which they have no previous similar or related experience, may be paid $6.38 
per hour effective 1/1/07 or 85% of minimum wage.  After that, they must be paid the 
minimum wage in effect (See appropriate IWC Order and Minimum Wage Order MW-2007). 

 
 Persons who are not productive because of mental or physical handicaps may be paid less 

than the minimum wage, if the employer first obtains a special license from the Division of 
Labor Standards Enforcement.  (Labor Code § 1191) 

 
 Any individual who is a parent, spouse, child or legally adopted child of the employer is not 

subject to the minimum wage laws.  (See appropriate IWC Order and MW-2007) 
 

 Any outside salesperson is not subject to the minimum wage laws.  (See appropriate IWC 
Order and MW-2007) 

 
For additional information see the appropriate Industrial Welfare Commission Order and MW 2007 

which can be found at www.dir.ca.gov/Iwc/WageOrderIndustries.htm 
 

EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS 
 

 California has specific laws governing the employment of minors.  Some of these laws regulate the 
conditions under which minors can be employed and the hours they can work.  In some situations, state law 
bans the employment of minors altogether.  (Labor Code § 1285, et seq.) 
 
 Any employer who directly or indirectly employs a minor under 18 years of age (other than a high 
school graduate or equivalent) must keep a “permit to employ” on file for the duration of the minor’s 
employment.  The permit must be obtained before the minor starts work.  A work permit can be obtained from 
the minor’s school.  (Labor Code § 1304; see also www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DLSE-CL.htm for further discussion of 
child labor laws). 
 

TIPS 
 

 "Gratuities" include any tip, gratuity, money, or part thereof that has been paid or given to or left for an 
employee by a patron of a business over and above the actual amount due the business for services rendered or 
for goods, food, drink, or articles sold or served to the patron.  Any amounts paid directly by the patron to a 
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dancer employed by an employer subject to Industrial Welfare Commission Order No. 5 or 10 shall be deemed 
a gratuity.  (Labor Code § 350) 
 
 Employers are prohibited from using tips as a credit against wages owed by the employer.  Tips are the 
sole property of the employee or employees to whom they are given or for whom they are left.   Since the 
employer does not pay tips, they are not considered part of the regular rate for overtime purposes.  (Labor Code 
§ 350, et seq. and Leighton v. Old Heidelberg, Ltd. (1990) 219 Cal.App.3d 1062) 
  
 An employer that permits patrons to pay gratuities by credit card shall pay the employee the full amount 
of the gratuity that the patron indicated on the credit card slip, without any deduction for any credit card 
payment processing fees or costs that may be charged to the employer by the credit card company.   Payment of 
gratuities made by patrons using credit cards shall be made to the employee not later than the next regular 
payday following the date the patron authorized the credit card payment.  (Labor Code § 351) 
 
 Employees may voluntarily agree among themselves to pool or share their tips, but only under certain 
circumstances may the employer require such tip sharing or pooling.  (Leighton v. Old Heidelberg, Ltd. (1990) 
213 Cal.App.3d 1062) 
 

UNIFORMS AND TOOLS 
 

 When employers require uniforms to be worn by employees as a condition of employment, that uniform 
must be provided and maintained by the employer.  The term “uniform” includes wearing apparel and 
accessories of distinctive design or color.  Ordinary work clothes are not considered uniforms when the 
employees have free choice of what to wear.  When the employer specifies the design or color or requires that 
an insignia be affixed, it is considered a uniform.  White nurses’ uniforms and black and white uniforms for 
service personnel need not be supplied to employees by the employer, as these uniforms are standard in their 
industries and can be used from one job to the next.  (See appropriate IWC Order; Labor Code § 452; and 
Department of Industrial Relations v. U.I. Video (1997) 55 Cal.App.4th 1084) 
 
 Employees may be asked to maintain employer-furnished uniforms when the uniforms require minimal 
time for care, e.g., uniforms made of a material requiring only washing and tumble or drip drying.  Employers 
must maintain or provide a maintenance allowance for uniforms requiring ironing or dry cleaning, or uniforms 
requiring special laundering for heavy soil, or requiring patching and repairs due to the nature of the work.  
Where an employer does not provide a uniform allowance, an employee may be entitled to reimbursement for 
costs incurred for maintenance.  (Labor Code § 2802; See appropriate IWC Order) 
 
 An employer who is required to furnish personal protective clothing or equipment must also pay for that 
equipment.  (See appropriate IWC Order.) 
 
 If an employer requires an employee to have certain tools or equipment, or if such tools are required to 
perform the job, the employer must provide and maintain them.  However, any employee who is paid at least 
twice the minimum wage, may be required to provide and maintain hand tools and equipment customarily 
required by his or her trade.  Exceptions may apply to apprentices (indentured through the Division of 
Apprenticeship Standards), beauty salons and barbershops.  (See appropriate IWC Order) 
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PREVAILING WAGE FOR PUBLIC WORKS PROJECTS 
 

 California law provides special wage and hour requirements for labor performed on public works 
projects.  “Public Works” includes any construction, alteration, demolition, or repair work performed under 
contract and paid for, in whole or in part, out of public funds, except for certain work done directly by a public 
entity.  Among these requirements is the obligation to pay no less than the prevailing rate of per diem wages to 
all employees on the public works job.  Employers subject to state contracts as a result of a business-
relationship with the state government should carefully review the obligations engendered by such a 
relationship.  (Labor Code § 1720, et seq.) 
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