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California Labor Commissioner Cites Two Ukiah Restaurants Nearly 
$2 Million for Wage Theft Violations 
 
Santa Rosa—California Labor Commissioner Julie A. Su has fined two Ukiah 
restaurants over $1.9 million for wage theft violations committed against 47 workers 
over a three-year period.   
 
The co-owners, Yaowapha Ritdet and Steve Walter, are being held both individually and 
jointly liable for Labor Code violations found at their two establishments: WT Yupin, Inc., 
dba Walter Café, and Yupin, Inc., dba Ruen Tong Thai Cuisine.     
 
“Wage theft is a very serious problem,” said Christine Baker, Director of the Department 
of Industrial Relations (DIR).  “Not only does it affect workers who have been cheated 
out of hard earned pay, but the vast majority of business owners who treat their 
employees respectfully get undercut by this unfair and illegal practice.”  The Labor 
Commissioner’s Office, also known as the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, is 
a division of DIR.   
 
“The extraordinary amount of wages assessed at these two restaurants goes to show 
that if unchecked for too long, wage theft is highly detrimental to workers, and the 
competitive advantage gained relative to law-abiding employers is significant, harming  
the entire business community,” said Labor Commissioner Su.   
 
Based on a joint investigation by the Labor Commissioner’s office and the U.S. 
Department of Labor (U.S. DOL), the state found that during the three year period from 
June 19, 2010 through June 15, 2013, workers of the two restaurants regularly worked 
at least 11.5 hours a day, 6 or up to 7 days a week with no meal breaks, no minimum 
wage for all the hours worked, and no overtime premium pay as required by law.  
Additionally, some of the workers were forced to sign time cards containing falsified 
information stating they had only worked between five and six hours each day while 
others were paid in cash with no information on the total hours worked, rate of pay or 
deductions provided.  
 
"It's disappointing to see workers at popular local restaurants being exploited,” said 
Ruben Rosalez, regional administrator in the west of the U.S. DOL’s Wage and Hour 
Division, which is collaborating on the case. ““We value this opportunity to work with our 
state colleagues to fully address both the state and federal labor violations that the 



      Department of Industrial Relations Release No.13-57  Page 2 

servers and back-of-the-house employees at the restaurants have endured.”  He added 
that in cases where the department finds evidence of intentional payroll falsification it 
may seek liquidated damages equal to the unpaid wages and may also assess 
penalties. 
 
The 47 workers are due $1,086,435.79 in unpaid minimum wage, $376,640.31 in 
unpaid overtime and $153,582.41 for no meal period premiums. In addition, a total of 
$189,250 as civil penalties were assessed for violating the minimum wage and overtime 
laws, and for not providing workers the required wage statements, which shall contain 
accurate information regarding their rate of pay and hours actually worked.  
Labor Commissioner Su said, "We are proud of our partnership with the U.S. DOL to 
maximize our enforcement capabilities and appreciate their efforts in this joint 
investigation." 
 
Among its wide-ranging enforcement responsibilities, the Labor Commissioner’s office 
inspects workplaces for wage and hour violations, adjudicates wage claims, enforces 
prevailing wage rates and apprenticeship standards in public works projects, 
investigates retaliation complaints, issues licenses and registrations for businesses and 
educates the public on labor laws.  
 
The most recent information related to California labor laws is available on the DLSE 
website as well as on Facebook and Twitter pages.  Employees with work-related 
questions or complaints may call the toll-free California Workers’ Information Line at 
(866) 924-9757 for recorded information, in English and Spanish. 
 
More information on federal labor laws and compliance assistance is available online. 
 
For media inquiries, contact Erika Monterroza at (510) 286-1164 or Peter Melton at 
(510) 286-7046. 
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