SAN FRANCISCO --
SAN FRANCISCO --New regulations designed to strengthen the employment rights and safety of minors employed in door-to-door sales, will go into effect on December 4, DIR Director John C. Duncan has announced. The regulations require most employers, transporters and supervisors of minors engaged in door-to-door sales to register with the state Labor Commissioner by December 4, 1998.
Thousands of California’s young people work after school, on weekends, and during summer vacations," said Duncan. "The ‘door-to-door’ regulations, along with the other California child labor laws, are designed to help young workers acquire work experience and income, while safeguarding their scholastic advancement and physical well-being," Duncan added.
The door-to-door regulations require employers, supervisors and transporters of minors under 16 in door-to-door sales to register with the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement if minors are transported more than 10 miles from their home.
Employers who violate the provisions of the door-to-door sales regulations and fail to meet registration requirements may be charged with a misdemeanor and fined $1,000 per minor upon initial violation, $2,500 per minor for a second violation and up to $10,000 per child for a third or subsequent violation.
Additionally, these employers must also obtain, from the minor’s school, a Permit to Employ and each employed minor must possess a Permit to Work from the school that they attend. The work permit outlines restrictions on the number of hours that can be worked and what industries are prohibited from employment by minors. Children under the age of 12 are not allowed to work, except in the entertainment industry with a specialized permit issued by the California Labor Commissioner.
The California child labor laws may seem complex and strict," said Duncan, "but they manifest the significant responsibility we all have to protect the welfare of young people who work."
DLSE has established two Child Labor Violation hotlines to report questionable door-to-door sales activities. In Northern California the number is (707) 576-2362. In Southern California the public may call (213) 897-9856.
Information regarding the The door-to-door regulations is being disseminated to local sheriffs and police departments to outline jurisdictional and enforcement aspects of the regulations. A door-to-door sales pamphlet, the California Child Labor Law booklet and other information are available to the public upon request and are also available on our web site at www.dir.ca.gov. To request copies of publications regarding child labor call (415) 975-2077 or write to Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, 45 Fremont Street, Suite 3250, San Francisco, CA 94105.